Weddings

Dodson Orchards Reviews

Dodson Orchards

Dodson Orchards

Fredericktown, MO
Rating 4.6 out of 5, 11 Reviews
View more information

11 Reviews

Rated
4.6
out of 5.0
Recommended by 92% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.6 out of 5

Awards

  • 11
Sort by:
  • Krystin
    Krystin B. Married on 09/26/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dodson Orchards

    My fiance and I went out there to check it out and see what all they had, and it was absolutely beautiful.
  • J
    Julia Married on 11/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When beginning to plan our wedding, my now husband and I knew that we wanted to be outside and to feel like we were out in nature. When I pulled up to Dodson Orchard for the first time, I was completely blown away by how truly beautiful the venue and surrounding countryside were and knew that it was the perfect location for our wedding before even stepping out of the car. Jen and Steve did such incredible work creating a beautiful setting for our ceremony, and Jen created such a magical atmosphere with her decorations in the barn for the reception. She is amazingly talented. It was such a gift to just be able to show up on the day and know and trust that everything was not just done, but done exceptionally well. They were so helpful, responsive, and lovely in all of their correspondences with us in preparation for the day and my planning session with Jen was such a fun experience. Their staff was also professional and excellent on the day itself. I am still hearing from guests how the food was the best wedding food they have ever eaten, and the pie bar we had instead of cake was unbelievably delicious. There is truly not a single thing I would change about my wedding day at Dodson Orchards, and I wholeheartedly recommend them to any couple looking for an exceptional venue.
  • B
    Brad Married on 06/03/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Daughter's wedding was a class event in a rustic setting. Very pleased and would recommend to others.
  • C
    Catherine Married on 04/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Steve and Jen were excellent! From the beginning of the process to the end it was perfect. They were very into what we wanted and listened to all we had to say and were very open when we asked for suggestions and help. We were married on April 16, 2016 and Steve even performed the ceremony for us. He was all we could have asked for. The barn was perfect. The food was excellent. The brisket was one of the best we have ever had. The attention to detail from he bride's cottage to the grooms quarters to the barn to the yard for the ceremony were second to none. We are not from the fredericktown area and found them online and are extremely glad we did. If you have a chance to use Dodson Orchards for your wedding I would not hesitate. Thank you Steve and Jen for making our day perfect!

    Lou and Catherine

    Dodson Orchards's reply:

    Thank you so much. We were privileged to be a part of your great day here!
  • C
    Chris Married on 09/06/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding was Sept 6 and the place was beautiful! The pictures our photographers took looked amazing!
  • K
    Kathy Married on 05/09/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wedding was May 9 and, even though it rained, Steve and Jen Dodson were able to create a magical atmosphere inside the barn. The decor was amazing and the food was delicious! The Dodsons were really good at responding to my emails quickly. You can tell the pride they take in their work. Such a delightful couple to work with! I highly recommend this venue for anybody looking for a place for their rustic wedding, or as I called my theme, simply elegant.
  • M
    Mindy Married on 10/19/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    owners are great people. Easy to work with. Very accommodating and easy going. Food was amazing. Venue was amazing. All around fantastic place.
  • K
    Kristen Married on 10/10/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was a really amazing venue that provided an excellent experience for me and my now husband. I loved the idyllic setting of the venue and their staff were very courteous and professional with the whole thing. It made for beautiful memories and I would absolutely recommend it to others who are thinking of using it. It was the best, highly recommended.
  • K
    Kayla Married on 10/12/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This venue was absolute blessing. The owners were so easy to work with and so accommodating. We had to move the ceremony inside at the last minute and it went without a hitch. Our wedding was beautiful and everything I ever dreamed of. I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful venue or better people to organize it.

    Dodson Orchards's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review! We must have done something right if you just decided to post this 3 years later! Wow 3 years have flown by so fast, and we're happy to hear you guys are doing well. Thanks again!
  • C
    Celyn Married on 07/24/2010
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I could not have found a better place to have our wedding! Everyone was super nice and made everything so easy and stress free. The staff there were very attentive and the room where our wedding was held was tastefully decorated. The food for the reception was wonderful, and everyone who attended was just blown away by the quality and professionalism. I would definitely recommend this venue, they made our wedding day very personal and special. Professional and very organized.
  • Matthew
    Matthew B. Getting married on 04/05/2023
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Pandemic Disaster

    My fiancée and I had the unfortunate timing of a wedding date set during the Covid-19 pandemic. Our County was ordered to shelter-in-place and had a gathering maximum mandate in the months and days leading up to and including the date of our wedding at Dodson Orchards. While this was no fault of ours or theirs, they became incredibly inflexible on rescheduling dates and shunned the idea of a refund. They raised our rates for rescheduling and only offered non-premium make up dates. Steve Dodson even tried to persuade us to disregard our County stay at home orders and host the wedding anyway, citing that Madison County was not following the same orders as other Counties and that “everything was going to go away as soon as everyone was given Quinine.” They told us they were doing us a favor by even offering a make up date despite a global pandemic. That was in February 2020.
    As I write this review, my fiancée and I have lost friends and family to Covid-19 and for the sake of our elderly and at-risk, decided not to have our wedding as planned. The Dodson’s have refused our attempts at trying to reach an amicable resolution or cancellation due to the unfortunate circumstances surrounding all of this. Once they had our money in hand their true colors came to light. Best of luck to anyone out there considering working with this venue.