Diamond Oak Events Reviews

10 | Clear Lake, IA
See photos, pricing and details

10 Reviews for Diamond Oak Events

Recommended by 96% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

10
Order by:
  • M

    Mitchell Knudsvig · Married on 08/25/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect all around experience

    My wife and I had our wedding here and there isn’t a single complaint we could come up with. The grounds were well groomed, owners were wonderful to work with, the employees were respectful and could anticipate needs in the future. 100% recommend to anyone looking for 5 star service and a beautiful venue to get married at!

    Sent on 09/19/2020
  • Anne

    Anne Flynn · Married on 04/10/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Flynn Thompson Wedding

    I am writing in response to the Devine review. My son was married at Diamond Oak Events in October 2019. The best way that I can describe our experience at Diamond Oaks is that it was absolutely magical. Had it not been for the tremendous assistance that the hosts of the venue provided, we could not have pulled off such a wonderful experience for the bride, groom and guests. Scott and Gwen provided guidance and advice that helped us through the entire process and that was absolutely invaluable. I cannot imagine that they would rude to a client in any way. The Covid-19 situation has changed everything. It must be tremendously difficult to manage an event such as a wedding right now. I'm sure that Scott and Gwen are doing their very best to manage the rules to keep their guests safe, while trying to provide the best experience possible for their clients. When you look at all the other reviews out there on Diamond Oak Events it tells a very different story than the review left by Kim Devine. I would recommend Diamond Oaks highly.

    Sent on 09/14/2020
  • M

    Melia · Married on 08/18/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Could not have picked a better place, everything was perfect. Gwen and Scott were so accommodating, making sure everything was exactly how we wanted it. So professional, kind, and truly offer everything there. I would recommend a 1000x over to everybody. My guests were in awe too.

    Sent on 08/26/2017
  • J

    Jason · Married on 06/24/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'd rather not get into the 100 things that Scott and Gwen did to make our day exceptional. I don’t think I’ll have enough room and believe the 5-star ratings across the board speak for themselves. But it's the hosts and venue together that really made our day special. The trees, greenery, pavilion, outdoor ceremony area, and trolley all combine to give the wedding a personality of its own. They somehow made the day bigger than it already was. There were several moments during the ceremony and reception when I caught myself just looking around, trying to take it all in. And I don’t think I was alone in that. My bride and I could be happier with how we were treated and how the day went.

    Sent on 06/30/2017
  • B

    Brie · Married on 06/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Literally loved everything everything about Diamond Oak and the owners, Scott and Gwen. I was wary because of how new they were, but they had decorations available, and were more than happy to help me arrange everything and were very accommodating to fit my schedule. They were very reasonably priced, and the service was amazing. I'll always recommend Diamond Oak!

    Sent on 06/30/2017
  • A

    Andra · Married on 05/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was perfect thanks to Diamond Oak Events. The staff was wonderful and they worked hard to make sure everything ran smoothly. The venue rental includes so many things including decorations, tables, chairs, everything down to the napkins! They even had stuff I didn't know I needed until the big day. It really helped us save money not having to rent or purchase additional things. Beautiful location. They even provide a trolley service for guests to safely get back home.

    Sent on 06/07/2017
  • M

    Megan · Married on 05/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot tell you how much of a blessing it was to find Diamond Oak Events. Looking for venues in this area is hard enough, but to find a place that did EVERYTHING, and everything so well - we're beyond words.
    1) The venue itself is just GORGEOUS. If I'm being entirely honest, I forgot all about the ceremony. Beyond discussing the content with our officiants, I never gave it a second thought. Scott and Gwen set up the seating, the sound system, and the alter area and it was ready. I didn't buy decorations, and it still looked amazing. Every single family we invited came up after to us and told us how perfect the ceremony was.
    2) They provide so much. They provided a sound system, a trolley (which would have been a huge expense otherwise!), and plenty of decorations. We spent $40 on decorations total, for our entire wedding. They also provided all of the dinnerware and silverware and they cleaned it all up afterward!
    3) They provided extra help for a small additional price. Our caterer didn't have people to clear tables, so Scott and Gwen found people to cut cake, refill drinks, clean tables, and help with anything, for a VERY reasonable price. When we asked if they knew anyone who could help emcee the reception, they found someone, and he did fantastic! We were so happy - and it definitely beat paying so much for a DJ. We had him for a few hours and then switched to a playlist, and we still had people dancing until the end.
    4) They were so accommodating and easy to work with. Any questions we had, they found a solution. It was so stress-free - which was GREAT, because I had so many other things that I was stressing about! They were incredibly kind, we really couldn't asked for better people to help us out. They go above and beyond expectations!
    On top of all that we had multiple people tell us that this was "by far the best wedding we've ever attended", I got texts throughout the weekend about how amazing the venue was. We HIGHLY recommend!

    Sent on 05/30/2017
  • K

    Kara · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough about how great Scott and Gwen are to work with. Yes, the venue is beautiful and was just what we were looking for in a place to get married, but it was our experience with the staff that made everything perfect. They made everything so easy. Scott was always quick to respond and because we were planning the event from afar, was very flexible in letting us visit when we happened to be in town. Gwen is great at recognizing what is most important to you, and when to step in and make decisions (because there were many things I didn't care that much about-I just wanted someone else to handle it!). She has a great eye for event planning and having her there to guide our decisions made everything very simple. Lots of little things I may not have thought of before planning a wedding were taken care of by the venue (e.g. a great sound system for the outdoor ceremony site, containers for serving beer and wine, blankets for cold guests, chalkboards for menus and directing guests, etc.).

    Like the other reviewer said, we didn't even have to bring out decorations - the venue has plenty on hand. We also had great tables, chairs, linens, dishes, etc. The only other vendors we had to work with were for food and music. Also, because the grounds are so beautiful, we just had a few friends take some snapshots of us with the oak trees in the background instead of hiring a photographer. Having everything in one spot definitely made the price worth it for us. And, I would be remiss if I didn't mention how much praise we got from our guests. They loved the scenic location, and enjoyed both the in- and out-door space of the venue. We loved being able to get married in what our pastor called "an outdoor cathedral" and not have to worry about booking two places.

    Scott and Gwen worked so hard for us all weekend, and are simply enjoyable people to be with on your special day. We will miss seeing them now that the wedding is over.

    Sent on 05/19/2017
  • User6909344 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I can't express how great this venue was to work with! The owners are kind and friendly. They are willing to answer questions and are flexible with ideas/opinions I had about the wedding! The venue at this point has many decorations that you can use! They also set up the tables, chairs, borrowed (large) furniture (such as barrels, couch), and linens. The natural beauty of the venue made it possible to have minimal decorations and lead to a great atmosphere. They worked well with all my other vendors including meeting with them prior to the wedding for planning. I would strongly recommend the venue as the site for your wedding!!

    Sent on 07/01/2016
  • M

    Ml · Married on 08/21/2020

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    A venue host makes it or breaks it. Choose carefully.

    As a venue, it was absolutely beautiful, with many included amenities for the price. As for the customer service and the professionalism of the hosts, that is a completely different story. They come across very disorganized and much of their “rules” and “expectations” were not in writing, and only verbalized. This caused a lot of misunderstandings. We were looking over our shoulders constantly, being careful to not misstep the written contract, after they threatened to cancel our wedding only 2 weeks before the event because of their wrongly perceived view of our “intent”. It was very clear to us that they do not look out for their customer’s best interest, but only for their own interests. They were prone to jump to irrational conclusions without verifying or clarifying with us first, what the truth of the matter was.

    Covid restrictions added to the stress of planning our daughter’s wedding. Rules were constantly changing and the stress added to the normal stress for both our family and the venue hosts, clearly having its part in our bad experience with the hosts. We grant them that grace.

    However, there is no excuse for the Diamond Oak owners to treat our family members and volunteers disrespectfully, on several different occasions, and at one point, bringing the bride to tears and calling another family member a derogatory name in my presence!! They were unprofessional, disrespectful and rude to our family, creating severe anxiety, stress, and upset during our special event. We should not have felt as though we were walking on eggshells around them. We ended up not trusting them and were carful to not misstep, should they threaten us further.

    They did hold back @$50 from our security deposit, for yard game parts they couldn’t find. Had we known these parts were missing ahead of time, we could have had an opportunity to help locate the missing parts we presume were lost in the nearby woods on their property.

    The relationship with the host is a big factor in choosing a wedding venue, especially when they hold so much power over your event. In the future, we will host our other future weddings elsewhere. It wasn’t worth the stress and anxiety. We do not recommend Diamond Oak Events.

    Sent on 09/09/2020