Domestic Arts Custom Cakes Reviews

18 | Ann Arbor, MI
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Domestic Arts Custom Cakes

Recommended by 99%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 10/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tanya of Domestic Arts Custom Cakes is phenomenal! She is a beautiful lady to work with and extremely talented. The flavor and quality of her work is excellent, and the artistry, absolutely magnificent. My wedding cake was over and above what I would have imagined thanks to Tanya, and absolutely everyone who tried it said it was the best cake they'd ever tasted! In my words, her cakes are "hurt yourself good"! I was very pleased!!! ~Michelle Awah

  • C

    Candice · Married on 10/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so excited to work with Domestic Arts Custom Cakes for our wedding. Our guests were pleased at the chance to taste two wonderful flavors from Tanya Luz and her staff. The amaretto with raspberry and chai with sugar coated pecan flavors were prefect for my fall wedding. Our wedding cake was amazing! It tasted great and color's matched perfectly with the wedding decorations. I gave them a picture of a cake I found online, and they matched it perfectly! I would highly recommend this company for any special event you make have! Her professionalism yet caring spirit was wonderful. I appreciate Tanya, and I cannot wait to use her for my next event. High Five for Domestic Arts Custom Cakes!!

  • M

    megan · Married on 09/22/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tanya was really awesome, she was the first person that we tested cakes with and we booked her immediately. She is so friendly and accommodating, her cakes are delicious! Great value for the money, can't wait for our one year anniversary when we get to taste another one of her fabulous fresh cakes!!

  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 08/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tanya at Domestic Arts Custom Cakes is a cake angel! Her cake is honestly, by far the BEST cake I have ever tasted! Her designs are AMAZING too! Our cake tasting was phenomenal... we arrived at her office space and she had dozens of cupcakes set up with every kind of filling you could imagine... my mom, aunt and I just sat and tasted and ate... it was awesome! She is such a kind, generous and sweet person... you will leave your meeting with her feeling like you are getting a great cake, but also having made a new friend :)

    Tanya's cake is well worth every penny and will leave your guests talking about her delicious cake!! The Italian buttercream is TO DIE FOR!! Tanya will go above and beyond to make your cake beautiful and taste great. Tanya is a bride's dream cake designer and baker.

  • A

    Amy · Married on 07/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tanya's cake was one of the most memorable parts of my wedding day. She was a joy to work with and went above and beyond the call of her duty. Her cake was unbelievably delicious and I wish my husband and I could have it again. I would highly recommend her to any future bride.

  • A

    Alesha · Married on 07/14/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tanya did a beautiful Job on my wedding cake!! She was awesome to work with, I have found my new cake lady!! The quality & taste of her cakes was the bomb, I would definitely refer her to everyone!

  • L

    Lakeisha · Married on 06/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough about it. The cake was so beautiful that people are still talking about it.

  • B

    Brook · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Not only did they make me a leopard cake, yes a leopard cake, they took me on after they were already fully booked that weekend! Tonya is fun, fresh, and fantastic at anything she does! I ran into a few problems with my location and everytime they rode in on a white horse to save the day, without Tonya my day would not have been as smooth or as prefect as it really was for me and all my guests! I have never been to a wedding where guest were approaching the cake table begging to take more cake home. In fact my father-in-law took an entire tier home and is still currently hacking away at it. I even had her make me a surprise grooms cake, a model of my husband beloved mustang, broken down and for sale! She again exceeded all expectations! All of her cakes can be seen on facebook, including my cakes! I suggest that if you have a cake in mind that is at all above what you could bake, then take it to Domestic Arts! And the chocolate peanut butter cake is to die for!!

  • C

    Christina · Married on 05/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tanya was an absolute JOY to work with and I was left absolutely speechless when I saw my wedding cake! I literally jumped up and down! :D Tanya listened to EVERY request of mine and couldn't have done a better job with the styling of the cake! Tanya did everything she could to make our wedding absolutely perfect and I couldn't have been a happier client! Tanya will definitely be making my sister's wedding cakes in the future! Overall I would give Domestic Arts Custom Cakes an A+ with 200% customer satisfaction! Tanya is a sweetheart! We love you!!

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 03/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    f you are looking for a spactacular cake, Tanya from Domestic Arts is who you want! I got married on St. Patrick's Day 2012 in Troy, MI, and Tanya did the wedding cake and groom's cake for my wedding; I could not have been more ecstatic, or pleased, with her! I am a bride that has severe fructose intolerance (I can't eat anything with corn product, and other things in it), but I wanted SO badly to be able to eat my wedding cake! Tanya made it happen, I don't know what I would've done without her! She was so easy to work with, and took such care to make sure the cake she made for me would be 100% safe to eat on my wedding day, she was just so absolutely amazing! Her cakes are phenomenal both in taste and decoration, she is so talented at what she does! My guests loved the cakes (we had guinness chocolate cake w/ Bailey's buttercream, an amaretto cake w/ raspberry, and a vanilla cake w/chocolate/heath) they couldn't wait to take cake home with them after the wedding too! I enjoyed my cake so much that I even told my DJ to hold off on my first dance so I could finish it :) Tanya's level of service is, in my opinion, one step above everyone else out there, she really helped to make my big day 100% perfect and I am so grateful to her for that! I highly recommed her, especially if you are looking for a baker who can work with allergies and such, she really was superb! With Domestic Arts, you will get excellent service and cakes from beginning to end. Thank you so much to Domestic Arts and Tanya, you are simply the best, in two words, all I can say is: ABSOLUTE PERFECTION!

  • C

    Ciara · Married on 10/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tanya was great!!! She was very quick with answering my questions, and very very straightforward about things. The process with creating the cake was very great and she was veery helpful. At my reception, the cake stood beautifully and everyone is still talking about the cake and how good it was. I am actually in the process of getting another made by Domestic Arts. I have fell in love with her cakes. Definitely a win in my book!!!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 08/07/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was by far the best cake i have ever had....and really, who can say that about a wedding cake! It was beautifully crafted and exactly what i asked for. Tanya was such a warm and inviting person to work with and I would recommend her business to anyone.

  • S

    Paul · Married on 06/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tanya made us a beautiful and very tasty cake on a budget, after giving us extensive samples from her collection. Due to unforeseeable circumstances, the cake took a tumble on our wedding day - but she had a backup and returned with a new one and time to spare. She also helped us out with folding tables and coolers for an outdoor wedding on a hot day. She is reliable, professional, and very sweet - it was a pleasure dealing with her. Thank you Tanya!

  • T

    Terri · Married on 05/21/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tanya had provided cakes for us a few other times--our son's 9th birthday and my 40th--and they were outstanding, but we got even MORE than we expected when we hired her to handle our wedding cakes.

    We LOVE food and cake is a favorite, so we decided that a single cake wouldn't do, so we ordered multiple 10-inch cakes and several dozen cupcakes. The cakes were outstanding--our guests raved about them! She has this incredible fondant recipe...I typically don't like fondant and peel it off, but not this stuff. I seek it out!

    She didn't just do the cakes, though. She created an amazing dessert display and brought decor for the room where the food was served. She brought a helium tank and balloons. She brought small favors for the kids. She arrived early to set up--and to help us set up the rest of the wedding.

    This is SO much more than a place to get great cakes. You will not be disappointed!

  • S

    Michelle · Married on 06/05/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tanya made a beautiful and delicious cherry blossom cake for my wedding last June. She was very responsive and knowledgeable in helping me to plan the details of my cake. She personally delivered the cake early on the day of the wedding and set up the cake table for us. She even offered to stay and cut the cake for our guests! The price was amazing considering the superb quality, flavor and design of the cake. If you are looking for a beautiful, delicious cake at a reasonable price, I highly recommend Domestic Arts!

  • E

    Elise · Married on 05/22/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tanya made us a beautiful cake to go along with the theme of our commitment ceremony. She listened to our ideas and we brainstormed on what the cake should ultimatly look like. She was very helpful and we were so pleased with the outcome of the cake. It was beautiful and everyone raved about it. The flavors were incredible and most all of it I believe was from scratch. She doesn't just throw everything from a box and put it together, she takes her time to create a masterpiece. We couldn't have been any more thrilled with the cake and she even helped us cut it (becuase we all know this is a busy moment with lots going on.) I wouldn't hesitate to call her again for any other type of cake and I would highly recommend her services to anyone looking for the cake of their dreams at a reasonable price.

  • P

    Paige · Married on 06/09/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was amazing! She went above and beyond my expectations. She made gluten free cupcakes for the guests of mine that were allergic and they were freaking delicious. She also delivered us a cake top, a bottle of wine, and 2 figurines for my husband (they went with his grooms cake). It was so wonderfully sweet. I sat on the floor on Saturday night enjoying my cake with my fingers. The grooms cake was spectacular as well. I'm so happy with everything about this!

  • C

    Chris · Married on 09/11/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We only sampled a slice of what Domestic Arts had to offer, and our piece was whimsy, fun, and open-hearted. I can't speak for formality or elegance, as our affair had no such goal - but I can say without question that the cake was a high point of the evening. I've never watched a wedding cake vanish before. I've never watched anyone eat more than polite helpings with heaps of frosting left on every plate. Our cake disappeared in slabs, was visited for second helpings, and was absconded-with under wraps at the end of the evening. It was the first "delicious" wedding cake I've ever had.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review