Skip to main content
Weddings

Douglas R. Bethers Utah's wedding officiant Reviews

Douglas R. Bethers Utah's wedding officiant

Douglas R. Bethers Utah's wedding officiant

North Salt Lake, UT
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 86 Reviews
View more information

86 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 86
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

25 User photos

  • M
    Morgan B. Married on 02/02/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Above and Beyond

    I cannot say enough kind words about Rev. Douglas Bethers. He went above and beyond on our wedding day and I would recommend him to anyone looking for an officiant. Doug’s ceremony was tailored to us, incorporated our special requests, and was humorous. He even surprised us by incorporating our beloved dogs into the ceremony. During our outdoor ceremony it was 9 degrees… Doug made sure that we were his number one priority. He made sure we had hand warmers and even carried and fluffed my train before my first look (I didn’t have bridesmaids). Douglas also took a significant amount of pictures that he texted to us almost immediately after the ceremony. This was amazing. I just cannot say enough good things.
  • Dawn
    Dawn C. Married on 12/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Doug Bethers makes Your Wedding Extra Special

    I’m not your average bride…
    and Douglas Bethers isn't your average Utah wedding officiant...

    * I’m 55 years old - and it’s my first marriage.
    * We decided to elope with a wedding in the Utah mountains (because of Covid).
    * There was less than 1.5 months to prepare for my “dream wedding”
    * We planned our trip and I bought everything online for our wedding (without visiting a single store).
    These were some of the challenges in trying to elope and marry (in a short time-frame) with the Covid-19 virus.
    However, there was a shining light or STAR our wedding day at La Caille in Utah - it was our wedding minister Mr. Douglas Bethers.
    He was fabulous and made the ceremony beyond memorable - with all the special touches and details he interwove into the wedding service.
    In advance, Doug (our wedding preacher) asked us to fill out some paperwork plus answer some silly questions about one another. He promised that we’d be pleased later, that we took the time to answer the questions.
    At the ceremony, our preacher Mr. Bethers wove our answers into the most beautiful love and Christ-filled wedding ceremony. You would have thought he knew the two of us for years - and not just a few weeks!
    It was over the top wonderful - and not “average” at all!
    If your planning a wedding and looking for a professional wedding minister or officiant in the Salt Lake City, Utah area - or in some the suburbs like Sandy, Park City, Provo or Sundance, please call Mr. Doug R. Bethers and you'll see why he’s EXCEPTIONAL!

    Thank you for your consideration.
    Dawn Carmichael- Swick

    Ps Photos Courtesy - Angela Howard Photography,
    Venue - La Caille Estate
  • C
    Carissa B. Married on 06/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Doug is the best of the best!!!

    Douglas is absolutely incredible. I am so beyond grateful to of had him on our wedding day and all the days leading up to our special day. Doug was professional, kind, energetic, organized, funny and so on top of everything! Our ceremony was breathtaking and we heard from all of our guests that Doug was amazing and that that was the best ceremony they have ever been too. I couldn't agree more. You need to hire Doug for your wedding day, you will not regret it! We plan to have him again when we renew our vows in 10 years. Thank you so much Doug!! You are the best and made our day so special to us and our guests and family.
  • Nathalie
    Nathalie G. Married on 07/24/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing ceremony!!

    I’m so grateful we hired Douglas to officiant our wedding! I am an out of town bride and from the first time we talked on the phone we instantly clicked! His ceremony was so personalized you would have thought he’s known us forever. My dad grew up in Africa and I was born there and my dad wanted to surprise me and incorporate an African song into the ceremony. Douglas seamlessly and beautifully incorporated the song into his readings. You could tell that he had put so much effort into making sure it sounded perfect. One of our guests even said she got chills and started tearing up during the song. Douglas was so fun to work with, he’s so kind, thoughtful and well spoken! If you’re looking for the best officiant Douglas is your guy!
  • Curt
    Curt S. Married on 06/05/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely Amazing Ceremony - Highly Recommended

    Douglas put together and spoke words at our Ceremony that I will never forget. This was neither my Husband or I's first marriage and we both had bad officiants prior. He made it very personal and not generic. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.
  • Jason
    Jason C. Married on 01/10/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing ceremony, Thanks Douglas.

    The ceremony was perfect. Douglas did an amazing job in preparing, and it showed in the ceremony. He took the time to cater the ceremony exactly how we wanted it. Most importantly he took the time to get to know us so that he could personalize the ceremony to fit our wedding and our personalities. 10/10
  • Aingeal
    Aingeal Married on 12/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing officiant

    He was the best wedding officiant. He kept up with us and made sure we had an amazing wedding.
  • B
    Baylee S. Married on 12/10/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best decision you should make!

    Douglas was truly amazing! If you are looking for someone who will make your ceremony truly beautiful and about you and your partner, Douglas is the way to go. Our ceremony was so personalized to us and he made sure to make it special for us! There was not a dry eye in the house, his words are beautiful! He really made our day so special and about the love we share for each other and the commitment we made to each other. Thank you so much Douglas!
  • Rochelle
    Rochelle A. Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The Best Officiant

    Douglas was amazing. Our wedding day turned out to be quite an memorable disaster...it rained like crazy and the ceremony was outside. He braved the COLD rain with us and even stuck around for awhile after the chaos so that we could try to get pictures done in between the downpour before having us sign our marriage license and him heading out. We didn’t get to have the whole speech he had prepared because again the rain pretty much rushed us to the “say the I Do’s“ portion. He did have a cute little thing about the rain meaning good luck. Also, since we didn’t get to have the ceremony that he had planned for us he did offer to have a little ceremony somewhere in the future so that we can hear what I know would have been an amazing ceremony. That is amazing service that I feel some people wouldn’t care and just take the money and go
  • Karlee
    Karlee W. Married on 10/19/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    All Heart - An amazing Officiant

    The ceremony is in my opinion the most important part of the wedding. Douglas makes it just that. With a customizable template of how you want your day to feel, Douglas kept everything running smoothly both during the rehearsal and the day of. Douglas did a phenomenal job in tying everything together. The guy is a true professional. He books up quickly (for a reason!) and so if you are considering him...book now!
  • Sandra
    Sandra B. Married on 07/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Romantic, sophisticated, and fun

    Douglas really made our wedding day relaxed, fun, and beautiful. His attention to detail throughout the process was impressive. He met with us before the wedding to get to know us better and integrated what he learned into the ceremony. Douglas made us feel as if he were a family member officiating our wedding ceremony. If you want an officiant who creates a beautiful, relaxed, and personalized wedding experience, Douglas is the person for you.
  • Sabrina
    Sabrina R. Married on 06/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Just Right.

    Our time working with Douglas was a breeze. From the moment we met him to the moment he officially pronounced us as man and wife, he was charming, professional, and easy to work with. Our whole wedding was such a blur, but even to this day, I still get friends who were at the ceremony telling me just how beautiful it was and it was all thanks to him.

    Of all of the great vendors we had, he was by far the best! He never once made us feel uncomfortable about the decisions we made for the ceremony. He rolled with all of the different punches that came with the day-of and he was very patient.

    To anyone who is in the Salt Lake area looking for a great officiant, I will always proudly recommend Reverend Douglas R. Bethers.
  • Tori
    Tori Married on 06/07/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Douglas is the Best!

    I was so nervous trying to find an Officiant. But when we found Douglas he made all of the nerves go away. He gave us information on how to get our marriage licence, we had a phone interview before we committed to him so we knew we were a good fit. Once the wedding day was here so was he. He walked us both though our roles and our families roles in the ceremony. The ceremony was beautiful we couldn't have asked for a better wedding. After the ceremony we had people asking how we knew Douglas because they thought we were friends before the whole wedding planning process. Thank you Douglas for everything!
  • Sarah
    Sarah W. Married on 03/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Very Helpful and Warm

    We did not have any connections that could help us customize and plan an intimate ceremony. Bethers was a wonderful help with planning our nuptials! We had no idea what to expect but Bethers made everything very easy for us; he was professional, organized, helpful, and friendly. We are very happy with his service and so was our family!
  • Gabriel
    Gabriel M. Married on 12/16/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Wedding Experience

    Douglas made our wedding so special. My husband and I didn't have money for a big event. We made a small wedding to avoid as many issues as possibles and have a beautiful experience. Douglas way of sitting with us before the ceremony and explaining to us what to expect, and helping us write our vows, etc, was just perfect. He does such a great job to make the ceremony unique and special. He doesn't force anything on you, instead he gives you ideas and lets you decide. Because of this, two couples that attended our wedding, also had their weddings with Douglas, and each ceremony was special and unique. You cannot go wrong with him.
  • L
    Levi Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were so pleased with Douglas' services. He was very easy to work with, professional, and organized. His experience is invaluable. We had multiple guests comment on the fabulous ceremony he performed. Douglas is funny, light, serious when he needs to be, and was exactly what we'd hope to have on our wedding day. Thanks so much!
  • Brittany
    Brittany Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Douglas was wonderful!

    We are quite the last minute couple - we had less figured out than I thought because there is so much to plan for a wedding! Douglas was the perfect officiant because he provided us with the information we needed to plan but didn't push us and make our wedding into something that wasn't our style. While we were discussing with Douglas how we wanted the ceremony to go, he told us how to avoid common mistakes couples make (i.e. walking too fast down the isle). It was apparent that he was very experienced and thoughtful and the event went incredibly smoothly largely due to Douglas! Our guests were very complementary of the ceremony saying that it reflected our relationship well and was the perfect length of time. I would highly recommend Douglas for anyone's ceremony because I am confident he will customize the ceremony as he did for ours and make any couple feel prepared and confident! Thank you very much Douglas!
  • H
    Hannah Married on 09/01/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Douglas was incredibly easy to work with, personable and caring. We felt like he was a part of our families and held a beautiful ceremony for us. Would highly recommend to anyone who is in need of an officiant!
  • A
    Andrew Married on 07/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Douglas was incredible. I would absolutely recommend him. He was so easy to work with and helped relieve a lot of stress in the planning process. He listened to what we wanted and made suggestions to help make the experience even more memorable. Almost everyone who was in attendance told us how much they enjoyed the ceremony, in large part because Douglas worked so hard to make it great for everyone. He went above and beyond on our behalf and it showed. Douglas helped to make our ceremony a truly beautiful experience for everyone.
  • Sarah
    Sarah Married on 04/28/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Douglas is seriously the best! He was so flexible and was able to fit us into his very busy schedule and give us a better ceremony than we could have ever asked for. He makes everything so beautiful and reassured us the whole way. We're still getting compliments on our ceremony.
  • G
    Gabriel Married on 09/10/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The good reverend Douglas Bethers was an absolute godsend for our wedding. We feel so blessed that he was our officiant and gained a friend in him. We had several loose ends to tie down 2 weeks prior to our wedding and were stressed. Douglas served as a great consultant, gave us direction and assurance on solutions, and even allowed us to use his spotify for our song list. The entire wedding went perfectly. Douglas's service was heartfelt and memorable without being verbose and too lengthy. Subsequently he kept everything on schedule and moving smoothly from cocktail hour through toasts, cake cutting, and a great dance party. He was an absolutely fantastic DJ for us as well and had everyone involved. If you want to have your wedding go better than you ever imagined look to Douglas. He will make certain that your wedding plan is executed perfectly, and help you relax and melt into the magical experience that a wedding should be. I cannot recommend him more. Thank you, Douglas!!!
  • C
    Courtney Married on 09/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Douglas was seriously the BEST and we couldn't have asked for more or better. He did our ceremony exactly how we wanted it and thought of so many things nobody else had thought of! He did my wedding and my best friends wedding and I want to just hire him for any and everything because he was just that good. I can't spend all day typing all the amazing things he thought of for our event, said to make it perfect, and executed the way it should be. He is amazing! I will forever recommend Douglas!!!!
  • N
    Nathan Married on 07/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    He was awesome very flexible with the ceremony. Also very professional yet easy going, very organized and even showed up a little early the day of.
  • P
    Ruben Married on 10/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Douglas was amazing to work with! Not only is he flexible, he's also reliable, professional, and knows his stuff to the T'. He was very helpful, in giving input on how to make our wedding ceremony perfect! He took the time to meet with us, to get to know us, followed up with us, and make sure that everything on our end was taken care of. He's fun to work with, and again very professional. At the day of the ceremony he arrived early and made sure we knew the next steps to take. The manner that he presented the ceremony was far above and beyond, afterwards i had many guests coming to me complimenting Douglas on the amazing ceremony he had performed, saying that that was they have heard. I highly recommend Douglas Bethers! He walked us step by step on what to expect. By far he is the best!
  • J
    Jessica Married on 10/15/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Douglas was BEYOND amazing as our officiant. We both come from religious backgrounds (yup, you guessed it) but aren't terribly religious ourselves and let's just say that I was worried Douglas may have to walk a tight rope so to speak. But, with his eloquence, candor and compassion he made our ceremony the best part of our wedding (which is saying a lot because we really loved our wedding). I was looking for someone who would genuinely want to marry us and appreciate how in love we are and how much this day meant to us. SO, if you are out their looking for someone to capture this moment and truly deeply celebrate your union......stop looking. Just trust me on this ok? Douglas is your officiant! You can thank me latter ;)