DJ Darla Bea Reviews

59 | Santa Barbara, CA
See photos, pricing and details

59 Reviews for DJ Darla Bea

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

59

21 User photos

Sort by:
  • Michael

    Michael J. · Married on 04/24/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A DJ who truly cares about you

    DJ Darla Bea blew my expectations out of the water. Our wedding was supposed to be in 2020, but after postponing a year to 2021 she did not skip a beat. Darla Bea made sure to keep in touch and helped us through the re-planning of our wedding. Fast forward to the wedding day. Beyond being on time and prepared, Darla Bea handled everything on the big day perfectly. Our vendors were happy to work with her and our guests couldn't stop commenting on how great the DJ was. She was personable, connected with out guests and showed the she was truly enjoying the night. We had a full dance floor all night. Thank you again Darla Bea, I wish we could have another wedding so we had an excuse to book you again!

    Sent on 04/28/2021
  • Amber

    Amber V. · Married on 11/07/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible!

    DJ Darla was absolutely incredible! She met with us multiple times to ensure our wedding soundtrack was exactly as we wanted it, and she even made some special plans with my husband for surprises. So kind, so fun, and genuinely could not have envisioned anyone else emceeing and spittin’ tunes for our wedding! Thank you Darla!

    Sent on 11/17/2020
  • H

    Hailey T. · Married on 09/06/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Meant to Bea

    Darla Bea is simply amazing. She was one of the first vendors we hired when we were originally planning a 150 person wedding at a large venue in Santa Barbara. From the start, Darla was helpful, responsive, and easy to work with. With the pandemic, we had to cancel most of our plans a few months before the wedding date and chose to instead host a small wedding with immediate family in a family member's backyard. Darla helped convince us that we could still have beautiful music at our 12-person wedding, and made herself available to visit our new venue, work with us on an updated playlist, and answer any questions that came up while we scrambled to plan a safe event. At our wedding, Darla did a fantastic job as MC and DJ, guiding our guests throughout the evening, playing all of the songs we requested, and remembering all of the details we had discussed. She also helped us capture some wonderful pictures with sparklers and made it feel like a true wedding. Even with our small casual wedding, Darla held herself to high standards, and managed to do all of this during a heat wave. We can't wait to throw an anniversary party in the future to celebrate our marriage with all of our guests, and Darla will be the first vendor we call!

    Sent on 09/21/2020
  • HILDA

    Hilda C. · Married on 05/23/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darla is very professional and personable.

    Darla was quick to respond to all my texts, emails and phone calls. She was very helpful and made herself available for any questions or concerns. I look forward to working with her for our big day!! I will recommend her to all of my friends!

    Sent on 10/08/2019
  • Rhod

    Rhod S. · Married on 02/22/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say.. oh wait 1530 characters of stuff to say!

    What can I say... The best day of our lives and we had the best DJ that a couple could ask for... DJ DARLA BEA. From our first conversation to post wedding check ins Darla has been amazing.

    She made the process so smooth and seemless, listened to what we had to say and chimed in with her experience and thoughts. It was always a pleasure talking to get by email, phone or even text. She is very organized and made it easy to her the information she needed to plan the music sets.

    DJ Darla is amazing when it comes to keeping the dance floor going but she is an amazing emcee as well. We never had any concerns during the ceremony or reception because DJ Darla was in control with anything audio. If something came up she would always come talk to us and if the venue or our day of coordinator needed something she would always communicate with them.

    Throughout the night DJ Darla handled business behind her turn tables and in front of the turn tables. There is nothing that we can say was negative... well except we wish we could do the ceremony and reception all over again so we can work the her gain.

    I can keep on going and going... but one last thing.

    If you are looking for a DJ for your event, don't hesitate with DJ DARLA BEA. At least reach out to her and start a conversation, you will not be disappointed. She is everything she advertises herself as and even more. We are trying to think of an event or party just so we can have DJ Darla there. In a weird way we consider her more than just a DJ but a friend.

    Sent on 04/07/2020
  • Mareya

    Mareya · Married on 02/15/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darla Bea is THE best wedding DJ. Period.

    We hired DJ Darla Bea to not only do our cocktail hour and reception but also curate the music for our ceremony. Not only is she an incredibly professional and buttoned up master of the turntable, she is so much fun and adds a whole level of celebration to the party. I just can’t say enough good things about her. If you are looking for a DJ that you can trust, that is professional and energetic that you can count on, look no further I just can’t thank her enough for every minute of energy and she brought to our day!

    Sent on 04/17/2020
  • K

    Kimberly G. · Married on 01/19/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing DJ for our Small Wedding!

    We knew we were going to hire DJ Darla Bea within five minutes of chatting with her on the phone! She was so friendly and communicative, and followed up with us frequently during planning. We were admittedly pretty hands-off when it came to music selection, giving her guidance on specific songs we wanted played (walking down the aisle, entrance, first dance, exit, etc.) and gave her a sample of what kind of music we really loved and a list of things that we didn't and let her do the rest. She did a PHENOMENAL job not only MCing the night, but also reading the room and knowing when to break out a sweet slow jam or a song to really get the party started. A good DJ is instrumental for the atmosphere of an event, and my husband and I were a little concerned only because our wedding was fairly small, but the dance floor was full all night and everyone had an absolute blast!

    Sent on 05/30/2020
  • Hilary

    Hilary · Married on 12/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    More than a 5 ⭐️

    We LOVE Darla!! We started the process of hiring a DJ for our wedding a year prior to our wedding. She listened to every detail as we expressed how important music was as a part of our day. She was so kind and easy to work with, we knew she was a perfect fit.

    We had nothing but great compliments all day at our wedding. She tailored everything to be perfect for our day! She nailed every song and kept people dancing until the very last minute. People LOVED her signature glow sticks and we feel like made an amazing friend during the entire experience. I would recommend Darla to anyone and everyone. Thank you for everything!!

    Sent on 12/19/2019
  • I

    Ian B. · Married on 11/23/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ian & Christie MOXI Santa Barbara Wedding

    DJ Darla Bea was amazing throughout the entire process! Really great conversations leading up to the wedding to nail down the types of music to play during each phase of the wedding! Very friendly and personable! Highly recommended! Kept the dance floor moving from start to end!

    Sent on 12/16/2019
  • H

    Hilary H. · Married on 11/16/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wedding DJ

    Darla was the best wedding DJ ever!! The entire wedding was on the dance floor the whole time, and guests told me all night they had never seen anything like it! She made sure everyone had a blast! She was super flexible and helpful during the planning process and an amazing presence to have around on your big day! Couldn’t recommend her more!! Thank you so much Darla!!

    Sent on 11/27/2019
  • A

    Alisha · Married on 11/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darla was the DJ for my November 2019 Wedding.

    Wow, my husband and I were lucky to be referred to Darla. From the moment we contacted her, DJ Darla was always kind and offered her advice and wedding knowledge and experience. We ended up having to switch our wedding venue and date, and Darla was flexible and willing to work with us throughout the whole wedding process. She is truly a professional. She played music we requested and knew when and how to get people on the dance floor. We have so many memories of that wonderful day and we are so glad we hired Darla. If you want a great experience and excellent DJ process I would hire DJ Darla Bea!!!

    Sent on 12/31/2019
  • J

    Jane Y. · Married on 10/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best DJ around!

    Darla was an absolute joy to deal with and made everything so easy for us. We had a real mixed crowd and Darla did an incredible job of keeping the party going from start to finish whilst catering to everyone's tastes perfectly. If you are looking for someone who is skilled, experienced and knows how to read a crowd and get everyone dancing then Darla is 100% who you need to book!

    Sent on 12/15/2019
  • Rachel

    Rachel · Married on 10/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Santa Barbara's best wedding DJ

    We were very fortunate to be able to book Darla for our wedding. Darla is an incredible DJ and emcee. She is connected to many Santa Barbara wedding vendors and very well known and respected in the area. She took the time to get to know us and learn our music taste. She offered strong opinions and gave us honest feedback about some of our most important song choices (first dance, father-daughter dance, etc.). With all of the stress of planning a wedding, having someone who can give strong, informed opinions is invaluable. We can’t thank Darla enough for that. She spent hours with us on the phone and collaborating on a document to craft the perfect playlist for each part of our wedding day.

    Darla did our ceremony music (at the courthouse) using the speakers we rented from Just 4 Fun and used her own setup at our reception venue. This made for a seamless transition from one to the other, and we could not have been happier with her work. She knows how to set the mood for a beautiful ceremony and a fun party. We had a very small wedding, but Darla got everyone involved and made it a great party. Something that is easy to overlook is the emcee work the DJ does. Darla is perfect at that. She gets to know you and the guests, learns names of family and wedding party. She’s funny and complimentary during reception toasts and speeches. Darla also makes sure you know that she can be as involved or as in the background as you want her to be. She’s really there to make your wedding your perfect day. Thank you for everything, Darla!

    Sent on 01/18/2020
  • Katie

    Katie C. · Married on 10/08/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ in Santa Barbara!

    Darla Bea is fantastic! She was so personable on the phone and we knew from the first moment that we connected with her that we had made the right decision! Darla specifically tailored our playlist to our music style/ wedding vibe, and had so many creative ideas along the way to make our day special. My husband and I have had so many compliments on our DJ from our wedding day and I have even recommended her to a few friends who are getting married soon! We got married at the Firestone Vineyard in Los Olivos and she seamlessly set up on the Mesa lawn with a generator as well as at the reception with all electricals provided. She is a true professional and we are so happy with our choice!

    Sent on 12/11/2019
  • Julia

    Julia · Married on 10/05/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kept the dance party going!

    You know when you go to a wedding and there are at least a few awkward lulls when no one is really on the dance floor... yeah, that didn't happen for us. DJ Darla Bea is magic. She kept the energy up and guests engaged the entire time. So many people told us how fun the music/dancing was. DJ Darla Bea made the entire process from start to finish so so easy, staying on our timeline and didn't miss a beat. We love her and would recommend her to anyone!

    Sent on 10/14/2019
  • M

    Madelyn · Married on 09/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nonstop energy and music

    Darla was a pleasure to work with and so helpful in recommending other vendors. She really got the vibe we wanted and collaborated with us to create an amazing playlist. The party was happening from the recessional and everyone was on the dance floor for the entire event.

    Sent on 12/13/2019
  • S

    Shasta · Married on 09/14/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ for any occasion

    With an all around great attitude and presence about her, Darla will be sure to adapt to whatever your ears and hearts desire, while adding the perfect finesse, variety and spice to whatever your musical adventure may be!

    Sent on 12/20/2019
  • K

    Kay · Married on 08/24/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darla was so good!

    Darla's attention to detail was incredible. She had us fill out a form of preferences beforehand, while also making some suggestions of her own (which were great), and everything about the music at our wedding was incredible. She knew just what to play at just the right time, and everyone had a complete blast. She was also very accommodating on the day with her time, and making sure everything was to our request. You should DEFINITELY book her if you're having a wedding anywhere near the Santa Barbara area.

    Sent on 11/23/2019
  • C

    Christina · Married on 07/21/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Darla Bea is Perfection!

    The only thing I can say about DJ Darla Bea is PERFECTION! I had seen her ads several times, but I was so scared that we wouldn't be able to afford her. After calling a few other DJs, I finally gave in and called her. I'm so glad I did! Within a few minutes, we discovered we shared one of our all-time favorite songs, and I just knew she was the one! We had so much in common musically, and she was so easy to talk to. My husband and I take music very seriously, and she definitely understood that. I had very specific artists/songs that I wanted played (and not played)! She added a few of her own to really curate a perfect songlist for the day. She was a great communicator throughout the process, and used her extensive musical knowledge to really help us hit the perfect musical note (pun intended)! When I was stumped, she came up with the perfect accompaniment to my "walk down the aisle" song ("Northern Sky" by Nick Drake) and suggested "Harvest Moon" by Neil Young for my bridal party. The perfect folky complement! Throughout the day, as both Emcee and DJ, she carried a perfect tune. I couldn't have asked for a more professional DJ, or a better person! Thank you DJ Darla Bea for "tak(ing) your time, and do(ing) it right!"

    Sent on 08/25/2020
  • D

    Derek · Married on 07/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect DJ for our wedding!

    Darla really has it all when it comes to weddings! She was a true professional before, during, and after the event, making our wedding easy, fun, and perfect in every way (her 5 star reviews and numerous awards are definitely well earned). It is hard to sum up her services in a quick review, but here goes:
    - Professionalism: From our first meeting, it was apparent that Darla sets incredibly high standards for herself. Sound quality, song or genre choices, "banned" lists, and cohesiveness throughout the night are all thoughtfully planned out and executed. With all the craziness of wedding planning, it was such a gift to know that our DJ duties were covered without hesitation.
    - Transitions: She had a perfect way of transitioning throughout the evening. Starting with a light but sacred ceremony, to a young and trendy cocktail hour, to a soulful and magical dinner, to a dance floor that kept all ages moving, she was able to link each part of the night seamlessly.
    - Announcements: Her announcements throughout the night kept us on track, which isn't always the easiest as the night goes on. She has such a classy way of speaking as well, which is SO much more sophisticated than your typical "cheesy wedding DJ".
    - Extras: During dinner, guests were able to fill out song request sheets, which was an added discussion starter / ice breaker. Once dancing started, she had giant glow sticks that were an absolute hit!

    Sent on 07/18/2019
  • Melissa

    Melissa · Married on 07/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ in Santa Barbara!

    My husband and I got married in July 2019 and chose Darla as our DJ. So glad we did! After our first phone conversation with Darla, we knew that she was the right person for the job. She has a very professional, bright, and cheery voice which was refreshing since we were trying to avoid the sometimes stereotypical "cheesy DJ voice." Darla helped us craft the perfect playlist for pre-ceremony, ceremony, cocktail hour, and dancing. We included some of our favorite songs to give her our vibe, and she filled in the rest! Darla sets very high standards for her music selection and sound quality, demonstrated by her complimentary meetings/phone calls with us and early arrival to the venue to make sure that setup was seamless. You are in great hands if you choose Darla as your DJ. Don't hesitate!!

    Sent on 08/12/2019
  • A

    Ashlyn A. · Married on 07/12/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best DJ Ever!

    DJ Darla Bea is awesome! My husband and I couldn’t have been happier with the music Darla played at our wedding! She knows how to feel out a room and play certain songs when appropriate. Everyone was up and dancing when the time came and it made our wedding that much more special to see everyone relaxing and having fun. I highly recommend Darla to anyone looking for a great DJ for any type of event! She’s very kind, easy to talk to, and timely with emails and texts. Basically anything you want, she’s there for you. She worked with me to create a perfect playlist for my wedding and she also worked with my wedding coordinator so the wedding would be seamless. And it was! Really couldn’t be happier, so thank you DJ Darla Bea!

    Sent on 07/30/2019
  • Camille

    Camille A. · Married on 07/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Darla is the best!

    Not only was she great at our wedding, we’ve also seen her play at other events/parties in town and she’s consistently on her game, plus she gave us some great vendor recommendations too! Our wedding was a blast and I’d definitely work with her again!

    Sent on 12/21/2019
  • Megan

    Megan · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    An Absolute Pleasure To Work With

    In a previous job I worked with a LOT of DJs, and let me tell you, not all DJs are created equal. I heard everywhere that you need to prioritize your vendors by what you care about most at your wedding, i.e., photos to last a lifetime, the dress of your dreams, etc., and for us we just wanted all of our guests to come away from the night having had the time of their lives. This meant we booked Darla before any other vendor, and our guests have even written us letters, totally unprompted, saying it was the best wedding ever. The party lasted into the night, our oldest and our youngest guests were dancing the whole evening, and everyone had an incredible time because of Darla's thoughtful and well-coordinated efforts. We couldn't have had such a successful party with anyone else! Affordable, easy to work with and very quick on her feet when the schedule gets changed up, Darla should be your first choice!

    Sent on 07/23/2019