Skip to main content
Weddings

Creative Ceremonies Reviews

Creative Ceremonies

Creative Ceremonies

Waterford, MI
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 18 Reviews
View more information

18 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 18
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • S
    Shayna Married on 08/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Came through at the last minute!

    We had hired someone that was ordained by the Universal Life Church without realizing that anyone can do that, even without training. About a month before our ceremony, that person stopped responding. I had to start searching for a new person, but we didn't want a religious ceremony.

    Janis was available & willing to do the ceremony the way we wanted it. She helped us figure out the processional to include our parents who were divorced and remarried. Best of all, I could reach her anytime I wanted and she was willing for us choose things the way we wanted. I never heard back from the first officiant!
  • T
    Taran Married on 12/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great job!

    Janis did a great job - she walked us through a wide range of choices about what to include in the ceremony during the planning sessions, then delivered a very pleasant ceremony that worked out just the way we had hoped, complete with the vows we wrote ourselves.

    Creative Ceremonies's reply:

    Thank you so much - these kind of responses are why I love doing ceremonies. I am thrilled when people are happy!
  • A
    Angela P. Married on 10/19/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Halloween Wedding

    Janis was very flexible with us and assisted us with designing a ceremony that fit us as a couple. She even went as far as to participate and dress for our Halloween Costume Wedding. She did a very nice and professional job. Thanks
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 08/25/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved working with Janis! She helped us create a ceremony that was full of meaning and tradition without religious language which was a perfect fit for us. Many guests told us how moved they were by her touching advice after the ceremony. She was wonderful!
  • G
    Gregory Married on 09/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Janis was very professional and insightful. The ceremony she officiated for my new wife and I was wonderful.
  • T
    Tad Married on 07/01/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Janis was a dream to work with. We weren't even sure how to go about having a wedding. The only thing we did know was that we wanted a simple country-type ceremony. Janis gave us some guidelines to work within and before I knew it we had a plan. The plan was to have the ceremony outside but a storm blew in. Oh no ! Janis just rolled with it and we held the ceremony inside while the wind blew and the thunder crashed. Church ceremonies are so dry and rigid and deal mostly with what God expects of you. Not much about life or your relationship at all. Creative Ceremonies offers you a personal approach that is really about YOU and YOUR Wedding. She also offered good advice about what makes a marriage last and what's most important in your life together. At the end of the ceremony she recited the most beautiful poem about married life. Seriously, Hire This Woman for Your Wedding! Signed, A very happily married Tad & Lynn Baron
  • T
    Travis Married on 05/20/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Janis is a consummate professional. From beginning to end, she made us feel welcome and comfortable. She spent the time needed with us to really get to know us as a couple - which made our ceremony so much more special and custom - just for us. The personal touch really stood out to us, and we'd HIGHLY recommend her services to just about anyone. Truly a special day! My only recommend might be to use WeddingWire...but that's it. Thank you, Janis!
  • G
    Gabe Married on 10/11/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Janis made the entire experience comfortable and built trust with us from day one. She is straight forward and tells you how she likes to do ceremonies and also acknowledges that at the end of the day, it is about you and your spouse to be. She takes care to make the ceremony and its components personalized and special. We couldn't have asked to find a better officiant, I couldn't imagine our wedding without her!
  • D
    Dean Married on 07/05/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Janis was extremely helpful and hand-tailored our wedding ceremony to our needs. She had many creative suggestions that made the procession look wonderful and worked with us to say the right words to fit our unique blend of cultures!
  • M
    M Married on 03/28/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Janis took the time to get to know us, which we appreciated. She is kind, welcoming, professional, and knowledgeable. Our ceremony was personal and unique.
  • B
    Brian Married on 10/04/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Janice from Creative Ceremonies is much more than just an officiant. From the moment my wife and I met with her she was so welcoming and had brilliant insight into all of our questions.

    Before meeting with Creative Ceremonies, we were really worried about how to carry out a wedding ceremony that represented our non-religious belief system. Within 5 minutes, all of those worries melted away as Janice reassured and informed us that our ceremony, though not based in religion, can be as heartfelt and meaningful as any other belief's union while still being based in reality (which was very important for my wife and I).

    Creative Ceremonies excelled beyond our expectations by delivering the most beautiful wedding ceremony that both of our families, religious and otherwise, are still buzzing about to this day. Janice's words about friendship, commitment, and love resonated within everyone in attendance.

    I would ABSOLUTELY recommend Creative Ceremonies to anyone who is looking for a knowledgable, talented, and welcoming officiant. Especially if you feel lost in creating a ceremony that is representative of your beliefs.
  • User1366405 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were really impressed with our ceremony. It was important to us that it reflected who we are, what we believe, and that it ultimately create a positive, inclusive environment for all people from all backgrounds. Janis is incredibly intelligent, dedicated to what she does, and very invested in those she works with. Our initial conversation lasted for quite some time as she was able to connect with us on many levels. Our meeting was positive and gave us what we needed to customize our ceremony. The materials she provided gave us fantastic options! She was also extremely receptive to the items we wanted to include that were off script. On the day of she quickly took charge and ensured we were all on track and ready to go. We were both so thankful that she came ready to preform the ceremony and provide the leadership we believe a celebrant should. She was engaging, positive, warm, and fun. MANY of our guests commented specifically on how much they liked our ceremony (not in that "oh that was nice" way, but in a WOW that was great! kind of way).

    Ultimately, we had no fears or concerns leading up to the day. We connected multiple times and she was more than flexible with our hectic schedules. Her ceremony was fantastic and reflective of who we are as a couple. Her approach allowed us to create some incredible keepsakes for the rest of our lives.
  • User997486 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Janis, we just wanted to thank you again for creating a ceremony that reflected our beliefs and individuality. I attended two ceremonies you officiated in the past and was very impressed, so we decided to have you officiate at our wedding. I did not realize how much thought and effort you put into the process, and managing the ceremony so everything went smoothly and on time!

    Best regards,
    Sophia A.
  • User927498 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I'm surprised to see the first review. We had nothing short of a spectacular experience with this officiant. I won't go in to all details, but suffice to say that our day was perfect - and she couldn't have been more professional and attentive. Would highly recommend.
  • C
    Cindy
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Why recommend

    Janis is very responsive, offers excellent suggestions yet is flexible. Her humor is excellent. We really appreciated Janis' ceremony and readings handout/suggestions so we didn't have to start from scratch yet we could alter it or add to it.

    Creative Ceremonies's reply:

    Thank you, thank you! I loved working w/both of you - your personal style & humor made virtually every minute fun!
  • N
    Nikki Married on 07/24/2010
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    Janis is an absolute pleasure to work with. I loved the flexibility of being able to create a service we loved.
  • A
    Allison Married on 07/02/2011
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    We got a lot of compliments on the service. She let us customize the ceremony as much as we wanted. My only complaint was she got a little power-hungry right before the ceremony and tried reordering the entire bridal party. Luckily my DOC was there to fix things, otherwise the musician's cues would have been completely messed up.

    Creative Ceremonies's reply:

    This was a lovely ceremony. Unbeknownst to the bride, the groom asked me to make these changes & wasn't aware it would cause a problem. Once I was told it would, I quickly backed down. It certainly was a matter of being 'power hungry'!
  • User924814 2+ years ago
    Rating 2.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    I'm sorry to have to say that I was disappointed in this officiant. We met with her twice before our wedding to discuss the details. The first time we went in to meet with her, we gave her a lot of information, but the second meeting was much like the first - she didn't seem to remember much of what we told her before. And I didn't feel that we accomplished anything more than our first meeting.

    Then the day of our wedding, she wanted to make changes to the order of the ceremony (that we had typed up and given her a week prior) and told me that that was her job to make those decisions. That just wasn't something I needed to hear right before our planned out (and rehearsed) ceremony. Also, we had special lighting cues (it was in a theatre) to go with the order of the ceremony, which couldn't be changed at that point. Granted these were only small changes that she wanted to make, but I felt as though we hadn't asked her to help with those decisions and so she shouldn't be insisting on her opinion of how things should go.

    Our ring bearer's mother was late getting to the wedding, so we had to hold the start of the wedding over by 15 minutes. There was no excuse for that and I was totally stressing out, but how could we start without our ring bearer? The officiant was very bothered by this and made some comments about starting late that upset me. I started to cry because after all, I was a bride moments from walking down the aisle and I'm missing my ring bearer and my officiant is being less than helpful.

    I could have forgiven these things until I watched our wedding video... Our officiant looked uninterested and even looked at her watch twice! I was very hurt by this. Our ceremony was only 20 minutes long after all... And frankly, I've been to a number of weddings that didn't start on time. This should just be expected as it is the most important day of your life and there are a lot of factors to be considered (people showing up late, photos, etc).

    Creative Ceremonies's reply:

    Wow! In response, I write custom ceremonies based on the information given me by the couple. Then I put together the ceremony and write 'order of service' which is indeed, my job. I'm sorry that the bride didn't understand that, but I offered to change it back immediately as it would not have caused a problem and was refused. As far as our second meeting, I recall being very concerned with an issue that concerned the groom which I could only have recalled from the previous meeting. In addition, no wedding starts exactly on time, but after 15 minutes late, it does start to cause a scheduling problem. At the time, I was speaking to the groom and unfortunately was overheard by the bride. Also, since I was participating in every moment of the ceremony, I believe it's next to impossible to have time to look bored! I really liked this couple, was very concerned with some of the issues they faced and I am very sorry that our experiences were so different - it happens sometimes, but fortunately not often.