Davis Islands Garden Club Reviews

130 | Tampa, FL
See photos, pricing and details

130 Reviews for Davis Islands Garden Club

Recommended by 90%

130
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.3

51 User photos

Davis Islands Garden Club 1
Davis Islands Garden Club 2
Davis Islands Garden Club 3
Davis Islands Garden Club 4
Davis Islands Garden Club 5
Davis Islands Garden Club 6
Davis Islands Garden Club 7
+ 45
Sort by:
  • A

    Amy · Married on 04/07/2016

    2.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    First let me say the venue is beautiful. There's a gazebo, large grass area, patio, water, and view of downtown Tampa. You get the venue for most of the day and have the freedom of whatever vendors you choose. Sounds perfect for a DIY bride like me who was very firm on wanting an outdoor wedding. Why did I give the venue such a low rating? 1. It was extremely hard to get ahold of anyone at times. Emails and phone calls took weeks to be returned if not at all. The venue director was replaced before my date so I thought it would get better..it didn't. 2. They were not very morning wedding friendly. I know more people are likely to have a night wedding but it would be nice if they were a little more accommodating for morning brides. We were not allowed to move anything to the venue until the morning of which put stress on setting everything up in time. 3. They set up all of the tables wrong even though I gave them a detailed diagram! My family had to move them all morning of. 4. It's called a garden club. I would have loved to see flowers. There was one beautiful flower bush but other than that..We had to buy flowers for around the gazebo. 5. The gazebo and walkway needed to be cleaned! 6. The morning of our wedding it was pouring rain so I understand they had to do the grass upkeep close to the ceremony time BUT blowing our flower petals off the aisle...good thing my DJ stepped in and picked them off the grass for us. I couldn't believe it. 7. There is a rat in the kitchen! It jumped on my mom while cooking. Not great for a wedding. At least we will laugh about it later. 8. There were so many rules. We were not even allowed to move the shelves in the fridge. Not a problem except they were so close together that we had to pile everything on top of each other at the bottom. It was really unusable. I couldn't have imagined my wedding anywhere else but they need to get their act together and realize brides are paying a lot of money for the venue and service.

    Sent on 06/09/2016

    Davis Islands Garden Club's reply:

    Thank you for the review Amy! I would like to address your concern due to you giving us such a low review. I can understand your frustration as a complete DIY wedding, including your family cooking for the reception with an 11:00 am ceremony time is quite a bit of pressure. I do recall talking with you on a bunch of occasions, we called and texted outside of business hours and I made myself available to you any time you had a question or concern. I also went to the board to get special permission for your family to store some items at the venue the night before which is prohibited, the contract reads that you get access to the venue at 10 am and that's what was agreed upon at booking-however I made another exception for you and your family to start set up at 7:00 am. Since your reception was supposed to be outdoor there was not a table set up provided, also in regards to the grounds-this year has been what we call El'Nino so things were very late to bloom; we have also had 9 inches above average of rainfall so this effects the grounds to some degree. The racks in the fridge can be adjusted they just can not be removed. We take great pride in maintaining the beauty of our property and I do apologize that you are disappointed with your choice. Please reach out to me if there is anything we can do to make up for any shortcomings on our behalf. Again, we thank you for choosing us for your very special day and wish you the best of luck in your happily ever after!
  • H

    Hannah Johnson · Married on 03/03/2019

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Management Lacks

    Very disappointed with the management at this property and how DIGC is ran. I booked about a year and half out from my wedding date.

    It took my father in law calling Amber multiple times for a week to get her to answer her phone so he could make payment for the venue.

    I reached out to Amber, about 2-3 weeks before my wedding to do a final walk through. I called and left a VM, texted and emailed. Took her till 4 days before my wedding to text me back asking “did I ever respond to this.” When I responded no, she proceeded to tell me she met with another girl named Hannah. This could be true, but seemed like an easy excuse.

    They failed to inform me there was any type of renovation going on or going to happen to DIGC. I had to find out from our DJ 4 days before our wedding that the place had been renovated, as well as we can’t really have music outside as there are super strict noise codes. Due to both of these, we had to switch our COMPLETE layout last minute, 4 days before our wedding. I texted Amber the Wednesday before my Sunday wedding, thankfully she responded within 20 minutes on this text and I was able to do a last walk through 2 days before my wedding. Again, she failed to inform me people would be setting up for their own wedding, I felt horrible showing up on their day. After being there for around 10ish minutes and wanting answers to how we tell them to set up, I finally walked over to Amber with my mom and she flat out said oh I didn’t see you. She waived and smiled at us as we walked into the building. Seriously!?

    The refunding of the deposit check really pissed me off. I emailed Amber about 3 weeks after wedding to see when we should expect this, she said within 30 days of our wedding date, okey dokey no problem. 40 days after our wedding date I email her again for a follow up as I have not received anything. Takes her a day to respond to which she says she followed up with accounting and they will recut the check and issue a stop payment on the first one. Amber emails me the next day and stating the check #XXXX has been mailed out and that if I don’t relieve it to let her know. I receive it the very next day. Month and half after my wedding still have not received the supposed first check, and I find it funny that it took me emailing to get my deposit back. Now comes the real irritating part. They shorted me $58, and the second round of check, was actually two checks, which you would this she would have at least told me both check #s. I email Amber the day I received the checks asking why I was shorted. She emails me back a photo of scratch on the counter saying they had to purchase something to buff it out or whatever and also that they emailed me regarding this. I received no email email from her or anyone else with DIGC. I kindly respond stating that the scratch was there Friday when we toured (she was standing right next to it), that we never even used the counter top that the scratch was on, it literally sat empty the entire night, and that the security guard actually told my mom to stop cleaning everything was in better condition than most leave it. Received no email back from her and it’s been a week. Yes, it’s only $58 but it is the principle of the fact that we caused no damage, yet we are being charged.

    In the end, everything was perfect on my wedding day. We worked the kinks out of things we were not told and the updates were beautiful. If you plan to do a wedding here don’t expect the normal wedding questions to be answered in a timely manner or for common changes to be followed up with you as a bride/groom. Amber is really nice, but she failed to follow up with us in a timely manner or at all with us. Management clearly lacks at this venue.

    Sent on 04/18/2019
  • T

    candice · Married on 06/12/2009

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.5
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    Do not visit the Garden club with out a wedding coordinator!!! The on site coordinator simply reserves your date, and in our case didn't do that correctly! We found out 4 months before our wedding that our date had been double booked. Luckily we were able to move from Saturday to Friday. They would not allow us to book a rehearsal until the last minute, incase they could make some money from someone else. When we arrived at the rehearsal half the sidewalk was dug up, less then 24 hours before our wedding. Thank goodness our coordinator was on top of it, and called them that night to make sure it was going to be fixed.

    The site is beautiful and reasonably priced, but I would only recommend if know you will be hiring a wedding coordinator.

    Sent on 07/07/2009

    Davis Islands Garden Club's reply:

    Sadly this bride wrote the wrong date on her own contract. She put a Friday in March instead of the Saturday she wanted/ We are usually Fri-Sun so this did not raise and red flags. Unfortunately there are some things just out of my control. This is also why I do not fill in the date on any contract for any one. We are very popular & by the time she realized it the day was booked.
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 03/13/2015

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Michelle did not meet my expectations as the wedding coordinator for Davis Island Garden Club. She did not respond to emails or calls in a timely manner and she seemed to have an attitude whenever I approached her with questions. The Garden Club is beautiful but they will nickel and dime you for everything there. The cushions for the outside patio were $200 and that was with a fifty percent off discount. Overall the wedding coordinator is not helpful and does not show up for rehearsal dinner to help you figure out where to go or what to do.

    Sent on 03/24/2015
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/29/2009

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    This venue was not flexible at all. I wanted to drop off some of my decorations the night before and they wouldn't allow it. I had to get up at 5 in the morning to make sure I had time to transport all of my decorations. They did not answer my phone calls or emails when I had questions. Then when they did finally answer my phone call they were rude on the phone. At the reception the men's bathroom did not have any paper towels. The guys were all using the same towel to dry their hands. That is disgusting! The venue kept $50 of my deposit because they said there were straws left behind in the kitchen.
    The only thing this place has going for them in the view. The customer service is atrocious. I would never recommend this venue to anyone!!!!!!!!!

    Sent on 06/20/2009

    Davis Islands Garden Club's reply:

    We probably the most flexible hours of any venue out there (10am-1am).. Both bathrooms at the time had air dryers, so this is very accurate and they have always worked perfectly. As of last summer though we have gutted & renovated & now have paper towels instead. I do work with on average 100 brides a year & I am the only employee so I do offer my personal cel phone to any one that wishes to have it.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review