Columbus Museum of Art Reviews

9 | Columbus, OH
See photos, pricing and details

9 Reviews for Columbus Museum of Art

Recommended by 92% of couples

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.1

Awards

9

1 User photo

Order by:
  • Micah

    Micah Johnson · Married on 10/10/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Columbus Museum of Art

    I cannot wait to have our wedding at the Columbus Museum of Art! I’m very excited, by speaking to Olivia, she was very helpful and she is making sure that my vision comes to life!

    Sent on 07/02/2019

    Columbus Museum of Art's reply:

    Micah - We are so happy that you chose the Columbus Museum of Art for your wedding! We are counting down to 10/10/2020
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my fiancé (now husband) and I were searching for a ceremony location, we wanted to find something that would fit our vintage, classic theme, and the Columbus Museum of Art perfectly fit our vision in every way! He is an artist, and owns his own art business, and so this venue was absolutely perfect for us! From the moment we met Katie Laux, who was our event coordinator, we knew we were in good hands! I absolutely LOVE her!! She is such a wonderful and fantastic person, and that truly shows in her work!! She always responded to my emails within hours, and helped us bring our dream ceremony to life! Our ceremony was in the Derby Court, and it would not have been more beautiful. The sky lighting was the best part – the sun shone through on us throughout the ceremony! Our guests could not stop talking about how beautiful the ceremony was. Katie’s motto for the entire weekend (both rehearsal and ceremony) was “You don’t have to think, I do the thinking for you” and it could not have been more true! She was so organized and orchestrated everything for us, between the set up and flow of the rehearsal, organizing the readers, helping out our officiant in any way, and helping our photographer orchestrate my fiancé and I giving each other gifts prior to the ceremony without seeing each other! I cannot say ENOUGH good things about Katie and the Columbus Museum of Art! I would highly recommend this venue to anyone planning a wedding!! It was truly our dream wedding!

    Sent on 06/07/2015
  • A

    Annie · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the most beautiful venue ever. My photos and videos were perfection.

    Katie, the event manager makes your day run so smooth, she helped contact all my vendors and tell them where to go, and day of she helped coordinate. She responded to my 100s of e-mails and was AWESOME.

    Your guests even get to walk around the museum all night. We also did cocktail hour at the museum, so no one had to leave at all.

    HIGHLY, HIGHLY recommend!

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • H

    Holly · Married on 07/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Columbus Museum of Art not only provided a gorgeous and unique backdrop for our wedding but also was the perfect solution for my husband and I (I am Catholic, he is not)! Our ceremony was held in Derby Court and the the beauty and grace of the room, combined with the glass ceiling and abundance of natural lighting gave us exactly what we were looking for! You have freedom and creative with your decor (we had a few floral arrangements and a heritage/unity candle table) and the room seats 215. Katie Laux, our coordinator at the museum was an absolute pleasure to work with, from being prompt and efficient with our meetings and my (countless :)) emails to have champagne waiting for us in the bridal room the morning of the wedding! Not to mention the stunning pictures our photographers were able to capture!!! It was an absolute dream location!!! Holly P.

    Sent on 07/31/2014
  • M

    Mira · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely incredible experience! Working with Katie was a breeze! Amazing venue, food, and staff!

    Sent on 05/30/2014
  • Amy

    Amy Tausch · Married on 09/07/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue, great staff!

    I'm so happy we chose the CMA for our wedding venue. It is such a gorgeous and unique setting (we had the cocktail hour in the sculpture garden and our reception in Derby Court). Our guests loved exploring the galleries after dinner and the photos we've received thus far are stunning. Kristal is a boss. She took care of everything, and even thought to bring us a couple cocktails before my husband and I made our entrance into the reception. Much needed :) Everything went so smoothly. We're very grateful

    Sent on 09/12/2019
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 06/11/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Our ceremony and cocktail hour at the CMA was beautiful - it is the perfect location for a classical, elegant wedding. We had a small wedding and easily fit into the Derby Court with seating at one end for the ceremony, tall tables at the other end for cocktails. When we first contracted with the museum, we had difficulty maintaining contact with the CMA coordinator as well as the Cameron Mitchell (CMPE) rep who was in charge of coordinating our catering. After full staff turnover and no contact for several months, as the wedding date came near, we were finally assigned someone from CMPE, Emily Halpin, who helped pull everything together quickly and efficiently - including the CMA arrangements for chairs, tables, vendor coordination, etc. We just had CMPE provide champagne and passed hors d'oeuvres after our ceremony - the cost of catering a full lunch was extremely high (they only work with CMPE for catering now...no negotiation!), so we went elsewhere for our meal. However, the food, champagne and service during the event was impeccable, and Emily was outstanding on the day itself - on-site and ensuring everything went as planned.

    Sent on 03/27/2017
  • User3478854 · 2+ years ago

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We worked with Katie at the Columbus Art Museum and were VERY happy with our entire experience. We held both our ceremony and reception in Derby court, and it was breathtaking. The best part was that we barely needed to decorate anything– the museum is beautiful on its own. We just added flowers and that was enough! We also had the museum cater the hors d'oeuvres & dinner. The food was excellent. Even my husbands mother, who is an amazing cook herself, commented on how great the food was.

    One of the best parts of choosing the museum as a venue was having Katie help us with coordinating timing and positioning for the rehearsal and the actual ceremony & reception. (This service came with the rental of the space.) She was there making sure we were all in the right place at the right time. Since I didn't have a separate wedding planner or coordinator, this service was invaluable, and Katie did an excellent job keeping things running smoothly. The rest of the museum staff were SO nice too.

    Between reserving the space and the catering, we spent (what was for us) a lot of money on this venue, but we consider it money very well spent.

    Sent on 08/20/2013
  • Anna

    Anna Hartge · Married on 02/09/2019

    3.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Amazing venue but tough communication

    The Museum of Art is a GORGEOUS setting for a wedding. We selected it because of the beauty of the various settings within the museum and the ability to take pictures inside (winter wedding!). The wedding ceremony was in Derby Court, the cocktail hour in the downstairs lobby, and the reception in the pavilion. We still stand by our decision but do want to be clear to other couples that arriving to the wedding was a struggle. We did not always hear back from our wedding coordinator unless I called or sent repeated emails. There were errors on the venue sheet that included the seating capacity. We were told that our caterer was not allowed to use the oven, then later we were told that we could rent use of them. It was like two steps forward and then three steps back and constantly this back and forth over whether something could be done or could not be done. This was exhausting and frustrating to me and did not speak of professionalism. HOWEVER, everything day of went off perfectly, the pictures are stunning, and people loved the venue. So, if you're willing to be patient and fight through the odds, it's an amazing place to get married.

    Sent on 04/02/2019