Weddings

Contemporary DJ's Photo Booths & Lighting Reviews

Contemporary DJ's Photo Booths & Lighting

Contemporary DJ's Photo Booths & Lighting

Sacramento, CA
Rating 4.3 out of 5, 13 Reviews
View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
4.3
out of 5.0
Recommended by 87% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.4 out of 5

Awards

  • 13
Sort by:
  • Brianna
    Brianna Married on 04/24/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We loved Contemporary DJ's!

    We had to find a new DJ after changing our wedding date (thanks, COVID) and it ended up working out for the best thanks to the awesome team at Contemporary DJ's. They were wonderful both leading up to our wedding date and on the day of. Extremely communicative, professional, and friendly. Highly recommend!
  • Mary
    Mary Married on 06/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Bride and Groom

    Contemporary DJs were so wonderful and easy to work with. Not only did they play a wide variety of music that made everyone get up and dance, but they were so accommodating when we asked for Bilingual Spanish services. They truly care about what you want to see and hear at your wedding. They took requests from Indian music to Spanish to 60s American music. They can do it all! Not one person left our wedding feeling like they didn’t have a great time, and That’s because of Contemporary! Thank you so much for making our wedding so memorable!
  • K
    Kimberly Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They were absolutly amazing!!! He played all the right songs at all the right times! The up lighting was beautiful!! The photo booth was elegant! Prettiest photo booth I’ve ever seen! These guys are seriously outstanding and more!! Best DJ ever!
  • A
    Ang Married on 04/01/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This is the last DJ/Lighting review you will have to read because after reading it - you just NEED TO CHOOSE CONTEMPORARY DJs!
    After speaking to our wedding coordinators, reading blogs and reviews- we started the process with Jessica and made our decision to work with them! Not only were we 150% comfortable - we had peace of mind and just knew from the very beginning that all decisions that were made throughout the process were made because they CARE and they just know how to have a GREAT time!
    Contemporary DJs WILL HELP and EXECUTE the plan. Your vision is their vision and they will be there for the both of you every step of the way.
    They did not just execute "the music"- their team took care of our Grand Entrance from start to finish, ensuring they pronounced EVERYONE'S name correctly, read the body language of our guests and monitored the dance floor at all times, were great hosts on the mic and were the FOUNDATION of the NON-STOP ENERGY on our day. There's nothing else we could have asked for...they went above AND beyond for us on our wedding day!
  • Rob & Linda
    Rob L. Married on 08/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Linda and I just got married on 8/4/16 at Vizcaya in Sacramento.

    We hired Contemporary DJ's for our music, photo booth and lighting.

    We had several meetings with Jessica, got our music and everything set.  It was such a pleasure working with all of them at the wedding.   They kept everything alive.  We had around 50-60 dancers at the wedding, plus the rest of our guests, everyone was going at it on the dance floor and really enjoying themselves.

    Our first dance as a married couple worked great too.

    Everything was perfect, it was a pleasure working with Contemporary DJ's and Linda and I would highly recommend them to anyone who needs their professional services.

    Thank you again

    Rob & Linda Lerman
  • S
    Stacy Married on 06/29/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They were very reasonable in pricing and also provide lighting. They did a good job and the variety of music they played while also sticking to genres of choice and the songs that we picked. I loved that they provide three people; a coordinator who oversees all of the timing of the songs for the ceremony and the special dances during the reception; an MC who did all of the talking/announcing; and a DJ who was strictly in charge of playing all of the music. There was only one little mistake with the song for the father/daughter dance but they realized it and fixed it quickly.
  • User950201 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tory and Jessica were great!!! Everyone loved the photo booth and the music no one said anything about my monogram on the dance floor = ( But I noticed it and loved it !! Note it may not be best to do it if you are having a outdoor wedding like I did
  • Krystin
    Krystin Married on 10/15/2016
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding is this coming October, so I will update my review then; however, we are happy to have booked Contemporary DJ's for our special day! They have been SUPER responsive to all our questions and were great to meet with. Also, they don't have clunky/ugly DJ and lighting equipment which we are excited for! Stay tuned for an update, but, so far, we would recommend them!
  • User1398817 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I loved working with Jessica & Tory of Contemporary DJ's! They were so involved, on top of every little detail, and VERY accommodating! We hired them for DJ services as well as for Photo Booth. They were by far one of my favorite vendors I had the pleasure of working with for my wedding. They really paid attention to what I wanted my day to be like and respected my wishes as a bride. Jessica and Tory are so much fun and very professional. I would definitely recommend them and I would also most definitely use them again!
  • M
    Michelle Married on 02/07/2015
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Tory and Jessica were so easy to work with! Contemporary DJs were are DJs, photobooth and lighting guys. We looked into several other DJ's/lighting/photobooth vendors and decided these guys were perfect for us. At out initial meeting you could tell that Tory knew his stuff. They had a new lighting system that could give us a wide variety of colors to light up the wall. The photobooth was great. Nothing fancy, but perfect for what we wanted and they had a great variety of props. Tory was our MC and had a DJ with him (sorry, can't remember his name) and they were both great at our reception. So glad we went with Contemporary DJs. Price and level of service were great!
  • A
    Amanda Married on 10/11/2013
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We worked with Jessica and Tory for the music and lighting at our wedding and we cannot say enough nice things about this vendor. The DJ was top importance for me - I am a dancing feend, a wedding reception is the best party you'll ever throw and what's a party without dancing?

    I spent a lot of time researching and contacting different DJs, but wasn't satisfied until we met these guys. I feared the tacky 80's cheese ball DJs and have been to enough weddings that were flops because the music was all wrong. These guys are not that!!! They were everything we wanted. From the first interview, they were incredibly professional, put together, on point and completely understood what we wanted for our day.

    The day of, Jessica checked in with me for timing queues and to make sure that everything was going how I wanted. She was incredibly sweet and attentive and made sure our night was filled with all of our favorite dance songs. Tory was a wonderful MC and didn't miss a beat the whole night. He was very cool headed, engaged guests, was not cheesy at all, and really takes his job seriously. We had a mix age group of guests and he was able to pull songs that kept everyone happy - especially my husband and me.

    I am not exaggerating when I say that the dance floor was packed the whole night long!!! People didn't want to stop or leave :) The reception was everything we wanted and Jessica and Tory really were the biggest part in making that happen.
  • Courtney
    Courtney W. Married on 07/09/2021
    Rating 1.2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Unprofessional and Unreasonable

    Due to the recent pandemic, we had to move our wedding from July to September. Contemporary DJ's refuses to be reasonable, and they refuse to acknowledge our new wedding date. They do not offer refunds, and they are downright rude and unprofessional. They suggested that we move our date to a particular time that fits their schedule. (Ha! What a joke. Their suggestion included a Tuesday or Thursday.) They are the only vendor that has given us a hard time for moving our date, only because of the pandemic. Absolutely terrible. DO NOT BOOK THEM.
  • Ryan
    Ryan Married on 07/09/2021
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Unwilling to Cooperate with Covid-19

    This company is failing to honor the epidemic clause in their contract due to the Coronavirus. We had to go through the hassle of moving our wedding date only due to the virus and this DJ cannot make the new date and they refuse to refund our deposit even though the contract says we are owed it. Rob and Leslie have been extremely rude to us in this process as well, even suggesting to the point we should move our wedding again just to accommodate them, even if that means having it on a Tuesday instead of a Saturday. It does not matter what the venue has available or what works for our family. They are completely selfish and greedy in their interests and do not really want you to have a good wedding day. It is astounding how unprofessional they have been. I have had to pursue legal support against them just to make them follow through on the epidemic clause of the contract. Additionally as I have been looking up more details on the business for this, I have found they are not registered as a corporation or LLC/LP in California. For the amount of business they do, a sole proprietorship would be stupid, but is possible. The other possibility is the business is operating illegally. I strongly recommend not using Contemporary DJ's.