Cru Catering Reviews

111 | North Charleston, SC
See photos, pricing and details

111 Reviews for Cru Catering

Recommended by 98%

111
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • Kelsey

    Kelsey · Married on 11/10/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food is delicious!

    We absolutely loved our wedding food choices. The salmon was so good, as was everything else. We received so many compliments on the food!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 06/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had so many of our guests compliment us at the wedding on the delicious food! They are professional, timely and the chefs made sure we were getting exactly what we wanted during the tasting process. While everything was delicious, the macaroni and cheese is out of this world!

  • K

    Kelly · Married on 05/26/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As a Charleston native, I had been familiar with Cru Catering for a long time. I had always heard they were the best of the best in catering. I never realized how good they really were until our tasting. They absolutely blew us away with the quality of their food - five stars! We wanted to do something different than stations, so we went with a family style dinner. The service and the food were impeccable! Top two favorites were definitely the beef short ribs and mini tacos. Our guests couldn’t stop raving about them.

    Jenna ensured that my husband and I were well fed during the reception. After we finished photos, she followed us with a tray of appetizers and drink! She truly made us feel so special! I can’t recommend Cru enough. You will not regret your choice!

  • A

    Audrey · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To work with Cru Catering and also be a Cru bride is and was an absolutely amazing experience. To know the behind-the-scenes work, effort, and commitment that is put towards every event is truly admirable. I was honored to have Cru cater my wedding. They truly made the event so memorable. All of our guests are still raving about the food and hospitality. Our guest list included seafood fanatics from New England, local southern cuisine lovers, and cattle farmers from Colorado. Each appetizer and station appealed to everyone’s taste buds and was an experience that created outstanding reviews. Our guests are still raving about the tuna tartare, champagne margaritas, halibut, praline encrusted chicken, mac and cheese (the list goes on!). The chefs, station attendants, servers, event manager, bartenders, etc. all worked as a cohesive team to ensure the event was flawless! Our friends and family thoroughly enjoyed conversing with the Cru team, they truly made us all feel like family. My husband and I can’t say enough great things about Cru Catering. It was so wonderful to have such a passionate team help execute our perfect wedding day!

  • M

    Melissa · Married on 04/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cru Catering is phenomenal! They catered our wedding and the pastry chef created our wedding cake. Reilly Mariotti, the catering director, worked very closely with us to make sure our wedding menu was perfect. Reilly helped us come up with a menu that would fit our tastes, the guest list, and most importantly our budget. She also helped us choose a signature cocktail that all of our guests were sure to love and featured Firefly vodka. We were planning our wedding long distance and Reilly was very understanding and accommodating when a winter storm happened the weekend we were supposed to fly in for our tasting. She helped to reschedule the tasting for another time that would work for everyone.
    The food was to die for! Our guests are still raving about it! There was not one dish that wasn’t a complete hit. But the favorite would have to be the chicken and waffle appetizer. The pastry chef made an amazing wedding cake - it simple, elegant, and was so delicious. I would highly recommend Cru Catering for any event - you and your guests will not be disappointed!

  • N

    Nicole · Married on 02/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The BEST wedding food I've ever had! Everyone loved the short ribs. The staff was perfect. We had late night mini pizzas and they even put them in mini pizza boxes. They are number one for a reason, I highly recommend!

  • V

    Virginia · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Food and drinks were one of our top priorities (if not our top priority). Reilly and her team at Cru did everything absolutely perfectly!!! The food and drinks were all deliciously, perfectly hot and cold and perfectly seasoned even though we were literally in the middle of nowhere. I don't know how they do it!!! We had the crawfish empanadas, mini steak tacos, and ahi tuna apps with mini margaritas, mini old fashions, mini cru cucumber mules for cocktail hours - people raved over all of these especially the empanadas and margaritas. For dinner we had steaks with mac and cheese, shrimp and grits, and sliders. Many of our guests were from New Orleans and they said that it was the best shrimp and grits they had ever had - people from New Orleans are rightly food critics especially of New Orleans style food so this was the highest compliment they could give. Everyone loved the steak and sliders as well especially the fried green tomato slider.

    We had a difficult catering order because we wanted to have a walking cocktail hour but Reilly was so accommodating of all of our requests. She even joined our wedding planners and us on a walk of the venue and provided extremely helpful feedback for the flow of the cocktail hour. Cru and Reilly are more than just caterers they offer a food experience for the entire event and ensure that every guest is taken care of.

    We also had Cru cater a lowcountry boil for our rehearsal dinner and desserts for our welcome party all of which was amazing.

    Hiring Cru is a must for a Charleston wedding. They are expensive but they are worth every penny. Cru is more than just a caterer though their food is amazing - many guest said the it was the best meal they had all weekend in Charleston and almost every guest said it was the best they had ever had at an event!!

  • J

    Jeffrey · Married on 08/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CRU - the whole team and every member are rock stars! We had a destination wedding at the Cotton Dock at Boone Hall - so the whole kitchen had to be created, set up and in full operation under a pop up tent in the parking line. The CRU team killed it! Best execution of a caterer i have ever used. From helping with menu selection, tasting lunch of every dish, creating my own family recipes, speciality bar selection and speciality drinks, cocktail hours specialty drink, Full Out Pig Souther Pig Roast with all the sides, Amazing mac and cheese, amazing selection of appetizers, fresh local caught and sustainable pan seared fish, steak and truffle frites, hand passed shucked oysters, specialty small desserts and the wedding cake! the team of chefs and the CRU staff was amazing, accommodating, professional and very responsive to all our requests and criticisms. They were willing to change recipes to accommodate our tastes and desires. CRU is definitely the number on pick for caterer. Hands down a spectacular job!

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/12/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Simply AMAZING!!! We were so impressed with Cru Catering and it was beyond one's expectation!! Best food & service in Charleston for sure!! Special thanks to Reillly for being such a wonderful person to work with and guided us throughout the entire process. And to the staff at Cru, thank you guys, you were all amazing!! Our guests were so impressed with the food & service, they kept telling us that it was the best they've ever had at a wedding. Thank you Mike Winship (Wedding planner - Winship Production) for recommending, best decision ever!!

  • User6546719 · 1+ year ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    BEST FOOD EVER!!! We hired Cru for my wedding at Boone Hall Plantation and the food was AMAZING! All my guests were raving that it was the best food they had ever had at a wedding. We did food stations (pizza, carving, mashed potato bar, chess/meat/fruit table) and it was all unbelievable! Chicken & waffle appetizer was another major hit with all our guests! Seriously the best mashed potatoes I have ever had! We also had them make mojitos as our signature drink and they were also AMAZING! I have had mojitos at other wedding that were premixed and very sugary, but Cru's mojitos were fresh and perfect! Also, the BEST thing about Cru's service is they give the bride and groom a to-go bag at the end of the night. This was amazing because you probably will not be hungry with all the excitement of the day and there is little time for dancing with all the talking and dancing! I am so glad I didn't have to miss out on all the amazing food! Cru Catering is worth every penny!!

  • E

    Erin · Married on 05/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cru Catering is hands down the BEST caterer in Charleston. We used Reilly Mariotti and her team for our wedding on May 20, 2017. My husband picked out all the food for our cocktail hour and reception and we couldn't get any of our guests to say anything other than it was some of the best food they have ever eaten. Guests raised in the south said their shrimp and grits were the best grits they have ever tried. Multiple guests said the oyster shooters were the best they ever had......many guests had 5-6 EACH (probably why we ran out!) We served Charleston She Crab soup as our first course and every guest I talked to raved about it. Reilly was a delight to work with and was very confident in what she was doing. She communicated to us well and was very professional, especially in the days leading up to our big day when several last minutes decisions had to be made. The service during our reception was unparalleled. Service was prompt, servers were very professional dressed and mannered, and the flow of dinner was very fluid. You can not do better than Cru Catering!

  • S

    Sofya · Married on 05/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got married in Cherleston a couple of weeks ago. My husband and I are HUGE foodies and we are very particular about how our food should taste like and how it should be presented. That's exactly why we went with CRU Catering. Their menu is very interesting - amazing flavorful meals and apps with a southern twist served flawlessly. The whole experience was fantastic - from working out the menu with Casey to our interactions with very friendly and well-trained staff. And the FOOD! Oh-my-God. I could not be happier with the choices that we made. The praline-crusted chicken breast alone is a tender moist piece of art and needs a Michelin star. Kids loved their kids' menu items. The pass d'oeuvres were to die for! If you want to impress your guests' taste buds at a VERY reasonable price - go with CRU!

  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Cru Catering for our formal plantation, destination wedding at Old Wide Awake Plantation. The food and service were fabulous! Our guests are still telling us how much they loved the She Crab soup, Mac n cheese bar, shrimp and grits bar and carved beef with grilled vegetables. We had 4 dinner stations and it did not feel like a buffet. Everything was very efficient and no one stood in line for a long time. We had passed hors d'oeuvres during cocktail hour. Duck confit fritters, ahi tuna, fried green tomatoes and lamb lollipops. Cru also set up a beautiful dessert bar- chocolate mousse, mini key lime pies and mini bourbon pecan pies. They were all gone by the end of the evening! We had 2 bartenders and they were very pleasant and efficient. Our catering manager was Reilly Mariotti and she was so easy to work with- she was super responsive to emails! There is a reason that Cru has been voted Charleston's top catere for 16 years- incredible food and service! Highly recommend!!!!!

  • L

    Laura · Married on 04/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING! Anyone that has eaten at Cru Cafe knows how incredible their food is and their catering is NO exception! Everything was so amazing, everyone was raving about the food and the service at our wedding! They paid special attention to my groom and I all night and it was all so amazing! They offer plenty of options and there was DEFINITELY something for everyone! We had a plated salad and then a buffet for the remainder of the food, which was all amazing and it was a great choice to have the plated salad so people could enjoy that before heading to the buffet! We also had Cru do our desserts and they were INCREDIBLE!! We had planned at first to get a cake and dessert elsewhere but after our tasting, we decided we couldn't resist the mini desserts that Cru offers and that was a GREAT decision for us. We had three different kinds of Macaroons and two other mini desserts and our guests LOVED everything! They also sent us to our hotel on our wedding night with a SIZEABLE to-go bag packed with a LOT of leftover food for us to enjoy for the next few days! I can't say enough incredible things about Cru and would recommend them to anyone in a HEARTBEAT! Could not have hoped for anything better!!

  • T

    Theresa · Married on 03/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The entire team at Cru Catering was a pleasure to work along side. Additionally, the food was outstanding (still dreaming of those crawfish empanadas!) From cocktail hour to late night french fries - chef stations and a cheesecake bar - our guests were so, so satisfied with the incredible food. Jenna coordinated both the catering and rentals for us. She never missed a beat and was a joy to work with. The entire staff on wedding day radiated positivity and fun. Our station chefs even stepped out on the dance floor at the pleading of some of our guests! The bartenders were all smiles and made every one feel welcome. We would recommend Cru to any couple looking for a deliciously fun wedding!

  • B

    Barb · Married on 03/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for delicious food and exceptional service for a wedding, look no further. Cru nails it! From the beginning, Reilly helped us navigate this process from our initial phone conversation to the day of our daughter's wedding. She always answered questions and offered suggestions and never once tried to oversell us. The food was as delicious on the wedding day as it was during our tasting. And that's not easy to translate when feeding 250 guests! And after mentioning the quality of the food, our guests raved about the service. The crew at Cru went above and beyond to make this a day Kristen and Gray will never forget. Thank you!!!

  • C

    Caitlin · Married on 10/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This catering company is unreal! Our top 3 most important parts of the wedding were: venue, band and food. Cru delivered big time! I have celiac disease so needed gluten free options. They were able to take mostly anything we wanted on the menu and make it gluten free. And some things (like the mac and cheese- you NEED to get this for your guests) I didn't want all of it to be gluten free so they made a small serving size just for me and everyone else had regular pasta. Our guests were raving about how awesome the food was and there were 0 issues. The staff is so friendly. They packed a cooler filled with leftovers and a mini bottle of champagne for us to have at the end of the night-- which we did and even had some for lunch the next day! I highly recommend hiring Cru to cater your wedding!

  • B

    Beth · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was almost the best part of the day- second only to actually getting married. My guests are still talking about it! Separate from the food, Reilly and her team were amazing to work with and I couldn't recommend them more highly!

  • User6725771 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best caterer in town- they will make your wedding memorable for all. We had tons of people tell us how fabulous the food was- she-crab soup and shrimp and grits were amazing. Their presentation is beautiful and the staff were incredibly flexible, knowledgeable and professional

  • User4915368 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Such an amazing company! The food was delicious and our guests could not stop raving about the selection. My aunt is vegan and our meal was not vegan at all, but Cru made a special meal for her and she thanked us throughout the night. She said it was some of the best food she has ever had. They were so easy to work with even when I changed the menu a few times. I recommend them to anyone!

  • F

    Frances · Married on 05/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cru was more than willing to customized our menu and even used a family recipe to create individual-size tortes for our dessert table. They were also able to customize our bar package to use our favorite wines and cocktails. The food was fresh and amazing, and the price was more that reasonable for the quality. Our guests are still raving about the passed hors d'oeuvres, dinner, and desserts at our reception.

  • A

    alice · Married on 05/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was having a very difficult time picking out a caterer. A friend of mine suggested Cru and it was the best thing that's happened to me during this wedding planning process. On my first phone call there I had more information than I did from other caterers that I had been emailing for months. The girl I am working with, Jenna, is great, and I feel so confident about the quality of food and service I am getting. They have won best caterer in Charleston for 15 years, and they were not as expensive as some of the other caterers i was talking too. The tasting went great, and they were extremely accommodating to my mother's special dietary needs, and the food still tasted great.

  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 05/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cru was absolutely AMAZING! I already knew the food was awesome, but the service was unbelievable! Every single person we worked with before our wedding or on the day was so helpful and nice! The food being amazing was also a huge plus, the shrimp and grits, and mac and cheese were huge hits at the wedding! Cru definitely knows what their doing and perfected our beach house wedding! They gave us plenty of food of every single thing we had at the wedding to take home and try later. You could never go wrong with Cru!

  • E

    Elena · Married on 04/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CRU Catering was the perfect choice for our wedding day. They are the best of the best, top of the line and it was CLEAR why they have that reputation. Every aspect of the catering was impeccable: food, service, drinks, ambience, professionalism, atmosphere. ETC. Their high end quality and service was demonstrated to us on our first tasting. The chef and cooking staff truly wanted everything to be perfect. We had such trivial ideas and requests, too! Some people might be concerned that the price is out of their reach. Let me assure you that at the end of the day, our final total was not much different than the other two caterers we were looking at. CRU is worth every penny and that over again, they were absolutely incredible. I clearly can’t say enough good things about our experience with CRU and will forever recommend them for catering.

  • User4262088 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning a destination wedding can be quite the challenge, especially when all of your vendor meetings have to be over weekends. Cru was amazing and scheduled both of our tastings (one for food, one for specialty cocktails) on Saturdays during holiday weekends to accommodate our schedule. The food was amazing at our wedding and all of the guests are still talking about how delicious everything was. The people working at our wedding were very professional and I have no complaints! Highly recommend Cru for any of your catering needs!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review