Digital Expressions Reviews

33 | Kapolei, HI
See photos, pricing and details

33 Reviews for Digital Expressions

Recommended by 83%

33

4.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.2
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.2
  • Value 4.2
  • Average response time 3.7
Sort by:
  • C

    Chris · Married on 03/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having a destination wedding in Hawaii, Kai made our lives very easy coordinating all the shoots and answering any questions we had. He was always so quick to respond whether by text or by email. Outstanding same day edit put together very professionally and to the highest quality! We can't stop getting complements on our video. I would recommend Digital Expressions to anyone having an upcoming wedding.

    Cat&Chris Beebe

    Sent on 03/26/2014
  • K

    Kira · Married on 03/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kai and his team did an amazing job. The same day edit was the best that I had seen!! And friends of mine agreed! I can't wait to get my wedding video to recapture all those amazing moments.
    Thank you Kai!!
    Kira and Ryan Inouye

    Sent on 03/14/2014
  • L

    Leahi · Married on 12/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome team of workers!!!!
    Kai and his team. Was able to make my dream wedding come true. He knew exactly want I was looking for in a videography. He was able to put together my love story, same day edit with vows and made my videos look amazing. I defiantly made the right Change in time of the wedding.my husband and I are soooo blessed and thankful we were able to have Kai and his team be apart of our wedding. I already recommend his company too our family and friends. All I can say is "I made the right choice"!!

    Sent on 12/30/2013
  • A

    Alyssa-lende · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Aloha ,

    Kai and his team provided video for my wedding on October 19 and I have to say it was the best service I've seen. My family is in the DJ business and I've seen so much videos and video services. His quality of service was amazing they came on time to the house to start filming. They made sure to stand in place where they weren't in the way at all and was such a joy to have around. So patient with me considering I was running a little late to my ceremony. His Responsiveness was amazing considering he is quite busy. He always made sure to contact me in time. Professionalism was awesome always met up with me around my schedule and is willing to work with our budget. The Value was AMAZING everyone who attended my wedding and saw the video cried!!! I'm so excited to watch it again!! Lastly the flexibility I want to say Kai and his team has the best flexibility he made a financial plan for my husband and I which we were SO GRATEFUL for. He also gave us a Same Day edit with vows because our ceremony was short and I can't express how grateful we are for that!!! We love digital expression and we recommend them to everyone and anyone.

    MAHALO NUI LOA Kai!!!!

    Sent on 10/22/2013
  • User2526846 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We're so glad we chose Kai and the Digital Expressions team to be our wedding videographers. Since a lot of my husband's family were not able to come to our wedding, it was important to us to have a video that reflected what actually happened on that day. We had two cameras for six hours, which was enough to get some getting-ready shots, the ceremony, cocktail hour, reception, and our "exit" (all at same location). The two cameramen did a fantastic job of moving around for different shots/angles during the whole evening, but were never intrusive to our guests or the activities going on. DE was flexible to our requests for doing partial documentary-style edits, since we wanted the complete ceremony and not just highlights. The final edit is quite beautiful and our friends and family speak highly of the quality of our wedding video.

    DE has reasonable pricing compared to the same services in other higher-end videography companies. We also received a $200 certificate from a wedding expo one year prior to our wedding! Our budget really determined which videographer we went with, and DE exceeded our expectations. Mahalo!

    Sent on 01/20/2014
  • E

    Emi · Married on 06/23/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning a destination wedding is always difficult, but Kai from Digital Expressions made it really easy, he checked in with me to see if he could answer any questions, worked with my budget, offered services not always offered by other photographers and videographers. I liked that they offered both photography and videography because they have experience working with each other, therefore wouldn't be pulled in two separate directions by two different vendors on what should be the most important and enjoyable day of your life! During the wedding, they made it a priority to capture us in different settings, like on the beach when the sun was setting or finding a beautiful tree to place us under. If you have any specific requests, I am sure they would be able to accommodate you. Kai and his team were all so friendly and professional. We opted for the Same-day Edit of the ceremony, which they edit on the spot and show at your reception. EVERYONE was BLOWN AWAY by this! And it was especially nice for those who were unable to make it to the ceremony. I signed up for the 6-hour service (ceremony from 4:30, reception from 6:00-10:00) and now understand why they offer longer services...because there is so much to capture and can make anything look AMAZING! For example, I was frantically trying to tie the rings back onto the pillow before the wedding and they were shooting me without me noticing, but during the video, they made me look so elegant and calm! I STILL hear how amazing the video was and have had requests to view it again when we receive it. We cannot wait to see the entire package when it arrives!

    Sent on 08/02/2013
  • T

    Tasia · Married on 03/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We spent a lot of money trusting that they would bring professionalism we've never had or seen at any other party! This was our first time ever hiring a vendor for videography, &we're glad we took that risk because our guests kept reiterating the fact that it was the BEST slideshow/video they've ever seen! Thank you Kai &crew! :)

    Sent on 03/30/2013
  • A

    Alan · Married on 12/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were glad we chose Kai and his crew. After going to the different wedding workshops and seeing first hand everyone's work , we decide Digital Expressions is who we wanted. The old adage you get what you pay for is certainly true. We got excellent customer service. Kai was an email, phone call or text away. On our wedding day, his crew was so easy to work with. They made it fun and we had a ball getting to act, lol. The slideshow with the same day edits was amazing. Everyone was impressed especially with the same day highlights. Consider adding the audio insert at the ceremony to capture your vows, it adds to your special day. Thanks Kai and crew you guys did awesome!!!

    Sent on 12/11/2012
  • R

    Rose · Married on 06/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The crew of Digital Expressions were our choice for our daughter's wedding. They were great and very professional. They were not in the way and you hardly notice they were there. They did a great job without blocking everybodys view. In addition to doing the videography for my daughter's wedding, we also had them make the slide show and do a "same day edit" to show at the reception. Everybody enjoyed the slideshow, they make it a bit fancier than just plain pictures going by one after the other. Everybody was ABSOLUTELY AMAZED at the quality of the "same day edit"! It was awesome how they were able to put together a mini video/movie of the pre-bridal/groom getting ready and the ceremony in only a couple of hours. I mean it was like hollywood quality. We can't wait to get the main video of everything. At first we weren't budgeting a videographer, but after going to the free bridal workshop that the Wedding Cafe offers, we were sold and really glad we did. Let me just say that looking a pictures is good but to see movment, live action -really see all the different expressions on peoples faces and to hear them is a gazillion times better and well worth the money and investment for my daughter's big day. Thanks Digital Expressions for the great job of making memories that we can re-live and watch over again.

    Sent on 06/22/2012
  • C

    Caroline · Married on 02/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kai and his team were amazing. We barely knew they were there. I cannot wait to see how they edit our video. My only regret is that I did not get to know them better. Thank you so much for making our memories last!
    Caroline

    Sent on 03/04/2012
  • C

    Clarice · Married on 06/27/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kai and Kiku we're our videographers this past weekend for our wedding. They both provided an amazing service and couldn't be happier. I appreciated their behind the scene actions and played off of what the photographer was doing so they very rarely asked us to repeat a shot. They made us feel very comfortable and I didn't feel like a camera was in my face the entire time. With the package we purchased, it included a same-day edit video. Within a few hours, they put together a beautiful highlight of our day...from getting ready to the ceremony. Our guests were so impressed with the product and so were we!

    Sent on 06/30/2015
  • A

    Arlene · Married on 03/15/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can I say about Digital Expressions.. but that they are absolutely amazing. When we first started browsing around for a videographer, we didn't know what to expect but that we had a budget, and wanted the video to be entertaining for our guests, capturing every moment. We went to the Wedding Cafe and met with a number of vendors but most were too overpriced or wasn't able to accommodate what we envisioned. After meeting several vendors, we recieved an email from Kai stating we had won a certificate from the Wedding Cafe. We met Kai and he was so laid back and reassured that everything we wanted- lovestory/music video incorporating photos, SDE, and full highlights. What we had asked for would have costed $5000+ but they were willing to work with our budget... providing options to pay after the wedding. When we finally shot our lovestory, we were a little hesitant and worried that they weren't gonna capture what we envisioned. However, Kai reassured us not to worry and his editor was great. On our wedding day.. Kai wasn't able shoot because he had an injury limiting him to stay at the wedding to help. You would think I would be worried, but I wasn't. I trusted him completely and when all was said and done, the lovestory and SDE came out perfectly. It was what we envisioned and more. All my guests raved how entertaining our lovestory/ music video was and how the SDE was beautiful. We can't thank them enough. I would highly recommend them above all the pricey videographer/ cinematographers in Hawaii... they will not disappoint!

    Sent on 03/24/2014
  • A

    Allegra · Married on 07/27/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kai and his team were amazing! We initially met them at a wedding expo and had entered into a contest to win $200 off any package deal. Kai was very flexible on scheduling meetings and he even met with me so I could give him our song for our video as I was having difficulty sending them. Kai was very reasonable and friendly and even agreed to shoot at 2 different get ready locations. There were times that Kai took some time to respond back to emails but he was always helpful and honest as to why there was a lag in a response.

    On the day of the wedding, Kai and his team did arrive later than expected and this caused me some anxiety. But what wedding ever starts on time? Once we started taking photos my nerves disappeared and the team worked effortlessly. Once at the venue Kai and his team were open to ideas as the venue we chose was their first time there. Since we received our photos this past weekend, we used some amazing areas at our venue--the pier and the T.V. show stages set up behind our venue. We are excited to see what our video will be like and highly recommend them!

    Sent on 10/23/2013
  • C

    Crystal · Married on 09/22/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy that we chose Digital Expressions to capture our Wedding Day. Kai and his crew did an amazing job! They were very professional, patient and super stealth ( I hardly noticed that they were there). We chose a package that showcased a "love story" (how we met, the proposal, etc.) pre-bridal/groom getting ready shots, slide show & same day edit. All I can say is that it turned out so awesome! Our wedding guest are still talking about it. We especially appreciated the same-day edit because we were able to relive our special day from a different perspective. We are extremely grateful.

    Sent on 10/28/2012
  • D

    Dennis · Married on 06/02/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Though our event was NOT for a wedding, but for a slideshow, interview and music video skit for my son and nephew's high school graduation from the same school.

    We first heard of Digital Expressions during my mother's unfortunate passing back in Aug 2006, as my brother had heard good things from this firm, and met with Kai to make a slideshow/interview presentation for us. We cried and were so honored during the presentation at the funeral services, for the presentation was A++ (if I can give it that rating). I had never seen such professionalism in the video until that night.

    Fast forward to my son and nephew's graduation that just occurred...we were also looking at another firm, who showed us his presentation and said that he worked part-time for KITV as a independent contractor, and oh my...there was **NO** comparison to Kai's video samples. We chose him of course due to our past experience in 2006, but we thought that choosing his firm to do the slideshow, interviews and music video skit was the right and only choice...hands down, it was a unanimous decision to go with Digital Expressions.

    Come the graduation party just this past June 2nd...and we and our friends and families were just amazed and excited after seeing the presentation. We received many compliments...so if I were you, you must put DIGITAL EXPRESSIONS very high on your list of videographers...yes, they came through for us (again)!

    We would not hesitate to use him again in the future...

    Sent on 06/13/2012
  • S

    Shantel · Married on 09/06/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I just got married a week ago from today and we hired Digital Expressions for our videography services. Part of the package we got included a same-day-edit video, which was shown at the reception for our guests to see. We were more than happy with the video and our guests had nothing but good compliments to say as well. What we personally liked about Digital Expressions videography services was their style of shooting/editing. Compared to other companies that we've explored, Digital Expressions creates their video to be more cinematic like, which means it's gives the viewers the opportunity to really take in the moment that is being captured. They are VERY good at capturing those special moments throughout the wedding day.

    While watching their videos you can't help but feel like you were there and experiencing all the emotions, such as joy, happiness, excitement, and love, that are felt on a wedding day. My only regret is that I didn't hire them for the entire day. I would highly recommend that you hire them for a full day so when you get your final wedding video, you'll have moments captured from the getting ready , the ceremony, and the reception.

    Sent on 09/14/2014
  • N

    Nolando · Married on 08/18/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kai and comapny did such an amazing job on our Same Day Edit that we cannot wait to see the entire completed video. We were completely blown away. Our DJ, who has done hundreds of weddings, said that was hands down the best Same Day Edit he's ever seen. Due some miscommunication on both our parts we had some issues leading up to our wedding day. Because of the misunderstandings, Kai was kind enough to throw in additional services free of charge. Talk about great customer service! This isn't like going to McDonald's and they gave you extra fries because they messed up an order, after all. Also, the crew members that came out to film were all very friendly and courteous. They never got in the way, in fact, we hardly knew they were there. The combination of the quality of their work and their customer service make these guys a definite must have if you're getting married on Oahu.

    Sent on 09/16/2013
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 02/04/2006

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kai was very easy to work with and, for the most part, I didn't have to deal with him during the day. I assume he and his assistant were doing their "thing" in getting material for the video. Correspondence with Kai was done via telephone and postal mail and his responsiveness was great.

    I would advise that you provide a list of events and items you want in your wedding video. Overall, the video was exceptionally put together with the background music blending in so nicely with the scenes. But, I wished there were things in the video that meant a lot to me like the entire bridal party walking down the aisle and our sponsors being shown more. I don't even have my flower girl dropping her two petals!

    Sent on 08/01/2008
  • L

    Lori · Married on 08/10/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    After reviewing other videography websites, my Fiancé and I decided to go with Kai and Digital Expressions to do the videography for our wedding. Kai recommended we do a Love Story to be shown on our wedding day. We did not feel very confident with our interviews as we both dislike being the center of attention, but the staff at Digital Expressions made it into something wonderful. We received so many positive comments from guests at the wedding. Digital Expressions also did a same day edit of our wedding that was amazing!!! We are waiting anxiously to receive the longer version of the video from our wedding!!! They are very busy, so you have to wait for a response from them sometimes, but they are professional and the end product is wonderful.

    Sent on 08/21/2014
  • L

    Lisa · Married on 09/08/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We hired Kai for our Sept 2012 wedding at Lanikuhonua. His crew came to our rooms at the Ihilani from mid-morning and stayed with us until the end of the night. All of the crew members were so professional, friendly and unobtrusive. I especially appreciated Glen because he provided a calming energy when I started to panic about the rain. And he also made shooting video scenes fun for the bridal party. Anyway, it rained so hard at Lanikuhonua (when does that ever happen, seriously?) that we had to postpone our ceremony. When we eventually did the ceremony, it was still drizzling so I thought our video would be ruined. But when we saw our Same-Day Edit, it was absolutely fabulous. They made the rain look beautiful and heavenly. I could not believe how beautiful the video came out considering the terrible footage they must have gotten. Now that's talent!! I haven't gotten our wedding video yet (Kai quoted me around 4-6 months), but I'm sure it'll be great. I would definitely recommend them!

    Sent on 10/04/2012
  • D

    DIANA · Married on 08/08/2015

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    During our process of planning our wedding, we had done our ground work and attended a few workshops and expos. We ended up winning a GC from one of the expos for Digital Expressions - and after meeting with Kai and looking through the website, we decided to book them. We had them do our full day including photography, videography, and photobooth - which was really convenient. Included was also an engagement photo shoot which we did with Eric - and those photo's were quickly received after the shoot and the photo's were goregous (we showcased a few at our wedding reception as well). Day of, the team was prompt and professional - there were a group of them that came with Eric and Kai. For our package, we also chose a same day edit and skit as part of our package - and honestly, both came out fantastic - everyone was really excited to be able to relive the ceremony, and we got a LOT of compliments on our skit video. Kai was really great to work with the entire time during our planning - sometimes it takes a bit for him to respond back - but he does end up getting back to you. My husband and I enjoyed working with Kai and Eric and the rest of the team - and would look to use them again for other future life events as well.

    Sent on 10/18/2015
  • H

    Holly · Married on 09/29/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kai and his team do great work at Digital Expressions. Our video came out flawless! If there is one thing that's a must have, it is truly a videographer. There's no better way to re-live your special day. We can now watch our video on every anniversary and remember how much joy and love was shared that day!

    Sent on 11/08/2012
  • User3159558 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Digital Expressions team was great. They had great ideas and helped us get exactly what we wanted

    Sent on 03/26/2013
  • M

    Marlene · Married on 07/22/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Kai is personable. He and his crew were quite professional on the day of our wedding. He was flexible with the songs I wanted for the slideshow and wedding video. The slideshow was GREAT except for my husband had alot more group pics growing up which made it hard to tell where he was butI also forgot to mention to Kai to focus on him. I wish I viewed the slideshow prior to our wedding day. We just received our wedding DVD and LOVED watching our SPECIAL day once again. They did an AWESOME job editing it. I would use them again.

    Sent on 06/17/2013
  • User3835583 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Digital Expressions team did a wonderful job capturing my husband’s and my wedding day on the beautiful big island of Hawaii in September. After originally deciding on another company, we were convinced to re-consider using Digital Expressions and are very glad we did. After speaking with Kai for over an hour regarding the company’s history, our preferences and desires of capturing our big day, and pricing, we felt very comfortable with our final decision. On the day of our wedding, the team was professional, shot footage from a variety of angles recording every special moment throughout the day, and even took part in external duties out of the kindness of their hearts. Our only concerns include being late on the big day, not responding as promptly as we had hoped via email when we had questions, and providing our day’s highlights video 3 months after our wedding day when we were told it would be ready in 2 weeks. However, when we did receive the day’s highlights video words cannot express how happy we were as they truly captured the beauty of every moment throughout the entire day. From footage of the ceremony from a high lookout point to zooming in on the intricate details of our attire and rings (and even Kai stepping in to help the groom straighten his tie, which so thoughtful), our video is absolutely perfect! We highly recommend Digital Expressions and appreciate all of their hard work recording and editing a video that will be watched again and again for a lifetime. It is absolutely amazing! We cannot wait to see the extended, full length video and highly recommend this team!

    Sent on 01/20/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review