DJ Rodney Charles, of Astro Entertainment Reviews

81 | Virginia Beach, VA
See photos, pricing and details

81 Reviews for DJ Rodney Charles, of Astro Entertainment

Recommended by 100%

81
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • S

    Shania · Married on 07/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney did such an amazing job at our wedding! He was so professional and kept the party going all night! He also helped transition between all the special events we had planned that evening. 100% would recommend! Thank you Rodney!

    Sent on 07/31/2018
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 04/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney is the absolute Best! He was highly recommended to me and I was very very happy with our wedding. He led the event perfectly and played amazing music all night long. Definitely a crowd pleaser. Thank you, Rodney, for everything, you make the evening perfect

    Sent on 05/07/2018
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 03/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney Charles was hands down the best DJ I have ever seen. He was a consummate professional the whole time, and did absolutely everything to accommodate my wife and I at our wedding reception. Rodney was incredibly talented, and incredibly humble at the same time, which is so very rare. He called my wife and I prior to the wedding, completely understood everything we wanted him to do, and gave us much needed peace of mind. There was never a dull or stagnant moment throughout the whole reception, and he is 100% responsible for that. This is someone we will absolutely use again for future events, and give him our highest recommendation to anyone looking for an outstanding DJ!

    Sent on 03/11/2016
  • User5084583 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn't have asked for better.

    Sent on 11/15/2015
  • C

    Courtney · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the moment we got engaged, we knew we would be using Astro for our DJ - their whole team is amazing!!! Even knowing that though, could not have prepared me for the INCREDIBLE job that Rodney did. My new husband and I were truly blown away - the dance floor was packed from BEFORE the main food went out, and never stopped all night. My 86 year old great aunt was breaking it down, and our friends that aren't typically big dancers, were on the dance floor THE WHOLE NIGHT - it was a true testament to Rodney's skills. He is most definitely in the right profession. Not only that, but Rodney is fun and easy to work with. He made the whole process stress-free, and while we had a few requests that he played, we left the rest up to him...AND. HE. NAILED. IT. He was totally flexible with a last-minute change in the order of events, and was also a great emcee - got everyone pumped up and he made clear, professional announcements, without sounding the least bit cheesy (as some wedding DJs can). Rodney was such a huge part of making our reception the best night of our lives, and we could not have been happier with our decision to hire him. Thanks again, Rodney!!!

    Sent on 10/17/2014
  • User4456035 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    COULD NOT have had a better DJ! He was amazing, Rodney came highly recommended per many co-workers! He M'd the entire wedding, played a great mixture and even played spanish music so my culture would be represented. By far the best experience ever!

    Sent on 10/07/2014
  • B

    Brianna · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney created the PERFECT night! Before we get to that, it should be known that Rodney was there every step of the way! We knew from working/attending other functions that Rodney DJed for that when we got engaged that we HAD to have him at our wedding. He was one of the very first vendors that we booked to make sure we secured him! Rodney helped us figure out how the flow of the night would go, gave us ideas for songs, and shortened/edited songs so that they would fit perfect with our day. He was super responsive to every question we had.

    So the day of the wedding...Rodney went above and beyond for hooking up extra equipment for us. One of my favorites...he showed up in a bow tie in the colors of our wedding! It's the little things :) He kept the dance floor rocking the whole night! He played all of the must haves that my bridal party suggested. He was professional, fun, and a crowd pleaser!

    Thanks for giving us the private dance moment at the end :) It is a memory we will cherish forever!

    Sent on 06/10/2014
  • T

    Tara · Married on 02/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney really knows how to entertain a crowd. We gave him our musical tastes, and let him pick all the songs. He even took requests and everything turned out perfect!

    Sent on 03/27/2014
  • User2128964 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We booked Rodney Charles for my daughter's October 2012 wedding almost a year out. In working with him over the past year, he was most helpful in helping the couple plan their music. The bride did a choreographed father-daughter dance so he designed a CD for them to practice and gave them helpful tips. Rodney was great in keeping the crowd dancing throughout the evening. The one desire the bride had was for everyone to have a great time. When we saw that the dance floor was full most of the evening I knew they were. So many of the guests commented on what a great job he did and how much fun they had. Rodney was most professional and provided quality service. I would highly recommend his service to anyone planning a special event.

    Sent on 10/22/2012
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rodney was amazing from the first meeting we had in December to our big day on October 20, 2012. He met with me 3-4 times to thoroughly help me plan our music and timing to make our event flow smoothly throughout the night, and it did! The dance floor was packed all night, and the music fit my guests’ style to a “T.” Rodney really kept the vibe going all evening, and I received numerous positive feedback from my guests on how much they enjoyed the DJ and his music selection. He gave the event a heartbeat and really brought it to life. I loved that he also worked with me to create a special remix so that my Dad and I had a unique first dance song that we’d choreographed. It was that special extra touch that Rodney helped us create. His services are definitely worth the investment, and I would recommend him to anyone looking for the perfect DJ.

    Sent on 10/30/2012
  • L

    laura · Married on 10/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used DJ Rodney Charles for our wedding ceremony and reception on October 19,2012. I can not say enough wonderful things about this man! He was by far one of the easiest vendors to work with. He made every step of the way so easy, comfortable, and fun! He kept the party going all night,played awesome music, and took ques from us about changing things on the fly with no problem. He worked with us to create an original intro to Phil Collins, In the Air Tonight, that my guests are still talking about! That was one of my favorite moments at my wedding, and he made it possible. He pronounced all names correctly, and played all our requested music selections. He is the best DJ I have ever worked with, and I will recommend him to every Bride I know.
    Thanks Rodney for just being you! You have perfected your craft, and it was an honor to have you perform at our wedding!

    Sent on 11/01/2012
  • mollie

    mollie · Married on 08/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Seamus was awesome! He knew exactly what to play to keep everyone dancing. I would definately hire him again!

    Sent on 08/13/2012
  • K

    KH · Married on 06/16/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I recently got married in Williamsburg, VA on June 16th and had Luke Barton from Astro Entertainment Company in Va Beach as my DJ. He was AWESOME. We talked several times over the phone and he met my expectations/requests completely. He was very responsive to my calls and emails. I could not be more happy with the way the ceremony and reception music went. I would recommend him to any bride. Also, since the wedding I have talked to several of my guests who have all raved over the wonderful job he did. Thanks again, Luke!!!

    Sent on 06/27/2012
  • T

    trisha · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Rodney Charles rocked the house! Our guests never left the dance floor! We met just twice and he really knew our style. The music selections were perfect for our guests. They're still talking about what a great party it was. I can't say enough about how great a job he did. He did a fantastic job with the music for the wedding and the reception. He kept everything flowing all evening long and right on time

    Sent on 06/21/2012
  • H

    Heather · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Arch Entertainment was great to work with. When the DJ I wanted was already booked they worked with me find another DJ that was a great match for our personalities and wedding style. DJ Ivan did a great job for our ceremony music and reception. While a few of our must plays were missed, everyone raved about the music selections and stayed glued to the dance floor all night!

    Sent on 07/09/2012
  • Quyen

    Quyen · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Rodney Charles rocked the house! Our guests never left the dance floor! We met just twice and he really knew our style and the vibe of the crowd. The music selections were perfect for our guests. They're still talking about what a great party it was. Oh and the new lit facade and lighted trusses made an awesome set-up! Couldn't be happier!

    Sent on 06/02/2012
  • Natalya

    Natalya · Married on 05/20/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Seamus was amazing! His music selection was PERFECT for our Wedding reception. We had everyone on the dance floor, we didn't want the reception to end!

    Sent on 06/15/2012
  • L

    Luke · Married on 05/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Delvin Peeks was awesome!! Not only great to work with planning our night, but so punctual, and professional. He is cool under pressure, and came dressed to the 9's!! A very good choice for our entertainment for the wedding. Would highly recommend him to anyone wanting a guaranteed classy good time! Thanks Delvin!

    Sent on 06/22/2012
  • Kristen

    Kristen · Married on 05/13/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our DJ Rodney Charles was part of a package deal through The Yacht Club at Marina Shores for my daughter's wedding on May 13, 2012. I can't say enough about how great a job he did. He did a fantastic job with the music for the wedding and the reception. He kept everything flowing all evening long and right on time. He was very responsive to anything we wanted played or didn't want played. His forms online to fill out don't leave anything to chance. The only suggestion I would make is that he bring a large stack of his business cards to all his events because I know of several different people asking for them.

    Sent on 05/17/2012
  • Angela

    Angela · Married on 05/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Luke Barton was fantastic. He kept the music going and the dance floor packed. He also was attentive during the reception and helped make any changes to the schedule that were necessary. I would not have used anyone else - DJ Luke is the best.

    Sent on 05/21/2012
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Arch Ent is amazing!!! Ivan Johnson Is the best!!!He played great music for everyone.. my family has people of all ages and everyone got to dance throughout the night. He also played double duty by assisting with issues that were arising elsewhere because he wanted our night to be great and it was!! He is nothing short of professional and charming..Was recommend he to everyone!!

    Sent on 05/25/2012
  • V

    Tonya · Married on 04/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loved working with Arch Entertainment. Everyone that I came in contact with was friendly and helpful. All of my E-mail, voicemails and text messages were replied to within hours.
    The DJ we used was Luke Barton, who was just amazing. My husband and I both enjoyed our meetings with me. On the day of the wedding Luke went above and beyond his DJ duties. At one point he was helping my husband find my flip flops so I could get out of my heels. He was being so helpful a friend thought he was the wedding coordinator as well as the DJ. He even took some time to tell one of our groomsmen how all of his equipment worked and how it gets set up.

    I would have no hesitation recommending Arch Entertainment to anyone in Hampton Roars looking for a DJ. They were by far my favorite vendor to work with.

    Sent on 04/23/2012
  • E

    Elisha · Married on 04/12/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Arch Entertainment was fantastic to work with - DJ Rodney Charles was great and our guests kept commenting on how great the DJ was. They were also able to incorporate all of the wedding songs I wanted for our ceremony (I didn't want the traditional wedding march, etc.). I highly recommend them as your wedding DJ and couldn't have hoped for anything more!

    Sent on 04/21/2012
  • D

    Kelsey · Married on 10/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone at the wedding raved about our DJ. We used Rodney Charles. He also was the DJ at my sisters wedding last year so we knew we would not be disappointed. He made the party!

    Sent on 11/10/2011
  • M

    Matt & Mallory · Married on 09/24/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There's a reason Rodney has 5 star reviews from all of his clients, he is AMAZING! He obviously has such a passion for what he does and he's got a real talent for feeling out a crowd and really getting an idea of what's working for a particular audience. We told him what type of vibe we were looking for and he delivered perfectly!

    All of our wedding guests absolutely loved him, he's completely professional, not one of those cheesy wedding djs, and knows exactly how to get a crowd excited. I 110% recommend him for ANY type of party you're having! You will NOT regret it!

    M&M

    Sent on 10/12/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review