Weddings

Documentary Associates Photography Reviews

Documentary Associates Photography

Documentary Associates Photography

Washington, DC
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 78 Reviews
View more information

78 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 78
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

1 User photo

Sort by:
  • E
    Elise W. Married on 09/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful photos, flexible and fun to work with

    We cancelled almost every vendor when COVID hit, but still wanted a local photographer to document our tiny family-only wedding. Tom came highly recommended from another vendor, and he was flexible, super low-maintenance and made my partner (who hates taking pictures) really comfortable. Tom took a creative approach to capturing all the important moments safely and responsibly. Most of all, he was fun to hang out with and easy to work with, despite the extremely odd and difficult circumstances. We love his work and highly recommend.
  • K
    Kati Married on 09/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom was great at the wedding, we barely noticed he was there and we got great photos.
  • J
    Jessica Married on 06/26/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom was AMAZING. He took all of the pictures we asked for and was not in the way at all. I can't wait to see how they come out!
  • RaubacherWagnerWedding2015
    Sarah Married on 11/07/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I booked Ashlee for my wedding, and she was the most professional human being I have ever met. I have not received the pictures yet, but I trust Ashlee and I know they are going to be nothing short of amazing. She had an amazing eye, and did such wonderful work in placing everyone in a photo. She worked nonstop throughout the wedding, even at the end when my husband and I's car didn't show up, she kept shooting!! Everyone kept asking where I got Ashlee from because she was fantastic.
    We had a terrible situation that happened right before our wedding. My mother ended up falling down the stairs RIGHT BEFORE our first look..I mean my husband was outside the door for about 20 min before we could tell him what happened. Ashlee was so understanding and sweet..put my mind at ease, and even told my mom she would photo shop her :D
    Thank you for everything Ashlee, you were amazing, and I cannot wait to see the photos!!
    My sister / brother in law even booked her for her family photographs, and they loved her too!!
  • S
    Shannon Married on 10/11/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom had been the photographer for a coworker's wedding, and she insisted that we talk to him when we were looking for a photographer. I'm so glad we did. He's easygoing, funny, and does gorgeous work. Our photos came out beautiful, and Tom was so unobtrusive through the whole day that I don't even remember some of them being taken. I can't recommend Tom and Documentary Associates highly enough.
  • A
    Alyssa Married on 10/03/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I can not say enough great things about working with Documentary Associates, and specifically Ashlee Wilcox. From the beginning, she was super easy to work with - anticipating what I wanted and how I wanted the feel of the pictures. She came as a recommendation and it's one I would make to every bride and groom out there. You can't go wrong with this choice. The day of, always hectic, Ashley was the calm one - never rushing, always smiling and above all making us feel special. When we received our photos, I could not have been more thrilled. She was able to capture the essence of the day and more importantly the essence of us.

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    Alyssa - thank you so much! It was such a pleasure photographing you guys. I hope you love your photos for many happy years.
  • T
    Torie Married on 09/12/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Documentary Associates did a fantastic job capturing my wedding day. Tom was calm, collected, and highly professional — he made me feel totally at peace throughout the day. The photos we received are absolutely beautiful and so meaningful. Documentary Associates captured so many moments, big and small, throughout the day and we are so grateful. Would highly recommend!
  • K
    Kayla Married on 09/05/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had such a blast working with Tom and his wife Ash at our River Farm wedding. We had first met Tom back in October to do our engagement shoot (it was the "free gift" option we selected with our package). After we were finished, we knew we had the right guy. He was creative and quick - he already knew where he wanted to do the shots and the look he was going for which was great for us! We were fully convinced on our decisions when we received the files a month or so later - they were just beautiful. He has an amazing eye for composition! On to the wedding - same deal. His wife Ash was the second shooter that day which made getting all of our pictures done much easier not to mention that they work amazingly together! Tom would set up the look of the shot and get ready to shoot while Ash would make sure angles and flowers were correct and no stray hairs were to be seen. They also gave us the freedom to set up some of our own shots (my maid of honor is a photographer as well and came with an abundance of ideas). During dinner, Tom grabbed us just once for a shot he had seen and wanted to take advantage of and he only kept us for 5 minutes...I've heard horror stories of photographers pulling the bride and groom away just to make them wait for 10 minutes while they set up a shot. We loved Tom and Ash' professionalism and attitudes - they were so much fun. Also, the photo booth is a must - it was a hoot watching people put props on and take ridiculous photos! Overall - book them if you can, you will not regret it!!
  • User2238616 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom did a great job for us!

    He helped us select very good shooting spots, so that we covered all basic types of background: nature, water, architecture.
    On the wedding day he cheered us up the whole day, so our smiles looked very natural even near the end of the day.
    In general, he was very helpful, responsive, and comfortable to work with.

    The final photos were delivered just a couple of days behind the deadline set in the contract, but just in time we needed them most.
    They were carefully selected and slightly retouched/enhanced where needed.

    Look forward to working with him again!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 04/18/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I just got married a few days ago and couldn't wait to write a fabulous review for Documentary Associates because they are phenomenal!!! We knew from the moment we met Ashlee that we had found the perfect photographer to capture all the special moments on our wedding day. Her talent is seriously unrivaled, and her professionalism and style is out of this world. We are SO thrilled with the choice we made and HIGHLY recommend Documentary Associates!!!

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much Lauren!! I loved working with you guys, and am so excited to share more of your wedding images with you!
  • A
    Aaron Married on 04/18/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I want to echo all the other glowing reviews of Ashlee's work. She managed to make me look like I belonged next to my beautiful bride. She's as much an artist as a photographer, and the pictures came out fantastic. Ashlee's calm, professional demeanor kept my bride from being stressed during the photo session right after the service, and I can't thank her enough for that. She also got some stellar shots at the reception... she made the Baltimore harbor into a perfect background against the setting sun. We will cherish these pictures forever.

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    Aaron, thank you so much for your review, and for your insight! I had so much fun working with you guys and your families -- your wedding, and the two of you, were beyond lovely :) Thank you for letting me be a part of it!
  • V
    Vanessa Married on 02/14/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom and Ashlee are one of the funnest and coolest husband & wife team out there! Tom was the main lead on our photography, but Ashlee was always there to help stage the photo and effectively direct our group. We also did an engagement session with Tom in advance of our wedding, which was such a fun, laid back few hours in which we felt completely comfortable. When it came to both our engagement and wedding photos, everyone raved how incredible everything turned out. Documentary Associates did a great job at capturing our personalities and our special day in a unique way. In addition to the standard portrait shots, there was a fantastic array of candids and special moments that were caught in a photojournalistic fashion. There are truly a lot of amazing gems we will treasure for years to come! Tom and Ashlee were flexible when we requested a few additional edits to the proofs we received, and we received everything in a timely manner. They were both also so great about communication which was incredibly important to us. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Documentary Associates to future brides & grooms!

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    Thank you Vanessa!! We loved working with you guys!
  • G
    Glenn Married on 09/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Unparalleled service and professionalism. Ashley not only made us feel comfortable, we also felt that she was absolutely the best at using the light to properly reflect the best photos of the wedding. Google their site and you will be amazed. Everyone should use these photographers.

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much Glenn! It was such a pleasure working with you and Carla -- and truly my honor to be present during your day. Wish you all the best, Ashlee
  • Noelia
    Noelia Married on 08/02/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired Tom to be our photographer in our wedding and we are glad we did! He was really easy to work with and the photos turned out beautiful!! We completely recommend it!

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    Noelia -- thank you so much for the nice review! We're so happy you love your photos, and hope you enjoy them for many years to come. All the best, Tom & Ashlee
  • User1707277 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom was so easy to work with, from planning to the actual day. The pictures are phenomenal and we are absolutely delighted - interesting compositions and incorporating the design of the venue. A+++

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We are proud of the work we deliver our clients, and appreciate your insightful experience.
  • L
    Lilli Married on 10/13/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Documentary Associates perfectly captured our evening. They understood the vision we had and were able to deliver, without being intrusive or disruptive to anyone. They were professional but fun at the same time. We really can't recommend them enough.

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much for the wonderful review! It has been such a pleasure working with you guys and your families. Thank you also for the referral to your family friend - I will be photographing an event for her next month!
  • N
    Nikki Married on 08/23/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom at Documentary Associates was wonderful. He is a very skilled photographer and I highly recommend his services. Our pictures came out beautiful. He was extremely professional working with our family and friends and made sure to get the photos we needed (and wanted) done in the allotted time. We loved working with him, especially my husband who hates being in front of the camera!

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    Thank you Nikki! We've been professional photographers for well over a decade now, and take pride in the knowledge and experience we have to offer our clients. Thank you for the 5 star review, and for putting your trust in us! All the best, Tom & Ashlee
  • H
    Helene Married on 08/10/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We got beautiful photos from our wedding. Thomas is organized and direct and able to put together beautiful photos of large groups or small groups. He blended into the wedding and took beautiful photos we hardly even noticed him there. Amazing work, we are thrilled!

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    Helene - thank you so much for your insightful review! It has been a pleasure working with you!
  • A
    Angie Married on 05/25/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Had to edit my review...please see "Angela" and "wedding date" of 4/9/13
  • A
    Angela Married on 04/09/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were so incredibly fortunate to work with Tom Van Veen, one of the co-owners of Documentary Associates. He was incredibly flexible and accommodating, as evidenced by his willingness to shoot our engagement photos during cherry blossom season around the tidal basin. In fact, the first time we met, it was just a little too cold, so he offered to reschedule and make the commute/find parking around the basin not once, but twice! When the weather was slightly more cooperative, Tom put me and my partner at ease with his relaxed, yet focused demeanor and his reassuring expertise. You could tell he knew what he was doing with lighting, angles, and backgrounds, something my partner - a hobby photographer - was truly grateful for. Our high resolution engagement photos were exceptional. We have used them on our website and save-the-dates and have received numerous compliments. While we are extremely disappointed we can't work with Tom for our wedding (the listed wedding date for this review was our engagement photo session; wedding is in November 2013 and the conditions of our venue dictate we work with another photographer), we look forward to working with Tom in the future and will be encouraging all of our friends to consider working with him as well!
  • L
    Leigh Married on 03/02/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ashlee's work is nothing less than breathtaking.
    When I viewed our pics for the first time, i thought to myself "YES!!! PERFECT!!! WAS THIS REALLY HOW GOOD WE LOOKED??!!" They were everything I had hoped for. We could not have chosen a better artist. We now have the most extraordinary photos to bring us back to this day...
    Her creativity and expertise is evident in her final product. My friends and family are still raving about the pictures. No one can even come close to choosing a favorite photo...they are really that amazing!!!
    Ashlee is down to earth and her warm personality invites smiles. Things were natural and easy all day. Ashlee really blended into our group - many of the pictures came as a pleasant surprise because I didn't even realize they were being taken...
    Organized, professional, reliable and accommodating throughout our out-of-town planning process.
    I can't fully express my gratitude...I am so lucky to have had Ashlee as our photographer.

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    Leigh -
    Thank you so much for the incredibly nice review! I absolutely loved working with you guys, and am thrilled you love your photos as much as I do. I just published Part I of your your wedding on our blog, and can't wait to post more amazing moments from your day in a 2nd post (there were so many!!).

    Thank you for sharing your day with me -- the honor was sincerely mine!

    Warm regards,
    Ashlee
  • K
    Kelly Married on 02/09/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tom was amazing! I knew after our initial meeting we would love his work. He was very professional the day of the wedding and I never felt he was in the way or making us do pictures we didn't want. He definitely captures people in the moment to make for those great photos you will look at over and over again. (and over and over). Documentary Associates was actually recommended by my DJ (Chris Laich) and I'm forever grateful for that referral! After looking at our pictures, I kept saying "I don't even remember him taking that photo" and that's because he captures the moment without being in your way. If you want to be incredibly happy with your wedding photos, hire Documentary Associates!

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    Thank you so much Kelly! We've loved working with you!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 12/23/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They did a wonderful job of making my husband and I feel special.

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    Thanks Lauren! Your wedding celebration was truly special!
  • User1057058 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    There are a number of reasons to commend Tom & Ash, but most importantly the photos turned out fantastic! So many great moments were captured and we are left with dozens of great shots not just of ourselves, but of our families and friends. While the "portrait" shots turned out great (particularly given fading light and so many folks to corral) the real gems were the unscripted shots that captured the real spirit of the day. Ashlee (our photographer) was in 50 places at once, seemingly capturing moments from different angles simultaneously. To have such a rich photographic record of the day is worth it...both now and when we grow old and forgetful. :) Thanks Tom & Ash!!!

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    Thank you for the wonderful review!
  • V
    V Married on 10/06/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ashlee was a stealthy photo ninja who managed to breeze through complex formal shots (13 different compositions in 2 locations with shots involving up to 26 people–indoor and outdoor) in an hour and still have energy to be completely unobtrusive throughout the ceremony. I honestly didn't notice her between formal shots and the dancing part of the evening, which was exactly what we wanted.

    I also appreciate that Ashlee and Documentary Associates were very flexible in negotiating a rights & reproductions clause on the contract that everyone could be happy about. Many vendors would just back away and say that their lawyer counseled them to write the contract that way and so be it, but Ashlee was willing to listen to us and adjust for our concerns. This kind of professionalism and responsiveness is commendable.

    Overall, she was a pleasure to work with and I can't wait to see the photos! The sneak peeks we saw on her viewfinder were tantalizing. I absolutely recommend Documentary Associates, especially if you're looking for a naturalistic, photojournalistic approach to your wedding pictures that reflects what actually happened on that day and not what your rings look like when posed together on top of your bouquet. We loved that there was a bare minimum of posing with Ashlee and we just got to have fun and have pictures taken.

    Documentary Associates Photography's reply:

    V - thank you so much!! What an awesome review :) You guys made my job easy with your clear communication of your wishes and expectations, and your totally fun and pleasant personalities. Thank you again for choosing me -- and putting your trust in me -- to document your day. I can't wait to share your photos with you.