Skip to main content
Weddings

DJ Ryan Kellinghaus Reviews

DJ Ryan Kellinghaus

DJ Ryan Kellinghaus

Cincinnati, OH
5.0 out of 5 rating, 41 Reviews
View more information

41 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    5 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 41
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • A
    Ann E. Married on 09/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    DJ Avious is the best wedding DJ in Cincinnati hands down. Not only is he the nicest and warmest human I have ever met, but he knows how to start a party and keep it going all night long. I gave him an idea of the music that we wanted for the dancing portion of our reception and he took it to a whole other level. Every single song was better than the next and the dance floor was packed until the very end of the reception. I wanted the reception to last another two hours because I was having the best time of my life on the dance floor with all of the guests. Even my husband who doesn’t like to dance was on the dance floor with me the entire time. Avious also has an incredible singing voice and sang one of the slow songs out on the dance floor which is a moment I will never forget. I think my jaw hit the dance floor when I realized that he was actually singing the song. Avious goes above and beyond to make sure that he helps give you the best experience ever and we are so glad that we chose 513DJ and DJ Avious to help make our dreams come true.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 08/27/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    DJ Ryan Kellinghaus was so amazing. He was professional, personable, kind, fun, entertaining and accommodating. Ryan provided music/announcements for wedding ceremony and for the entire reception/party..about 10 hrs. He had a great mix of music and people dancing from beginning to end. He played music on request. I would highly recommend Ryan...such a pleasure to work with.
  • User1306006 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ryan was a pleasure to work with. He is great with communication and responding to emails as well as being very willing to set up meeting times to have questions answered. At our daughter's wedding reception, everyone had a great time dancing. He kept the events of the evening flowing smoothly and fun for everyone!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Courtney Married on 06/04/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I cannot praise Ryan enough! He did such an amazing job as a DJ at our wedding and also provided lighting. From our initial meeting with Ryan, up until the wedding day, he did a great job communicating with my husband and me, and worked to solidify every detail so that our wedding day would be perfect. Many of our guests commented on Ryan and his ability not only to play great music, but his transitions between songs and professionalism. I would HIGHLY recommend Ryan and would use him again in a heartbeat if we ever need a DJ in the future!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 12/26/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ryan was absolutely amazing!! We communicated with over two and half years, and he was so flexible and responsive to our changes over the years that we were engaged. When we met with him a couple weeks before the wedding, he was so professional, organized, helpful, and had great ideas for our reception. The night of our wedding was one we will never forget! The reception ran so smooth because of Ryan. He did all the behind the scenes work with my venue, and made sure that the flow was right for my husband and I. Ryan's database for selecting music is easy to use and so helpful in building our playlist for the night. He is extremely talented in responding to how the guests dance to the music and picking the right song to play next. We have multiple guests tell us after the wedding how great the music was and how nice the whole night flowed. We have Ryan to thank for making our wedding day so special!!
  • K
    Kate Married on 09/05/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Incredible experience with Ryan! We were married on 9/5/15 and hired Ryan over Thanksgiving in 2014. We live out of state but were getting married back in Ohio and Ryan could not have been more helpful, responsive and knowledgeable. From the very beginning he was extremely organized and timely. He was also flexible in meeting with us via Skype and rearranging his schedule to meet with us when we were in Ohio (which wasn't all that often). Not to mention he works a full time job and has a family! He has a great personality and is easy going. On to the actual wedding....we had Ryan do our music and sound for the ceremony and I'm very glad we did. It was completely seamless (and this was a brand new venue for him) and there were no issues. He kept the party going throughout the reception and worked well with our other vendors. He let my husband and I know what was coming up next and where we needed to be so that we didn't have to worry about anything. One of our elderly guests fell during the reception and we had to call an ambulance - we informed him about what was going on and he reacted with ease and kept things moving right along. Everything worked out great and I can't recommend his services enough. You will not regret hiring him!
  • L
    Libby Married on 05/23/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    DJ Ryan Kellinghaus was absolutely amazing at our daughter's reception! His attention to detail, his organization and his listening ear to what our daughter and son-in-law wanted was very impressive from the first contact they had with Ryan. But the bottom line is always the fun factor at the reception, right? Their reception was SO MUCH FUN! The dance floor was always full. In addition to all the fun, he was the perfect emcee. Do not give a second thought to hiring Ryan Kellinghaus for a fabulously fun event!
  • S
    Sue Married on 10/18/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ryan was wonderful, so professional but became part of the family. It was comforting to know he had our back. I will recommend him to everyone.
  • J
    Joe A. Married on 08/09/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Where to begin?! Maybe I should start by saying that almost all of our "praise" from family and friends was regarding how much fun they had on the dance floor. "What a dance party!" From the first time I spoke with Ryan, I knew our celebration was going to be something special. Whether talking music or assisting with the day of itinerary, Ryan was flexible, responsive, and professional.
    My, now, wife and I love to dance and our friends do too. Almost every get together we have turns into an impromptu dance party. When I spoke with Ryan about the types of music we liked you could see the wheels turning. We really wanted a more custom approach, but did not want to limit Ryan's creative spirit. It was clear by reading reviews of Ryan on various websites that he is the best. We gave Ryan 8 "must play" songs and about 7 suggest songs. We picked all (6) of our slow songs, but the rest was up to him and boy did he deliver! The dance floor 21x24 was so jam packed that our guests were dancing on the carpet fringe and no one cared whatsoever!
    Ryan does a fabulous job of reading the crowd. Primarily, soul, funk, R&B, and hip hop, the party never once dipped! It was high energy the entire time. However, Ryan's ability to facilitate the boogie did not impair other non-dancers from having a great time. Ryan directed his sound system at the dance floor which allowed others sitting at tables to hear the music, but still enjoy casual conversations while others got funky.
    Ryan was a great master of ceremony. From toasts to first dances to cake cutting and family photos, Ryan spoke only when necessary and never dominated the mic. We used Ryan's uplighting which added a certain elegance to the historic hall we chose. Though pricey, we'd do it again in a heart beat. It is also noteworthy that Ryan never once tried to "up-sell" us and let us choose what we wanted and what we thought was best.
    When it's all said and done; Ryan as our DJ was the second decision we made that day!
  • M
    Megan Married on 06/21/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had DJ Avious and he was absolutely fantastic. He was SO MUCH FUN! He did a great job of getting people out on the dance floor, our dance floor was packed for most of the night.

    He was also very responsive in the weeks leading up to our wedding and was very accessible, as he gave us his cell phone number and communicated with us via text whenever questions came up. We have heard great things about Avious from our wedding guests. He played most of our "must" requests and overall the music was great.

    In addition, we met with Ryan, the owner of 513DJ, when we first started planning our wedding and he was also wonderful. He was so nice and very organized and we loved meeting with him. Both Ryan and Avious were great to work with.
  • User1700041 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ryan was our DJ & he was absolutely amazing. I knew as soon as we met him that he was exactly the type of person we were looking for. I had previously called other DJ companies & quickly got annoyed with how much they harassed us to try to gain our business- Ryan was completely different. He was very upfront from the beginning and it was extremely obvious that he cared more about us & our day rather than our money. Ryan made everything go as smooth as he possibly could- we couldn't have asked for more. We love hearing how everyone had a ton of fun at our wedding & how much they enjoyed Ryan. Definitely would recommend Ryan!!!!
  • A
    Allison Married on 05/25/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    First, Ryan was a pleasure to work with in all our wedding preparations! His responsiveness is top-rate. My emails whether they were stupid questions, half-baked ideas, or final tweaks to our reception schedule, were always answered quickly, and he never seemed bothered by my communicating with him. We loved meeting with him so hired him after hearing about his style, discussing our vision and feeling confident he 'got us.' Secondly, the actual event went SO well! Guests had a great time at the party, and Ryan did a fantastic job. It was so much fun! He played the songs we requested, mixing up the order well, improvising, adding his own spin, incorporating requests, etc, to keep the party moving in the style we wanted (both during dinner and during dancing). He isn't "mic-happy" so will let his music speak for himself, not talk all night, which is great. Highly recommended!
  • M
    Michelle Married on 11/09/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had the pleasure of working with DJ Tom for our wedding and reception. He did an amazing job! The 513DJ website was easy to use, and extremely helpful in planning and making song selections. We requested to mix in some Latin/Salsa, and Tom did a great job of reading the crowd and making everyone happy! I couldn't have asked for a better experience!
  • M
    Melissa Married on 11/02/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had the pleasure of working with Ryan Kellinghaus for our wedding. Ryan was great to work with and he gave us some good ideas as well for the evening. Ryan was very good at keeping our dance floor packed all night along and he played the songs we requested along with many other good choices. I would recommend this company to anyone who is looking for a DJ that can keep your wedding party and guest entertained all night long!!!
  • E
    Erin Married on 09/14/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ryan was one of the most professional and organized individuals I have ever worked with. I loved how everything he did was based online so we could submit all of our must play, maybe play, do not play lists online as well as the order of events and songs for each event. He made sure that he had everything perfectly organized prior to our event and was very flexible with last minute changes and requests as well. The event ran perfectly and he made all of the announcements we asked him to (no more, no less) which is perfect because we didn't want an MC, we just wanted an amazing DJ- which is what we got. He kept everyone on the dance floor all night (which was difficult because he was competing with a super fun photo booth for part of it!) and the night ended with everyone still on the dance floor - can't ask for more than that! We are very particular about music but he was able to perfectly mix the tracks without treading into our DO NOT PLAY territory (which was extensive haha) I am so happy that we went with Ryan, he's awesome I would absolutely recommend him to anyone!
  • User1346201 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had Tom as our DJ and he did a wonderful job! We first met with Ryan, the owner, about 10 months before our wedding. He was very personable, professional, and offered everythign that we needed. The online song selection and recommendation system is soooo convenient! It gives you great ideas and helps you organize your song choices. We met with Tom a few weeks before the wedding and he was well prepared and made sure to ask the right questions. He also played our ceremony music and he did a wonderful job. All the song changes went flawlessly. The cocktail hour and reception went exactly as planned. He played all of our "must play" songs and none that we put on the "do not play" list. But, more importantly he played songs that got everyone up and dancing and everyone had a great time! Tom also made sure all the events were on time and he made sure the reception ran very smoothly. If you are looking for an organized, professional, and enjoyable DJ to work with ... then 513DJ and Tom are the right choice. And not to mention ... their rates are very reasonable!
  • C
    Claire C. Married on 06/22/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We chose to have Tom as our DJ for both the ceremony and reception. He was attentive, professional and direct without being pushy. All of our guests had a blast and so did we. A great company to work with: very personable, very professional.
  • P
    Patty Married on 06/15/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ryan was extremely professional in all our dealings with him. He thoroughly explained everything we needed and wanted to know. Our actual DJ, Avious was great! He achieved our main goal of getting everyone dancing and making our reception a blast! He even sang!
  • A
    Allison Married on 05/25/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We just had our wedding this past weekend and it was great. Ryan recommended Tom to us and he was perfect. He was really flexible with moving around some things to cover for our slower meal service. He played exactly what the ground wanted it hear, and was just an all around great guy. They really helped make the party wonderful. Thank you guys!
  • H
    Andrew Married on 12/31/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We LOVED working with Ryan! He is so professional and organized, not to mention very personable. But most of all, he is so dedicated to making sure that things turn out perfect. We knew we were going to be in good hands when we chose Ryan, and we were. While we gave him some must plays, we really let Ryan do his thing and he did not disappoint. He is a true talent! Ryan also did our uplighting. On a cold December night the amber up-lighting warmed the room, and as the party started the lights added energy, changing with the tempo. Ryan's services were worth every penny.
  • K
    Kara Married on 10/13/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Dj Ryan was such a pleasure to work with. Not only is he kind and considerate, but he did all that he could to make our day the way we envisioned it. He was great about communicating with us and adjusted to our busy schedule. He really is genuinely interested in making the event the best it can be. He played our music that we requested and took to the liberty to do his own creative thing (as I asked him to do). GREAT service!

    Interestingly, we actually booked our date with DJ Apryl. However, she could not dj due to pregnancy issues. Both Ryan and Apryl kept us updated about her condition and we prepared in case she was not able to dj for our wedding (which turned out to be the case). At any rate, Ryan stepped in for her and did an amazing job. He understood the unusual circumstances and made it work for us so that our day would be everything we wanted. And it was. As a whole, 513dj is a VERY VERY accomodating servtice and very talented. Ryan made everything stress-free. I did not worry once, he had everything under control!
  • B
    Bopha Married on 09/02/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ryan is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! He was great at keeping contact with us throughout the whole wedding planning process. The website is easy and a wonderful tool to use as you can choose all of your music and enter specific things for the wedding. Any music you want, they have. We had such a mixed crowd at our wedding and he was awesome at keeping the flow of the wedding going. He mixed a special song for our first dance, which was awesome!!! Ryan is professional, polite, accommodating, just freaking fabulous! We will recommend him to many people and hope to work with him again for another event. Our wedding day was spectacular. Having a great dj is a must for weddings or any social thing in general. Ryan at 513DJ is it. SO WORTH IT!!! THANKS!!!
  • User953672 2+ years ago
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ryan actually listened to our needs and desires, then provided it. He presented a night of wonderful music from the prewedding softies, to the wedding march as selected by the bride, through the entire reception. He kept the music at the volume we desired, went table to table to take requests, then only played the types of music that we preapproved. If a guest requested a song from the "prohibited" list, he quietly explained and asked if the guest wanted a substitution. More than a month later, the guests are still raving about the music, plus asking for Ryan's contact information.
  • J
    Jeremy E. Married on 08/11/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Ryan DJ'd our wedding at Receptions in Erlanger on August 11, 2012. We can't say enough good things about him! From the start, he was very professional and easy to contact. He knew all the right questions to ask and took the time to understand our personalities to ensure the night went off smoothly. Ryan contacted us multiple times prior to the wedding to ensure all details were finalized. When we arrived at the reception, he was prompt to greet us to outline the flow of the evening. Our reception had 350 people and Ryan's equipment sounded fantastic, even in the large room we had reserved. Ryan was definitely worth every penny and, without a doubt, we would highly recommend Ryan and DJ513.com to anyone planning a special occasion!!

    Ryan - Thanks for making our reception special and FUN!!!

    Jeremy & Elizabeth

    DJ Ryan Kellinghaus's reply:

    Jeremy and Elizabeth - Thank you for your glowing review. Your reception was spectacular. You, your friends, your family and your guests were so much fun! The most memorable moment of your reception was when Elizabeth's brothers made a grand entrance inside of a giant Trojan horse. It was one of the most unique moments of my career. The Trojan horse was the size of a Volkswagen Beetle! I cued up a Ben Hur title track as the enormous Trojan horse was wheeled into the banquet room and onto the dance floor. All of Elizabeth's brothers emerged from the horse dressed in costume as I mixed into "I Like To Move It" by Reel 2 Real. Guests joined them on the dance floor for a special choreographed dance unlike anything I've seen. I look forward to celebrating with you at another wedding soon!!!!
  • R
    Roxanne Married on 07/14/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    From our very first meeting when Ryan asked to visit our reception venue so he could make specific plans for the space (loved his attention to detail and ultra-prepared attitude!!), he was incredibly thoughtful and professional. He took detailed notes about exactly what I wanted, and in the areas I wasn't 100% certain about, he made great suggestions based on his vast experience.

    Even while he was on vacation the week before our wedding, Ryan still communicated with us and stayed on top of last minute decisions. He showed up VERY early the day of our wedding to make sure our "Christmas in July" lighting was perfect and setup the sound equipment. He played most of the songs we asked for (his website made this super easy to do!) and kept our dance floor COVERED all night.

    I would highly recommend Ryan to anyone looking for a fantastic DJ as well as fabulous lighting! He’s amazing at both!!

    DJ Ryan Kellinghaus's reply:

    Roxanne and Brian - Your reception was stunning. Thank you so much for your review. Brian's brothers were hilarious and their toasts were unforgettable. Your dad's slide show was clever and your Christmas in July vision was spectacular. I look forward to celebrating with you at another wedding soon!

    *Future Brides who read Roxannes review - Roxanne mentioned that I played "most" of the songs she and Brian requested so I feel inclined to provide some explanation. We work with our brides to identify must play, should play and don't play songs. We play ALL must play selections. We lead with should play songs. Should play selections allow a little more freedom to cater to guest requests and read the dance floor. If you have any questions about our music philosophy at 513DJ or music for your wedding day I'd be happy to discuss your vision and how we can work with you to ensure that all of your special songs are played when you want them played.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message