DJ Steve Maffei Jr Reviews

17 | Pittsburgh, PA
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for DJ Steve Maffei Jr

Recommended by 86%

17

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.2
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.3
  • Average response time 4.1
Sort by:
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 10/28/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want everyone dancing, hire Steve!

    Steve is such an incredible, high energy, fun, talented, and thoughtful DJ! He helped us plan out all aspects of our music, coordinated so well with the Middle Eastern band we had, incorporated all of our favorite songs (not only into the dancing portion, but also our cocktail hour and during our dinner service). He helped me plan a surprise for my husband (I sang our song to him at our reception), which we were so grateful for. He was also instrumental in getting our bridal party entrances perfect, and did the intros really well. Anything we needed or forgot, Steve already had covered. He struck the perfect balance of encouraging people to dance without being too much. To top it off, he's also a great guy that's so easy to work with. Honestly the best wedding DJ I've ever heard.

    Sent on 01/31/2019
  • K

    karen · Married on 12/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely the BEST DJ - give him a general idea of what you want and he runs with it. A dj will make or break any event--this one makes it incredible!

    Sent on 04/04/2018
  • S

    Shayna · Married on 08/26/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is no DJ out there better than Steve Maffei. He was such a pleasure to work with! We had him handle all of the music for our big day, from the ceremony music all the way to the last dance. He truly made our perfect and we got rave reviews from every guest about how great of a job he did! He coordinated and executed our ceremony music to perfection, had the perfect mix of music for our cocktail hour, and kept our guests on the dance floor all night long. He checked in with us throughout the night to make sure everything was going smoothly and to keep us updated on the next part of the day. We are just so grateful that we had his positive energy, lively spirit, and organization to make our day so wonderful. We would recommend him to anyone who is looking to have the best night of their lives.

    Sent on 08/28/2017
  • F

    Francesca · Married on 08/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had an early Sunday wedding on Aug.9, 2015. We were afraid that people would just eat and leave, but Steve did an amazing job engaging our family and friends! He had everyone on the dance floor, and the party lasted until 10 p.m. ( we started at 4 p.m.) He was easy to work with prior to our reception, and met all of our wants and needs. He was a great addition to our big day!

    Sent on 08/24/2015
  • User5344768 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Literally the best DJ of all time!!!! I was worried originally because I didn't hear from him until the week before the wedding. I'm not a big dancer and neither is my husband. Many of the guest at our wedding also weren't drinking so we were scared they weren't going to dance. Steve got EVERYONE up and dancing. I got soooo many compliments on him and by the end of the night he was out of business cards. He's amazing. I would highly recommend!

    Sent on 08/13/2015
  • J

    Julie · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve Maffei Jr was wonderful to work with and did an exceptional job as our DJ for our wedding! He had great song ideas for all of the songs I couldn’t nail down on my own. The day of the wedding, he was super professional, and made sure everything ran smoothly (he even assured me that my dress was bustled correctly- he knows his wedding stuff!). He did the ceremony, cocktail hour and reception- all the music he selected was PERFECT! Everyone raved about him and said he was the best DJ they ever had at a wedding! I’m still getting asked about who our fantastic DJ was!!

    Sent on 02/05/2015
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 10/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was introduced to Steve Maffei DJs from the preferred vendor list that was given to us after we signed the contract with our reception venue, Doubletree by Hilton – Greentree. I set up an appointment with Steve Maffei, Sr. and he suggested meeting at the Doubletree – Greentree which I thought was very convenient, as it was our reception venue. During our first meeting, I knew that I really liked Steve Sr. right away as he was very personable and made me feel that if we were to go with him for our DJ he would make sure everything went as planned! And that is exactly what happened on the day of our wedding! About a week or so before our wedding day Steve Sr. called me to touch base with everything and ask a few questions mainly about pronunciations of the wedding party members and a basic timeline for the evening, which was great! He made me feel stress free and I knew that on our day he was going to ensure that things run smoothly!

    On our wedding day we arrived about 40 minutes late to the reception and as a result we had to make some adjustments throughout the evening! During the course of the evening Steve came up to my husband and I to give us a heads up before events of the night were going to happen, father-daughter dance, mother-son dance, etc. He did so in a manner that was not overwhelming, but simply told us the next dances were going to take place in 5 minutes so we could stop our conversations and prepare for them! This was so great because we did not have to worry about any timing issues for the entire night, he took care of everything!

    The highlight of my evening was when my husband and I were introduced at the start of the reception and mainly because of Steve Sr. Our introduction song was Livin’ on a Prayer by Bon Jovi and Steve could not have timed the song to our entrance more perfectly; and that moment was just the right way to start off our evening!

    I would highly highly recommend Steve Maffei DJs, especially Steve Sr. for a DJ for any even

    Sent on 11/11/2014
  • J

    Jason · Married on 07/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Now I might be biased since I went to highschool with Steve jr. And have seen him dj before, but rest assured he lives up to those expectations. Not only did he have us happy, but out of town family and friends raved about how great he was. Just upset that I see some negative reviews. He was more than what we expected.

    Sent on 04/23/2013
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 10/01/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve was incredible! He completely took charge of the night and told us to just follow his lead which definitely took the stress away from us. Our dance floor was always full and he interacted with our families which was awesome. Definitely the best pick for your dj!

    Sent on 10/22/2016
  • User4483563 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve Maffei Jr. was the DJ at our wedding and he did an awesome job! He let us know a few minutes before each coordinated activity (ie: first dance, bouquet toss) that it was almost time so we could wrap up conversations etc. He had the dance floor packed immediately after dinner and kept it that way the whole night. Our guests were so impressed by this - many people told us that they'd never been to a wedding with so many people dancing! My dad was so impressed by Steve's professionalism, but also his obvious love for what he does. We received many compliments on Steve's energy and his ability to get EVERYONE to have fun!

    Sent on 12/08/2015
  • User4287343 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We had DJ Derek as our DJ and he was tons of fun!!! Everyone loved his music and mixing skills. It was never boring on the dance floor! My only negative is that the MC purposely said my sisters name wrong because he thought it would be funny, which it was not and she is still mad about it.

    Also, the MC didn't give the mic to the appropriate people that were on the time line, rather he just handed it to people. This made things unorganized and actually run over time.

    All in all, I would recommend the DJ, minus the MC. Derek was awesome and fun and played everything we wanted!
    Great price as well!

    Sent on 07/31/2014
  • A

    Amber · Married on 05/09/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve Maffei DJ was very professional and easy to work with. We were able to email back and forth with him to set our playlist before the big event and were confident that everything was going to go smootly at the reception before it ever started. He provided us with a long questionnaire to fill out that enabled us to answer questions ahead of time about things we NEVER would have thought of on our own. I would recommend Steve Maffei DJ's to other friends planning their weddings.

    Sent on 12/08/2009
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/08/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steve Maffei Jr was an amazing dj. All the guests, including my parents raved about him. Despite his age, he is very professional and experienced. He gave us a questionaire to fill out including a list of songs we wanted played and a no play list. We decided not to give a full list of songs to play and was probably the best idea. He played a wide variety of songs for all ages. He saw how guests responded to the songs he played and picked music accordingly. He is the eat dj I have ever heard at a wedding and very affordable.

    Sent on 10/30/2011
  • ycdeb2

    Debbie · Married on 09/05/2009

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This DJ came highly recommended to us and we were moderately satisfied with his performance, but it wasn't quite what we had expected. Steve Maffei DJ's were sometimes hard to get in touch with and would sometimes take a couple of days to get back with me. On the day of the wedding, Steve called and said he would be unable to perform at the wedding due to illness and sent a replacement that he assured me would be up to his quality standard. This DJ ended up being okay, but repeated some songs during the reception and forgot to make the announcements that we had asked them to make. Overall, I didn't feel that the quality was worth what we paid.

    Sent on 09/22/2009
  • User5552410 · 2+ years ago

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    We have Steve as our DJ. He did a good job as far as getting everyone dancing at our wedding but leading up to that I was pretty disappointed. There was barely any communication. He would tell us one thing then I wouldn't hear from him like he said. I felt like our wedding was on the back burner since I kept having to call him and ask for the DJ sheet. He told us he would be at our venue 2 and 1/2 hours before ceremony start to set up and play music as guests walk in. Well he didn't arrive until 30 mins before ("traffic") and my guests were there while he was setting up. He's a good salesman but when it came to what we expected we were disappointed.

    Sent on 10/24/2015
  • R

    ray · Married on 08/01/2017

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    I feel like all the rave reviews for this DJ have to be from college students or a similar age group. His music was excessively loud (I visited the wedding next door to the one we were at - and their DJ was at a much more reasonable volume level). My grandparents left early because they couldn't take the decibel level anymore. I couldn't talk to anyone without shouting- and in our discussions of the wedding weeks after we always referred to him as "the screamer." He played a nice mix of music, but never let us listen to a song without shouting over it. Did it get all the young kids up and dancing? Absolutely. He made it feel like a nightclub, not a wedding. I felt like he could care less about the 30 and over crowd who just likes to listen to and/or dance to some good music- without having him sing or shout or call out someone standing by the cookie table to get on the dance floor. You only want to be reminded to get to the dance floor a few times, not every other song. He also did a ton of ridiculous countdowns- 10 minutes, 7 minutes, 5 minutes, 3 minutes, 1 minute, 30 seconds- to count down the start of everything and a few other things throughout the night. Like, thanks, one reminder is all we need. He just loves to hear himself talk. All the young babies and toddlers at our wedding will probably have permanent hearing damage.

    Moral of the story- if a large majority of your group is 25 and under you'll love him. If you want someone who is a bit more classy, and want your older guests to have a good time and be treated like adults then go elsewhere.

    Sent on 08/27/2017
  • A

    Anonymous · Married on 01/01/2009

    0.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    He had neved followed through on his agreements
    Changed performers at last minute

    Sent on 07/30/2010