Weddings

Darnall Photography Reviews

Darnall Photography

Darnall Photography

Newport Beach, CA
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 39 Reviews
View more information

39 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.9 out of 5

Awards

  • 39
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
Sort by:
  • E
    Ellen Married on 07/16/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We used Chris Darnall for our wedding photography. He has a good relationship with the UCI club which is why we choose to use his services. He knows all the interesting places there for wedding photographs. He brings a second photographer which is great for getting shots of the guests and allows him to do his job faster. He did an amazing job with our wedding party photos, taking photos of our guests, and photos of our decorations. He also put a lot of time into adjusting our photos for our wedding book. He provides a small selection of photos from our wedding within 1-2 weeks that you can use for posting to social media or Thank You cards. You get all of your digital photos within 8 weeks or so. The process for getting wedding books printed can take 4-6 to months. He is responsive, professional, and we would definitely recommend him to others.
  • B
    Brooke Married on 02/07/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We would highly recommend Chris Darnall if you are looking for a photographer for any major life event. Not only is Chris really talented at what he does but he is a likable guy which is icing on the cake when you are spending several hours together during an event such as a wedding . We used Chris for our engagement and wedding pictures and were very pleased with the results. He seemed to get us as a couple so the poses and types of pictures fit our personalities. (nothing cheesy). On our wedding day he captured all of the standard shots you want from a wedding but also got some really special candid shots which a Bride is typically hoping for. He offers competitive packages and is fairly priced. I thought we got a lot of value in our investment in Darnall Photography.
  • J
    James Married on 11/02/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris was amazing for our wedding! From the moment we met him he made us feel extremely comfortable which made for awesome photos for both our engagement shoot and wedding day. He even helped us pick areas for our shoots that we never would've thought to use. Even when the weather was terrible he still made it happen and the pictures looked as if the weather was perfect. We would highly recommend him for any occasion.
  • L
    Lea Married on 09/01/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris shot our engagement and wedding in 2014 in Southern California. After interviewing a few photographers, and looking at their work, Chris matched what we had envisioned. He listened and understood the types of moments we wanted captured. Chris was passionate, professional, easy to work with, and had creative and awesome photo ideas. More importantly, he helped my husband and I feel comfortable and relaxed. We did not want stiff, posed photos and Chris did a great job at directing us, making us laugh and feel at ease.
    Awesome job Chris and thank you for all the wonderful moments you captured for us! We would highly recommend him!
  • User1996460 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris came highly recommended to us from a friend from work. After meeting with him, my husband and I knew we would work well with him. He showed us some of his work and that sealed the deal. We had both our engagement shots and wedding photos done by him. Chris was very accommodating with our engagement shoot as we had to reschedule a couple times. He had great ideas on where the best pictures would turn out with the lighting/backgrounds and we loved the final shots. After taking those photos, we knew he would take great photos on our wedding day and that he would be easy to work with.
    Chris was responsive to all of my emails leading up to the wedding. He even met up with me prior to our big day and we walked around looking for the best places near my venue for our first look, group shots, and family shots. On our wedding day, Chris was very professional. He kept me relaxed and was able to get every shot that I wanted and then some prior to the wedding start. Throughout the night he was present and worked so hard to get the best shots but wasn't occupying all of our time. He allowed us to enjoy our guests and stole us away for just a brief time to get some couple's photos. The final photos were AMAZING. I have looked thorough them many times and am perplexed on how I will be able to select the perfect ones for my album since there are so many to choose from.
  • D
    Danielle Married on 07/26/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We hired Darnall Photography for our wedding after we did our engagement photos with them. We were blown out of the water with the shots he captured. He had great suggestions for places to take the photographs, had a great eye, and he not only got great posed pictures but captured a lot of great candid photos. Chris was very easy to work with, quick to respond to my emails , and a very nice guy. I've been to weddings where the photographers had no personality, and were just demanding. Chris was the opposite, he was still able to get the shots we wanted, but also allowed us to have fun in the process. A definite perk!
  • User1748385 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Darnall was absolutely wonderful! We missed our engagement pictures by accident and he quickly rescheduled and got our photos to us within a day or two. Similarly, he took gorgeous pictures the day of the wedding and sent us teaser shots within a day or two. He worked wonderfully with our videographer and all the guests commented and how easy-going and kind they both were.
  • J
    Jen Married on 05/17/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris is a great photographer to work with, and he produced fantastic photos for both our engagement shoot and our wedding. He was very accommodating of our availability limitations (we live out of state) and very responsive to my frequent email communications. He also kept our preferred photography style in mind (which was already generally in line with his own style). We are very happy with the results and would definitely use him again.
  • A
    Andre Married on 05/12/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris is a very talented photographer who knows how to capture amazing shots. My fiancé and I hired him as our photographer for an engagement session, and we were impressed by the work he produced for us. On top of that, he was punctual, very easy going, patient, and flexible throughout the whole process. Having all of these elements, Chris made our first photo shoot experience an enjoyable one.

    While there are many talented photographers, Chris' professionalism and his flexibility to offer you the most value are unparalleled. Selecting him as our photographer was definitely one of the best decisions we made. We strongly recommend Chris for your engagement photo needs.
  • M
    Martin Married on 05/03/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris Darnall is an exceptional photographer. We hired him for our engagement, wedding, and after-wedding photos. We are extremely happy with the photos he took. We've got a huge selection of beautiful photos through which we can re-live our wedding.

    We interviewed a bunch of photographers in the Orange County area for our Disneyland wedding. Out of all of them, Chris was the most receptive to our ideas about what we wanted in a photographer. We had never had professional photos taken of us, but Chris made the process relaxing and fun. He got to know us as a couple and gave us plenty of suggestions for some really neat shots. He also listened to our ideas for photos and encouraged us to be ourselves. The result is a set of photo memories that capture our personalities as well as the magical moments.

    Chris is very easy to get along with. That's something that goes a long way when it comes to your wedding day when you're anxious and stressed out! Communication by email and phone was easy, and he is prompt with responses.

    When the wedding is over, the photos are the primary way for you to remember your special day. Don't skimp on your photographer. Get the best photographer you can, and make sure it's someone who you like being around.
    We give Darnall Photography our highest recommendation!
  • S
    Sara Married on 04/19/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We are so happy we chose Chris to be our photographer! For having a big wedding party and family he was open to ideas and very receptive to all of our special requests of what we wanted incorporated. Each photo was unique and it captured his style. From our engagement shoot to our wedding day, Chris was always professional and wonderful to work with.
  • A
    Alison Married on 02/27/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris was a fantastic photographer. Our pictures turned out amazing and we could not have been any happier. We are grateful that he was so flexible with us. The forecast the week of our wedding was for a big rain storm. He made some changes in his schedule to accommodate us when we decided to change the date at the last minute to avoid the rain. :-) thank you so much Chris !
  • C
    Charlene Married on 02/08/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris and his team did our engagement and wedding photos. Our photos turned out exactly how I wanted them! He captured every moment so perfectly.
  • K
    Kristen Married on 11/09/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    As soon as I had my wedding date I contacted Chris Darnall. After he did my best friend's wedding I knew I wanted his professionalism and great quality for my wedding photos. The only problem I have is too many gorgeous shots to choose from! :)
  • A
    Alexandria Married on 11/02/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris was fantastic! From our engagement pictures to the big day, he was so easy to work with. He has such a calmness about him and is so personable, which really helps you just to relax and enjoy your day. My husband absolutely hates getting his picture taken, as I'm sure most men do, but Chris was able to capture him smiling and that is not an easy task! We chose him for his artistic eye, but he really listened to our vision. We got all the traditional shots we wanted and then some with unique twists. The candid shots were awesome - the love and happiness was definitely captured.

    He was willing to be flexible with us and went above and beyond on both shoots to capture what we wanted till the very end. Also, very good at communicating and responding throughout the whole process. A lot of vendors are hard to reach unless it's the week of your wedding but he was always responsive and that really helps a bride stay calm. Overall it was a pleasure working with him and I am so pleased looking at our photos and reliving the wonderful day. We are so thankful!
  • B
    Brandon Married on 10/05/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris and his team got shots of every aspect of our wedding. He was very accommodating to all of our requests, incredibly flexible, and has some great packages available for you to choose from. He is very artistic and fun to work with. He has the ability to do creative and unique shots, while getting the traditional ones as well. Having his assistant at the wedding was a major plus as she was able to get shots of every little detail we had. Thanks for making our wedding day great!
  • User1375402 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Darnall photography is amazing!! Chris has great vision for pictures and creates great angles you would never think of. The best part is Chris's giggle after he gets a great shot. If you hear the giggle, you know it's an amazing picture. I recommend Darnall photography to any bride out there. You won't be disappointed.
  • H
    Heather Married on 07/28/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris was awesome to work with and his photography is brilliant. He has a very good, artistic eye, but just like other reviewers stated - he is exceptional at accommodating all traditional and/or personal requests as well. All the shots came out clear, crisp, with beautiful rich color. His assistant was wonderful as well and captured excellent shots. Chris even went above and beyond to do an extra, second consult with us - driving out to our wedding site to do a walk through with us weeks ahead of time since he hadn't shot there before. He is relaxed and professional - highly recommend him. All of our friends and family are raving about the photos.
  • User1287354 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris and his assistant were everywhere at the wedding and yet they were never intrusive. He got the most amazing and creative shots. He is current in his art, yet perfectly wonderful accommodating the traditional requests. Darnall Photography is fantastic!!
  • D
    Danielle Married on 05/25/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris was amazing to work with! After looking at a number of photographers and not being thrilled with either the style or service, we found Chris and knew we needed him to photograph our wedding. We didn't want anything that looked to "prepared" or boring. At first it was hard to look at someone's samples and pick from that, knowing that they put their best photos in their sample books. When we saw Chris' samples, we were excited at the opportunity. His use of light, angles, and spontaneity was perfect. With plenty of samples at his office and the amount of great photos on his website/blog, it was an easy decision for us. We got the 2 photographer package and Chris and his assistant were great and professional. They knew exactly where to be and what to shoot and now we've got the best photos to always remember our perfect wedding!
  • J
    Jose Married on 04/05/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris is an amazing photographer! We were very pleased with his availability and willingness to work with our schedules, our budget, and our ideas. His overall approachable and friendly demeanor puts you at ease when having to pose for pictures. He was very patient and had great suggestions that resulted in STELLAR pictures! We can't wait for Chris to photograph our wedding in April!
  • User1112531 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My family loved my engagement pictures. My wedding coordinator complimented his work and how great he was to work with. Where as my husband and I, he is definitely our favorite vendor we had to work with. He is very personable, gives clear directions and makes it fun and enjoyable.
  • Jana lee
    Jana L. Married on 12/29/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris was awesome! From the moment we met he has been very personable and helpful. He showed up early and was well dressed. He went out of his way to get the perfect photos. Made us feel completly at ease throught the day. We absolutely love the shots he got of our wedding! It was a pleasure to work with him. Thank you a million times. Xo Jana lee & Justin
  • User851030 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    While we are still waiting for the wedding shots, we'd like to thank Chris and provide this recommendation for some awesome photography thus far. We actually had another photographer selected, went through with the engagement pics and realized it wasn't a match. Chris worked with us knowing we had already lost money, was extremely fair in his proposal, and did a fantastic job on our engagement shots. He has a great sense of humor, and our guests complimented us that he knew what he was doing. Can't wait to see the final results!
  • Christina
    Christina Married on 04/22/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chris and his team did a wonderful job. He's so friendly and was very punctual on my wedding day. I was never stressed about my wedding photography once I booked Chris Darnall. His pricing is also so incredible (compared to other OC photographers). Same great quality as the super out of control pricey photographers but very budget friendly. I'm definitely recommending him to other girls I know with up and coming weddings! thanks for the wonderful pictures Chris!!