Colonial Transportation Reviews

19 | Sayville, NY
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Colonial Transportation

Recommended by 83%

19

4.1 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.1
  • Professionalism 4.2
  • Flexibility 4.2
  • Value 4.1
  • Average response time 4.1
Sort by:
  • S

    Susan · Married on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rose is incredible! Always available, kind, and delivers effectively on her promises. A pleasure to deal with
    Deborah and Susan Weinberg

  • User4606447 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning a wedding is stressful. As the mother of the bride, choosing Colonial Transportation was the best choice I could have possibly made. Rose was Fabulous! I made several changes from start to finish and Rose was accommodating, courteous, and most of all Patient. No matter what I needed or asked for, she always came through. She went above and beyond and the changes were always with a smooth transition. The drivers were friendly,courteous and extremely helpful. The wedding guest were all pleased with the cleanliness of the shuttles and the excellent service provided. The day was perfect from start to finish thanks to Colonial Transportation and most of all to Rose. She is amazing and definitely an asset to the company. I have been and will continue to recommend Rose and Colonial Transportation.

  • User4464613 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Colonial was great. After we booked the bus for our wedding, they gave a discounted rate on car service to pick up some relatives individually, and when I had to adjust the pickup time a couple of weeks before the wedding they were totally flexible.

  • E

    Ellen · Married on 06/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Rose Palazzolo was patient, while i made several changes, and a pleasure to work with.

  • User4200949 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Driver was pleasant and on time. We were very happy with his service.

  • J

    Julia · Married on 09/28/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I booked a wine tour for my sister's bachelorette with Colonial Translation and it was even better than I hoped it would be! We went for a more sophisticated bachelorette party, and it was perfect. Before I even talk about the tour, Rose, who I reserved with, was very responsive and accommodating when someone had to drop out a week in advance. Patrick was our driver and he was so friendly and courteous. He arrived 15 minutes early and got us home on time, so we had time to change before going out in the evening.

    We went to three wineries with tastings reserved for us. Patrick just went in ahead and checked us in at each place. The wines were great and so were the wineries. He even took us to a nearby beach when we had some time between wineries! The second winery had sheep outside, and we had our boxed lunch on the deck. There was plenty of food for us, and the place was even selling delicious brownies and cheesecakes which we bought for dessert with our fruit which was included. The last winery was much more crowded, but had a good band and it was also a horse sanctuary so we got to pet some beautiful horses!

    It was really a perfect day, seamlessly organized by Colonial Transportation. I've been on a previous bus tour of the Long Island wineries and having a private van just for us, picking us up and dropping us off in the city at my sister's apartment was well worth it for not too much more. I've also been on wine tours in Argentina and this tour compared just as well for the level of service. I highly recommend them.

  • J

    Jacqueline · Married on 09/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were wonderful! Bumped us up to a larger, even nicer bus! Rose is a gem!

  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Transportation was clean and on time. Made all the necessary trips back and forth for my wedding guests. Made sure no guests were left at the venue before leaving for the night. Price was the most reasonable out of other shuttle companies. Would definitely use again.

  • S

    Shannon · Married on 04/26/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Driver was professional and arrived early! Great choice for transportation

  • T

    Tyson · Married on 08/30/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I researched and spoke to a bunch of transportation companies for my wedding, Colonial quickly rose to the top of that list.

    Our wedding was about 160 people, with transportation to and from Riverhead - West Hampton ( a few trips ). Both big and smaller buses.

    My experience with other companies......very cold. Quick quote over the phone / email with very little excitement or personality. My experience with Colonial, specifically with Rose.....the complete opposite. She genuinely wanted to help me and make the wedding day as smooth as possible. I had to make changes quite a few times and we worked with me all the way. She is super responsive, very flexible. and it was because of her that I booked Colonial.

    Everything else checks out as you would expect - buses are in the good shape, safe drives, insurance, professional, etc. etc.

  • L

    Lynn · Married on 06/13/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The transportation provided to my guests to and from the reception and the hotel was perfect. Driver accommodated everyone's needs.

  • User4190449 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The transportation was perfect!

  • B

    Beverly · Married on 05/10/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used a bus after the wedding to shuttle our guests to an after party and back to their hotel. Our driver was friendly and flexible as we kept him out later. The one downfall I want to point out is the length of time it took to cash my checks. When planning a wedding a budget is closely followed and it took two months and 18 days to cash my check! The payment was due 10 days before the wedding and was not cashed in a timely manner. While this might not bother everyone, I felt it took too long. I called to ask what happened and they said it would be cashed on the following Monday, it was cashed 5 and 1/2 weeks later. I want to let it be known the company and service provided we fantastic, but book keeping could use some improvement.

  • I

    Ishaan · Married on 04/20/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Was very happy with the service provided by Colonial Transportation. Rose is very professional and responsive. We booked 2 big buses for our guests and had the buses going up and down several times during the day between our venue and the hotel. The drivers were helpful, timely and flexible. This was a big help when trying to coordinate so many people and multiple pick-ups. Buses were clean so guests were happy. Definitely very good value for money. Didn't find many companies offering a full day of bus service at that price. Definitely make sure to contact Rose with any questions before hand so that you are clear on how they work. Make sure to ask for the drivers names and numbers in advance of your event.

  • User3685932 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Because this had to do with transportation I would make it a point to talk to the drivers personally on the day of the event to make sure they understand what we wanted of them.

  • User5278911 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    nice to deal with, clean shuttles and very pleasant driver.

  • M

    MADELYN · Married on 05/10/2014

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    I was quite disappointed with one driver in particular. I believe his name was Joe. He was rude and unprofessional. It was my wedding day, and he started off by saying he needed to talk to the groom, because the card number we gave was not good. He did this in front of our entire bridal party, who happen to be our children, It was humiliating and uncalled for, not to mention he was wrong and the card was fine. For the trip back to the hotel, only one (his) limo showed up on time. He gave my children (all in their twenties and thirties) a hard time about the tip, which I would have had for him if the second limo arrived on time. I am sorry to say this whole incident was a dark spot on my wedding day.

    Sent on 06/26/2014

    Colonial Transportation's reply:

    We had never been informed of this from driver or anyone from the other party. Joe is no longer employed with us, and we are sincerely sorry this occurred, as stated it was not brought to my attention by either party so that we could have resolved this situation. As stated he is no longer employed by Colonial Transportation.
  • M

    Mark · Married on 03/08/2017

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      1.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Do Not use this company. There was a lady named Rose who was the rudest person I ever spoke with. I had a party of 30 for a wedding and was referred by a employee of Dan's Papers. When I called in I spoke with Rose and she hung up the phone on me because she thought I was a telemarketer

  • R

    Reed · Married on 11/19/2017

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Terrible, terrible company. I don't know how they are still in business. Horrible from top to bottom, from their manager to the people that take the calls. I booked a van to transport my out of town wedding guests from manhattan to Long Island because their prices seemed reasonable. On the day of, their van broke down. However, instead of contacting me to let me know to make other arrangements for my guests, I was only made aware of this incident when my guests arrived at the wedding venue. No phone call to me to inform me, no offer to my guests to have another vehicle pick them up. I called them later that evening to make sure my guests would have transportation to take them home (this was already paid for prior); the person I spoke to showed no remorse. I told him that I had paid already and not to place another charge on my card. When I looked at my bill the next day, of course I had been double charged. I called to complain that day about the double charge and not being informed of the van breaking down. There were no apologies. They kept telling me that I needed to speak to their manager Silvio. I left several messages with them for him to call me back. No call back. I sent him an email to call me back. No reply. And of course the double charge stayed on my bill until I asked my credit card company to step in. Til this day I have not received an explanation, or an apology from this sorry excuse of a company. Avoid at all costs. There are plenty of other car service companies out there that understand customer service. This was the most stressful part of my wedding day and I would’ve never imagined any credible company being so irresponsible and unaccountable on such an important occasion. I’m utterly humiliated and infuriated.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review