83 Reviews for davidjstudios photography

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Second Shooter (4)
Albums (4)
Digital Files (4)
Prints (4)
Engagement Shoot (3)
Multi. Locations (3)
Additional Hours (2)
High-Res Images (2)
Destination / Travel (1)
Liability Insurance (1)
Matted Prints (1)
Save the Date (1)
83 davidjstudios photography Reviews
Sort by:

5.0

David, let me just say that you are amazing! When my husband and I first met with you we knew right away that we wanted to work with you and we are so glad we did! You had so many wonderful suggestions and you were always helpful, respectful, and professional. From the engagement session (which I couldn't believe how much fun we had), to the wedding and reception, you made each experience a delight. Despite some of the "rougher" spots during our wedding (you know what I mean ^_^) you were able to take matters into your own hands, making the day just that much easier and carefree for us, even to the point of going and finding our florist!
You were more than just a professional to us; you became a friend, and to have you swing dance at our reception just made it that much more wonderful. Now if only we had thought to grab a camera then!
You and your crew are wonderful, and we hope to work with you again in the very near future.
With Love, Hannah and Mike

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Hannah, 7/13/18, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We got married on October 29th 2016 . Couldn't be more happier with David J Studios! I met David and his staff at a wedding show last January and knew right from the start that we must have him. His personality, his enthusiasm and his ability to get the job done. My husband and I wanted someone who was firm in getting what we wanted done. David did exactly that! Everything from our meetings, to our engagement photos, all the way up to the big day was done perfectly and exactly how we wanted. We both would recommend David J Studios to any one and would use him in the future.
Thank you David and your staff for capturing every little and perfect moment from our wedding. We are truly grateful for you all and your talents.

Profile Picture Chelsea, 10/29/16, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We had such a blast planning and doing our wedding photos with David! We planned long-distance, and he was very accommodating in communication back and for and between my mother who was in town and able to meet with him in person when we couldn't. Extremely professional the day of the wedding. We were not able to use the location on the golf course that we had originally planned, but David was excellent at using what we were given and making gorgeous photos. We did not experience any drama or problems throughout the day. Our photos and album turned out so well, and we have been receiving many compliments on our album.

Profile Picture Sarah, 10/21/16, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

David was easy to work with and very professional. We planned our wedding long distance, and he was very accommodating with our schedules and availability. He was a lot of fun to work with on the big day, and the photos turned out so well. Our album we purchased is amazing and we can't wait to get our prints soon too. Highly recommend

Profile Picture Ryan, 10/21/16, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

When me and my wife first met David it was at a wedding event at Tapawingo golf course. We had not met with any other photographer's prior to this event. David introduced himself to me and my wife and we really hit it off. He asked questions about us while showing us some of his amazing work, trying to get to know us which I thought was fantastic. The more we talked the more me and my wife started to realize that THIS WAS OUR PHOTOGRAPHER!!! David has a great personality. He gets to know you well and makes you feel like a friend. We met with David at his studio to discuss our wedding. He did not push us towards anything he offered, he did recommend some things and explained EVERYTHING. David takes his work very seriously and makes you feel at ease. If your not sure on who to use....David is your guy!!!!
I could not have asked for a better photographer with an awesome staff. I look forward to doing a lot more business with David.

Profile Picture Samuel, 10/8/16, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

My husband and I met David at Wedding Tasting at Tapawingo golf course we both fell in love with the quality of his pictures. After talking with him for a little bit that night we set up an appointment at a later date to get more information and we ended up booking him that day. He was easy to talk to and very helpful. My husband and I didn't really now what we were really wanting, but David was able to ask questions to help us make our decision. He never pushed us to spend more money on a better package. David is very flexible and easy to work with. I decided at a later date that I wanted the engagement disc and he was able to work with us on a price. On the day of the wedding he showed up at the time he was supposed to at each location. I feel he made everyone feel comfortable and the flow easily. We had a little mishap with are party bus and things got push behind but he knew I really wanted to get pictures on the golf course. He did everything in his power to make sure that this was done and the pictures turned out wonderful. David kept checking to see if there was anything we needed that day. At the reception David was getting ready to leave when I was realized that the DJ forgot to do one of our requested dance which I wanted pictures and David unpacked his camera to capture the pictures I wanted. We got the package that included an album and when we received the album it exceeded our expectations. When we showed our family and friends they were all amazed how awesome the album looked. David and his team was always very professional and good at reminding us of important dates for us to order prints and appointments we had/needed to schedule. I will definitely use David and his team for any other pictures we need in the future. David and his team's service was well worth the cost.

Profile Picture Krista, 10/8/16, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

My husband and I were extremely happy with David J and his staff. My husband has a very unpredictable schedule and they took great care of us while working around his schedule. We meet David at a wedding show and knew right away that we wanted to have him as our photographer. David was very interested in getting to know us and find out exactly what we wanted. He was more than happy to give us suggestions/ideas for all aspects of our wedding. We had a Jewish wedding and David was great when it came to capturing all of the unique portions of our wedding. He made sure that he knew exactly how the ceremony was going to go so that he could capture each moment. David and his staff went above and beyond the day of our wedding. David and his staff are wonderful at being the photographer while helping coordinate and ensure everything goes smoothly. My husband and I had several members of the family that tried to overstep their bounds when it came to who was going to be in photos. We were really impressed how David handled those family members and ensured that we got the photos that we wanted and had requested. After going for our wedding album review my husband looked at me and said "we will definitely use David for any other photography needs in the future!" We were extremely satisfied from start to finish with David J Studios and will highly recommend them to anyone looking for a photographer.

Profile Picture Amanda, 9/25/16, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

David and his team are amazing. When everything is said and done, the photographer is one of the most important decisions you make in archiving your wedding day and keeping the memories. I will strongly recommend not setting your wedding date unless you know if David J is available - it's just that simple. David is exceptional at figuring out who you are as a couple and capturing the collective and individual personalities of everybody involved. Indeed, I was impressed with the way he and his photographers captured the emotions, the fun and the very spirit of the day with not only the wedding party, but our entire guest list. To say that our pictures came out amazing would be an understatement. There is no way we would be able to cherish the memory of our wedding day without him. He has a winning personality and he seems to really love what he does. The company provides several diverse packages that can accommodate various budgets. From a groom’s perspective I was impressed with David’s business and no-nonsense approach. My praise also goes to his office person, Nikki, who conducted some of the communication throughout the planning process seamlessly. Once the contract details were polished quickly and clearly, that’s when the fun started. We shot our engagement shoot with David and connected with him right away on a personal level. If you're not used to being in front of the camera it can definitely feel awkward and he put us right at ease. He knew what to shoot, where to shoot, how to have us pose, and at the end our pictures were spectacular. David and his photography company helped make our wedding unforgettable with their professionalism and stunning pictures we now get to treasure forever. David is full of positive energy and raw talent. He's a great addition to the party! Our family, the bridal party, all guests and friends loved him and his team. I can't recommend David highly enough!
Thank you for everything, Dave!
Dr. Erik Osman

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Erik, 6/11/16, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

From start to finish David was on it! He was very professional & demonstrated complete knowledge of his trade. David set an initial meeting to get to know my husband & I and get a feel for how we are in front of the camera. We were shy in front of the camera & were a bit stiff when we first started but David was talking & joking with us which really got us to loosen up & look more natural. We were so happy with our engagement photo session & felt we hit the jackpot with a great photographer who was fun to work with & whom we could trust would take perfect pictures on our special day. My words can never truly express how grateful I am for David & his team & all they did for us on our Wedding day! David & Katlyn took our photos that day & did an AMAZING job! They paid attention to lighting, shadows from the trees & people’s posture, & always made sure my dress was smoothed out & my jewelry & bouquet were positioned correctly. I really appreciated their great attention to detail because you only get one shot at getting it right. David kept us on schedule efficiently that day for taking all the pictures we wanted, plus some! I didn’t think we’d have enough time to go to another site for pictures but David & Katlyn worked efficiently throughout the day & we had plenty of time to go off-site. David knew the area better than I did & took us to some great spots for getting fabulous pictures! Some of my favorites are from these locations & I am so grateful for these & cannot thank him enough! When I looked through our pictures for the first time I knew how truly blessed we were & that David had done an absolute wonderful job! There were things I forgot to ask him to take pictures of, yet there they were. It was like he was in my heart & knew exactly what I wanted! I feel so grateful, and every time I look through our pictures I still shed happy tears! Thank you David and Katlyn for making this process fun! THANK YOU with all my heart!! -Kate

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Erik & Kate, 6/11/16, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Digital Files, Prints, Second Shooter, Additional Hours, Engagement Shoot, High-Res Images, Multi. Locations
5.0

I am so happy that we chose Dave to be our wedding photographer!! He was professional, prompt, enthusiastic, thorough, and full of talented ideas. Our wedding photos turned out amazing, I have them all throughout our home! We chose to have engagement photos taken with Dave, he designed our save the dates, guest book, and wedding album. He went above our expectations with everything he did. We met with us many times to go over our "wedding vision". Wedding day comes and he made my vision come to life. Dave was more than just a photographer at our wedding; he was a wedding coordinator, he helped with parking, he caught Grandpa when he was falling off the alter, and was there to calm my nerves before the ceremony. Dave never skipped a beat and kept my large wedding party moving! Dave made sure to know the schedule for the entire day, including ceremony and reception. There was a time during the reception when my venue and DJ had two different schedules, I was wondering what was going on with the speeches... Dave could tell I was worried and he spoke to our DJ and the venue coordinator to rectify the situation. I was so relieved that someone knew what was going on. David went above and beyond my our expectations.

There are only a few vendors whom I took the time to write a recommendation, just a handful really, but in this situation I would go to any means to secure a bride's decision to go with David as your photographer. I recommend him highly and without any reservations. If you do chose Davidjstudios as your photographer I promise you that you will not be disappointed.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User5218153, 1+ year ago, 3 Reviews
Category: Photography
Services Used: Second Shooter, Additional Hours, Destination / Travel, Engagement Shoot, High-Res Images, Liability Insurance, Multi. Locations, Albums, Digital Files, Matted Prints, Prints, Save the Date
5.0

As soon as my mom and I interviewed with David, we knew he was "the one". Just talking to him we knew that he was going to make my wedding day special. I had a crazy non-traditional carnival themed wedding with lots of elements and David and his assistant Katlyn took it in stride. David was with me and he was incredibly patient in dealing with my pre-wedding nervous breakdown and was able to get some great pictures of me that even I loved (and I HATE pictures of me). We had a wedding planner that dropped the ball on our big day and if it hadn't been for David taking charge of the situation it could have been devastating. Katlyn took the guys out to some beautiful spots to get some great shots before the wedding. During the ceremony, they were able to control the guests and get their shots without being intrusive on the event. David stuck by my side all night, and believe me I made him run around a lot!! We had so much going on that day that I never stayed one place for too long but every time I turned around, there he was, ready to go per my whim. He even took charge of my videographers and got them to get what he knew I would want. I am not an easy person to work with because I am so scatterbrained, but David never got frustrated with me. When we got the final pictures, we were so impressed with the quality of his work that we plan on using him anytime we need a photographer in the future. I cannot recommend David J Studios enough!

Profile Picture Amy, 10/24/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

My husband and I set a wedding date just 6 months after he proposed. So started planning right away. The first thing we wanted to book was the photographer. We met a few but something just didn't seem to click. Then we had an appointment with Dave. I cannot describe how wonderful Dave and Caitlin were! From the moment we sat down with Dave we knew he was 'our' photographer. He was very detailed and went through what we should expect from him or any photographer for that matter. We we're stoked when Dave and Cailtin showed up on our wedding day. Dave was very calming and helped me (the bride) when a few things weren't happening according to the agenda. He talked things through with the other vendors and got things back on track. He was like a planner and a photographer in one! It was just incredible. He was so personable with all of our friends and family. Not to mention that his photographs were more beautiful than we ever expected. We will definitely recommend to friends and family and will most certainly use davidjstudios for all of our future photography needs! Thank you again for such a beautiful outcome!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Megan, 10/3/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

David is the absolute best in knowing how to take the right pictures in any setting. We had our home built and decided at the last minute to get married in it a month after closing. He worked with us on short notice since we changed the location and even arrived early. My husband who's name is also David was pleased with how well he made our families comfortable with taking the pictures. He put together our album that told a story about us which is ultimately what that day is for. His prices are very fair and worth every penny.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture K, 9/25/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
4.8

Overall DavidJ did a nice job on our wedding photos and would recommend him and his team to others. You will be happy with DavidJ as your selection. We called his references and got great honest feedback prior to us settling on DavidJ.

They did a good job on the photos themselves.... but even a better job on the overall wedding photo process from initial consultation through delivery of the final products. He manages the whole effort quite well and will bring value with his organization and ability to herd your group though tight timelines. David and staff went out of their way to make things happen at multiple shooting locations. Pleasant to work with and patient... and much patience will be required. Prices are competitive and he is fair, straight-shooting, and will correct any issues or concerns along the way.

A few additional comments whether using DavidJ or anyone else.... Make sure you are 100% clear on the exact pictures you want and do not leave anything in that area to chance. Also make sure the dress is perfectly arranged in all pictures as these are the pictures you’ll want to cherish the rest of your life so take the extra 30 seconds to get it right in each and every shot. Finally, suggest you shoot at a few different locations because you might just be surprised at which one is your favorite.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Don & Susan, 9/12/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
Services Used: Albums, Digital Files, Prints, Second Shooter, Multi. Locations
5.0

We contracted with David for our wedding after communicating with a selection of our top choices, as we were impressed by his responsiveness and professionalism. He handled the business and organizational end of our arrangement. The contract is straightforward, and the pricing package for our needs was very competitive.

Katlyn was the photographer for our wedding, which was an outdoor, low-light, evening ceremony out in the country. She was a pleasure to work with...relaxed, organized, and personable without being obtrusive. In spite of the challenging conditions, we were very pleased with the results.

David arranged for the overnight printing of a number of photographs, at no charge to us, so that we could use them in our centerpieces for the reception being held the next day. It was a wonderful idea of his that added a nice touch to our celebration.

Overall, we have been extremely pleased with all aspects of this experience, and we would not hesitate to use them again the future, or to recommend them to others.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User5631948, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

David and Caitlin did a wonderful job for our wedding. They were very professional and organized. We had a huge wedding party, 9 people on each side. I was worried this was going to be a challenge but David was great with everyone. He got everyone organized in a timely manner and we were able to get all the photos we wanted. David assured me that if I needed anything throughout the day he would do it, that was very comforting and made me feel much more relaxed throughout the entire day. David worked really well with the entire wedding party, our families, and the other vendors. David has a lot of experience at our Venue, Tapawingo golf course. This was very helpful, he knew the perfect spots to take photos. We absolutely loved our photos, and got them back in a quick 3 weeks. We also just reviewed our album and we were extremely happy with it. Overall a great experience!!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Jill, 8/22/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

We had a great experience with David. When we emailed him with questions throughout the process his response was always quick and the answers were always clear and exactly what we wanted/needed to hear. His professionalism, experience and guidance made everything seem like auto pilot when it came to the photography aspect of the big day. There are too many other things to worry about on your wedding day (just ask my wife). David always knew just what to say to make us (her) feel at ease so don't make worrying about your photographer one of them. We had a HUGE wedding party which may not have made things easy, especially after a few drinks, but he was prompt and kept to our schedule while keeping a friendly demeanor. Everyone loved him! I would highly recommend David J. Studios to anyone who values personal service with exceptional industry experience.

Profile Picture John, 8/22/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

David J Studios was absolutely amazing to work with.

Profile Picture Melanie, 8/1/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
4.8

Had a great experience from start to finish. He was flexible and accommodating to our hectic schedule as we traveled back to St.Louis to plan/have the wedding from Chicago. We both had large families and having a photographer that was able to quickly direct everyone as needed took an immense amount of pressure off of us. We would absolutely recommend Dave to future couples.

Profile Picture David, 7/4/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
Services Used: Albums, Digital Files, Prints
5.0

We would highly recommend David for your wedding photography. We booked with a less expensive individual given we were an older couple doing a second wedding. This person cancelled on us, very unprofessionally. We met with David and felt very assured of his professionalism and ability to capture our wedding memories and at a very comparable cost. He took the time to understand the types of pictures we wanted, and more importantly delivered. My husband really appreciated his way to handle the picture process during our special day.

Beth & Mike

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Elizabeth, 6/20/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

I found out about David from this website here! I read through review after review and everyone raved about him! I couldn't find anyone that had any negative comments to say. After my experience with him, everyone was right!
What I wanted in a photographer (other than being in budget) was someone who could take charge of the day. I didn't have to worry about where to go or how to pose!
We had David and Katlyn to be with us for the big day. I loved having two photographers, there were so many other angle shots I was not aware were being taken that i ended up LOVING!
David is very attentive to detail and wants to be sure you look your best for every shot. made sure your hair was just right, necklace is flipped the right way, girls are in place, etc....
Well before the wedding, I saw David at a bridal show and he even helped me find a person to do my invitations! He is open to any ideas you have, wants to be sure to do anything the couple wants! I wanted to do a long exposure pictures with the fireworks, and i LOVED how great they turned out.

He takes his job seriously, but defiantly has a great sense of humor and keeps things fun. My whole family loved working with him. So much so that my sister and her fiance booked David for their wedding next May!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Ashley, 5/9/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

David was the first photographer that we met with, and after the first meeting at his office ... we knew we didn't need to go to anywhere else. My wife and I are pretty laid back people, but were pretty clueless when it came to how to pose or what look we wanted in our pictures. David was very accommodating and told us how to pose and even if it felt funny or uncomfortable, it would look great on camera-He was sure right! After our engagement session and the meetings we had, we were very comfortable being with David on our wedding day. All of our meetings and sessions left us feeling happy and that he really knows what he is doing. He is very professional, but knows how to keep it light and fun. On our wedding day Katlyn was our second photographer and she was amazing as well! Be confident in knowing that they will be prepared for whatever happens on your wedding day. We had rain on our wedding day, which actually let to one of our favorite pictures that captured us and our reflection in a long puddle-Its absolutely beautiful! They also do a great job of coordinating with other people involved in the wedding (aka DJ, Venue staff, Family, ...everyone). He makes sure that everyone is on the same page and that he is ready for to take pictures when things are happening. David made sure we stayed on time and kept to our schedule, which really helped us relax! They also had perfect timing on having our pictures ready to view when we returned from our honeymoon! If you are looking for a professional, passionate, prepared, and fun photographer who takes great quality photos, then book with David!
Thank you again David and Katlyn!

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Matthew, 5/9/15, 1 Review
Category: Photography
4.8

Great service and very personable. Our wedding was May 2, 2015 and Dave personally worked both our wedding and our engagement photos. Pictures were great and Dave was able to adjust to pretty much any of our needs. He kept us on time, made great suggestions, took our suggestions, and provided a great finished product. He made some edits on his own and was happy to make others at our request. Overall we were pleased with our experience.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture User6538655, 2+ years ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
Services Used: Second Shooter, Engagement Shoot, Albums
5.0

I visited quite a few photographers and we would talk for awhile and then when I asked if he/she would be the photographer the day of the wedding, they would tell me I would meet the photographer about 2 weeks prior to the ceremony. When I called David, we talked on the phone and I really liked him. I asked him if he would be my photographer the day of the wedding and was tickled pink when he said yes! He met with my husband and I a couple of times before we did the engagement session. He was very professional yet fun at the same time. Our engagement session was beautiful and he made sure we went at the right time of day to make the most of the STL downtown backdrop. The day of the wedding, he kept us on track from the time we left mom and dad's house to get to the church, to getting pictures done at the park and then on to the reception. Once at the reception, he also made sure things flowed smoothly and that things got started on time. I viewed the pictures he had taken and absolutely loved some of the candid shots more than the posed! Those moments when you don't think anyone is looking yet he managed to capture them and they're gorgeous! We wanted to make sure we got what we paid for when it came to the photographer because you can't go back and redo it and it's something you have to look back on for years to come. We definitely got more than what we paid for. From beginning to end David was great to work with and I would recommend him to anyone! He captured our story beautifully!

Profile Picture Cheri, 11/8/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

What an amazing job David and Katelyn did on our wedding photography!
We have amazing photos, and our photographers kept our whole event running smoothly.
David was my hero more than once on my wedding day, From forgetting my veil to my necklace breaking, he had it all covered!
He had a veil there before the ceremony began, and the necklace was also taken care of on time!
I have to tell you ladies I do not consider myself a photogenic person in the least, and on top of being and older bride I was scared of what our photos and album would turn out like.
David and Katelyn did an amazing job not only keeping everything running smoothly but they also kept everything laid back and enjoyable (he even got my teenage son to smile in the photos!!!)
We have some really amazing photos of our special day, and our wedding album is so great that I, yes I show off the pictures!
They did a spectacular job creating the most beautiful wedding day memories that we could of asked for.
We were so happy with our wedding photos that we also used them for my Daughters Senior pics,
DavidJStudios will be our only Family Photographer hands down!
Thank you so much for everything, Love you guys!!!! XOXOX

Profile Picture Carrie & Jason, 11/7/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography