Cupcake Downsouth Reviews

52 | Charleston, SC
See photos, pricing and details

52 Reviews for Cupcake Downsouth

Recommended by 98%

52
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • Fahlyn

    Fahlyn · Married on 11/03/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommend!

    Our entire experience with Cupcake Downsouth was wonderful! We worked with Riann who was so friendly and accomadating right from the start. We were planning our Charleston wedding from Chicago and we decided to add cupcakes to our menu kind of at the last minute. Riann was able to fit us in for a cupcake tasting on Thursday (11/1) and had our wedding cupcakes ready for us on Saturday (11/3). We ended up ordering 15 dozen mini cupcakes for our 60 person wedding (which breaks down to 3 mini cupcakes per person). My husband thought this was too many because we had two other desserts being provided by our caterer. He predicted people would have 1 or 2 cupcakes max, but he was wrong haha. The cupcakes stole the show. I saw several people with 5-6 mini cupcakes on their tiny dessert plates. We ordered the following flavors: death by chocolate, southern red velvet, rise and grind (which our coffee addicts loved), limon blu, spiked apple pie, and vegan salted caramel. All of the flavors were delicious and absolutely adorable. They looked so good on our dessert table. My only regrets were not ordering more of the death by chocolate and vegan salted caramel (which were loved by vegans and non-vegans alike). Also, Riann was kind enough to make cute little "vegan" flags which she placed in each vegan cupcake. So happy with our experience!

    Sent on 11/16/2018

    Cupcake Downsouth's reply:

    Fahlyn, thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled that the mini cupcakes were so popular with your wedding guests even in the presence of other desserts. (You have great taste - you ordered a lovely selection of flavors for every taste!) Your review has filled our day with sunshine here in Charleston. Thank you for honoring us by letting us be a part of your wedding day!
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 09/30/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To-die-for cake pops

    We used this vendor to make cake pops to use for our wedding favors. Riann was friendly & super easy to work with. The cake pops were yum!! We stuck with basic white cake but they were so moist, the best I’ve ever had!!

    Sent on 11/16/2018

    Cupcake Downsouth's reply:

    Hi Jamie, thank you so much for your kind words! We love that you enjoyed the cake pops; that just makes our day here. Thank you for letting us be a part of your (most) special day!
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 06/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Loved these cupcakes!! Our guests loved them too! I loved we were able to get a large variety as well as a "large cupcake" for the cliche cake cutting picture. They were 100% customizable and delivered and set up for us as well.

  • S

    Sandra · Married on 04/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We ordered cupcakes, cake pops and cookies for a "Welcome to Charleston Porch Party" we hosted for our son an his fiancé (in lieu of a rehearsal dinner). The desserts were wonderful and exactly what we wanted. We even sent photos of the cookies we desired and Cupcake DownSouth replicated them perfectly!

  • A

    Amy · Married on 03/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very accommodating. Got all of the details right for us.

  • B

    Brett · Married on 11/25/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding guests loved the cupcakes! We keep hearing how great they were! The staff at Cupcake Downsouth was awesome to work with as well. Highly recommend using them to make your wedding dessert!

  • A

    Alexa · Married on 10/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We visit Cupcake every time we're in Charleston, so we loved having their cake pops at our wedding. Maleia was great to work with and very responsive, from setting up our tasting (they let us try the cupcakes too!) to the super easy ordering process. The cake pops were such a hit that we (the bride and groom) didn't even get any! Highly recommended for weddings or a delicious dessert while wandering down King Street!

  • S

    Samantha · Married on 09/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our cupcakes and so did all of our guests! The selection was great and everyone enjoyed their cake pops as their party favors.

  • T

    T · Married on 07/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Selecting cupcakes from Cupcake Downsouth was one of the best things we did for our daughter's wedding! Maleia was absolutely fabulous to work with in all of the planning and ordering process. The guests raved about the assorted flavors and the few leftovers we had were easily sent home with the wedding party. The bride and groom chose to cut the mega cupcake instead of a large layered wedding cake. Delivery to the reception location was prompt and courteous. Do not think twice about using them for any of your cupcake needs! They are fantastic!!!

  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 05/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cupcakes from Cupcake Downsouth were perfect for our wedding! We ordered a variety of minis and one flat mega to cut and it was all SO tasty! Everyone loved all of the cupcakes, definitely cant go wrong with the red velvet! They were so nice and helpful, and easy to communicate with being an out of town bride. They allowed for a free tasting, without an appointment and were super nice! They customized the cupcakes with our wedding colors and they cupcakes were all so pretty!! The gluten free cupcakes were also awesome!! Definitely recommend using Cupcake Downsouth for any cupcake needs!

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 04/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cupcake Downsouth was fantastic!! We reached out to Maleia and she was super responsive, helped with any questions I had, set up a taste testing, and was a constant support system throughout our wedding planning process. Everything was delivered perfectly and our guests couldn't get enough of the cupcakes. Highly recommend for a different, enjoyable, and wonderful dessert.

  • A

    Alex · Married on 01/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have to say that cupcakes are one of the best ideas for a wedding. Everyone gets what flavor they want, and if any are left over, they get to take them home with them. Cupcake Downsouth was the perfect fit for our wedding. We talked through email, because we were so far apart (destination wedding), but that did not have a effect on the quality of service. When I would email, they would email right back, and try to accommodate everything that was asked. The cupcakes were delicious, and I think that most of the guest had more than one cupcake, once they tasted the first, they had to go back for more.

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This place is perfect! My husband and I are not big into cake, nor can we agree on a flavor, so this was great! We were able to taste test at the Columbia location (where we live) and then order through the Charleston location (where we got married), which was super convenient. They delivered to our venue the day of for $50. We ordered 4 different flavor cupcakes, and one mega cupcake (6" round cake that we used for our cake cutting). Everyone loved the cupcakes-there were barely any leftovers! I can't wait to order a mega cupcake for our one-year-anniversary!!

  • J

    Joanna · Married on 10/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cupcake Downsouth is amazing! We met with them for a tasting and fell in love! They worked with us to find the perfect cupcakes,frosting, and sprinkles to match our wedding colors and taste. Maleia is a joy to work with and she makes sure every detail is covered! Every single cupcake was gone at the end of the night and the mini cupcakes are perfect for the kids!

  • User4551787 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved the work that Maleia and the Cupcake Downsouth team did for our June wedding! From the trial to the cupcake and decoration selection to the final product, we couldn't have been happier. Everyone loved the cupcakes at the wedding and we're so glad we chose CDS!

  • L

    Lindsay · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love Cupcake! And our wedding guests loved all of the cupcakes as well! Service was perfect!

  • C

    Christi · Married on 05/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Maleia was an absolute joy to work with while planning my wedding. She never hesitated to answer my 5,000 questions that I had throughout the planning process. Additionally, while visiting Charleston to do the taste testing, she and the other girls in the store greeted and treated us with such professionalism and respect. I highly recommend Cupcakes Downsouth for any occasion. Not to mention, their cupcakes are to die for!!!

  • A

    Andrea · Married on 05/02/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cupcake was extremely professional. They were on time with everything, not expensive, and everyone raved about the flavors!

  • A

    Ashley · Married on 04/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cupcakes were provided as part of a wedding package from Reynolds Treasures. They were delicious! I am so glad I will be able to get them again on our anniversary!

  • User3947410 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Maleia was a pleasure. She was always prompt with her responses and gave helpful advice. And the cupcakes are to die for! We did a mix of flavors and sizes but my favorite has to be the salted caramel! Delicious!

  • D

    Donna · Married on 03/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Maleia, she was very accommodating and helpful. The cake pops we used for favors were a big hit with all of our guests.

  • M

    Marguerite · Married on 11/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone LOVED the cupcakes!!!! We were certain from the start that CUPCAKE would be the choice for our daughter's fall wedding. Since she was a student at C of C- cupcake has become one of our Charleston Traditions. There were cupcakes as part of all of our family visists and important celebrations, so this would certainly be no different!
    Our family and friends from near and far were happy with our choice- and the Jumbo cupcake for the cutting ceremony made our new son in law a red velvet believer too! His personal favorite was the vanilla cake with dark chocolate icing, which was also represented in our selections.
    thanks again for your laid back, yet responsive contribution to our event! We are most grateful!

  • K

    Kristin · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely fantastic cupcakes!!! These were a huge hit at our wedding and we didn't bring any home with us even though we ordered more than enough cupcakes...our guests ravished these!

  • H

    Heather · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cupcake Downsouth was so easy to work with. Our guest loved the mini cupcakes and I feel as though we got a great value.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review