Deborah Coleman Photography Reviews

26 | Oakland, CA
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for Deborah Coleman Photography

Recommended by 99%

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • User4047245 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding photos were a high priority for us, and my husband is an artist and very picky about photographers. We wanted beautiful photos that captured all of the emotion of the day. Deborah was fantastic. I think the photos are beautiful and did a perfect job of capturing so many of the sweet moments of the day.

    The other nice thing about her, is that is was great working with her. She was very responsive. The day of, she was basically following us around for a good portion of the day, but it didn't feel intrusive. It was fun working with her! Deborah also got us the photos in 3 weeks!

    We would absolutely recommend her to any of our friends or family!

  • M

    Mary · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debby was all I could have hoped for in a wedding photographer. She and her husband teamed up to take the most beautiful portraits and captured the best candid moments as well, such as my crazy Uncle Bob doing the splits on the dance floor. She was friendly and professional, and obviously experienced as she was not flustered when I had my typical pre-wedding freakout. Planning was hassle-free as she was very responsive in our correspondence prior to the wedding. I could not be more pleased with the final album and all of my friends and family agree. Definitely choose Debby if you are looking for a talented, professional, and friendly wedding photographer.

  • A

    Alison · Married on 10/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were so thrilled to have Debbie as our wedding photographer and are so happy with how all the photographs turned out. It was such a pleasure working with Debbie; she is professional, personable and super talented. We had such a wonderful experience working with her, and she captured our wedding so beautifully!

  • T

    Tamsen · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deborah was wonderful to work with, that is all I really need to say, but it doesn't really express how thrilled my husband and I are with her.

    She is incredibly talented, and managed to capture some truly beautiful shots that will become treasured memories.

    I would not hesitate to recommend her to anyone wanting someone that goes beyond a list of portraits and catches the emotion of people and the mood of a special moment.

    I trusted her implicitly to capture our wedding beautifully.

    Top notch
    Tamsen

  • S

    Simone · Married on 11/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debby is an incredible artist.

    Her talent is one of a kind, and we are so lucky to have had her at our wedding. We had so much fun doing some photo shoots which helped time to go by fast so we could go see our family/friends. Debby has a great eye for the potential of a great photograph. Photos are so important for the future (showing future friends, looking at them when you are older, possible children), and Debby knows this and is sensitive to your concerns. Debby is a good listener, and that is huge with photographers. She will not only listen, she will deliver. My husband and I are so happy with our photos. They show our friends/family the way we see them, not as posed manikins. Her usage of light and color is breath taking.

    Debby made our wedding come to life, over and over again.

  • S

    Sophie · Married on 07/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm lucky to have witnessed Debby at work before we had to choose a wedding photographer. In our minds, there was no question as to who our wedding photographer would be. It was only a matter of knowing if Debby was available. Lucky for us she was. Debby is so professional and fun to work with. She is a calming presence. She blends in during the ceremony and reception and is never intrusive. The pictures she took absolutely captured the essence of our wedding and who we are. I loved working with Debby.

  • User4087515 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debby did the most incredible job for our wedding. She was very thoughtful with her photos yet she seemed to meld into the background during the event. Our photos look straight out of a magazine and we coninue to get compliments on our album. She listened to what we wanted and the product was above and beyond our expectations. We would recommend her to anyone!

  • M

    Megan · Married on 11/17/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debby was amazing. We could not have asked for a better photographer, and we would recommend her in a heart beat. The pictures turned out beautifully. She was flexible on the locations and kinds of portraits we did, and the results are stunning. She set up a photo booth for our guests that provided hours of entertainment for them, and hundreds of hilarious pictures for us. But her candid shots of the ceremony and reception are what took her work from really good to over the top amazing. She managed to capture the joy of me and my husband, and our family and friends in a way that I'm not sure I've ever seen in wedding photographs. The moments of emotion and fun that are now beautifully captured are absolutely priceless, and we can not thank her enough. On top of the beautiful images, Debby was a joy to work with. Before our wedding she was always responsive and helpful. On the day of she was incredible, super organized and helping me to stay calm. All in all, Debby exceeded our every expectation. She is worth the money! Use her!!

  • User3477551 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debby was great to work with and we were thrilled with the photos from our wedding. She was always friendly, professional, and understanding. Her work is beautiful and we are so happy we chose her.

  • K

    Karli · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debbie is an amazing photographer and a consummate professional. She had great ideas about photos for our wedding, and I felt like we got really unique and timeless shots that we will cherish forever. She is also super easy to work with and such a friendly and kind person. You won't regret hiring Debbie for any event!

  • M

    Miranda · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debby was a dream to work with - very professional, but easygoing and kind. Our wedding photos were BEAUTIFUL. I'm so glad we decided to invest in a great photographer; it was definitely worth it!

  • R

    Rodney · Married on 09/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debby is great, and you will not be disappointed with the quality of her photographs. Her photojournalism background shined in every photo - she captured very candid moments of our wedding without being obtrusive in any way. We were so happy to relive so many wonderful moments through her photos.

    She's also incredibly easy to work with, and she worked really well with our other vendors. I'm big on email, and it was a seamless way for us to communicate regarding schedule of the day, and even payment. The day of, Debby primarily worked with our wedding coordinator, and it was clear from the beginning that the two of them had everything planned out so well. The whole day is so incredibly chaotic with family, friends, and, well, EVERYTHING - it was nice to know that all the things happening behind the scenes in regards to our photos was so incredibly organized.

    Her second shooter was equally wonderful, and equally unobtrusive. We were able to get shots of the bridesmaids and groomsmen getting ready with the second shooter, which was really great.

    Also, the PHOTO ALBUM! It's really beautiful - the leather, the layout. We couldn't be happier.

  • User4121988 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Debby as our wedding photographer because her online work samples showed such a great capacity to capture candid emotional and lively moments. It was a pleasure to work with Debby, and we were thrilled with our wedding photos. They show the warmth and spirit of the event without being fussy or overwrought - just what we had hoped for. I would absolutely call upon Debby for future events and would enthusiastically recommend her.

  • User4091891 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deborah was the best! She was organized, prepared and easy to work with. Our photos were amazing. She did everything we wanted and more. It was truly a pleasure to work with Deborah.

  • Laurie

    Laurie · Married on 09/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debby is the consummate professional. She is kind, low-key, thoughtful, and extremely talented. Our wedding pictures are beautiful and creative. Everyone looks good! Debby even let me design my own wedding album.

  • M

    Millie · Married on 08/27/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Of all the expenses we had for our wedding, Deborah Coleman Photography was the best investment. I didn't want stiff, cheesy wedding portraits, and I knew Debbie would be the perfect photographer. The day of our wedding, we were afraid the heavy fog would block the ocean view. Debbie worked her magic and the fog turned out to be a godsend for our photos! They ended up looking like we had a wedding straight out of a fairytale.

    Debbie has a knack for storytelling through images. I believe her photojournalism experience lends itself well to finding those golden moments you want to remember forever. There were so many moments Debbie was able to capture when we had no idea she was close by. Our photos are intimate, warm and sweet.

  • User4121105 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debby was a calming presence on my wedding day. She never got flustered and was always happy to go with the flow with my large and chaotic family. Because we met with her beforehand, we walked through the venues with her to get a sense of what back drops and landscapes we wanted to include in our photos. She has a great eye for detail, is relaxed, cheerful, and extremely responsive. We had our wedding photos less than a month later and each one was more beautiful than the next.

  • P

    Jessica · Married on 04/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're considering using Debby as your photographer, stop and just book her already before her schedule fills up. I had the good fortune that Debby was THE photographer for a circle of acquaintances, so I was admiring her work at various weddings well before I was even dating my husband. When we got engaged, the only thing I knew I wanted at our wedding was Debby as the photographer. She takes beautiful ceremony shots and portraits, but I have never seen her equal at candid shots pre-ceremony and at the reception (and trust me, I've studied the wedding photos of many friends and family). Debby uses her documentary style to inconspicuously capture natural joy and fun on the faces of you and your guests as you celebrate.

    Working with Debby was a dream. She's very sweet and approachable, and has a relaxed style (which, in all the other stress of wedding organizing, was very much appreciated). The day of the wedding, other than the post-ceremony portraits, I honestly didn't even notice she was there - and I mean that in the best way possible. She was so unobtrusive, never dictating the timing of the events to meet her photographing needs (as some photographers do), but then we received the hundreds of amazing images and moments that she caught that I didn't even know had happened. That's why hiring Debby as our wedding photographer was so important to me. Memories fade without a visual cue to keep them fresh, and we had gathered all our family together to share in our happiness. Debby's photography captures the smiles when they're fresh and saves that laughter and joy to share later.

    I liked my florist and would recommend her, and I liked our DJs and would recommend them, but Deborah Coleman Photography is the only vendor I feel so passionately about and evangelize. Hire her!

  • S

    sheila · Married on 05/29/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You captured the day in an incredibly special way. Each of your photos was striking, intimate and beautifully composed. Each one told a story. Many of your photos captured emotion and important fleeting moments that were so discreet and could have gone unnoticed to most. This is exactly what we were looking for. Thanks again.

  • E

    Emily · Married on 04/03/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Debby is fantastic! She is professional, unobtrusive and incredibly talented. She does an especially great job at capturing candid moments. There were so many photos that we loved that it was difficult to narrow down our favorites for our wedding album. If I were to rewind and do it all over again, I would book Debby again with no hesitation at all.

  • S

    Suzan · Married on 09/06/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Debby and her assistant were amazing! We were incredibly thrilled with the photos! They were a pleasure to work with and very open to listening to our needs and ideas. We got beautiful wedding photos but were able to avoid some of the cheesy/intrusive/overly posed shots that trap many wedding photographers. We have more beautiful posed and candid shots then we could have hoped for."

  • User4102507 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Deborah Coleman is a trained, experienced photojournalist with an amazing credentials and a superb portfolio. I feel privileged to call her a friend. Once I got engaged, I quickly called her to see if she was available for my wedding date. During the planning phase, her responsiveness helped ease my worries about our wedding photography.

    It's not uncommon to hear about wedding vendor drama on the day of the wedding. I had to deal with a cake vendor who got the flavors wrong and a DJ who didn't have working speakers. Awesome, right? With the proper planning already in place, Deborah was able to help avoid family drama with "special requests" coming from family not authorized to make those decisions. She earned an A+++ for professionalism just on that alone.

    Out of details to worry about, the wedding photographer was certainly not one of them. She's flexible, calming and provides an excellent value for her services -- everything the bride and groom need for the wedding day.

    Five years later, I am still so pleased the experience I had with Deborah Coleman Photography and cherish my wedding day photography.

  • User3650424 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Debby as my wedding photographer in August.

    Debby first wanted to know the theme of my wedding and what weddings photo style I like. She actually wanted me to do some homework to show her what I like. I know some couples might not want to do that, but in order to have good photos, clients and photographer have to work as a team. I don't mind at all as long as I have fantastic photos.

    She is not only a talented photographer, but also she gives me great suggestions on my wedding timeline. Her suggestions actually made my day much smoother.

    On my wedding day, she and her assistant first went to the venue early and observe the place and look for places for taking good shots.

    To get good shots, she also arranged "the first look". My husband was very happy to see me with my beautiful dress!

    I will highly recommend her to my friends and family!

  • F

    Felicia · Married on 05/01/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Deborah because of her great documentary style and background. We love the way she "told our story" through the lens in very natural and beautiful way. We decided that we didn't want a video because in our minds this emphasized the details of the event rather than our memories and feelings of the experience. So Deborah's shots were the perfection solution -- stunning, beautiful, intimate. The only thing we would have done differently is ask for a few more of the "staged" portraits (looking into the camera) which we didn't think we wanted, but in the end did! And finally for your big day, I didn't realize how nice it is to have the professionals around you not only be good at what they do, but actually be nice people that you want around you! Deborah is just that -- an incredibly kind and terrific person, so easy to work with. I highly recommend her, you won't be disappointed!

  • User4087520 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Her photos are absolutely beautiful!!!! She captures every moment just perfectly. Everyone that sees our wedding photos loves them and wants to know who took them. Deborah was wonderful to work with and we loved having her as our photographer!"

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review