Devens Common Center Reviews

17 | Devens, MA
See photos, pricing and details

17 Reviews for Devens Common Center

Recommended by 89% of couples

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.4
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.2

Awards

17

5 User photos

Devens Common Center 1
Devens Common Center 2
Devens Common Center 3
Devens Common Center 4
Devens Common Center 5
Order by:
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 10/19/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    SpringHill Suites and DCC were great!

    Hotel Staff was so great! The location is awesome this hotel is connected to the DCC and we had our welcome party there so it was so convenient for guests. All staff was great and they let some of our weekend wedding guests check in early, they also handed out our welcome bags for us. We worked with Ashley Lanni and she was super responsive helping us book a hotel block, the welcome party, etc. The food was great at DCC too!

    Sent on 10/30/2019
  • A

    Alivia Lafosse · Married on 09/15/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    September wedding

    Jen was amazing to work with. She made everything so easy for my parents and I! The food was delicious we got so many compliments. My husband and I were well taken care of all night. It was everything we wanted!

    Devens Common Center 6
    Devens Common Center 7
    Sent on 10/30/2019
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The team at Devens Commons Center was great. They really just wanted us to be happy with every decision. I loved that they let my husband and I look at the ballroom before our guests walked in. It was a really special moment to see the room set up beautifully. At that time, the sun shinning through the windows making the room look magical with the votives on the tables. It was a great time to soak it all in before our 200 guests filled the room. The staff went above and beyond to keep us happy.

    Sent on 10/10/2018
  • P

    Pamela · Married on 12/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was completely satisfied with Devens Common Center from beginning to end. Immediately when I met with the staff I was impressed by their friendliness and professionalism. The food was delicious and the location was beautiful. I was very thankful for their flexibility and willingness to accommodate all of our personal requests. They also hooked us up with a great local DJ, World Record Djs who we were very very pleased with.
    Jen did a great job helping us plan out our wedding. We couldn't have asked for a nicer location.
    One last perk, the dance floor at Devens is great. It's a large space right in the center of the room, not a small little square off to the side like in some other locations.

    Sent on 04/19/2016
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 11/01/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff was amazing to work with and set everything up perfectly. It was everything we asked for and more. Friendly and compassionate staff. Jennifer made sure everyone was in the right places at the right time.

    Sent on 12/04/2014
  • E

    Erin · Married on 08/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue, delicious food, accomodating and flexible

    Sent on 02/02/2012
  • C

    Mandy · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From beginning to end, my husband and I both felt everything was executed to perfection. Our guests had an amazing time, and we keep hearing how everything was beautiful, the food delicious, and how they had such a great time. Devens was so easy to work with, they were very responsive, and met all our needs. We couldn't have been happier with the venue, the service, and the professionalism!

    Sent on 01/04/2011
  • S

    scotty · Married on 09/20/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen and Ashley were amazing to work with. My wedding was truly a dream come true. I could not have asked for a better venue or better people to work with. They set up everything exactly the way that I had imagined it. They kept things moving and fixed any crisis that occurred.

    Sent on 11/08/2014
  • Lora

    Lora · Married on 12/31/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    New Year's Eve Wedding! 12/31/18

    Devens Common Center was such a find! I hadn't heard of the venue prior to wedding planning, but it turned out to be the perfect fit! We had just under 200 guests there for our New Year's Eve wedding and it was perfect to have everyone be able to walk over to their rooms!

    The venue's holiday decorations were perfect! The food was delicious. They helped me with every little request and detail and make sure the day went smoothly!

    Being a wedding planner, I was nervous to let anyone else be in control, but I could trust each and every employee at Devens. I owe them all big thanks yous!

    Devens Common Center 8
    Devens Common Center 9
    Devens Common Center 10
    Sent on 07/11/2019
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 09/24/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Devens Common Center is a beautiful venue if you are looking for a ballroom set-up. The room is decorated in subtle golds and taupes that mesh well with any decor you choose, and the dance floor is huge! I sincerely appreciate the help that Kerri, Jen and others gave me to organize my day, and everyone had an amazing time.

    The only glitch in the day was with the gluten free meals, but the kitchen was quick to accomodate my guests. I also found the Devens Common Center was slightly more expensive than the other venues I looked at, but worth it in the end because of the flexibility with their packages.

    Sent on 12/30/2011
  • kate

    kate · Married on 08/08/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Amazing food. Beautiful location.

    Sent on 08/16/2014
  • User4373016 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Devens Common Center exceeded my expectations for our ceremony and wedding reception. When we began looking at vendors a year prior to our wedding, I had my heart set on a rustic chic venue. I quickly realized my vision would need to change because those venues were way too expensive for our budget. Prior to looking at Devens Common Center, I was concerned it would look too much like a conference space, but the ballroom is huge, and transforms wonderfully from ceremony to reception. I also loved the convenience of it being attached to a hotel because we had a number of out-of-town guests in attendance. The food service was perfectly executed and the food was delicious! Many of our guests complimented us on the food. I was really impressed by it the day of because it was even better than it was at the tasting. I highly recommend if you're looking for a beautiful, cost-friendly location with excellent food and service. The 3.5 rating on responsiveness is related to emails only, as the wedding coordinator/sales manager can sometimes be slow to respond. On the day of the wedding, she was extremely attentive.

    Sent on 09/03/2014
  • B

    Bonnie · Married on 09/29/2007

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our ceremony outside of the site. The staff was very accommodating, helping to create the vision we had of the layout. Hot hors d'ourves were then passed both out and inside during the cocktail hour. Both the hotel and Common Center are new - about two years old. The reception ballroom is warm and elegant and clean, with a very large dance floor (we had 250 guests and it was more than comfortable). The food was delicious - beautiful presentation and a scrumptious meal. We found that for us, this was also the best deal - meal prices were not only competitive, they beat out other local vendors we looked at. We wanted a venue that had hotel accommodations VERY close. Spring Hill Suites by Marriott (attached to the reception site) had gorgeous rooms and met our needs. My one complaint would be that the communication between the hotel and the common center could have been better.

    Sent on 12/01/2007
  • User4892239 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was beautiful and the people were very nice, flexible and professional. We loved that the venue had so many spaces we could use. We utilized the balcony and stairs for our ceremony, the porch, patio and hall for our cocktail hour, and for people who needed a break during the dancing portion.
    Unfortunately there were a few things that didn't quite work out the night of. There were some decorations that never got put out, and some things that got lost after we dropped them off. The cake was cut into the smallest pieces I've ever seen and only 10 or so were put out at a time, meaning no one ate the cake and we had about half of it left at the end of the night. I had a lot of trouble getting timely responses from anybody as well. After I signed the contract I didn't hear from anybody until the week before the wedding and it took 2 weeks to get reply by email. They also tried to charge me more than we had agreed on. Check their math.

    Sent on 06/26/2015
  • Alex

    Alex · Married on 09/22/2012

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Overall, everything went well but some of the behind the scenes details were lost in the craziness. I didn't realize that the coordinator would be leaving after dinner and handing the night off to an assistant--or I wouldn't have given her a large tip ahead of time! Also, there was some miscommunications about set-up time which left my coordinator scrambling causing some items to be left undone!

    Food was great! Staff (mostly) was very helpful and accommodating to allergies/special needs!

    Sent on 10/08/2012
  • P

    Pamela · Married on 10/10/2015

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    The staff & food were great!! I do have to say, be careful of the wedding planner Jen!
    Everything was wonderful, until 4 days before my wedding date, 10/10/15. I've been so mad about Jen's neglect of my day & it was all about the $$ for her establishment.
    Jen told me 4days prior, her staff made a mistake & booked a party that overlapped my 5 o'clock ceremony time. She did charge us & included it in the final payment, to start at 5pm!! The time about 220ppl had been invited to arrive. Also, our guests had about 150 rooms reserved in the adjacent hotels. I was told she would give my guests a FREE cocktail HOUR! I was in my room waiting for 2hours. I later found out...she instructed her staff to charge my guest after only a half-an-hour!! Nooo, cheese & crackers for the bride, or even a bottle of water.
    I also, paid for chair-covers for the wedding ceremony & due to the fast party change there was not enough time. My walking down the aisle & ceremony pictures have just regular chairs & not very pretty. Jen, neglected a few things that I wanted to do as well. I informed her I wanted to do a greeting line while the guests are entering the ballroom, but she never came to get us after my wedding pictures were done, it was completely overlooked!
    The worst, was the response I received from Jen "person of a management position at Devon's"
    (I made the mistake of trusting Jen when She promised to change the 6pm start time on the contract we signed, to 5pm)
    Tuesday before my Saturday wedding date. My husband went up alone to drop of off the check w/ an extra hour payment included!! Jen told him AFTER she took the check! Her staff double booked the 5pm to 6pm hour we had reserved!!
    He told her she would have to call me, she did & the response I got was very rude & uncaring! "The contract you signed says 6pm," her exact words!! I couldn't believe it!! Jen made the mistake & made very poor effort to give a shit, at all!! Careful Brides, she doesn't CARE!!

    Sent on 12/27/2017
  • User4911466 · 2+ years ago

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    We followed up many times via phone leaving messages, and email. However, we didn't get responses right away. We were ready to sign the contract and before we knew it, the date was taken. Reasonable prices but the lack of response will keep you on your toes in working with this vendor.

    Sent on 03/25/2015

    Devens Common Center's reply:

    Good Afternoon Private User,
    First of all, we would like to thank you again for considering the Devens Common Center as your event venue. We are sorry that you feel that you had trouble getting through to our sales office. We do have several sales people in our office working to book events, so we go through a standard process each time we receive an inquiry to hold/contract dates on a first-come, first-serve basis. We put a hold on the requested date for two weeks, giving the client time to review their contract and sign/return it with the deposit. In the event that the client does not respond in a timely manner, we reach out to them to give them one last chance to claim their date before we release it.

    Unfortunately, in your case, the date you had requested was already on hold for another client. Upon reaching out to the client, they confirmed that they would be mailing in their signed contract & deposit by the end of the week.

    Again, we are so sorry for any mis-communication. We pride ourselves in our flexibility and fairness with each and every client.

    Sales Manager,

    Devens Common Center

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review