Creative Sounds DJS, Inc. Reviews

18 | Camarillo, CA
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Creative Sounds DJS, Inc.

Recommended by 85% of couples

4.3 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.2
  • Professionalism 4.3
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.0
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

18
Order by:
  • M2H

    Felisha · Married on 09/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely perfect!!!! Cameron was amazing! He was able to accommodate last minute additions and helped me choose ceremony music that i was so indecisive on. He had great suggestions so that i didn't have to pick and choose between songs we were able to incorporate everything. He was extremely professional and so kind and personable. He did ceremony, cocktail, reception music and everyone raved about it. He had all of us dancing the whole night. We couldn't have asked for anybody better.

    Sent on 09/17/2013
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 08/31/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cameron is the absolute best!! Just a great guy and an amazing DJ!! My husband and I selected a handful of songs to give Cameron an idea of what we were looking for and he did all of the work, and an absolutely outstanding job!! I couldn't believe how quickly he had everyone up dancing and he kept them on the dance floor until the very last song! I couldn't have asked for anyone better. He truly MADE our wedding! I can't count how many people told me that our wedding was the best, most fun wedding they had ever been to. I would also have to recommend the Lazer Lights!!! They were incredible and well worth it! Thanks, Cameron!!

    Sent on 09/20/2013
  • User2536938 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Danny was amazing and our wedding was a success because of him. We would highly recommend anyone to Creative Sounds Djs.

    Sent on 07/12/2012
  • J

    Jj · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CameROn and crew were AMAZING! I had previously contracted with another DJ. I was taken aback by that company's lack of responsiviness and professionalism. They had me in tears about 2 months before my wedding. That is when I contacted Cameron. He and his company were fantastic! From the moment I called them they calmed me down adn everything ran smoothly! They had an online wedding planner that was do easy to fill out! I had complete confidence in Cameron. He made sure that everything that I wanted occured, just how I wanted them. The day of Cameron and his assistent we so helpful. They pretty much ran everything. My night was amazing and stress free. Cameron had people on the dance floor the entire evening. I couldn't have imagined my big day any better. Thanks in large part to Cameron. If you want a stress free, easy flowing wedding, then Cameron is your guy. I can't tell you how many complimentsI got on my DJ! They rocked!!! THey are well worth it!

    Sent on 06/04/2012
  • H

    Laura · Married on 11/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Creative Sounds ROCKED our wedding. People are still talking about all the fun they had and that they loved the DJ Dany. We will be recommending them to all of friends that will hopefully be getting married soon. Thanks again for making our wedding a success.

    Sent on 11/15/2011
  • J

    Jenny-Marie · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Many of my friends have used Creative Sounds DJ's and I would highly recommend Cameron Torkay for special events and weddings. He's a great DJ, professional, and we were really happy with him. I've already recommended him to friends!!

    Sent on 11/17/2011

    Creative Sounds DJS, Inc.'s reply:

    Thank you Jenny for having us be party of your wedding, we had a blast too. :)
  • C

    Candice · Married on 07/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cameron was an amazing DJ! We had such a great time at our wedding and recieved so many compliments from all our friends and family about how great he was! He was able to read the crowd and played the perfect music for our wedding!

    Sent on 07/20/2011
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 06/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cameron at Creative Sounds was absolutely amazing! He played such a great mix of songs and kept the party going at my wedding. He took requests and kept the whole night moving along smoothly. I couldn't have asked for a better DJ and I wouldn't have changed a thing.

    Sent on 07/02/2011
  • F

    Jenna · Married on 08/14/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Creative Sounds DJs was the best DJ I could have asked for. They clearly had experience and knew what they were doing, so everyone could sit back and enjoy a fun filled evening. I highly recommend hiring Creative Sounds DJs. Very easy to work with, personable, professional! Call them before they're booked. You want this DJ ladies.

    Sent on 06/30/2011
  • D

    Dennis · Married on 01/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cameron and his crew of 2 made our wedding the best it could be. We met Cameron prior to booking with his company at a Starbucks and his professionalism was exemplified right from the start.

    All the questions we had leading up to the wedding were answered promptly.

    Both my wife and I had the utmost confidence in his abilities and boy did he deliver on our wedding day. ABSOLUTELY amazing. NO HICCUPS whatsoever... the sound system was flawless, our slideshow was displayed perfect (despite the smaller venue), and the microphones were loud and clear.

    Book Cameron with confidence, he won't let you down and will truly make your wedding the best it can be.

    Thank you Cameron :)

    Sent on 07/16/2011
  • P

    Angela · Married on 08/08/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very happy with them. Eveything was right on.

    Sent on 08/26/2009
  • Athena

    Athena · Married on 09/30/2006

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely perfect!

    He listed to everything we said, timing was impeccable, very professional, well dressed... the list goes on! We paid a little extra to get the owner to come down for the wedding as he was the one we had been in contact with and knew exactly what we wanted. He was worth it and more!

    Sent on 06/13/2007
  • L

    Jennifer · Married on 10/27/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really loved Cameron & Rachelle at Creative Sounds DJ's. They were very professional & friendly and responded quickly to emails & phone calls. They had an awesome, yet minimal set-up, with everything being computerized. They were able to get whatever songs we requested, even if they weren't in their inventory of over 3,000 songs. They did a great job for our ceremony & reception, and adjusted whenever they needed to make the bride & groom & our guests happy and get them out their dancing.

    Sent on 12/07/2007
  • R

    Romichelle · Married on 06/01/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Ronny was professional, pleasant, and energetic. He made sure the crowd was entertained the whole night and he stuck to the party's agenda.

    Sent on 06/03/2012
  • D

    Nicole · Married on 05/19/2012

    2.8
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    What we discussed with him in our interview was different from what we got on our wedding day. He came highly recommended to us by a friend and our wedding was very fun, people were dancing, we just didn't get what we had asked for, I.e. he wore wrong attire, did not play songs we had discussed prior, it did not feel like he was into it due to him being on his cell phone the majority of the time. We will give him the benefit of the doubt and say it was just an off night for him. Very friendly and easy to work with in all our meetings.

    Sent on 05/29/2012

    Creative Sounds DJS, Inc.'s reply:

    We always appreciate our clients feedback and in 19 years of business we have never received such a response. Brides have referred us multiple times. However, we must address this review as we hope to address the concerns of our client (we are awaiting a response).

    The DJ did have a Tuexedo but the dry cleaning place ruined the tux and a replacement was not available within 48 hours. We are truly sorry that a formal black suit was a disappointment as a replacement.

    The DJ at this wedding, played over 90% of the songs on the clients request list as fit for the evening based upon danceability and the crowd , those that their guests requested during the evening and held the reception to the club style mix that was requested. Several guests came up to the DJ stating what a great mix of songs throughout the night.

    The DJ was preoppupied during the evening, however it was not due to the face that he was having an off night, he was busy trying to get the wedding coordinator to move things along as the Bride kept signaling to the DJ not the wedding coordinator who was absent to move on to the next 'moment. The wedding coordinator is there to coordinate the key moments but was not doing so, the videphotographer (who didn't have the right connections to plug into the sound system the DJ had to scamble to find cords to try to assist him) and the photographer (who said several times that he was either on break or was eating dinner).
    So the DJ couldn't follow the flow as those that were hired to lead were not leading and the key support partners who needed to be present for moments i.e. cake cutting, toasts etc were on breaks.

    In all, if a Bride is looking for a DJ who WILL bend over backwards to assist the rest of their vendors who are ill prepared for the wedding they were hired for then Creative Sounds DJs is the DJ Company to hire as we go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure your wedding dreams comes together when others fail.

    We are actively waiting for our client to call us to ensure that they are aware of the failure of their vendors and how it is being reflected upon the DJ in this review.
  • C

    Christine · Married on 10/05/2013

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    We were planning an event and needed to rent a screen for a projector at the Four Seasons in Westlake Village . Based on recent experience at our with a 4'x6' screen, we knew that we wanted a screen bigger than that, so we opted to rent something even though we had a 4'x6' screen. I called Torkay Event Services first to get a quote, and then to confirm and each time, spoke to a friendly and helpful representative quoted us for what I thought was going to be a 6'x8' screen.

    I received an email invoice and verified the delivery date and amount being charged. But when it came to the event date, we were surprised to find a very small screen -- measured at 50"x50". The screen was delivered on time, but was not at all what I'd ordered. We'd paid ~$100 (including delivery) to rent a tiny screen available on Amazon for $70.

    Since we had an hour before the event start, I gave Torkay a call to see if there was a mixup. They said that no, that was the screen size we'd ordered, and that a larger one would be $200, but they'd deliver the larger size 6'x8' if we were willing to pay the difference in price. It turned out in the end that screen was not available.

    After our event, I checked the invoice, which listed a 60" screen. After the event, I emailed Torkay Event Services, who insisted, quite heatedly and vehemently, that the smaller screen is what I'd rented all along and the 60" measurement on the invoice is for the diagonal, and actually I got a bigger screen (70" diagonal) that what I paid for!

    I am in complete disagreement, since I know that we had access to a free 4'x6' and would have gone with the Four Seasons screen if the price was $200. And while I was completely underwhelmed by the way the email exchanges went, I do think this was an honest miscommunication. When working with any vendor, I find there are the types that you can just trust to get things right based on what was was discussed, and then ones you have to watch and audit, which is annoying.

    Sent on 01/06/2014
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 08/02/2008

    1.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    I'm sorry. I hate to say bad things but I was very disappointed in this DJ. In the beginning the owner of the company was very friendly, of course. He promised we would have another meeting before the wedding to discuss the things I wanted. Well, a week before the wedding he is unavailable. Nether him or his assistant return my calls or emails, until one day, I finally reach his assistant. I end up meeting with her instead of him. I gave her a list of things that I wanted, which he didn't follow. For example, instead of people clanking glasses we wanted him to announce for them to sing a verse of a love song. He never did. We had to remind him. When he called for the father/daughter dance my dad was in the restroom, not just peeing mind you. I had to remind him when it was time to do the cake cutting, garter and bouquet. When we were waiting to do our Grand Entrance, we were left outside for 20 minutes before he finally came and got us, even thought everyone inside was already ready and waiting for us. I do admit, the dance floor was packed all night, but it's because he played the songs that I requested. I emailed him after to ask for some of my money back, but he declined. I have a great photo of his assistant in the biggest yawn I have ever seen. So sorry my wedding was too boring for them. It sucks, I still hear people complaining about him. He was basically a glorified jukebox. :( Oh well!

    Sent on 08/19/2008
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 04/21/2012

    0.8
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    Cameron, the owner, was very nice and personable. His receptionist is rude! She didn't call us when she should have and we had to scramble to find time to have our last meeting with Cameron before the event. Everything would have been fine if Cameron was our DJ. Instead, he assured us that he hand picks which one of his DJs are going to be at your event. We should have known something was up. He talked it up about how he would choose the best match. My husband and I are a typical SoCal young couple, he choose an older hispanic to be our DJ. That would have been fine if he could pronounce our names and the bridal party names correctly, that was a joke!!!! Thats not even the worst part! We told him take requests from our guests, my little 5 year old neice (one of my flower girls) asked him to play a song and he said no! Good thing one of my brides maids and my mom saw what happened, went over there and made him play the song! They should have made him apologize!!! The whole point of a DJ is to mix songs together and keep the party going. Well this "DJ" played each song all the way through! Half way through the songs the dance floor would clear out because people got bored! I could have done excatly what he did by just plugging in my Ipod! The Mic. and sound quality were good. We had them do some of our lighting, that was nice. But definitely doesn't make up for the DJ incompetence!!! I feel like we paid WAY too much for what we acctually got. For Sure would NOT recommend this company to anyone!!!!

    Sent on 06/25/2012