Donovan Pavilion Reviews

33 | Vail, CO
See photos, pricing and details

33 Reviews for Donovan Pavilion

Recommended by 94%

33
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.8

3 User photos

Donovan Pavilion 1
Donovan Pavilion 2
Donovan Pavilion 3
Sort by:
  • J

    Jenna · Married on 07/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The donovan pavilion was the most amazing place to have our wedding! The staff was more than helpful, Mindy was always available to chat with me and answer all of my questions. The venue itself is timeless and barely needs any decorations because it's so beautiful all on it's own. I'm so glad we chose the donovan pavilion for our wedding

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Donovan Pavilion was the perfect venue for our August 2017 wedding. The space is absolutely beautiful and perfect to be able to make of it what you want. Mindy and the rest of the staff were extremely helpful in answering our questions, allowing us to tour the venue a few times and ensuring all the details of the day of were covered. We had 160 people at our wedding and had more than enough space. I would recommend the venue to anyone looking for a rustic wedding (at a good value) in Vail.

  • H

    Haydn · Married on 07/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Donovan Pavilion was a fairytale venue to celebrate our wedding day in. The staff that we were able to work with throughout the process were very attentive at answering any questions we had and giving us advice for the wedding day as well based on weddings they had seen previously in the space. Every time we wanted to get in the space (whether it be to tour it for the first time, meet there with our caterers, or select a time for the rehearsal the night before) we were always able to get the day and time we needed as well. Since you bring all outside vendors into the space (which we loved because we were able to hand pick everyone ourselves) the only other service the Donovan provided was someone to be there during the wedding to make sure that the venue was well taken care of. This person turned into a security man about half way through the night and they were both very helpful! The venue is an incredible space and I couldn’t imagine getting married anywhere else!

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mindy is great to work with! Just ask if you need something, she will let you know how she can help. Even let me use an easel!

  • L

    Laura · Married on 09/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at the Donovan Pavilion! It is a gorgeous venue. The staff was easy to work with and responsive when we needed to get in touch with them.

  • User5244188 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were planning our wedding under a pretty tight timeline and feel so lucky that we managed to find a Friday availability 6 months out. Mindy and her entire staff were always extremely responsive and efficient. The contract was clear and concise and I feel we got an amazing value for the money. We were able to get an in-county discount as well, which was nice that they offered that to locals. One great thing about it being a government-owned facility is that you have free-reign to choose your vendors and are even able to purchase your own alcohol from any source (as long as a TIPS certified bartender serves it).

  • M

    Megan · Married on 07/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What an incredible venue! Donovan is a true blank slate which allowed for us to completely transform the interior into our dream reception. Mindy is so kind and was a joy to work with.

  • User4281320 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue! We were so glad to have this space and the flexibility as a back-up for our ceremony in case of bad weather. Our guests just LOVED the back patio and the fire pit. The dance floor did get pretty hot throughout the night so some air or fans would have been great but, really, overall, we had an awesome experience here!

  • User3399746 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mindy at the Donovan was so easy to work with. The Donovan and the property was just beautiful! The icing on the cake was you could hear the river running on the back patio where we had our ceremony!

  • User3528008 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a beautiful setting we had for our daughter's weekend wedding and thanks to Mindy and the staff for having such a great place to host a wonderful celebration! It was beyond our imagination of how wonderful it was to have an outdoor ceremony and a wonderful indoor dinner and reception! Thanks! So wonderful!

  • T

    Tammy · Married on 02/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Mindy at the Donovan Pavilion for our February wedding. She was incredible! The venue is gorgeous, but the fact that Mindy was so helpful and wonderful was what really sealed the deal for us. So many venues aren't overly welcoming or helpful - but Mindy was. She answered emails immediately, she worked with our schedule for visits and walk throughs, she is a very friendly person to work with and I would highly recommend working with her. On top of that, you get a beautiful venue with a patio and fire pit - all of our guests raved about the perfect mountain atmosphere. all in all, a winning combination!

  • T

    Traci · Married on 08/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mindy and the team at the Donovan Pavilion were fantastic to work with over the past year. We had a lot of things come up (change of date, change of time, etc) and they were quick to help us and were very flexible. This venue is a true reflection of the mountain beauty that we were looking for on our wedding day AND we were able to use our choice of vendors (a money saver).

  • K

    Kami · Married on 07/03/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Donovan is a beautiful facility, and Mindy is a gem to work with!

  • S

    bryan · Married on 01/02/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a wedding photographer myself i have been to a lot of weddings. Over 200-
    and we choose Donovan pavilion for our own wedding, and we were not disappointed. Beautiful large space. Great kitchen for caterers. And you can supply your own liquor. an all around great value.
    –www.bryangrantphoto.com

  • Miller22

    Carrissa · Married on 06/14/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Donovan Pavilion is amazing. Mindy was extremely helpful and very pleasant. If you are looking for a Colorado mountain wedding, this is the perfect place!

  • Kelly

    Kelly · Married on 12/01/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Donovan was the PERFECT location for our outdoor December wedding and our indoor reception venue! Our guests loved having everything within one location! They were so kind in letting us come in a little early to set up, and they were fabulous in helping us to envision our entire day! I highly recommend the Donovan Pavilion for both a very special wedding and a wonderful reception! The only thing that was hard was the cost! It really is expensive to rent out for your event, so make the most of your time there! By the way, Mindy is PHENOMENAL! She handled all of our music for the wedding and the reception! You will NOT be disappointed!

  • K

    Kathy · Married on 09/02/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Donovan was a great location for our ceremony and reception. We had many out of town guests and they all enjoyed the surrounding area and all that Vail had to offer.

  • C

    Cecilia · Married on 06/22/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They respond in a timely manner. They are very helpful when it comes to finding other vendors. They help make sure your day is special and the way you want it.

  • J

    Jill · Married on 12/14/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my winter wedding reception for 100 people at the Donovan and I could not have asked for a more beautiful wedding venue. Everyone was commenting on how perfect it was and taking pictures. While it isn't the most inexpensive to rent you do get quite a bit out of it being able to bring in your own caterer, bartenders, and alcohol. We even also just hooked up our iPhone to play cocktail hour music. People absolutely loved the fire pit - we had people out there all night long. The service was incredible - Mindy was so responsive and helpful before, during, and after the event - we really couldn't have pulled everything off so smoothly without her! Thank you so much!

  • Sherry

    Sherry · Married on 07/26/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I choose the Donovan Pavilion after looking at several places in Eagle and Summit county. We used the space for both the ceremony (on the patio) and reception. It worked great for us because it was accessible and easy to find for our guests that were all from out of state. Also, we had several grandparents that wouldn't have done well with lots of stairs and the Pavilion was perfect for that as well.

    The views up the mountain are wonderful, the firepit seating area was a big hit, and the adjoining park was great for guests with younger kids that wanted to run off some energy between the ceremony and reception. It's a beautiful space and looks great during the day and evening.

    I worked a lot with Mindy at the Donovan Pavilion and she was wonderful, answering my email with a day or two and providing pictures of available equipment. Everyone there was very professional and made it a really great experience.

  • Christine

    Christine · Married on 09/21/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I always thought that the Donovan would be a beautiful place to get married, and after getting engaged and researching venues, I found that it was the perfect place for us. First of all, while it's not exactly inexpensive, you get your bang for your buck. The staff (Mindy & Laurie) were amazingly helpful and responsive. Second, it's gorgeous. But third, and most important to us, was that it helped us stay on budget because we could hire the vendors we wanted and were able to bring our own alcohol and provide bartenders. Our costs were lower than expected when all was said and done! And we used every square inch of space there and it was all worth the money.

  • Shannon

    Shannon · Married on 01/21/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our wedding at Donovan Pavilion. It was the perfect venue for a mountain wedding because you weren't stuck in a basement ballroom. The room is so elegant little had to be done to make it special and the service is incredible. The other greatnthingnis you can bring in all outside vendors and select people you want to use, including alcohol! This saved us quite a bit of money to bring in liquor. The only down side was that we had a very large group and had to tent the back for cocktails because there are no other rooms, but it was worth it.

  • M

    Ashley · Married on 06/08/2008

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone raved what a beautiful site it was and Mindy really just took charge of the rehearsal and everything and it was perfect... If anyone wants a mountain wedding check this place out!!!! It is breathtaking and if you are having kids at the wedding the parents will love you (or at least ours did) because there is a playground right next to it and in order to keep the kids under control and able to handle they took them over there and played for a while. We even went and played for quite a bit :D.

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 07/15/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is soooo beautiful. All the wood and high ceilings and glass windows. It is so magical. Mindy who works there is super sweet and helpful with advice and recommendations and she even let my husband come early to setup an altar he had built for our ceremony. But be prepared for a lot of renting because this venue does not come with any silverware or china or tablcloths. Also, there is no bridal or groom rooms so you have to hang out in random areas before the ceremony starts. But it was all worth it because it is so perfect at the Donovan!

  • User3419567 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a beautiful and affordable place to hold a Colorado wedding. The Donavon Pavilion was naturally beautiful. You do not get very many options as far as chairs and using different equipment, but it was still wonderful. The location is easy for people to get to and if you have a Spring/Summer wedding you are able to use the outdoor fire pit and even the park!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review