Discovery DJ & Lighting Reviews

125 | Dallas, TX
See photos, pricing and details

125 Reviews for Discovery DJ & Lighting

Recommended by 100%

125
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
125 Discovery DJ & Lighting Reviews
Sort by:
  • M

    M · Married on 10/06/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim DJed at our recent outdoor wedding in Dallas, and we can't sing his praise highly enough. We knew fairly well what we wanted -- someone who could keep the dance floor busy throughout the night, coordinate with musicians who also performed during the wedding, and subtly move the schedule along. Jim did all those things, and much more. He was the consummate professional throughout the whole process: Everything from playlist development to payments was done through a simple online interface; and Jim was always available to discuss timelines, music selections, or special equipment requests. But he really outdid himself on the day of the wedding: Jim coordinated audio during our ceremony, provided sound to other musicians, and moved the entire sound operation indoors during a period of intermittent rain. Within 30 minutes, we went from outdoor live music to indoor speeches to a packed outdoor dance floor. Days later he mentioned that the logistics had been among the most challenging he'd encountered in 15 years. Of course we were blissfully unaware: Jim simply talked to the event planner, decided what needed to be done, and got it done. Hire him.

  • D

    Devon · Married on 10/06/2018

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim DJed at our recent outdoor wedding in Dallas, and we can't sing his praise highly enough. We knew fairly well what we wanted -- someone who could keep the dance floor busy throughout the night, coordinate with musicians who also performed during the wedding, and subtly move the schedule along. Jim did all those things, and much more. He was the consummate professional throughout the whole process: Everything from playlist development to payments was done through a simple online interface; and Jim was always available to discuss timelines, music selections, or special equipment requests. But he really outdid himself on the day of the wedding: Jim coordinated audio during our ceremony, provided sound to other musicians, and moved the entire sound operation indoors during a period of intermittent rain. Within 30 minutes, we went from outdoor live music to indoor speeches to a packed outdoor dance floor. Days later he mentioned that the logistics had been among the most challenging he'd encountered in 15 years. Of course we were blissfully unaware: Jim simply talked to the event planner, decided what needed to be done, and got it done. Hire him.

  • E

    Emily · Married on 11/11/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim was amazing! The lighting was perfect, we absolutely loved our go-bo, very crisp and fit our wedding theme perfectly. We had him DJ ceremony, cocktail hour and an hour + of our reception, then a band took over, but he played the perfect mix of music and everyone had so much fun! The best part was his new Photo Booth .. that was a HIT! It was super sleek/small and didn't take up much space but as soon as our guests knew we had that they LOVED it! Thank you for everything you did to make our event look stunning and helping our guests have a blast!

    Discovery DJ & Lighting 1
    Discovery DJ & Lighting 2
    Discovery DJ & Lighting 3
  • M

    Mere · Married on 10/07/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim was the best! I put off booking any kind of entertainment until the last min and Jim at Discovery saved the day! He was super responsive, flexible, and tons of fun. He helped keep us informed and on track with our event timelines. I am so happy we were referred for his DJ services - I had many compliments about the music all night long. The pre-planning process is easy and fun - I would highly recommend the service!

  • L

    Lisa · Married on 05/13/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim recently provided DJ services and lighting services for my daughter's wedding held at Union Station in Dallas. Jim was kind, professional and worked diligently with my daughter and her fiance' to assure that each musical selection was perfect for the mood and atmosphere they desired for their reception. Without hesitation, I recommend Jim and Discovery DJ and Lighting for anyone wanting superb and professional DJ and lighting services.

  • K

    Kristine · Married on 04/15/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim was our first choice pick for our wedding DJ. He is always the most welcoming, energetic, thoughtful, and organized person. I had just a few requests, and Jim took the time to get to know my husband and I to make sure the evening fit our personalities perfectly. He accepted my requests and then offered suggestions when I wasn’t sure what song to pick or timeline to follow. My dad had a special request for a very unique father/daughter dance, which Jim gladly let him privately discuss with him to make it simply perfect, and that’s exactly how the entire night was.. PERFECT! Many brides and grooms don’t understand how important keeping on a timeline is to help the night run smoothly, but Jim not only understands this, he kindly alerted us when the next task (first dance, cake cutting, speeches, etc) was up. This made the night run extremely smoothly while not feeling rushed, yet keeping guests entertained. I would recommend Jim to anyone and everyone. Thanks for making our Wedding night the absolute best!

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 03/12/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We have nothing but great things to say about Jim and Discovery DJ. He was always quick to get back to us about any questions we had and we really appreciated how organized he was. The day of the wedding he did such a great job and he allowed us to completely enjoy our day. Our guests had a great time which was really important to us.

  • L

    Lori · Married on 01/22/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First class experience all the way. I loved the online system to pick music and how easy Jim was to work with.

  • E

    Erin · Married on 09/03/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have had a better DJ. We got so many compliments about how well he was doing. He picked all the right music for our friends and family to keep the dance floor full at all times. He made the whole night flow so well. The lighting was also amazing. We requested no hip hop or rap because of parents preferences and he was the only DJ who did not question this. He also made amazing suggestions for a private last dance and it was probably one of my favorite moments from our wedding.

  • K

    Katherine · Married on 08/13/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Discovery to handle the lighting for our wedding. They were quick to respond to our emails and everything turned out great. We were very happy with their service!

  • M

    Michelle · Married on 07/09/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A friend had used Discovery DJ & Lighting for their wedding lighting and I thought it looked really nice. So I contacted them to handle the lighting for my wedding and it turned out just as good for mine!

  • A

    Adam · Married on 06/11/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you want to have a stress-free wedding, hire Jim. He gave us the peace of mind we needed to have an incredible wedding.

    I've posted this review elsewhere, but I wanted to post it here too so Jim and Discovery DJ & Lighting get full credit.

    Some of the best money I've ever spent. Seriously, without Jim, I don't know how we would have made this wedding work.

    He wasn't just the DJ (though he was). He didn't just watch the timeline like a hawk and make sure everything ran smoothly and efficiently (though he did). He didn't just keep us informed and moving forward gently, kindly, with just the right sense of urgency (though he did that too).

    He was the wedding master — SO MUCH MORE than simply playing music. I couldn't BELIEVE the value Jim brought to this experience — I was truly blown away!

    I was very nervous about the wedding itself — how people would know what to do next, who would keep on eye on the clock, how people would get organized, know where to be and when to be there, but Jim was on top of it.

    He's like the Batman of weddings — he's the hero you didn't know you needed, sticking in the background and melting into the flow of the wedding while still making sure everything is happening smoothly, just the way it should be. Like the secret service of weddings. I might be going a little overboard here with the analogies, but believe me when I say he was beyond perfect.

    He was also incredibly professional — but most of all, he made us feel comfortable. I felt like I had nothing to worry about during the wedding because Jim was going to handle it all.

    I can't thank you enough Jim for everything you did. You didn't just provide some music or move people around...

    You brought us ease and peace of mind — and you can't put a price on that.

    Want your wedding to run smoothly? Hire Jim. Hire Discovery DJ & Lighting, and just FEEL the stress evaporate.

  • L

    Leslie · Married on 04/03/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not be happier with our choice to use Jim and Discovery DJ & Lighting for our wedding. Right from our first meet and greet, Jim blew us away with his prompt and informative communication, great pricing, and even better planning. We had pondered the idea of doing a plug and play for our ceremony and reception, but after the first meeting with Jim, we knew that anything less would be unacceptable. Jim really took the time to get to know us and our tastes, and wasn't afraid to challenge us in ways that made our wedding better. We threw Jim a curve ball in planning by asking him to cut and edit several songs, which he did without hesitation or issue. We also asked him to help plan our grand Rock-Star entrance in a way that wasn't too goofy, and it went off without a hitch!

    I have had friends and family who felt some sense of regret after seeing their DJ in action during the wedding, but I can say without hesitation that Jim not only met my expectations, but blew them out of the water. His music choice during the cocktail hour, dinner, and dancing gave us and our guests the best experience we could have imagined. Our only regret is that we didn't have time for more dancing! No one wanted to leave the dance floor at the end of the night.

    Jim made sure that we never had a single worry about his role in our wedding, and even went the extra mile to help us organize aspects of our day that we hadn't thought of. His sound and honest advice about more than just the music made him an invaluable part to our day. I guarantee that if anyone ever asks us for a DJ recommendation, we will jump at the chance to send them to Jim. I only hope that anyone and everyone is able to use Jim and Discovery DJ & Lighting for their wedding!

  • Y

    Yvette · Married on 11/21/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim is the best. He was our DJ for the entirety of our wedding night and absolutely rocked it.

    He's personable (warm, has a welcoming presence), collaborative (which was important to us since we chose to not have a wedding coordinator), and perceptive (he was able to figure us out and give great feedback and suggestions--I highly suggest you leverage his input!).

    The music flowed so well from ceremony to the last dance. He did a great job supplementing our song list. Guests were dancing the entire time and did not want to leave. There's even a photo of one of our guests high fiving Jim!

    Jim more than DJs! He followed up with us throughout the night, helped keep our night on track, worked well with our other vendors, and made the night feel seamless. I highly recommend him. Happy planning!

  • B

    Blair · Married on 10/24/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim at Discovery Dj was the DJ for our wedding. He also provided the music for our ceremony as well. We have nothing but great things to say about Jim- not only was the music amazing and had people dancing the whole time, but he also helped us stay on top of everything throughout the night. He made sure to follow our timeline and did a great job at communicating with us without interfering. He made sure we stayed right on track with time while still allowing us to enjoy all the details. We would highly recommend Jim in a heartbeat to anyone in need of a DJ!

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 10/17/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Do yourself a favor and book Jim as your dj! Seriously contact him right now!

    We loved Jim with discovery djs! Guests from our wedding still comment on how awesome he was and we have been asked multiple times if our playlist is on spotify - hah! He definitely helped to keep the party going and we had a blast! When we were interviewing djs our favorite question to ask was "how do you get people out on the dance floor?" His response was perfect and he demonstrated it at our wedding - he creates a musical program/timeline that does the work! (we've all been to those awkward weddings where the djs are constantly asking people our to the dance floor and we wanted to make sure to avoid this - luckily we found Jim!) Jim even accommodated us when we decided to keep the party going an extra hour than originally planned during the middle of our reception!

    He was also incredibly responsive and easy to work with throughout the planning process and was very helpful in picking out different songs for bouquet toss, garter toss, last song, etc.!

    We would DEFINITELY recommend him to anyone getting married or even just hosting a party!

  • N

    Naomi · Married on 10/11/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The ambiance in the reception room due to the amazing colored lights was spectacular . Jim at Discovery Lighting did a wonderful job of understanding what I was looking for. The lights made all the difference to set the stage for our reception. We had wireless up lights all around the room and lanterns over the dance floor. Apart from centerpieces on the table, Discovery lighting was all I needed for the decor.
    As we wanted a dance party and light show at the end of the reception we hired one of Jim's engineers to stay throughout the night to ensure the light show was completely in sink with the DJ. Wow everything was fantastic thanks to Jim and his crew.

  • S

    Sharon · Married on 08/15/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wanted to take this opportunity to thank your for being part of Jon and Alli wedding. Your DJ services were fabulous. You played all the songs that got people dancing all night. The wedding turned out perfect just as they planned and hoped for and we are thrilled you were part of it. Anyone looking for DJ services will definitely be sent your way. Thanks again.

  • A

    Alyson · Married on 08/01/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim was absolutely amazing! We used him for multiple services: reception DJ, lighting, a photo slideshow and also sound for the ceremony. He was truly amazing and an integral part to how perfect our wedding was. He was one of the first vendors we settled with and that was definitely due to his professionalism and the inherent trust we immediately felt with him. Extremely easy to work with, very accommodating to finding times to chat, very thorough and ultimately great at what he does. We really can't say enough wonderful things about him and strongly recommend using him for every service he has to offer!

  • M

    MINDY · Married on 07/11/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim is a true professional and made my daughter's wedding absolutely wonderful. He did not only the music but also the lighting for the ceremony room and reception. The music was fantastic throughout the night. He is the best DJ I have ever seen and most of my guests complimented him as being the best. He was wonderful to work with and made sure everything ran smoothly. He did exactly what my daughter wanted in a reception and all I can say it was FANTASTIC!!!! I would recommend Jim for any DJ and lighting services. He was the best.

  • User5068281 · 2+ years ago

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Their website is so helpful when planning music! They have tons of 'most requested' lists with different genres, so it takes away the stress of coming up with music on your own!

  • M

    Matt · Married on 06/20/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I put together our wedding without the services of a wedding planner, so we ended up finding most of our vendors from weddingwire.com. As such, we weren't sure what to expect from any of our vendors. From our first meeting with Jim, we knew we'd made the right choice. Mr. Weisz is a symbol of professionalism. He came to the interview prepared, and was very forthcoming with any information we needed. He maintained constant contact throughout the planning process, and when the day came he showed up several hours early, and set up all of his equipment before most of us knew he had arrived. When guests started filing in, he made sure to have ambient music playing and was able to follow our very detailed ceremony instructions without a flaw.

    As for the reception, we had a very specific playlist we wanted, and Mr. Weisz was able to supplement that playlist with songs from his own lists that went perfectly with the atmosphere and what we wanted. He allowed requests, and had any and every song that was asked for.

    Throughout the reception, I'm not afraid to say that I was just a little bit nervous with all that was going on, but SEVERAL times he took a moment to pull me aside and reassure me that everything was going as planned and offered a friendly comment or two.

    After the reception, we thanked him for his service and he congratulated us once more and very respectfully took his leave.

    Overall, we were EXTREMELY impressed with his service and would recommend Mr. Weisz to ANYONE who had any event they needed a DJ for.

  • N

    natalie · Married on 06/13/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim completely made our wedding day. We met before hand and told him that we werent going to say "dont play this or that" but we were leaving the reception in his hands. He went table to table and made all of our guests feel so engaged. We received so many compliments from friends and family on how wonderful he was. He kept the crowd dancing the entire night. I couldnt think of one bad thing to say if I tried. I booked him 13 months out and he always answered my phone calls and emails right away even though my wedding wasnt for another year. I could NOT have asked for a better DJ.

  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/12/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the perfect addition to our special day, the lighting was so perfect. They were so professional and flexible with our time in meeting to pick out exactly what we wanted. I would suggest this company to any one who is looking for lighting at there next event.

  • C

    carly · Married on 05/16/2015

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Discovery Lighting pretty last minute and we are so happy we did. Jim Weisz was so amazing and so nice. He was able to provide the lighting at the last minute and did a fabulous job! All of our guests were commenting on how beautiful the lighting was in the room. He made the whole process for us very easy to understand. I would recommend him to anyone who needs lighting for a wedding! Thanks again!!!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review