Decorative Sound Reviews

122 | Maumee, OH
See photos, pricing and details

122 Reviews for Decorative Sound

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

122

3 User photos

Decorative Sound 1
Decorative Sound 2
Decorative Sound 3
Order by:
  • B

    Becky · Married on 07/02/2005

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael was great! He made everyone feel comfortable, and he emceed the evening very well!

    Sent on 10/09/2008
  • E

    Erinne · Married on 09/28/2002

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome-our bartender thought we had hired a wedding coordinator-it was our DJ just make sure everything went smooth-which it did.

    Sent on 04/24/2008
  • Nicole

    Nicole · Married on 06/16/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married on June 16, 2018 in Whitehouse, OH and we had Joel from Decorative Sound as our DJ and he was amazing! He did our ceremony as well as our reception. Before the ceremony he was talking to the groom and groomsmen so they knew when their cue to walk was. And then as soon as the ceremony ended and we were doing family portraits he was introducing himself and making sure we had anything we needed! I think he brought us drinks outside several different times! He met us again before entering the reception to go through it all and once we entered brought us our toast drinks as well. He was seriously amazing. He made sure Justin and i had everything we needed all night. He played great music at a perfect volume for our small area, he took requests from guests and we all had a blast. Joel was very communicative with us all night, and we had worked with Michael throughout the planning process and he is just as attendant and helpful as Joel was. I could not be happier with our DJ choice and 100% recommend Decorative Sound!

    Sent on 06/18/2018
  • A

    Autumn · Married on 07/25/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Decorative Sound has the rating they do for a reason! Michael, the owner, was a breeze to work with, always quick to respond and so nice. We had Rick as our DJ and he was PHENOMENAL! So professional, even dressed in our wedding colors. We had so many compliments from our guests on how much fun they had and it was definitely because of Rick and Decorative Sound. He was so attentive to us and our needs outside of just being a great DJ. Thank you so much for making our day great!

    Sent on 08/04/2015
  • A

    Amy · Married on 06/27/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Decorative Sound was awesome to work with! I live out of town and was planning my wedding from 12 hours away. Mike was so helpful and gracious in my wedding planning. We communicated by phone and email. As our wedding guests were mostly older adult friends of my parents, I was worried no body would dance, and I wanted a reception where people danced. Mike had some great insight and was really helpful with song selection. The DJ we had at the reception was perfect for us! He was extremely professional and welcoming. People enjoyed the music he played. He was extremely flexible - we decided to skip on the anniversary dance and the dollar dance - and he did not miss a beat. He just got people to dance and have fun! Our DJ also helped us with some amazing photo opportunities. I loved the CD at the end with all our personalized music!

    Sent on 07/28/2015
  • A

    Ann · Married on 09/09/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Decorative Sound was a great choice for our reception music. They played wonderful tunes during the introductions. Great dinner music during our meal and everyone enjoyed the music afterwards and danced the night away. Michael had wonderful suggestions for the songs we might consider for the major nights events but at the same time we were able to choose anything we wanted. We were very pleased with the music, and the DJ.

    Sent on 11/08/2011
  • K

    Kathy · Married on 06/18/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rob from decorative sounds was a great DJ. He set up and played music outside on the patio for our cocktail party and inside for the reception. He was very professional and made sure he knew the pronunciation of each and every name for all the introductions. He played music he could tell the crowd was enjoying and made all the events at the reception enjoyable.

    Sent on 06/28/2011
  • R

    Raquel · Married on 04/24/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Michael is very professional. He did a wonderful job at our reception. Everything ran very smoothly and the dance floor was packed all night! I would definitely recommend Decorate Sounds to anyone looking for a DJ for their wedding :)

    Sent on 08/03/2010
  • S

    Sara · Married on 10/10/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Mike and Rob with Decorative Sound were such a pleasure to work with for the day of our wedding. It was so nice to meet Mike and see his passion for what he does. He had Papers for us that we could easily fill out our First Dance and Enterance song and everything which made it so helpful for us in making sure we didn't miss anything. We had some requests and they were able to fulfill them with no problem, even up to changing the first dance song the day before the wedding. Rob was our DJ and so wonderful and professional in his great Suit and Tie. He entertained our guest and kept them going all night! We really enjoyed our services from Decorative Sound and would recommend them to everyone!

    Sent on 11/03/2009
  • C

    Crystal · Married on 09/19/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Decorative Sound was professional, courteous, and very easy to work with! They were attentive to our needs and requests, although our DJ did take some creative license with the set list that we had provided for him prior to the event. But, they did keep the spirit of the event and kept folks on the dance floor. From ceremony to reception they had taken care of all of the possible sound needs, including microphones for the ceremony and dinner speeches. Would definitely recommend Decorative Sound for any events- wedding or otherwise!

    Sent on 10/18/2015
  • L

    Lacey · Married on 09/14/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married 9/14/13 at Maumee Bay State Park. Decorative Sounds DJ, Joel did an amazing job. He kept things moving on time and we didn't have to worry about it. Joel was very personable and our guests loved him. We got lots of compliments on the DJ and he even smelled great :)!

    Sent on 09/29/2013
  • Heather

    Heather · Married on 10/01/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We read reviews to decide on a DJ company because a DJ can really make or break your event. We were so happy with Decorative Sound and the professionalism of the DJ and his ability to keep the party going. The only reason I gave a 4 for professionalism is that the owner works out of his house and not even in an office so he was not able to give us a copy of the songs we discussed during our meeting. We also though it was strange that he didn't have his database hooked up to a laptop to help brainstorm during our meeting when we couldn't think of particular songs that we had in mind. Not all of the songs we requested were played and a certain type of song that we stated not to play was, but it turned out great anyway. We had Adam, he was great!

    Sent on 10/25/2011
  • D

    Jane · Married on 07/17/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mike and Rob were terrific. I would definitely hire Decorative Sound again. Mike really helped us pick out great music and was very good at listening to what we wanted. Rob was very professional and did a great job. Thanks, Decorative Sound
    Fred & Jane Charpie

    Sent on 07/25/2010
  • Krystal

    Krystal · Married on 05/28/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm very excited to work with Decorative Sound. They are a preferred vendor for the Toledo Zoo, so they already know how things work there. Plus, he said he would make sure to keep the timeline going correctly on the day of the wedding!

    Sent on 02/14/2017
  • M

    Molly · Married on 07/27/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They did a wonderful job listening to what we wanted. The DJ is pretty important because they run the show and we were satisfied.

    Sent on 08/20/2013
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/29/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There were a few things/songs that I wanted that were not able to happen, but our DJ Tony was very helpful & considerate at our event!

    Sent on 10/15/2012
  • Tyler

    Tyler · Married on 06/27/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Decorative Sound was great. Michael was very easy to work with when getting everything set up and figuring out music, especially a huge help with figuring out our ceremony music because we had no idea what to do for that. DJ Rick was fantastic, from the get go he seemed to be everywhere at once, handling the music, getting the wedding party drinks, letting us know when something was coming up - he never missed a beat and always had our next drink ready for us when we finished. The music was fantastic, and DJ Rick adapted quickly to our few requests (e.g. for a line dance or a slow dance). Couldn't have had a better DJ to share in our big day.

    Sent on 07/20/2015
  • User5568686 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We were very pleased with Decorative Sound, met a few times and everything was done without any hassle. Things went smoothly for our reception and requested songs were played, not one person had a negative comment about our DJ. Our DJ got people up and moving all night long!

    Sent on 10/29/2015
  • Kayte

    Kayte McEndree · Getting married on 09/12/2020

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fiance was hooked since day 1

    My fiancé and I probably looked and talked to 15+ vendors for DJing services. Decorative Sound was one of the first we looked at. Since the first time we talked to Mike on the phone, my fiancé was not really interested in anyone else, but I insisted we keep our options open. We did ultimately end up choosing Decorative Sound, yesterday HA. So I cant say much for how their actual service is but so far they have been great and fit our budget!

    Sent on 10/24/2019
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 06/18/2011

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Decorative Sound was a mixed bag for us. When researching DJ's, this seemed like the right company to go with. Unfortunately, the overall package did not quite match up to the reviews we read. The owner, Michael is great to work with and helped in the planning process by being very flexible with our busy schedule. However, our planning meeting did NOT translate into the best possible music experience at our reception. We worked with a DJ, Monty, whom we had not met prior to the reception. Unfortunately, Monty was the exact opposite of Michael; he was not professional, not attentive, and did not cater to requests or guests needs. From messing up names, to restarting songs halfway through, lack of flow, or even not having songs on our MUST PLAY list. The level of professionalism was very low. He made rude comments about the bride and groom to guests, and would not play songs upon request...some songs he did not even have. Trust me, I am sure Decorative Sound, and Michael have great DJ's to provide. However, Monty is not one of them. If you can..try to see if you can meet with your actual DJ as well prior to the big day.

    Sent on 07/28/2011
  • T

    Emily · Married on 10/17/2008

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    Kind of disappointed with this vendor. We had some very specific requests (what to play, what not to play) that were not followed. We also had some of our guests complain to us that the DJ refused to play songs they had requested (they were told the bride or groom needed to make the request), or that the DJ told them their requests would be played in 45 minutes-1 hour. The DJ kept the party going, and was helpful, but we had to turn down a lot of their cheesy requests (a lot of "let's hear it for the bride and groom", etc.) We didn't wanted sometime to talk, just hit the play button.

    Sent on 11/04/2008
  • S

    Amanda · Married on 04/18/2009

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    I was very disappointed with our service. They are one of the more expensive DJ's in the area, but came highly recommended. We felt we could shell out a bit more for less worries. The owner, Michael, assured us he would be there for the ceremony (we hired them for both). Well, he didn't. The guy showed up 20 minutes before the ceremony and we had wanted to start the music 1/2 an hour before. Then, he had the songs all out of order and there was a long pause between the end of the prelude and the processional song. I felt like he had no idea what was going on. Then, when we arrived at the reception he had us all meet before he announced us, which was fine. Well, thankfully I glanced at the clipboard he had and noticed that all the information was WRONG! We had two meeting with, Michael, the owner, in which he went over everything we wanted, bridal party names, etc. He had it all written down, but what this guy had wasn't correct at all. I had to quickly change who was walking with whom and replace a bridesmaid that had dropped out months before. Then, we missed the anniversary dance b/c I was in the bathroom adjusting my bustle. He did it without us!! We went through all the songs they provided with a fine tooth comb to make sure we had what we wanted, but they played songs we had never even heard of before. My husband says that we just got the typical "wedding package". I remember the first song after the bridal party dance was an old country song, which I HATED. He also didn't announce our late-night buffet. I had to ask him to do everything and it was supposed to take all the pressure off of me. I was very upset and disappointed. Sure, the music was good, but was it worth $1000? Heck no.

    Sent on 05/06/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review