CJ the DJ Entertainment Reviews

18 | Old Bridge, NJ
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for CJ the DJ Entertainment

Recommended by 100%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • M

    Manali · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CJ the DJ provided music and lighting services for our Indian ceremony, cocktail hour, and dinner reception. Reasons why we loved him: From the start, we knew he was a good choice because he's friendly, organized and easy to communicate with. He genuinely seemed excited and took good notes and followed through so well on the details. It was such a relief to work with someone like that.

    There were a lot of moving parts to our event -- there was a traditional Indian ceremony (for which he found the right music we wanted, even though it was kind of obscure); there was the specific kind of jazz mix we wanted for cocktail hour; there was the hip hop/pop/80s music mix we wanted for the party; there was a slideshow we needed him to set up; there was a lot of lighting we had asked him to do; all of it was done perfectly. And he even adapted certain things to avoid problems--like for instance when my bridesmaids were walking out in the processional, the song I chose was an instrumental, and was too short--so he thought really fast and looped it, seamlessly. The dinner reception music was so great. Everyone danced a lot and had a great time. He gets people on the floor. All our guests remarked on how fun the music was. It was the perfect mix of older and familiar hip hop and then pop hits and 80s favorites.

    Side note: he's also really personable and a nice guy. He made a point to come up to my brother after his speech and tell him what a great job he did. He wrote us a really nice email about how much he enjoyed our event after the fact. These are things that just make us think, man, what a nice guy. So when you put it all together he's just someone you'd really WANT at your wedding. Because he's easy to work with, super professional, and generally just a nice person.

    We really could not be happier. Planning a wedding is a lot of work. It's stressful. Do yourself a favor and hire CJ the DJ -- it's one less thing to worry about :)

  • M

    KATRINA · Married on 12/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CJ is a good friend from Rutgers University, and I've known his deep appreciation for all genres of music for a long time. When we chose him to be the DJ for our wedding, it was an easy choice and we were quite happy! He was able to read the crowd well. CJ took the time to learn our Bridal Party's names and did great as an MC. He even did a special mix for our first dance, which we loved. CJ also provides lighting, which added a cool tone to the room.
    Having planned our Jersey City wedding all the way from Toronto, it was much appreciated that CJ was flexible with communication. He really helped to make our day special. His work ethic helped us trust that everything would go smoothly, and it did :)

  • User4668455 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired CJ for our wedding DJ and he was excellent. Extremely professional, replies to emails quickly, did a great job figuring out our musical tastes and preparing the right music for the right moods during the reception. Our guests young and old were hitting the dance floor throughout the night and they enjoyed so much that they even called for an encore song after our last song, which I've never seen at other weddings.

    A+++, would hire again!

  • S

    Stafford · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CJ was a delight from my very first contact through the last dance! He was very responsive to my calls/emails and followed through on every request for music throughout my wedding - from processional/recessional; cocktail hour; bridal party intros; to dinner/dancing music. He was particularly careful to keep the volume down as requested. He met us well before the date and surveyed the venue to determine sound equipment needs and installation. I found his planning form to be very helpful as we moved through the process. I recommend him without reservation.

  • User4464912 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CJ the DJ did an incredible job during my daughter's Sweet 16 celebration! He is courteous and professional. He made sure he understood how we want the party to be, what program we have and what kind of music we prefer. Everyone had a great time and so glad to see all on the dance floor dancing!!

  • User4362235 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CJ did a terrific job at our wedding in Bergen County. CJ was very responsive made himself available via email and phone and responded promptly when we had concerns and requests. He was sincere and cared about making our wedding a great experience. Me and my spouse come from different cultural backgrounds and have very diverse tastes in music, we were nervous about finding a DJ who could handle our crowd. CJ did a great job of incorporating both of our request and keeping people on the dance floor! CJ made sure to incorporate all of our input. CJ is a complete professional and we would definitely recommend CJ to anyone!

  • User3271994 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mixed our different genres of music throughout the night, guests loved the song selections and dance floor was always crowded. Super easy to work with , definitely recommended!

  • S

    Sheeda · Married on 10/19/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CJ was the DJ at our wedding back in October and he was AMAZING! We and our guests had so much fun. When we met CJ for the first time, it almost felt like we were talking to a friend about music. He was professional and responsive to emails during our entire planning process. He even video chatted with us twice. He knows his music and was able to provide suggestions when we threw out ideas. During the wedding, he was able to meld all of our music styles seamlessly. Our families are from very different backgrounds so it was important that we meld Caribbean, American, old and new music to make our guests happy. Everyone was on the dance floor all night. Thanks CJ!

  • P

    PJ & Charlene · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CJ is an amazing DJ. My husband and I used him for our wedding a few weeks ago and couldn't ask for more. He's easy to work with, friendly, flexible, and quick to get back to you. He's vocal and gets the crowd in the mood to dance.

    His library accommodated my wide range and taste in music and then some. CJ can read the crowd and the next song he plays is even better than the last. I highly recommend CJ for any of your events. Everyone enjoyed and had a great time dancing. Excellent service!

  • L

    Liz · Married on 07/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CJ is a good friend of ours and he did a wonderful job DJing at our wedding! He made sure the songs we wanted to hear were played at the reception. Hire CJ, you won't regret it!

  • D

    Del · Married on 11/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Whether it's DJ'ing, MC'ing, or lighting, CJ can do it all. He is the consummate professional and goes above and beyond for his clients. Wedding, birthday party, after party, etc., you won't regret making CJ the DJ part of your event. My wife and I were couldn't be more pleased with how epic he made our wedding after party. Bottom line: CJ the DJ knows what he's doing.

  • M

    Maria · Married on 10/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For our wedding, we were looking for a DJ that could keep the dance floor filled while keeping the overall vibe lively. CJ did just that.

    We gave him the challenge of getting the groom’s dad (who never dances) onto the dance floor. It wasn’t even halfway through the reception and he was dancing. CJ really knows how to pace the music to the mood of the room (slower music when it’s time to sit and eat, moderate to get people on the dance floor, party vibe when it’s ready to be amped up).

    I really appreciated the friendly email reminders CJ had when it came to preparing for the upcoming event. He made sure to sit down with us and get a feel for our personalities, general music interests and our idea of the ideal vibe of the reception. It was nice to go into the wedding fully trusting our reception MC and music.

    On the day, CJ showed up early to prepare and was patient with dealing with the last minute changes from our venue. It rained on our wedding day so the reception space turned into the ceremony space – delaying his setup time.

    We highly recommend CJ to anyone. (A bunch of our friends actually couldn’t stop talking about how much fun they had at the wedding since the music was right on point.)

  • T

    Tricia · Married on 12/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I strongly believe that good DJ and music is a light of the party . CJ did an excelent job that we are very pleased. He extremely did an awesome work from program planning, lights, selection of song dance and introduction of guest . He perfectly blended it very well. No dull moment at all. Planning a huge wedding in 3 months was very stressful but CJ helped me everything about the music from first dance song with editing and all the selection of music. He also provided us a dance instructor who named "Carla" who also did a good job that make all my guest dance. My wedding is a huge success everyone had a blast and CJ pulled this off. Again thank you very very very much . You're the best!

  • B

    Anne · Married on 10/22/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CJ was amazing! We just had our wedding yesterday and we were so happy that we decided to leave a review today. CJ did everything we asked of him perfectly, and he alleviated all of our stress related to entertainment so that we could concentrate on having fun with our friends. He actually got over 90% of our guests dancing the entire time, including my father, who I've never actually seen dance before! He was receptive to our requests, did not play anything off of the "do not play list", and did a great job of feeling how the room was doing. All our guests loved CJ. As more proof of how amazing he was, my husband forgot to bring his final payment to the wedding because he left his wallet in the hotel room, and CJ told us, "Don't worry, this is your wedding day, enjoy it". We dropped the check in the mail BTW CJ! Thanks so much for making our day so wonderful and memorable and making our guests so happy!

  • D

    Debbie · Married on 03/13/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am very pleased with CJ's services as my DJ for my wedding in March 2011. I planned my wedding in 3 months due to a baby on the way and although I dealt with many stresses, I am happy to say that I had not a thing to worry about with my DJ services because of how responsive, flexible,and enthusiastic CJ was. CJ provided me with a consultation at my convenience, where he really understood what vibe it was that I was looking for. In a short amount of time, he worked with me to customize my song list, created customized songs for me to use at my wedding, and gave me a lot of helpful suggestions.

    During the wedding, he was enthusiastic and most importantly, he knew what appropriate music to play for my wedding which had guests ranging from ages 4-70 and EVERYONE was dancing!

    Once again, I highly recommend CJ to DJ any events!!

  • J

    Jenn and Alex · Married on 10/16/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CJ is a consummate professional: courteous, detail-oriented, thorough and punctual. Weeks before the wedding we had a consultation to get an idea of our tastes and the musical direction we wanted. He also accommodated our last minute requests. Our reception was partial seating for 110 guests whose ages ranged from late 70s to one and half years old so we wanted the energy level upbeat. CJ exceeded our expectations when he seamlessly transitioned from soul and r&b to songs that the baby boomers rocked out to (Little Richard, Chubby Checker).
    Half a year later our guests still talk about how much fun they
    had!

  • M

    Crystal · Married on 09/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding in September our ceremony was outside in the garden. I was very nervous about the set up& how the flow would be (cables, speakers, etc.) but CJ exceeded our exceptions. His placements of all the speakers made the music flow and not scattered away you couldn’t tell where the cables were & the microphones. My husband and I have very different families culturally and age wise but he managed to keep all 125 guests dancing & entertained with his amazing music selections & up beat personality. You know how we brides can be but CJ was always gracious and on point always answered my calls, my endless emails & always answered my demands i mean questions (little bride humor). Personally i believe the music & entertainment is what makes the reception memorable & to this day everyone still talks about our wedding and how much fun they had. CJ is awesome!!

  • J

    Jennilee · Married on 09/25/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an outdoor wedding at a winery where the ceremony was in one area and the reception was in another and CJ had to juggle both the speakers/mic's for the ceremony and have the reception all cued-up. The whole thing went without a hitch! I do not know of many weddings where you look at the reception and the dance floor is overflowing into the seating areas, CJ kept it going!

    Overall, CJ was really flexible with awesome suggestions....he even helped us pick our first dance song! He also was great to work with on timing for introductions, how to mix the songs and keep the flow.

    One highlight was the morning of our wedding our little niece sent us a youtube video of her playing Canon in D on the piano, we loved it so much we wanted to include it in our wedding. We sent the youtube link over to CJ and asked if he could make this our recession music and he was able to pull it all together for the ceremony.

    Cannot say enough good things about CJ!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review