Skip to main content
Weddings

CITY SWEETS & CONFECTIONS Reviews

CITY SWEETS & CONFECTIONS

CITY SWEETS & CONFECTIONS

New York, NY
4.9 out of 5 rating, 173 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

Your trust is our goal. Our community relies on honest reviews to help you make those big decisions with ease.
4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
173 Reviews
97% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

173
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner
  • Mimi
    Mimi R. Sent on 11/12/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Wonderful Cake and Experience

    There are wedding cakes, and then there is City Sweets. Working with Deborah was like working with a close friend who genuinely wanted to make sure we chose the cake of our dreams in both vision and taste.

    As someone who chooses her dessert before choosing her main course, our wedding cake was extremely important to me in every aspect, and City Sweets went beyond my expectations. We chose two flavors (coconut cake with dark chocolate ganache & Champagne cake with three berry filling) and could not get enough of either! I am not typically a fan of fondant, but Debra uses an imported type that tasted light and “marshmallowy”, instead of that heavy plastic that people usually scrape off to the side!

    The design of our cake was stunning. I wanted a Winter theme and my husband had an aversion to flowers--in stepped Deborah with the creation of delicate cascading snowflakes. Our solid shimmery tiers alternated with her signature stamped design which made the cake look beautiful from every angle.

    To say our cake was delicious and beautiful is an understatement. I’m actually looking forward to digging into the tier we saved for our 1-year anniversary and can't wait to work with Deborah in the future for other special occasions!
  • B
    Bethney R. Sent on 11/19/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Superior Customer Service, Incredible Attention to Detail!

    Deborah, the owner of City Sweets by far understands customer service. I am an event planner who had a cake emergency with a wedding cake from another baker. I called Deborah, who never meet me before, for help! I was desperate for a new wedding cake in four hours. Deborah worked her magic and I had a cake we could proud present to the newlyweds at their ceremony. I highly recommend Deborah!

    ked with
  • R
    Robin Sent on 04/22/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Most amazing wedding cake!!!!

    Deborah is a genius baker. She made us the most elegant and flavorsome cake we could have wished for on our wedding day! All of our guests complemented us on the cake. During the tasting we weren't sure how we were going to pick between all of the wonderful flavors available, so Deborah made each level of our cake into a different flavor which turned out fantastically. Deborah is extremely kind and professional and an absolute joy to work with. I cannot recommend her enough!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • S
    Susan Sent on 09/21/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The cakes here are absolutely gorgeous and delicious. They have amazing designs and the prices are very affordable.
  • V
    Val Sent on 10/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We absolutely loved our wedding cake! And it tasted amazing too! Deborah is a very liable person who listens to your suggestions and how you would like your cake to be. The entire process was very smooth and pleasant. Thank you so much for all your hard work and support!!! Valeria
  • M
    Meredith Sent on 09/16/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Our cake from City Sweets was not only beautiful, but delicious as well! We had so many people tell us how delicious it was. Deborah makes planning the cake you want so easy, offering multiple flavor combinations, and you can completely customize each tier. I only wish I ate more of it on my wedding day, but look forward to celebrating with a slice on my anniversary! Thank you!!
  • K
    Katherine Sent on 06/16/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My (now) husband and I are serious cake people. For example, on our first anniversary, we celebrated with three different kinds of cakes. Obviously, we wanted only the best for our wedding cake. We first tasted Deborah's cake at a friend's wedding, and knew we had to hire her for ours. Deborah is lovely, easy to work with, and her cakes are incredibly beautiful and seriously delicious! For our wedding last weekend, we chose three cakes in one: almond cake with chocolate frosting, chocolate cake with raspberry preserves, and peach cake with passionfruit frosting. It was delicious. So delicious, in fact, that there was none left over and now we need to order another cake for our next event (ok, the event may just be binge-watching Netflix, but it still calls for cake) because it was that good. Thanks so much Deborah!
  • K
    Keisha Sent on 10/11/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We came to Deborah last minute because another baker couldnt fulfill our gluten free cake request. The cake was gorgeous and yummy!!!! Just one of the easiest experiences in the whole wedding process! And did I say the cake was YUMMY!!!!
  • D
    Diana Sent on 12/30/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great quality, attention to detail, awesome cakes and decor.
  • J
    James Sent on 01/22/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    In planning our NYC wedding from London, it was important to use that we had our cake provided by someone we could trust. We contacted multiple cake vendors and were lucky enough to land on City Sweets and Confections.

    Deborah was fantastic to work with -- from the first call we had with her she was the best. She listened to our vision for the cake and provided helpful suggestions and ideas for what she could do to make it perfect.

    But what about the tasting living overseas? Deborah took the time to provide us a tasting one week before our wedding, the day after we arrived in NYC, so we knew we would have the cake that we wanted. When disaster struck and we got caught in traffic going from the Bronx to Manhattan, and we were over an hour late to the tasting (getting on past 7pm), Deborah boxed up a number of the most popular cakes and creams for us to take back to our hotel and test at our leisure, letting us know she was available if we had any questions. It really felt like she went out of her way to make us happy and cared about our event.

    We selected the delicious red velvet, and when we saw the cake at the event our jaws dropped. It was absolutely amazing. We received many compliments on how it looked, and tasted, and we look at the pictures now and still talk about how great it was. Deborah worked with our budget, was incredibly friendly, and we couldn't be more happy with how everything worked out. Thank you, Deborah!
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 12/29/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    AMAZING work.....Love to see such great customer service!
  • A
    Amanda Sent on 12/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Thank you Deborah, your work is amazing! Our wedding cake looked just marvelous and it was delicious too!
  • R
    Rachel Sent on 07/01/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I love their cakes and I love their designs. Their prices are also reasonable.
  • M
    Monica Sent on 05/05/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The got to place for wedding cakes!
  • User2305408 Sent on 09/08/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah Lauren was an absolute delight to work with. She offered a wide array of styles for our wedding cake. Not only were they absolutely stunning, but they tasted INCREDIBLE as well. There were so many different cakes and icings - we could not go wrong. In the end, we chose a delicious funfetti cake with buttercream icing. That cake, WOW! People could not get enough and were raving about it, asking for more! I would HIGHLY recommend Deborah Lauren with the utmost confidence in her ability!
  • K
    Karishma Sent on 09/07/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Kinjal and I absolutely LOVED our wedding cake! Deborah is the best, she worked with us to make a stunning, delicious cake!! Can't wait to see the official pictures :)
  • User2361275 Sent on 10/11/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah was wonderful to work with and is truly an artist when it comes to creating cakes. She helped us design a stunning cake and using pictures of the lace on my dress, hand-piped every other layer to match it. The flowers on our cake looked so real and almost too beautiful to eat. Her cakes don't just look beautiful, they taste delicious! Deborah was helpful when choosing pairings and completely open to our ideas and suggestions. We loved working with her and highly recommend!

    CITY SWEETS & CONFECTIONS's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review. xoxo
  • C
    Cristina Sent on 11/06/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah was incredibly thoughtful from start to finish. Her cakes are delicious and our wedding guests loved her Prosecco cake with three berry filling. Additionally, I have a gluten allergy and tried many bakeries that are "known" for their gluten free cakes, but Deborah makes the best. Our guests had no idea! We attended another wedding a year later and her cake was again delicious. If you want a cake that is guaranteed to be delicious City Sweets & Confections is your place.
  • M
    Mara Sent on 02/17/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    When we needed a cake on somewhat short notice (about 2 weeks before our wedding), Deborah said she could do it and arranged a tasting for us on what happened to be a snowstorm that threatened to shut down the city. Not only didn't she cancel, but we stayed for hours having great conversation with her, and she was so responsive to our ideas and questions. The cake at the tasting was amazing and she lets you try a whole bunch of cake and frosting flavors when you go! We ended up with a beautiful 4-tier butter cream cake with 3 flavors (one extra tier for us to take home): Green tea/lemon frosting, Red Velvet/Mocha frosting, and Vanilla/peanut butter chocolate frosting. She is so professional and friendly and everyone raved about the taste of the cake and most people tried 2 or all 3 flavors! We can't wait to come back from our honeymoon and eat the tier we took home!
  • D
    Danielle Sent on 12/27/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah at City Sweets is fantastic! From the moment we spoke on the phone I knew that I wanted to hire her to create our wedding cake. At our initial meeting I brought 2-3 photos and Deborah took it from there. She offers unique flavors (champagne cake) and is a truly talented artist. Our cake was exquisite! I had asked for huge flowers made of frosting and they where everything I had envisioned and more. If you are looking for incredible service and the best cake you have ever tasted there is only one person to call.
  • E
    Erni Sent on 12/08/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah was amazing! Not only was the cake PERFECT for my daughter but she was so professional from the moment I saw her website to all the times I spoke with her. The most notable of many great experiences was how willing she was to talk or communicate with me at all hours of the day. I'm sure she does not want to make a practice of that; but she took such care of getting every detail down of a vision my daughter wanted for her cake that she communicated at our convenience which was not always normal hours. City Sweets was by far the most professional and reliable vendor we have dealt with so far. Wonderful professional lady running this show.
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 05/27/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah at City Sweets & Confections was one of the most responsive and trustworthy vendors I worked with out of all vendors for my wedding. It was so great to work with someone who I could not only trust completely to create such a beautiful cake, but was also enjoyable to work with. I received so many compliments on how amazing the cake tasted in addition to how great it looked, I really couldn't have been happier. I would recommend Deborah to all of my friends and family.
  • J
    Janine Sent on 01/17/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deb Lauren is an artist and someone who certainly knows her sweets! She helped us pick out the flavors for our wedding cake and was so accommodating to our gluten free guests! The cake was STUNNING...and we received so many compliments on the freshness of the cake and how wonderful it tasted. Even though everyone was full, they still ate their cake!!! Thank you Deb! xo
  • Katrina
    Katrina Sent on 10/18/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah! We cannot thank you enough for the most amazing and delicious wedding cake! Our guests were extremely impressed with the intricate detail and of course the multiple flavors you included. The cake was out of this world and we greatly appreciate all of your amazing talents! Thank you again for adding that special touch to the most amazing day of our lives! You are highly recommended by Katrina and Charlie!

    Much love!
  • CaseAnna
    Anna Sent on 09/28/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Deborah is not only an amazing artist but such a sweetheart!! First of all, our wedding cake was delicious and a work of art!! She made all my dreams and crazy pinterest ideas come to life!! I couldn't stop staring at my cake during the reception and remember thinking, "I can't believe this gorgeous cake is ours!!". She is such a sweetheart because she assured us that a year old cake is not going to be delicious. She was able to make us a fresh cake with the flavor of our choice on our anniversary and it really meant so much to us! I recommend Deborah to any bride. She is so easy to work with and talk to!! Love her!!!!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message