DJ RICKY Reviews

36 | Charlottesville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

36 Reviews for DJ RICKY

Recommended by 99%

36
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • C

    Casey · Married on 05/04/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing dj!



    My fiancé and I were sold on hiring Ricky after our first chat with him. He was extremely personable and professional, thorough in his answers to our questions and asked meaningful questions that assured us he wanted to create the night WE wanted. His wife is a DOC and it is apparent Ricky has been exposed to this quite a bit. When our DOC didn't work out, it put us at ease knowing his experience in this area. He was able to brainstorm with us some of the logistical planning that might otherwise have been in the hands of the DOC and his insight was invaluable. And this was all pre-wedding. Let me tell you - on the day of for the actual party, he did not disappoint! Everyone commented on how awesome the dinner music was and our dance floor was packed ALL night with some of the best tunes! Ricky did an amazing job at reading the crowd and anticipating what everyone was getting pumped about. His timing of a slow song was on point and was able to get the crowd right back up to speed after. We had such a blast, we made a game time decision to extend the party for another 1.5 hours and we are so glad we did! Thanks so much, Ricky! Our friends described the night as "epic" and a "freaking blast," much thanks to him! We would highly recommend Ricky if you want your wedding night to be one of the best dance parties you've been to! Plus - his prices are super reasonable and included lighting which really set the mood to party! Thanks, Ricky!

    Sent on 05/08/2019
  • J

    Jenny · Married on 04/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent work!

    It was obvious in our first conversation with DJ Ricky that he is very experienced and loves what he does! Ricky walked us though what we could expect and discussed aspects of planning that we didn't consider or even know about. Ricky did an excellent job with music for our ceremony (as well as the microphones and audio for the ceremony), cocktail hour and reception. He was professional, friendly, and was a significant contribution to the celebratory vibe of our wedding! His enthusiasm is infectious! We highly recommend working with him!

    Sent on 10/14/2019
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 03/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kept the dance floor packed the whole night!

    DJ Ricky is awesome! He kept the dance floor alive the whole night and made sure we didn’t miss our favorite songs! Also, we rented his photo booth, which was a huge hit and a great deal compared to other photo booth options! He is so friendly and fun! Can’t recommend him enough!!!

    Sent on 04/21/2019
  • A

    Aaron Christman · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding DJ

    We hired DJ Ricky for our wedding this past September, we didnt have a official wedding planner but no one would've guessed it because DJ Ricky did an phenomenal job of making sure not only the music was awesome but keeping us on track with our timeline. Thank you Ricky!

    Sent on 11/13/2018
  • Bethany

    Bethany Gilmartin · Married on 09/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Enjoyable, easy, and professional

    Dj Ricky was professional, good-natured, thorough, and flexible! The wedding was so smooth and enjoyable thanks to Dj Ricky! HIghly recommended!!

    Sent on 12/29/2018
  • Dextor3000

    Beth · Married on 10/21/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ricky helped make our wedding a successful event. Ricky set up a sound system for our outdoor ceremony, so that everyone could hear us talking during the ceremony. He also provided music for the ceremony. He then also set up a different system for our tented reception, and provided lighting for the dance floor. He provided a worksheet for selecting our music for the different aspects of the day, which was very helpful. Ricky also made announcements when different things were happening, like the cake cutting, which helped to keep the day moving smoothly. Overall, I would highly recommend!

    Sent on 11/12/2017
  • B

    Brandy · Married on 11/12/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ricky was excellent to work with. He was very responsive and answered all of our questions. Gave great suggestions and helped tremendously. Ricky made our wedding day run smooth with his agenda he created as well. His music was very memorable and all of our guests loved him. We would book him again in a heart beat.

    Sent on 12/29/2016
  • C

    Casey · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for a DJ for your wedding, HIRE DJ RICKY! My husband and I were planning our wedding and already had a DJ. I needed to give DJ Ricky's wife something and he picked it up for her. We started talking about our wedding and he knew we already had a DJ but offered up some advice and gave some phenomenal feedback. He emailed me the worksheets he uses with his clients and I instantly knew that we had to switch DJ's. DJ Ricky didn't have to help at all, he didn't have to offer any advice or share his business practices with us, but he did & we really appreciated that. We ended up hiring DJ Ricky which was a big price difference from the original DJ we were going to use but we felt confident in how recommended he comes, and the fact that he was genuine. The day before the wedding he sat down with us and went over our plan to ensure we had everything accounted for. The day of our wedding DJ Ricky, was prompt, professional, and was the one piece of our wedding that we couldn't have gone without. He was excellent in directing our guests through the night's agenda, getting people into the buffet line, coordinating timeline changes, keeping our guests entertained, and making sure the dance floor was full of happy guests. After our wedding we got so many compliments about how much fun it was and how the DJ did such an amazing job and have had people request we renew our vows so we can do it all over again. When you hire DJ Ricky, you hire the best. Thank you DJ Ricky for making our wedding ceremony/reception run perfectly!

    Sent on 12/09/2016
  • J

    Julianne · Married on 07/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dj Ricky was awesome. He was a great help in coming up with a gameplay and playlist for the reception. He read the crowd really well, and when we decided to shift the order of a few things around, he made it happen with no problems. Highly recommended.

    Sent on 03/31/2017
  • J

    Jisoo · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ricky did an incredible job on our wedding in June 2016. We used him for music at our ceremony as well as reception DJ/MC. Ricky is a consummate professional and goes out of his way to make sure the bride and groom don’t have to worry at all on their wedding day. He’s super organized leading up to the big day, and talked through the entire timeline with us multiple times, even pointing out things we hadn’t considered. On the day of, he worked with our venue coordinator directly to get everything set up and to coordinate all his announcements for a truly seamless experience.

    As a DJ, Ricky kept everyone on the dance floor all night! Going into our wedding day, we were nervous that our small wedding couldn’t keep up dancing for 2+ hours but Ricky totally crushed our expectations. Even when we took a break for cake cutting, he had all the right songs to get everyone back on the dance floor. We’re incredibly happy we chose DJ Ricky and highly recommend him for anyone looking for a wedding DJ/MC in Virginia.

    Sent on 07/05/2016
  • Amanda

    Amanda · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We LOVED DJ Ricky! He was attentive, professional, and really fun to work with. On the day we didn't have to worry about a thing, and everything we discussed for the ceremony and reception went seamlessly. Our guest also loved him as the DJ and MC, he was really able to feel out the crowd and keep our guests on the dancefloor all night. We highly recommend him!

    Sent on 06/19/2016
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm so happy we found DJ Ricky for our wedding. He did an amazing job! Everyone had a great time and it was exactly what we wanted. I also loved how Ricky double-checked everything to make sure all the information was correct. He was great to work with! He kept the partying going and we all had such a great time!

    Sent on 06/08/2016
  • E

    Emilia · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ricky was FANTASTIC to work with and I would HIGHLY recommend him to anyone. From the very beginning DJ Ricky worked with us to incorporate our unique vision and customs that we wanted to include in our wedding. His service was flawless and we could not have been happier with him as a DJ.

    Sent on 11/09/2015
  • Leslie

    Leslie · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with DJ Ricky. When we had our phone conference with him, going over wedding stuff, he seemed to match our personality style. He was very knowledgeable, asked questions we hadn't thought about, learned pronunciation of our bridal party's name. He was on time to the event, set everything up, I didn't have to do a thing. Our dance floor was packed all night. He played everything we put on our must play list. There were several requests by guests on our do not play list and he backed me up 100% (even though I caved when said guest approached me, darn alcohol!). Some DJs have their own agenda, I felt DJ Ricky was happy just being there supporting our vision. He was even very accommodating to our flower girl who I heard put in a lot of requests by singing one line from each song.

    Sent on 09/24/2015
  • C

    Cassie · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ricky did a fabulous job for our wedding! He was extremely prepared and listened to everything that was important to us. We really wanted our guests to have fun and be out on the dance floor all night long. He made sure to keep the party going and I would recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ for any event!

    Sent on 08/24/2015
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ricky was great to work with for our wedding! He was personable, professional and reliable. He was quick to respond and very responsive through the whole process. He was great at keeping people on the dance floor through our wedding too! We would highly recommend working with Ricky!

    Sent on 08/23/2015
  • User4338021 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ricky is very easy to work with. He is incredibly prompt with answering any and all questions. He was great at keeping the reception organized. He kept all our guests dancing throughout the night and was receptive to all song requests! We strongly recommend DJ Ricky!

    Sent on 09/08/2015
  • E

    Ellen · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ricky is the best value in the Charlottesville area! He is a true professional that will make your wedding run smoothly & ensure your guests have a blast! Working with him up to the wedding was so easy and he took the time to talk to us to make sure he understood what we wanted. We had a small wedding of 65, and he made sure our guests old and young had a fantastic time all night. He went above & beyond to run the show flawlessly and I am so thankful we chose him for our wedding reception!

    Sent on 11/04/2014
  • User3634010 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ricky is the best wedding DJ of all time. Starting with the actual reception - our dance floor was full the entire night, and good-natured Ricky even indulged us with an encore song at the end of the night. He listened to our (vague) direction on playlist and had fun with it. When our first dance was suddenly 13 minutes long, he edited it to an blissful 3-4 minutes on the fly. The ladies had a silly choreographed dance, too, and he pulled that off flawlessly. He is EXCELLENT at this. All our guests have been telling us how much they enjoyed "that wonderful DJ!" This is nice feedback, as we've been to weddings where the DJ disappointed.

    But there is so much more about Ricky that made our wedding so wonderful. His support leading up to the wedding was spot on, offering suggestions and guidance where needed but never pushing us one way or another. He truly cares about delivering you a great experience. Although we had a string trio perform during the ceremony and cocktail hour, Ricky was instrumental (no pun intended!) to making that happen, thanks to mic'ing it up and helping set up in general.

    He jumped in where needed, made excellent calls on his own and when he needed to asked all the right questions. If I had to use one word to describe Ricky, it would be PROFESSIONAL: he is excellent at his craft, he managed some very obnoxious guests with unfathomable grace, and he really made it the best party of our lives. We can't thank him enough for his hard work and hope to be out on one of his dance floors again soon!

    Sent on 11/02/2014
  • User4576663 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ricky was easy and wonderful to work with right off the bat. His wife Ashleigh spun the tunes at our wedding and did a wonderful job keeping the party going. We also appreciated her keeping us on track with her great MC'ing skills. The dance floor was packed all night!!!!

    Sent on 11/29/2014
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 08/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ricky was absolutely wonderful to work with. We spoke on a couple of different occasions discussing the day of. He had emailed me a worksheet to give to him before the wedding so he would be able to make a playlist. Well I failed at the most important task :/ Thank goodness for his skills and our very brief conversations the day before he made my day FANTASTIC!!! With virtually no input from me he kept that dance floor packed and everyone moving until the last bus came. Thanks again for your skill !!

    Sent on 09/10/2014
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an absolutely amazing time at our wedding thanks to DJ Ricky. He provided music for all aspects of our wedding (Ceremony, cocktail hour, & the reception). He kept the party going all evening and all of our family and friends could not stay off of the dance floor! He is very professional and accommodating to last minute changes. I would recommend his services to anyone and hope to be able to work with him in the future for other events!

    Sent on 06/26/2014
  • User4188994 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ricky did a great job for us at our wedding! He listened and followed through with every request that we had, and gave us exactly what we were looking for. He kept the party going all night long with a wide mix of music, and was very flexible with peoples requests. DJ Ricky is one of the best DJs to work with, and we would recommend him to anyone.

    Sent on 06/20/2014
  • User6814056 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ricky did an excellent job at our wedding. Very skillful and a great setup with any song you can imagine. He's super easy to get in touch with and responds promptly and professionally. He goes above and beyond what you would expect out of your DJ. Last minute changes on the fly? No problem! My wife and I both appreciate everything he did to make our wedding a special day. You won't find a better wedding DJ in the Charlottesville area.

    Sent on 06/09/2016
  • M

    Matt · Married on 05/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ricky is awesome! He was so easy to work with throughout the entire process, was very helpful on the day of our wedding, and did a great job rocking the reception. He chose the appropriate timing for our wedding party entrance songs, our first dance, and our dances with parents. Later on, when my wife and our guests kept making suggestions to him throughout the night, and he was always accommodating. It was a pleasure to work with Ricky, and would absolutely love to work with him again should our need for a DJ arise.

    Sent on 05/19/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review