County Line Orchard Reviews

26 | Hobart, IN
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for County Line Orchard

Recommended by 92% of couples

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.5
  • Flexibility 4.6
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

26
Sort by:
  • Karleen

    Karleen R. · Married on 10/04/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful and Unique wedding venue!

    We were married here on 7/16/21 and had the very best day ever thanks to our coordinator, Jessica!! The day of our rehearsal, there was a 80% chance of rain for our wedding day. Jessica made us feel at ease and had us rehearse outside as well as walked us through the backup plan. We were lucky enough to be married in the row of trees outside, but I know it would've been just as beautiful inside. Jessica made us feel very comfortable and we were not worried about weather issues at all. We received SO many compliments on how beautiful and unique the venue was, and how great the food was. We are from Chicago and the majority of our planning occurred during COVID - so we had most of our meetings w/CLO staff via Zoom, which was very convenient for our schedules. The staff is so friendly and responsive, they were accommodating of some last minute changes for us- which was highly appreciated. We are beyond grateful that we found this venue and did not opt for any of the venues we visited in Chicago. Also- we had lots of guests come from out of town as well and this location was great with its proximity to O'Hare/Midway.
    Our guests said this was the best wedding they had attended, we cannot thank Jessica and her team enough! Thank you again Jessica, we truly appreciate all that you did to attend to our needs during the wedding! From getting us drinks to keeping everything on track with the timeline, we couldn't have asked for anything more. We highly recommend CLO to anyone who is looking for a beautiful, unique, and accommodating venue!!

    Sent on 07/28/2021
  • Brittney

    Brittney S. · Married on 07/25/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfection!

    County Line was the absolutely perfect location for my dream wedding! The middle barn was absolutely beautiful for the reception. We were married under the big oak tree, and it was completely perfect!
    All of the wedding coordinators that work at County Line are great as well! They respond to emails and phone call quickly!
    I couldn’t recommend this place enough!

    Sent on 08/02/2020
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding here and it was absolutely amazing! From the food to the service, we couldn't have been happier with how our wedding turned out!! Hopefully we'll be back for other weddings in the future :)

    Sent on 06/13/2017
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When planning our wedding, my husband and I knew right away we wanted a rustic themed wedding. That helped narrow down the search field a bit.
    We live in Chicago, but we did NOT want a Chicago wedding. We have a tradition of apple picking every year, and County Line Orchard was only an hour drive from us we decided to take a look at the venue. The minute we pulled into the parking lot we both just knew it was where we wanted to get married.
    The barn is gorgeous inside and out-it had the look and feel we were both looking for. We just got married 2 weeks ago and for a summer wedding they offer two spots you can get married at outside-we picked the large Oak Tree. It was breathtaking.
    County Line Orchard is a perfect venue for do it yourself type brides (and grooms!) They do offer decor and lighting you can rent as well!
    And I can't forget about our AMAZING on-site wedding coordinator, Heather. OMG. I don't know HOW we would have gotten through the day without her. She not only is there to answer your questions throughout the process-she's a DAY OF wedding coordinator. She's there right from the start to the very end. She's like this secret ninja that's going and doing 100 things and you don't even know how she does it. Seriously. We could not have done it without her.
    And let me tell you about the food. Oh.my.god. We KNEW how good the food was because of our food tasting, but our guests could NOT stop talking about how amazing it was.
    There was only ONE huge downside to getting married here. Our pet dog was not allowed at the venue. We were very shocked to find out dogs weren't allowed since we had an outdoor ceremony. I've had my dog since he was 3 months old and my husband acquired him as his own when we started dating. He'll be 10 this July, so to not be able to have him there on our big day was a little heartbreaking, but we made sure to incorporate him in many ways.
    Other than that, having our wedding at County Line was amazing. Request Heather!!!

    Sent on 06/17/2016
  • K

    Karen · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My daughter was married at County Line Orchard on August 8th. She searched long and hard for the perfect barn venue – once she visited County Line she was done looking! She held her ceremony in the Room of Trees, and her reception in the North Barn. The guests loved the wagon ride to the ceremony and the lemonade stand. The venue was beautiful and the day was perfect! We owe much of that to our coordinator Heather. We cannot thank her enough for walking us through all of the final details and last minute changes. Everything was set up exactly as we asked and all of Heather’s recommendations were so helpful. And when a few small issues arose on the day of the wedding (nothing Orchard related) she calmly helped us through! With Heather in charge, my daughter, her husband and our families were able to relax and just enjoy the entire day and evening. I hadn’t expected to need a wedding coordinator, but I’m so grateful that we had Heather’s help to make my daughter’s wedding that much more special. I would recommend County Line Orchard to anyone thinking about a barn wedding, and if you’re lucky enough to have Heather coordinate for you, your day will be perfect!

    Sent on 09/01/2015
  • User4712617 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't believe I am the first one to review this venue. Firstly, I could go on forever about how wonderful this venue is, but I will try to keep it short. The venue itself is breathtaking. It was the first and only place we looked at and we had never even been there before. They have two outdoor locations for a ceremony. They also have indoor ones. And I did not know this but they can host three weddings at once. We were so fortunate to get the last available day of the year in the middle barn. Now onto Heather, who was our wedding coordinator and who I could not thank enough for making the wedding planning process so much easier for me. I cannot even say how many last minutes changes I threw at her due to the ever changing number of guests and she made sure everything was taken care of. Also, if food is what is important to you then this is your place. I personally am a vegetarian and I don't really care about the food at a wedding, but I can't even count the number of times that people said that was the best wedding food they ever had, which is hard to do, in addition to people saying it was the most unique and beautiful wedding they had ever been to. We could not be happier with our choice. The best part is we can go there in the fall for apple picking!!!

    Sent on 08/10/2015
  • H

    Hillary · Married on 11/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    County Line Orchard went above and beyond to make our big day run smoothly. The staff is absolutely wonderful. I had a sore throat and they brought me hot tea with cinnamon without me asking for it. I couldn't be happier with how amazing the day turned out. Their event planners are so helpful!

    Sent on 11/25/2014
  • User2331181 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    County Line Orchard provided the absolute perfect day for our wedding. Our coordinator was extremely responsive and helpful throughout the planning process as well as on our wedding day. She made sure that everything went smoothly from decorating all the way through to the very last moments in the day of clean up.

    Our guests loved the venue and the full experience of getting to ride the wagon back to our ceremony site and enjoy lemonade while waiting for the ceremony to start. All of my friends are now saying that they want to have a barn wedding because of our wedding.

    Sent on 08/14/2013
  • H

    Heather · Married on 08/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    County Line Orchard was the perfect background for our special day! The food was plentiful & delicious. Our wedding coordinator, Steffane, was accommodating & always quick to respond to any questions we had. The beauty if the facility & grounds are only shadowed by the efficiency of the staff. What a dream!

    Sent on 09/16/2013
  • User2672730 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    County Line Orchard's "Barn" venue was exactly what my new husband and I had been looking for. We wanted plenty of space for line dancing but we also wanted a more casual location that was NOT a gym... County Line EXCEEDED our expectations, and we got lots of GREAT feedback from our guests about the location. :) Good job County Line! I would DEFINITELY recommend them to anyone!

    Sent on 01/14/2013
  • User2867684 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As the latest trends show that rustic, country weddings are all the rage, CLO's barn is perfect for not only someone who wants a country barn type wedding, but also the bride that is looking for a traditional classic wedding!

    The Barn at CLO is more than most can imagine and something definitely worth seeing in person. It is such a unique venue that gives off such warmth and personality. The space itself can lend itself to so many types of styles and more.

    Knowing that I wanted a barn reception, I was so happy to find this gorgeous space! My husband and I secured the Center space within the barn and it gave our 250 guests so much space to enjoy. We entertained our guests in the loft space for the cocktail hour and finished with dinner and dancing on the main floor. Our guests had lots of space to sit and enjoy dinner, but also enjoyed enough space to dance the night away! I am so lucky to have been able to work with Pam for our entire wedding process. She is so great to work with, answered so many of my crazy questions and really helped make our night into what we had always hoped it would be.

    On top of the space being wonderful, the food was FANTASTIC! We had so many people ask us after the wedding if we would be able to get the recipes for our dinner choices. As a special thank you, we sent each guest home with a CLO homemade apple donut; those donuts are the best things you will ever try!

    All in all, you can't go wrong with County Line Orchard as your venue for your wedding reception!

    Sent on 12/14/2012
  • User2580512 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was just here for my best friend's wedding on November 15, 2013. Katie, the wedding coordinator was wonderful! She went above and beyond for the bride, groom and the entire wedding party. She even started the ceremony late, with no complaints, so the bride was able to take the pictures she desired. I know that her positive attitude and strong work ethic definitely helped make Melissa and Eric's day memorable. Katie, you're AWESOME! I would recommend the County Line Apple Orchard to anyone!

    Sent on 11/17/2013
  • M

    Megan · Married on 05/19/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely beautiful!! And Roxanne was so easy to work with and was incredibly helpful!!

    Sent on 05/28/2012
  • T

    Teresa · Married on 07/15/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was BEAUTIFUL!!! The service and food were good; I heard the drinks were strong and my guests were happy. I'm very glad I chose CLO for my big day!

    Sent on 07/19/2017
  • T

    Tricia · Married on 08/05/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    County Line Orchard was a beautiful venue for out August 2017 wedding! Our wedding coordinator, Heather, helped us out every step of the way. She was very organized and professional throughout the planning process. On the day of the event, she did a wonderful job keeping everything on track and making sure everybody had whatever they needed. The venue is a bit on the pricey side, as things add up quickly, but we think it was worth every penny! Highly recommended!

    Sent on 09/07/2017
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 11/17/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Steffanie from County Line Orchard helped make our wedding reception so special! She went above and beyond to take care of every little detail for our day and did it always with a smile and sincerity that made us feel like she really knew us and cared about our day! The orchard was such a beautiful place for our reception and I am still getting friends and family members calling me 7 weeks later to tell me how wonderful it was! I recommend county line to anyone looking to do something different than just a regular banquet hall. it was truly incredible!

    Sent on 01/03/2013
  • T

    Traci · Married on 07/21/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The County Line Orchard and the Barn are a very beautiful and unique place to have a wedding and/or reception. We absolutely loved every part of our day there. Roxanne, our coordinator, was fantastic. Once the ceremony started, I didn't have to think about a thing. I can't thank her enough. The staff was friendly. The food provided by their caterer was very good. I received tons of compliments about everything of that day. Could not have been happier.

    Sent on 08/20/2012
  • J

    Josie · Married on 06/30/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    CLO is a perfect setting for a country charm/vintage wedding. Only 40 miles from downtown, you and your guests will feel like they are WAY out in the country.

    We originally found the Orchard while searching online for a non-traditional venue to have our wedding/reception.

    After we visited, we knew it would be the perfect setting for our day.

    They are very flexible and will accommodate your needs to ensure the day is to your liking.

    The barn is huge and fits large parties comfortably.

    Our guests were SO impressed with the venue. Many of them told us it was the coolest, most unique wedding they had been to. :)

    Advice to other couples:
    It is SO big, our guests had a hard time hearing the speeches. Be sure your DeeJay/band has speakers loud enough to reach all areas of the barn.
    Ask lots of questions!! This venue is a very reasonable price, but the costs do add up once you add on wine upgrades, bride/groom's kegs, chair upgrades, etc.
    This is not a ONE price deal (like some venues). Don't be fooled that this is a cheaper option -- unless you want a bare bones wedding. The cost was comparable to many Chicagoland venues after everything was said and done, which is what we had expected. It was BEAUTIFUL!

    Thank you CLO for making our wedding a total dream!

    Our hotel was 20 mins away at the Radisson at the Start Plaza. Though it is a bit of a drive, it was a perfect place for us and our guests. There is an Irish Pub on site that is open until 2am. We closed it down after the wedding! Starbucks, 2 pools! SO FUN!!

    Sent on 07/16/2012
  • User3494389 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    The Barn at County Line Orchard was everything I hoped for for my wedding reception. The venue-both inside and out-is beautiful. The barn and apple orchard provided the perfect backdrop for wedding photos. I cannot even count how many guests came up to us and commented on how beautiful the venue was, and that it was really "us."

    The food was plentiful and delicious, and many of our guests commented about how good it was after the reception. We also had the wonderful chef Jonna at County Line make our wedding cake. She looked up a special, international cake recipe at our request. It was better than anything we had had in mind! The favor was the famous County Line Orchard apple doughnuts. Guests kept asking where they could buy more.

    Everyone at County Line was very flexible and helpful to us. Amy Wielgus made sure to follow through on everything we had been promised at our initial meeting. We were planning our wedding from overseas and so flexibility and communication were extremely important to us.

    One issue was that we were originally promised a food tasting at a date when we would be back in the country, about a month before our wedding. Later we were told the opposite and that we would have to send a family member on a specific date, since we would not be available ourselves. They said there were "too many weddings" to do a private taste testing. That was frustrating and didn't seem like a very professional or attentive way to work with a bride and groom. When we said that this wouldn't work for us, and that we, the bride and groom, needed a tasting, they did accommodate us and our schedule. We were very grateful for that.

    We were under the minimum guest count, and we had many options as to how to make the minimum spend. We chose to have the Orchard provide our wedding cake, s'mores, apple cider, and the doughnuts as the favor. Again, we loved this flexibility.

    Roxanne was so helpful as our coordinator and made sure everything came together beautifully on t

    Sent on 08/27/2013
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 02/23/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding was in February 2013 at County Line Orchard. We worked with Amy to have our ceremony in one of the side barns and the reception in the center. I was assigned to work with Steffane as my coordinator. Once we got past the money/contract I had such a great experience working with Steffane. She answered all of my questions the day I asked and made sure I thought of every detail for both ceremony and reception. I was so happy to have her comfort me in the last few minutes before I walked down the aisle.

    We had Jonna as our caterer. The food was fantastic! We chose to upgrade and serve a plated filet with wild mushroom stuffed ravioli (so yummy!). We had a vegan cous cous primavera for the vegetarian option. Jonna also made 5 different flavors of cupcakes instead of a cake for guests. All the food was perfect and our guests were actually full!

    The decor options that County Line provides are stunning! Although they can add up in price, its very much worth renting all the lighted branches and decor possible! I would also suggest hanging lights around the banisters with twine. They aren't allowed to tell you the dimensions so you have to guess on how many lights to buy. Unfortunately I was a little short so we had lights along the long banister only. We used 4 strands total but I had 5 (if I remember correctly). So, I would suggest buying around 8 strands of lights to get the job done.

    My biggest complaint about the venue would be the disconnect between the first contract signing/estimate to the very last. We had signed our contract and then months later made our selection for food, rentals, ect at the final payment. A week later I received a call asking for more money because we had selected the filet for dinner. To be clear, I knew I wanted filet from day 1 but there was never any mention of charging more. So although it makes sense to charge more for a filet than a chicken breast, it was frustrating that we weren't told until a week before the wedding.

    Sent on 03/13/2013
  • A

    Amy · Married on 05/18/2019

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue

    Absolutely fell in love with the beauty of the venue. Offer a variety of options. A little pricier than we were hoping for, but that’s weddings these days. With food we tend to be a little picky, after the tasting we were a little hesitant, but the food and cake the day of turned out wonderfully. Unfortunately had my day rain out, thankfully the CLO team was very flexible.

    Sent on 07/03/2019
  • J

    Jillian · Married on 05/26/2012

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our wedding was May 26, 2012 at County Line Orchard in the South Barn. There were many many things that we loved about this venue. It was gorgeous, unique, and very beautifully decorated on the day of our event. Plus, it was extremely memorable to all of our guests. CLO provides some unique services like a tractor pulled wagon ride to take guests to the ceremony location and apple donuts and cider during the reception. County Line also has a GORGEOUS bridal suite, which made the whole day and pictures worth while.

    We had an excellent wedding day at CLO. Our contact Pam was right on point on the day of our wedding. She's knowledgeable, quick to please and she seemed to work well with our day of coordinator. Pam also put up with our many many DIY projects which we sincerely appreciated.

    We had just a few minor issues with CLO in the days leading up to our event. I want to emphasize that these few things only knocked CLO down from five stars to 4.2, so take what you will from this information.

    County Line is expensive. There are many things that are not included in the price and are considered add-ons - if you have a strict budget, this might not be the place for you. For example, the orchard provides 50 chairs for an outdoor ceremony but all of the rooms at CLO require a minimum of 150 guests. This required you to purchase/rent another 100 chairs at least from CLO at about $2.25 per chair.

    Additionally, at our last meeting for our final payment, we noticed that several of the prices quoted to us originally had gone up since our last meeting. These were small things, such as the price of the apple donuts increasing by a dollar. But, at the final meeting it was irritating and frustrating to feel like we had to pay price increases that were not expected.

    Finally, our ceremony and reception were at the same location, but we were not allowed to come in on the day of the wedding and set up or decorations until noon. This required us to purchase an additional three hours of time during that day at $250 for three hours. Again, not a huge amount of money, but certainly money we weren't expecting to shell out.

    These are just a few examples of times when we felt that County Line was charging us just for the sake of a few extra dollars. Could they have just given us the donuts for the previously agreed upon price? Of course, and that extremely small savings would have made me feel better about recommending this venue to other brides.

    Overall, when you are standing up there getting married, you don't think about the cost of the chairs your guests are sitting in. We had an amazing day at County Line but I believe other brides should be aware of certain aspects of CLO when choosing a venue.


    Sent on 06/05/2012
  • H

    Jaime · Married on 05/17/2008

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We got married out in the apple orchard and then went into the beautiful old barn for our reception.

    Our guests loved that the venue was so unique. I loved that the staff was so helpful, especially our wedding planner (included with the cost of the venue). Jeanette responded promptly to any of our phone calls, was full of great ideas, and was willing to move around decorations, tables, and tractors to help use create the ambiance we were looking for.

    The day of the wedding Jeannette was indispensable helping everything run smooth. She even had a sewing kit on hand to sew me back into my dress when the clasp broke.

    Sent on 08/26/2008
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 07/26/2007

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The wedding planner was very nice and helpful. It just seemed as though they were really busy and kinda hard to get a hold of sometimes but over all we ended up having a great time and the food was good. If you dont like the whole fancy over the top wedding you will love this place alot of room and very down to earth it was great

    Sent on 12/04/2009
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 11/13/2015

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.5

    This is a complicated review for me to write, I really loved my wedding & how it turned out. However that’s mainly credited to my amazing new husband, family, wedding party & vendors. The venue itself is beautiful. We had our ceremony & reception in the North Barn. My problems stem mainly from the staff & lack of communication. We got married in off-season & on Friday so we received a substantial discount. However, when meeting with the ‘sales person’ she sold us on a lot of things that the Orchard just doesn’t do, which we found out later in the planning stages with the coordinator. However the Orchard took responsibility, apologized for their sales person & tried to help us out, which we were very appreciative of. Our coordinator was wonderful during our meetings.Everything else was fine during the planning stages, The food ended up being absolutely delicious, the bar was serving people quickly & everyone was having a great time.All the small little inconveniences I could have forgotten about like my husband, in his suit, having to clean dust off 165 chairs because the staff couldn’t be bothered, or the staff forgetting to set up one of the dinner tables. My final straw and what really urged me to write a review was my beautiful wedding cake was carelessly thrown away and never served to me or any of my guests. I had purchased sheet cakes for all my guests and had instructed the coordinator to serve the wedding party & myself the wedding cake. They did not, they served everyone sheet, when I asked about the wedding cake she said it was in her notes to be thrown away. That was NEVER discussed. It was an expensive cake & a gift from family. I was in tears. When contacting the Orchard they gave me back my damage deposit &a very very small compensation.I just recommend to any bride getting married here, make sure you ask a lot of questions, have EVERYTHING written down and have constant communication with your coordinator.

    Sent on 01/06/2016