Weddings

Colonial Country Club Reviews

Colonial Country Club

Colonial Country Club

Memphis, TN
Rating 4.2 out of 5, 13 Reviews
View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
4.2
out of 5.0
Recommended by 85% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.2 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.1 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.4 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.3 out of 5

Awards

  • 13
Sort by:
  • J
    Joe Married on 12/28/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The venue was perfect. As a male I was at a lost but the venue was 90 percent there when I walked through the door. Alaura was so accomodating and couteous there is no way I could have made such a great impression on my family without this venue. I ended up being the hero. My family was so impressed and I owe it all to Aluara and my niece Camille. To make it clear Camille and I was the planning committee along with Aluara it was the equivalent of a 12 man planning committee. Booyow!!!!!!!
  • J
    Jasmine Married on 12/11/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everyone from the party coordinator to the kitchen director was awesome. They are timely and professional. I am a bit of a perfectionist and I could not find anything to complain about on their behalf. Thanks so much Colonial Country Club!!!
  • M
    Marsha Married on 10/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It was wonderful and affordable. Alaura Golden and the entire staff were professional, personable, and flexable during the planning process and the party. It was a safe venue with plenty of private parking. The food was good and plentiful. Everything we asked for was accommodated. People are still talking about the quality of our 2016 Raleigh-Egypt Reunion. I am unsure of the final amount spent but it was reasonable and fair. Thank you also to the Russell family.
    Thank you again. Marsha Baskin
  • T
    Tedra Married on 10/01/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alaura and the entire Country Club staff were simply amazing. Ms. Golden responded to email promptly, answered every question my mother and I had, dealt with my ever changing schedule seamlessly, and remained professional. Although I was not a bridezilla, I wanted things very specific and she made sure that it happened accordingly as well as gave her expert opinions. Planning a wedding can be very stressful, but having the Colonial Country Club staff made it much easier. We are forever grateful, and if we were to do it again, it would only be to include them more..... Every time we entered, we were greeted with open arms; we have truly found a home here.

    Colonial Country Club's reply:

    Miss Tedra! You were such a joy to work with and thank you so much for the kind words. We wish you & Robert all the happiness in the world. Take care & keep in touch!! XOXO
  • S
    Steph Married on 09/20/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This was the perfect sized place for a small birthday get together that I wanted for my brother. He is an avid golfer and the view from the room was just perfect. Alaura was tentative, responsive, and very sweet in helping ever aspect of the party. The wait staff that was with us was courteous, gracious, and accommodating. The payment options were very flexible with more or less food if you like. Different options were appreciated and you can bring your own cake and decorations if needed, which we did. We really did have a wonderful party and time here and would recommend using Alaura to help book your parties. :)
  • M
    Morgan Married on 06/04/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alaura is an absolute treat to work with! So attentive and helpful in every form and fashion. Extremely organized and executes your wedding exactly how you like. Made it all about us and was so helpful with any and all questions. 10/10 recommend Colonial Country Club and Alaura!!! This is also such a beautiful space for your wedding, you will not be disappointed!

    Colonial Country Club's reply:

    Morgan! It was our absolute honor to host your reception. We wish you and Nathan all the happiness in the world. Keep in touch. Let's host a baby shower soon? ;)
  • H
    Haley Married on 10/11/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My wedding was BEAUTIFUL ! I would recommend any bride to use the country club for there reception or rehearsal dinner! Me and all 12 bridesmaids were able to have the women's locker room to get ready that day and our limo picked us up! They are amazing and the staff is wonderful
  • Wendolyn
    Wendolyn Married on 05/05/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Laura was AWESOME, I appreciate her helpfulness and flexiblity. She was great to work with.
  • M
    Michelle Married on 09/16/2006
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    They not only provided excellent service when it comes to food, and a beautiful place. But they were so flexible and they handled EVERYTHING. I would give them the names and numbers of the other vendors that I was hiring (for cakes, flowers, band, etc) and they contacted them t arrange all of the set up, clean up, etc--so I had to do nothing but book the vendor and everything else they took care of. They truly made my wedding day stress free and all about me and my husband, rather than worrying about all the details
  • W
    Wanda Married on 06/04/2016
    Rating 3.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    Our experience has lots of pro's and cons.

    Wedding was in May 2016. It was hot in Memphis that weekend and the room where the wedding was held was very cold and nice. When we exited that room and went next door to the main dance/ballroom, it was way too hot like the air-conditioning was never turned on. very disappointing. So, hopefully this review will help the country club to really watch that. Special occasions should never have to worry about climate. Changing room for the groom and bride was too hot and not sure the air was running in those rooms efficiently anyway. I also felt that the day of the wedding a final run through on the beverage should have been done so that we know we had the bar set up with all our purchases. It was really confusing in the end. I wish they would have packaged up all the food for us we did not eat. that would have been great.
    The great part: property was well maintained and beautiful. the country club inside was decorated wonderfully and the rooms were more than pretty with the chandeliers. They were very accommodating when trying to fix up a memorial table and I needed to barrow some things on their tables. I felt at home there. The food they had was awesome and lots of it. I wonder who got the left overs.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful and since I planned the wedding from a far distance, I felt it went great after all. Lots of great compliments from friends and family in the end. Taking pictures there turned out amazing.

    Colonial Country Club's reply:

    Hi Wanda,

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly believe the only way to grow is to learn from past mishaps. We are very sorry about the air conditioning in the ballroom and are ensuring that it won't happen to any future brides & grooms. With food & beverage, per all signed contracts, we are not able to pack up food after the event due to liability. We hope that Laura & Logan all the happiness in the world. They were both an absolute dream to work with. Take care, my dear!!
  • K
    Kati Married on 04/12/2008
    Rating 3.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.5 out of 5
    I picked this venue because they had beautiful scenery inside and out. I planned on having an outside wedding but I wanted to make sure it would be just as nice inside case the weather was bad. As it turned out the weather was very cold and very windy. We moved the ceremony inside and it was very nice. Mona is also very helpful and answered all my questions.
  • A
    Alaunda Married on 06/12/2011
    Rating 2 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    I chose this venue for my wedding mainly because it was a beautiful setting both indoors and outdoors. That was a very importanty aspect to have for my wedding. Most of the planning process went fine. And most of the major things that did not go well involved the facility's event coordinator. Once it was time to choose and finalize our food, we were taken through the ringer several times about purchasing an inadequate amount of items to sufficiently feed our guests. Like any couple planning a wedding, we had a specific budget for the food and planned to stick as close as possible to it!! The "chef" was certain that we would run out food halfway through dinner!! We combed through the menu reworking different combinations of food items based on our head count. We crunched the numbers over and over again. Beware that a lot of the food items are priced as pieces. Our coordinator, who has been in the wedding business for over a decade (in comparison to the facility coordinator who has only been working there a couple of years), felt confident that we had enough to feed everyone. We stood our ground about our final choices and moved forward. During the reception, the facility coordinator tried to have us believe we were running low on food and needed to order more items to be put out to accomodate the guests. It was a good thing our coordinator told her to hold off a little longer before doing so and investigated the situation. It turned out we were NOWHERE near running out of food!!! The cook(s) actually had SEVERAL trays of food ready to go that had not been put out yet!!!! If we would have just gone with what the facility coordinator claimed, we would have had to pay MORE for EXTRA food we DIDN'T need!!! We actually had quite a bit of food left over at the end!! Be sure to have someone reliable monitoring things for you!!

    The final major issue with the facility coordinator arose after the wedding. My husband and I had matching sets of decorative toasting glasses and cake utensils that were engraved with our names and wedding date. After we returned from our honeymoon and I was going through everything, I realized the cake utensils were missing. I asked my family as well as my coordinator if they had them or knew who did. They didn't. The facility coordinator is responsible for cutting the cake to be served after the bride and groom make the first cut. So I contacted her about the cake utensils. She claimed that she did not use them to cut/serve the cake. So my questiton was how have they come up missing. She put the blame on my MOTHER/FAMILY and coordinator saying that it was their responsibilty to gather all of our belongings at the end of the event. My coordinator DID her part in that and collected EVERYTHING that was ON the cake table at the end of the night...from the cake topper, cake base, jeweled cake trim, toasting glasses, etc and gave them to my mother!! The big problem was the cake utensils were not THERE or ANYWHERE to BE collected, because they had been moved off the table! The facility coordinator HERSELF said in her responses to me that she "put them on a cart next to the cake table, and the cart was there ALL night". So, if she didnt use them but she MOVED them from where they belonged, with everythting else on the cake table, the reason and responsibility for them being lost was HERS. She was the last person to have contact with them and to admit she put them somewhere else BESIDES where they SHOULD have been! In EVERY SINGLE picture my photgrapher took of the cake and cake table, the utensil set is clearly ON the table before and immediately after my husband and I made the first cut AND there is no mystery "CART" anywhere!! All she could do was say sorry (basically, OH WELL!) and say the country club was "not responsible for lost items". That sounds like a statement made for things that are left unattended in a locker room or an unlocked car, etc!! My coordinator went up there to ask them to look for them and it took awhile for them to search for the utensils. They ONLY found the spatula and to TOP it off, it was DAMAGED!!!!!!! The staff member who searched for them said it took so long because there were so many they had to go through to find mine...so apparently this is a frequent careless occurrence here!! The staff obviously cannot be trusted to any extent to treat their client's items with care. In addition, they have no concern whatsoever for their clients to reconcile such a situation!!! I expected MUCH more integrity and professionalism, considering this a venue that will require several thousand dollars of your budget to host your wedding there...the least they could do is be courteous to you throughout the process of your wedding, including after it is over!! You would even think that the staff would be tactful enough to contact their clients upon realizing that some of their items were still there!
  • T
    Taylor Married on 04/26/2014
    Rating 0.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    We had our ceremony on a Sunday, The air was completely out where the bridal party was getting prepared! The colonial workers rushed us out of the venue after the ceremony. Our coordinator was not there on the day of the wedding. The management was no where to be found..

    Colonial Country Club's reply:

    Hi Taylor,

    We are very sorry to hear about your experience. We take great pride in delivering exceptional service to all of our brides and it certainly was not our intent to do otherwise. We are appreciative of the feedback, and we will certainly work to make sure these issues do not occur again. I would also like to address a few of your comments in the review:

    We have taken steps to ensure that our spaces stay at a proper temperature and that our guests are comfortable. We are sorry that this wasn’t the case with your event.

    Regarding coordination, your Catering Sales Director was available during your rehearsal as well as prior to your ceremony-only event to ensure that all proper set up had been accomplished as well as some add-ons like the vases with candles down the aisle and the complimentary yellow sashes. She also made it a point as she was leaving to introduce you to the banquet manager in case you did need anything. With regard to the end of your event, we never want our guests to feel as if they are being rushed out. Over the past year we have created a new guideline as to how we end our events to ensure that this is not repeated.

    We thank you for your business and wish you, Dustin, and your adorable baby boy all the happiness in the world.