D'Absolute Events & Catering Reviews

41 | Chicago, IL
See photos, pricing and details

41 Reviews for D'Absolute Events & Catering

Recommended by 98% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

41
Order by:
  • Irina

    Irina · Married on 01/19/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent food and service!

    I would highly recommend D'absolute, the catering company is absolutely amazing. They are very attentive to details and will make sure everything runs perfect the day of the event, Mena is absolutely great at what she is doing and Chris, the owner is very responsive and puts a lot of soul into his work. I worked with D'absolute, both Mena and Chris at Stan Mansion, and I only have great things to say. They are one of the most recommended catering companies at Stan Mansion and for a very good reason!

    Sent on 04/03/2020
  • T

    Tetyana · Married on 05/11/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best caterer!

    We hired D’Absolute for our wedding at Bridgeport Art Center in May and they were wonderful to work with. We knew we wanted to work with them immediately after our tasting. We previously had tastings with two other caterers and D’absolute effortlessly outshined them both. The food and presentation were excellent. Chris was also honest and direct, no fluff, and we loved that about him. We had many questions leading up to the big day and Chris was easy to reach and very responsive to all of them. When we did our final walk through at the venue, we met Mena who would be our lead on the day of our wedding. She was so wonderful to work with. She made suggestions and asked questions I had never thought of and we really appreciated that. She also shined on the wedding day. She brought us appetizers while we mingled and took photos, making sure we got to actually eat. She made sure we always had a drink. She helped with everything, even things not catering related (like looking for my bouquet) and really just went above and beyond what was expected. She is warm and kind and just a pleasure to be around.

    The food at the wedding definitely lived up to what we tried at the tasting. Full disclosure- our eastern European family can be hard to please but they raved about the food. The appetizers were generous in size and delicious. We went with filet mignon and chicken for the main entrees and our guests really enjoyed both. We also brought in a traditional “meat hut” and sweets table from an outside vendor and D’absolute helped set up and man both of these which was so nice of them. The team went above and beyond for our wedding with exceptional quality and service. Thank you for helping make our day perfect ☺

    Sent on 07/05/2019
  • M

    Megan · Married on 04/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Vendor!

    We worked with D'Absolute Catering for our wedding at Ovation. They did an amazing job. Our guests raved about the food which doesn't happen often at weddings. You spend the largest chunk of your wedding budget on catering so you better make sure you hire the best and Chris and Mena at D'Absolute are the best! We would recommend them 100x over!

    Sent on 04/16/2019
  • L

    Leah · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Well organized and great value

    Great service, knew my venue extremely well. Really well priced. Our guests felt that they were served a healthy portion as opposed to other weddings they had attended, so that was good feedback :) Our guests also had really great reviews of the appetizers. The team also works really well together, so it was really easy to work with D'Absolute. I would definitely work with them again - I felt like I was working with a family instead of a corporation.

    Sent on 10/29/2018
  • C

    Cindy · Married on 09/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Value!

    We used D'Absolute for our September wedding. Catering was the biggest portion of our wedding budget so we wanted to make sure we loved the food that was served to our guests. Our venue provided us with a preferred catering list and D'Absolute was one of them. After completing a few other tastings, we ultimately went with D'Absolute. It wasn’t a difficult choice for us as we really clicked well with the owner Chris. He made us feel comfortable from the start and didn’t try to oversell us. He was open, honest, and responded to all our questions in a timely manner. Their prices weren't the cheapest nor the highest, but we went with our gut feeling and it was worth it! We found great value in the flavors, portions, and services that were provided.

    For the cocktail reception, we selected the diced beef tenderloin on a grilled crostini, mini seared ahi tuna tacos, and arancini bites. For our main dinner course, we selected the braised short ribs with truffle cabernet demi and the grilled salmon with fresh mango relish. They were able to accommodate our vegan guests also. The food at our ceremony was as delicious as it was at the initial tasting. We received so many compliments from our guests about the food and generous portions!

    Mena was the event manager the day of and she was amazing. She commanded the floor and had everything laid out just as we imagined! She took care of the bridal party and had drinks and hors d'oeuvers waiting for us after the ceremony. That was a special touch and much appreciated because we were starving! At the end of the night, they cleaned up and also helped us to pack our belongings. We were so happy with our decision. D'Absolute was a pleasure to work with and I highly recommend them to any bride!

    Sent on 10/25/2018
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 08/25/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very happy with our choice of D'Absolute Catering for our wedding reception. Providing a good dinner experience for our guests was particularly important to us, and we chose D'Absolute simply because their food tasted the best and we trusted them to provide professional service. In particular, we wanted to reflect the groom’s Macedonian roots, and D’Absolute was able to provide a number of simple yet satisfying Balkan dishes. Their versions were just like we had flown to see extended family. Additionally, their service was excellent (staff was professionally dressed, friendly, and worked quickly). We only heard positive remarks from our guests -- one guest commented it was the best food he had since arriving in Chicago. From the logistical perspective, Mena and Chris were prompt and professional. They worked with us to change the menu such that we could arrive at a price point we were comfortable with. We opted not to serve champagne, as it didn't really matter to us and the glassware would have been extra. We also rented our linens separately due to cost at the recommendation of our coordinator, but D'Absolute's prices were not significantly higher. Even though we weren't the only wedding that D'Absolute catered that night, it certainly felt like we were.

    Sent on 09/30/2018
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 10/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used D'Absolute to cater our October 2017 wedding at Room 1520, and couldn't be happier with how everything went. Of all the places we did tastings, not only was D'Absolute's food the tastiest, they were also the friendliest and most accommodating of what we wanted for our big day, so deciding to go with them was a no-brainer.

    Our wedding was on the small-ish side (70 people) so we didn't want to hire a coordinator if we didn't have to, and Chris at D'Absolute said his crew could take care of everything a coordinator would do (put favors on tables, set up the gift/place card table, put out any signage, etc.), so we happily saved a few bucks not hiring a wedding coordinator.

    On the big day everything came together perfectly. Chris' brother was our day-of supervisor, and the fact that my husband and I weren't even aware of everything that was going on behind the scenes speaks to how well he orchestrated things. Everything was set up perfectly at the bar and on the tables, the hors d'oeuvres at the cocktail hour were passed around frequently so everyone got some, everyone had plenty to eat at dinner, our dessert table was set up beautifully, and at the end of the night the whole D'Absolute crew worked quickly to clean up, break everything down, and pack up leftover food and booze for us to take.

    Since the wedding several of our guests have commented on good the food was (get their mac and cheese and thank me later) and how impressed they were with the staff there. When one of our guests told her server about a nut allergy, they brought her out a freshly prepared nut-free salad without hesitation, which is a level of service we didn't necessarily expect, but are very grateful for.

    From first meeting, to menu planning, to coordinating beforehand, to the actual wedding day, working with D'Absolute was a great experience and we couldn't recommend them more for anyone's catering needs.

    Sent on 11/19/2017
  • K

    Kim · Married on 10/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    One of the best wedding decisions we made was choosing D'Absolute to cater the big day! As soon as we met Chris, we knew we would be in good hands. Chris and the rest of the D'Absolute team treated all 250 of our guests with excellent service and everyone was blown away by the food. We could not be happier by how flawlessly the day went, thank you!

    Sent on 03/15/2018
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the very start when we completed our tastings from multiple different caterers, we knew D'Absolute was going to make our wedding day even more amazing. Chris is so professional and so friendly and accommodating - we immediately felt comfortable with him. We had some dietary restrictions to work around and Chris didn't struggle with this at all - he adjusted the menu multiple times until we found something perfect for everyone. We wanted to add in unique flares to our food and Chris helped us come up with great ideas and stunning ways to present the food. We got engaged in Paris and wanted to have a Parisian touch to the night so Chris added a crepe station where his staff created different crepes on the spot! Our guests loved this unique touch! Chris and his team take catering to the next level. The food is delicious, the presentation is incredible, and the staff are professional and so friendly - they even danced onto the dance floor to serve our late night snack! :) We highly recommend D'Absolute - they helped to make our wedding the best day ever!!

    Sent on 10/18/2017
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience with D’Absolute Catering for our wedding was nothing short of perfect. Prices were extremely reasonable compared to other Chicago caterers, without falling short at all on the quality. The food was amazing, and we received tons of compliments on the food. The food was inventive, well-prepared, and well-presented. What sets D’Absolute apart from the rest is their involvement in our planning process. Mena at D’Absolute helped us with determining how to stage our cocktail hour, where guests should enter/exit, event timing, everything down to the smallest detail. They even helped us out with handling the table and chair rental with another vendor. We did not have a day of coordinator, and Mena made us feel so much more comfortable that the day would go smoothly. We even had some special requests for bar service and dessert that were handled very well. Their communication throughout the entire process was excellent. They responded in a timely manner and are great people to work with. We can’t recommend D’Absolute enough for any wedding, or any event for that matter.

    Sent on 10/02/2017
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 02/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    D'Absolute did a great job catering our post-wedding celebration. Their food is delicious, better in my opinion than some of their higher priced competition. Chris also did a wonderful job of listening to our thoughts and ideas throughout the process, and made many helpful suggestions to make the evening perfect. The staff was experienced, well-prepared, and kind to our guests. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 02/26/2017
  • S

    Suzanne · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved D'Absolute's food and service. Our guests very much enjoyed the food and everyone walked away satisfied including us. Chris, George, and Mena run a well-run ship and our guests were thrilled with dinner and the bar service. D'Absolute does an excellent job of providing thorough hospitality and catering services. Everyone is also very patient and helpful- great bunch!

    Sent on 11/25/2016
  • M

    Maemie · Married on 09/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience with D'Absolute Catering and especially Chris Constantine. From the beginning he was very accommodating of ever request and made special arrangements even though I was out of town to meet with my husband and I during early hours of Saturdays and Sundays before the wedding. Our wedding planner at our venue left early and we were left with no one to coordinate between our vendors and Chris Constantine stepped up and coordinated between the different vendors all night even though we did not ask him. He did above and beyond what we expected and even though it is almost two years past our wedding we are so grateful and appreciative of how he made our wedding that much more special. Thank you!!

    Sent on 08/12/2018
  • E

    Erin · Married on 07/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing food, I wish I could've taken home leftovers! They were super flexible and even gave suggestions for foods that would incorporate my husbands Brazilian background. Everyone had great things to say about the menu.

    Sent on 08/30/2016
  • A

    Alexa · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy we chose D'Absolute to cater our wedding. They were the best vendor decision we made. From the moment I first talked to Chris, he made me feel so incredibly comfortable. He was very responsive to any and all questions, and always had options available when we couldn't make up our mind. He was also very accommodating of our budget, which we appreciated, and had suggestions about ways to keep the cost down. The tasting blew us away in terms of the presentation and quality of the food. People are still talking about how the great the food was! Outside of just the food at the wedding, Chris made it a point to treat us like VIP. He checked in on us to make sure we didn't need anything, brought us water during the photos, and had prosecco flights waiting for us when we came out from the ceremony. These little touches made the evening just so much more special. The staff was great, as well, and I would recommend Chris to anyone looking for a high quality caterer that won't disappoint.

    Sent on 08/07/2016
  • User6737094 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris and Natalie were wonderful to work with. Our daughter was married at the Skyline Loft at the Bridgeport Art Center and we selected food stations. We were attracted by D'Absolute's proposal. During the trial tasting, we were impressed that each station offered a full meal, each with a meat, vegetables, and a tasty potato or starch. The event was a huge success, mostly due to the delicious appetizers and food stations. Chris and Natalie responded to every question promptly I felt we were in good hands during the planning process. I would not change a thing.

    Sent on 05/19/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 03/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris, Nathalie, Mena, and the rest of your catering staff...thank you so much for providing Ktrice and I such a seamless cocktail reception for our wedding night!

    For our wedding, I was very specific in what types of food and how we wanted to present the food. During my initial conversation with Chris, on the phone, I explained to him the type of reception I was hoping to have for our wedding, and I wanted to make sure everyone would be full! Culturally, if a guest is still hungry after your wedding, you will never hear the end of it! Secondly, we wanted to make sure the food was not your typical "wedding" food, where guests graze over it, and complain about it being cold, or just not good.

    Our tasting was amazing! Chris made sure he answered any questions we had, and went through all the details of what we envisioned. He knew exactly what we wanted and executed the plan perfectly.

    The food was amazing! Guests are still raving about the mac and cheese and corn bread. I had a wedding guest that was allergic to pretty much everything, but Mena, made sure to provide a special plate for her, and also made sure it was personally delivered to her, out of the entire sea of wedding guests. Mena made sure our bridal suite was ready with a cocktail for my husband and I right after the ceremony, and that we had an ample amount of apps ready for us. Everything was set to a tee!

    I cannot thank you guys enough for everything you did! Thank you!

    Sent on 03/16/2016
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 12/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent catering and Chris goes above and beyond for his clients.

    Sent on 04/20/2015
  • C

    Carrie · Married on 07/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have asked for a better caterer for our wedding!! Chris and his team went above and beyond to make sure our wedding reception went smoothly. My fiance and I planned our wedding from out of town, and Chris was so responsive whenever we had any questions. They are probably the best caterer for an affordable price and they even allowed us to bring in outside food since my fiance and I wanted to make sure our Korean and Chinese backgrounds were also reflected in the food. During cocktail hour and dinner, they were always bringing out food and drinks promptly, and Chris himself made sure we were comfortable throughout the reception. Chris was so open to our vision of what we wanted our signature cocktails and food to be, and so easy to work with. D'absolute was one of the best decisions of our wedding!!

    Sent on 07/23/2014
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    D'absolute catered our wedding at The Newberry Library on 5/24/14 and did an absolutely AMAZING job. We first met we Chris early on who took our food vision and created an absolutely delicious menu! We had many comments from our guests about how great our food was. The whole team was a breeze to work with - Chris, Natalie and Mena especially. Natalie specifically was present for the entire event and made sure everything went off without a hitch. I also really liked how she always made sure my husband and I were eating and drinking. The staff in general was fantastic and even loaded up our car with the things we needed to take home at the end of the night.

    We couldn't have asked for a more perfect day and D'absolute is in large part to thank for that! We recommend them to everyone!!

    Sent on 06/01/2014
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Hands down my favorite of all my vendors! Chris and Nathalie are simply fantastic. First, not only was the food amazing at the tasting, it was just as amazing at the actual wedding (when they were cooking for 200 not 2). They made sure everything was just as we wanted it and their wait staff was just awesome. Our venue was 2 floors and they floated throughout the whole space with the apps and late night snacks. Plus, whenever we wanted to make a change or ask a question, Chris and Nathalie were so on top of things and always responded right away. On top of amazing food they really provide great service and make you feel like your wedding is the only one that matters to them. I've heard friends' horror stories over difficult caterers they've used and I can say that I never once had a stressful moment with these two- simply fantastic all around!

    Sent on 05/26/2014
  • N

    Noemi · Married on 11/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I went with Chris for our cater and couldn't have been more pleased with the whole experience! The food was delish! The serivce was above and beyond. So many compliments from the cocktail hour to the main course!

    Sent on 02/05/2014
  • P

    Pauline · Married on 10/26/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It took only two minutes for us to fall in love with D'Absolute. My parents drove down on a Friday from out of state where Chris prepared an private tasting for us. Needless to say we wrote a check that night without doing any other tastings. He took care of us from that point on. In the months leading up Chris did tweaks to the menu and the head count. When the big day arrived the food and the services they provided were amazing! My favorite option on our menu was the seasonal pear salad but my guests have commented to me on how they loved the entire meal as well as the appetizers. I also had guests approach me on how the team went out of their way to service the children first and provide them with a special more kid friendly dinner options. I had no idea this was going to happen and was so grateful for the extra attention to detail that Chris and the D ’Absolute team paid towards my guests. Throughout the night their hard work, professionalism, and responsiveness was very evident to me and my guests. D'Absolute did a remarkable job from start to finish! We highly recommend them for any event!!

    Sent on 11/25/2013
  • A

    Aviva · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There are no words that come to mind that I can use to accurately describe how fantastic Chris with D'Absolute is. The entire menu was delicious, the service was impeccable, the staff was friendly and attentive. And he helped assure that everything flowed seamlessly.

    Sent on 09/03/2013
  • J

    Janna · Married on 08/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    D'Absolute was the exclusive preferred caterer for my venue. I was a little anxious when I felt I was somewhat forced to use them. But I am so happy I was pointed in their direction! The food they created for my wedding was incredible. Their staff was so sweet and really brought a positive energy to their job. (I myself am a server at a restaurant, so I know it's not always easy to be excited to serve people food on a Saturday night, but I have to send a shout out to them for being both professional and enthusiastic). We took a short bus ride away to take photos between the ceremony and reception, so they even set up some food and drinks for us on the bus before we left so we didn't miss any of our appetizers. The food was delicious and creative - I was at a wedding two weeks later and one of the guests, who was also at ours, was still talking about the bacon wrapped dates and the goat cheese grape lollipops (Now, I don't endorse discussing other wedding details at someone's wedding, but I secretly enjoyed the compliment).

    Sent on 09/19/2013