Skip to main content
Weddings

DJ RICKY Reviews

DJ RICKY View more information

46 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 46
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • Carly
    Carly F. Married on 10/23/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible night hosted by a talented DJ!

    An incredible night hosted by a talented DJ! Ricky was very responsive leading up to the wedding and was extremely thorough with his questions to ensure a surprise-free day as we were married on private property. He flawlessly executed the ceremonial music with zero hiccups and integrated live music.

    Ricky also flawlessly executed the reception with a challenging crowd who had a mixed demographic of children, young adults, and older adults. Everyone had something to enjoy, and Ricky knew when to switch it up as the moment was right.

    Ricky worked seamlessly with all vendors to ensure a wonderful night. We are so happy with how the day turned out and couldn’t recommend Ricky enough!
  • F
    Felicia G. Married on 09/04/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fantastic DJ

    DJ Ricky was a fantastic DJ. They met with us and included everything we asked of them! They kept everyone on the dance floor the whole night. Guests were asking if they could stay another hour because they did not want the party to end. I would HIGHLY recommend DJ Ricky to be your DJ!
  • Sara
    Sara W. Married on 06/19/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Kept the dance floor hopping all night!

    I cannot say enough wonderful things about DJ Ricky! Ricky was very easy to communicate with during the planning process and was especially flexible as we decided to move our date from 2020 to 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. When it came time to pick songs for the ceremony and reception, Ricky provided us with a planning worksheet that was very helpful in figuring out exactly what we needed, and he also met with us virtually a few times to answer any questions that we had. We especially appreciated that he let us have a lot of input about some of the songs we wanted to hear during the reception.

    On the day-of, Ricky arrived early to make sure everything was ready to go. Throughout the night, he worked seamlessly with our coordinator to keep the event running smoothly - his transitions between the introductions, to toasts, to dinner, to dancing, etc. were perfect. The energy he brought, as well as the timing of his song selections kept the dance floor hopping all night. At the end of the night, we really appreciated that he approached us and asked if there were any songs that we missed or wanted to hear again. I 10/10 recommend working with Ricky for your wedding or event!
  • A
    Alex D. Married on 06/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    I cannot recommend DJ Ricky enough!!

    DJ Ricky was the DJ for my wedding this past June, and he was seriously the best to work with I cannot recommend him enough!!! Before the reception, he provided sound services at the ceremony which he provided all details about where and when all the equipment would be located, and gave all options of amplification (i.e., hand-held mic versus lapel). My wedding was outdoors, and the sound was absolutely perfect. At the reception, he truly did the most amazing job balancing the music throughout the night to tailor to who would be dancing when, and literally everyone I talked to kept complimenting how incredible the music was! He also provided photo booth services which were a HUGE hit!!! I cannot thank Ricky enough, and highly, highly recommend!
  • Michelle
    Michelle P. Married on 09/12/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing DJ!

    DJ Ricky was the perfect choice for our wedding. He made sure the whole day ran smoothly even though we had to switch to an indoor ceremony at the last minute. He is very organized and professional. I truly did not even have to worry about anything the whole day as far as DJ Ricky was concerned! Book him now!
  • Michael
    Michael A. Married on 09/06/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing DJ that kept the party moving!

    DJ Ricky did such an amazing job! We had a small wedding and were a little worried that the dance floor would be a little empty, but DJ Ricky kept the guests dancing all night. He was super responsive and helped us build the song list for the cocktail hour and reception. We all had so much fun thanks to him!
  • K
    Kathryn Married on 10/12/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend Ricky for your wedding DJ/MC needs

    Overall, highly recommend Ricky to DJ any event you have! My husband and I live in NYC but had our wedding near my family in Charlottesville. We weren’t too familiar with the area, particularly wedding vendors, and had family forwarding us names of DJs who they had seen on wedding blogs and sites. We chatted a few and it became super obvious we had to pick Ricky when I chatted with him the first time on the phone. It was like chatting with a friend, who happened to be a professional DJ. The planning process went super smooth with Ricky, who sent us over a guide of details that are typical for a wedding event, which allowed us to specify what we wanted and, more importantly, what we didn’t want. Prepping before the wedding, we sent over our must play songs and chatted through logistics to customize timing for entrances, dances, and speeches. Day of went swimmingly - Ricky was so easy to work with, instructing the party on how entrances and dances we’re going to happen. The best part? Before last song Ricky approached my husband and I for our last song request - if there was anything we were dying to hear/close out the night, which was perfect because it allowed us to pick/play a song we must have missed during the reception. If we had to do it again, would select Ricky in less than a heartbeat!! It was everything we dreamed about & more.
  • S
    Sophia S. Married on 10/05/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Kept our crowd dancing all night!

    DJ Ricky was an amazing DJ to work with! Leading up to the wedding, he was easy to communicate with and was very good at balancing our song choices with songs he thought would keep our guests dancing all night. During the wedding itself, DJ Ricky was organized worked well with the other vendors to coordinate the timing and schedule for the reception. The result was a super fun evening of dinner and dancing with our guests that we will never forget!
  • Kara
    Kara E. Married on 08/17/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommended! AMAZING!

    As my fiancé and I were planning our wedding we discussed what areas of our reception were most important to us, music was HUGE!! Our families and friends LOVE to dance so having the right mix of music for all ages of guests was very important to us. With that, finding the right DJ was so important, a dj that would really grasp what we’re looking for. Words can’t express how grateful we were to have found DJ Ricky for our wedding. After our first meeting we knew he was exactly what we were looking for. He provided an amazing questionnaire so that he could get a feel for what types of music we were looking for and throughout the entire planning process he was always there to answer our questions, support, and understand all our wants for the reception. We had the most amazing wedding and huge part of that was being able to dance the night away with all our family and friends! We would have not been able to do that without DJ Ricky who kept everyone on the dance floor the entire night!!! We would highly recommend DJ Ricky for your wedding, he is the best!
  • C
    Casey Married on 05/04/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing dj!



    My fiancé and I were sold on hiring Ricky after our first chat with him. He was extremely personable and professional, thorough in his answers to our questions and asked meaningful questions that assured us he wanted to create the night WE wanted. His wife is a DOC and it is apparent Ricky has been exposed to this quite a bit. When our DOC didn't work out, it put us at ease knowing his experience in this area. He was able to brainstorm with us some of the logistical planning that might otherwise have been in the hands of the DOC and his insight was invaluable. And this was all pre-wedding. Let me tell you - on the day of for the actual party, he did not disappoint! Everyone commented on how awesome the dinner music was and our dance floor was packed ALL night with some of the best tunes! Ricky did an amazing job at reading the crowd and anticipating what everyone was getting pumped about. His timing of a slow song was on point and was able to get the crowd right back up to speed after. We had such a blast, we made a game time decision to extend the party for another 1.5 hours and we are so glad we did! Thanks so much, Ricky! Our friends described the night as "epic" and a "freaking blast," much thanks to him! We would highly recommend Ricky if you want your wedding night to be one of the best dance parties you've been to! Plus - his prices are super reasonable and included lighting which really set the mood to party! Thanks, Ricky!
  • J
    Jenny Married on 04/13/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent work!

    It was obvious in our first conversation with DJ Ricky that he is very experienced and loves what he does! Ricky walked us though what we could expect and discussed aspects of planning that we didn't consider or even know about. Ricky did an excellent job with music for our ceremony (as well as the microphones and audio for the ceremony), cocktail hour and reception. He was professional, friendly, and was a significant contribution to the celebratory vibe of our wedding! His enthusiasm is infectious! We highly recommend working with him!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 03/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Kept the dance floor packed the whole night!

    DJ Ricky is awesome! He kept the dance floor alive the whole night and made sure we didn’t miss our favorite songs! Also, we rented his photo booth, which was a huge hit and a great deal compared to other photo booth options! He is so friendly and fun! Can’t recommend him enough!!!
  • CoBers
    Cobers Married on 03/08/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Made the party happen!

    DJ Ricky made our reception so much fun. Worked with us to include all the music that was important to us personally, plus had it all organized so everything was cued up exactly when needed. Extremely professional and reliable. A great person to work with!
  • A
    Aaron C. Married on 09/08/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding DJ

    We hired DJ Ricky for our wedding this past September, we didnt have a official wedding planner but no one would've guessed it because DJ Ricky did an phenomenal job of making sure not only the music was awesome but keeping us on track with our timeline. Thank you Ricky!
  • Bethany
    Bethany G. Married on 09/02/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Enjoyable, easy, and professional

    Dj Ricky was professional, good-natured, thorough, and flexible! The wedding was so smooth and enjoyable thanks to Dj Ricky! HIghly recommended!!
  • Dextor3000
    Beth Married on 10/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    DJ Ricky helped make our wedding a successful event. Ricky set up a sound system for our outdoor ceremony, so that everyone could hear us talking during the ceremony. He also provided music for the ceremony. He then also set up a different system for our tented reception, and provided lighting for the dance floor. He provided a worksheet for selecting our music for the different aspects of the day, which was very helpful. Ricky also made announcements when different things were happening, like the cake cutting, which helped to keep the day moving smoothly. Overall, I would highly recommend!
  • B
    Brandy Married on 11/12/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Ricky was excellent to work with. He was very responsive and answered all of our questions. Gave great suggestions and helped tremendously. Ricky made our wedding day run smooth with his agenda he created as well. His music was very memorable and all of our guests loved him. We would book him again in a heart beat.
  • C
    Casey Married on 08/06/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    If you are looking for a DJ for your wedding, HIRE DJ RICKY! My husband and I were planning our wedding and already had a DJ. I needed to give DJ Ricky's wife something and he picked it up for her. We started talking about our wedding and he knew we already had a DJ but offered up some advice and gave some phenomenal feedback. He emailed me the worksheets he uses with his clients and I instantly knew that we had to switch DJ's. DJ Ricky didn't have to help at all, he didn't have to offer any advice or share his business practices with us, but he did & we really appreciated that. We ended up hiring DJ Ricky which was a big price difference from the original DJ we were going to use but we felt confident in how recommended he comes, and the fact that he was genuine. The day before the wedding he sat down with us and went over our plan to ensure we had everything accounted for. The day of our wedding DJ Ricky, was prompt, professional, and was the one piece of our wedding that we couldn't have gone without. He was excellent in directing our guests through the night's agenda, getting people into the buffet line, coordinating timeline changes, keeping our guests entertained, and making sure the dance floor was full of happy guests. After our wedding we got so many compliments about how much fun it was and how the DJ did such an amazing job and have had people request we renew our vows so we can do it all over again. When you hire DJ Ricky, you hire the best. Thank you DJ Ricky for making our wedding ceremony/reception run perfectly!
  • J
    Julianne Married on 07/09/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Dj Ricky was awesome. He was a great help in coming up with a gameplay and playlist for the reception. He read the crowd really well, and when we decided to shift the order of a few things around, he made it happen with no problems. Highly recommended.
  • J
    Jisoo Married on 06/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    DJ Ricky did an incredible job on our wedding in June 2016. We used him for music at our ceremony as well as reception DJ/MC. Ricky is a consummate professional and goes out of his way to make sure the bride and groom don’t have to worry at all on their wedding day. He’s super organized leading up to the big day, and talked through the entire timeline with us multiple times, even pointing out things we hadn’t considered. On the day of, he worked with our venue coordinator directly to get everything set up and to coordinate all his announcements for a truly seamless experience.

    As a DJ, Ricky kept everyone on the dance floor all night! Going into our wedding day, we were nervous that our small wedding couldn’t keep up dancing for 2+ hours but Ricky totally crushed our expectations. Even when we took a break for cake cutting, he had all the right songs to get everyone back on the dance floor. We’re incredibly happy we chose DJ Ricky and highly recommend him for anyone looking for a wedding DJ/MC in Virginia.
  • Amanda
    Amanda Married on 05/21/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We LOVED DJ Ricky! He was attentive, professional, and really fun to work with. On the day we didn't have to worry about a thing, and everything we discussed for the ceremony and reception went seamlessly. Our guest also loved him as the DJ and MC, he was really able to feel out the crowd and keep our guests on the dancefloor all night. We highly recommend him!
  • K
    Kristina Married on 05/14/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I'm so happy we found DJ Ricky for our wedding. He did an amazing job! Everyone had a great time and it was exactly what we wanted. I also loved how Ricky double-checked everything to make sure all the information was correct. He was great to work with! He kept the partying going and we all had such a great time!
  • E
    Emilia Married on 10/11/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    DJ Ricky was FANTASTIC to work with and I would HIGHLY recommend him to anyone. From the very beginning DJ Ricky worked with us to incorporate our unique vision and customs that we wanted to include in our wedding. His service was flawless and we could not have been happier with him as a DJ.
  • Leslie
    Leslie Married on 09/19/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I loved working with DJ Ricky. When we had our phone conference with him, going over wedding stuff, he seemed to match our personality style. He was very knowledgeable, asked questions we hadn't thought about, learned pronunciation of our bridal party's name. He was on time to the event, set everything up, I didn't have to do a thing. Our dance floor was packed all night. He played everything we put on our must play list. There were several requests by guests on our do not play list and he backed me up 100% (even though I caved when said guest approached me, darn alcohol!). Some DJs have their own agenda, I felt DJ Ricky was happy just being there supporting our vision. He was even very accommodating to our flower girl who I heard put in a lot of requests by singing one line from each song.
  • C
    Cassie Married on 08/01/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    DJ Ricky did a fabulous job for our wedding! He was extremely prepared and listened to everything that was important to us. We really wanted our guests to have fun and be out on the dance floor all night long. He made sure to keep the party going and I would recommend him to anyone looking for a DJ for any event!