Skip to main content
Weddings

City Cruises - San Diego Reviews

City Cruises - San Diego

City Cruises - San Diego

San Diego, CA
4.9 out of 5 rating, 27 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
4.9 out of 5 rating
27 Reviews
97% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.7 out of 5 rating

Awards

27
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner
Weddingwire
4.9/5 27 reviews
Google
4.3/5 799 reviews
  • S
    Samantha Sent on 03/08/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Wedding was perfect thanx to the great tram at Hornblower! Staff was so attentive and professional. Made everything extreamly painless.
  • N
    Nakeedra Sent on 05/28/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The service for big groups is awesome!! If you're looking for a good reception option that isn't too expensive this is it!! Especially if you're military
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • C
    Chrystal Sent on 05/30/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I got married on the Hornblower Inspiration with their intimate wedding package in December 2015. This was my second wedding and I am blown away still by how wonderful it was. Small intimate and exactly what we wanted. The staff was top notch answering any and every question. We were able to write our own vows to include my son in the ceremony. The view is AMAZING the food fantastic. I was completely stress free the entire process and its a great value. I cannot recommend Hornblower enough THANK YOU! And.. added bonus visit where it all began on your anniversary for a brunch or dinner cruise.
  • User2285108 Sent on 08/25/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a limited budget and wanted a small and intimate wedding. Hornblower Cruises was just the perfect venue for us! From the moment you step on the boat, you are greeted by friendly crew and offered a glass of champagne. The food is cooked right there on the spot and it is absolutely delicious! And the view.... oh, the view! What better place to get married than in the middle of San Diego bay while going under the Coronado bridge!
  • W
    Wendy Sent on 05/03/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We have not had our wedding yet but the Hornblower has been amazing! They do so many of the little details and allowed me to have more time for the fun aspects without having to worry about the menu, tables, and other details of the venue. The value is amazing and I have had nothing but pleasant conversations with the wedding planners.
  • S
    Sonja Sent on 07/26/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had a lovely day on our Hornblower wedding cruise with a great on board team, after already having been supported extremely well at every step by their office team (Kristie and Rachael answered every single email as fast as possible, they even ensure we could meet at the most convenient location for me...despite that being quiet a distance from their office.
    The food was great, staff were super friendly and keen to please: the captain even did an extra loop around the sea lion colony as our flower girls and boys were so amazed by them!
    Everything was just as we had hoped for, couldn't have wished for a better wedding day (and that sentiment was confirmed by all our guests too who assured me they had a wonderful day)

  • Isabelle
    Isabelle Sent on 04/13/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our vow renewal ceremony on 3/29/2014 and my coordinator was Monique Cinquemani. She was fabulous! Helped me plan everything from out of state and for 6 months we e-mailed back and forward about the details to make sure everything was what I wanted it to be. The day of the ceremony was a dream! Monique coordinated everything so that it went smoothly and my guests had the best time ever! The food was top notch and all the guests were excited when the ship started moving while we enjoyed our dinner and the views! If you want something elegant and intimate, this is the perfect venue for you! Everyone is STILL Talking about how much fun they had!
  • J
    Janelle Sent on 03/07/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    For the same price as a rehearsal dinner in a downtown restaurant, my husband and I had a wonderful 3-hour dinner cruise with Hornblower Cruises. Besides the actual cruise itself, a lovely fajita buffet with churros for dessert and alcohol (beer, wine, sangria and margaritas) are included in price per person.

    It was awesome!!!! We rented the Renown, which is the smallest boat in their fleet. Yet, with its wooden paneling and 1940's charm, it was such a sophistiated venue for an intimate gathering.

    My husband's family is from England and had never been to San Diego and/or met my family. This was a great way for our families to mingle over drinks and a delicious Mexican meal. It was pretty cloudy that evening but we still got a good view of the skyline from the water.

    The customer service from Hornblower has been phenomenal. They were always quick to communicate with us about all the details. My sister-in-law is gluten-free and they went out of their way to accommodate her dietary concerns.

    I can't say enough positive things about this experience. Our family loved the event and we would recommend again it anyone!!!
  • H
    Holly Sent on 05/03/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    What a dream to get married on the Hornblower in San Diego. If you want a unique wedding experience for everyone....this is the best choice for experience AND price! Food, better than a high end steak house! Salmon and filet mignon was to die for. The wedding coordinator on the boat and the bartender/server were so amazing. The DJ played every single song we requested him to play. The only complaint.....it wasn't long enough! It was 4 hours, but man...only one more hour would have been perfect! Kinda alot to cram into 4 hours, but the staff did it perfectly and gave everyone a night they will never forget! We highly recommend the sunset cruise....beautiful! Don't waste your $ on your usual, traditional wedding venue. This is the greatest idea in the world. My husband and I have gone on the Valentines Hornblower cruise as well since we loved our wedding so much! If you have a party of 30 people or less....the Renown is an adorable, vintage boat and it's perfect for small groups. Take a chance and do it! :)
  • A
    Angela Sent on 08/01/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Hornblower was an amazing experience beginning to end. First off, the wedding coordinator Monique was a blessing in answering all of my questions to the tee and insuring the process went smoothly. The only downfall is the lack of time on the boat prior to the ceremony so it is slightly rushed. Also, with the main entrance being on the street, the groom will surely see you before the start of the ceremony. The dining area was freezing as well, with all 20 of my guests complaining about it, as well as other people from other parties. Other than that, the food was excellent and the staff was amazing. We had our cake done by hornblower to avoid the additional fee, and for the price it was delicious and perfect. They accomodated our color requests and it turned out perfect. Super moist and delicious frosting! I would definitely recommend this to someone who is looking for a wedding that is classy, yet simple. All of my guests loved the ceremony and the freedom of not feeling hassled driving to a ceremony and a reception.
  • AMIE
    Amie Sent on 02/07/2012
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Hornblower cruises and events far exceeded our expectations. We booked from Arizona & Kristie was beyond helpful by making sure we had all of our questions answered. The day of the crew on board were amazing. Helpful, kind & just plain great. The food, the view and the peoplemade our wedding day on of a kind :)
  • Bonnie
    Bonnie Sent on 12/07/2011
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had my wedding in November on the Lord Hornblower. I was planning my wedding from out of state but had family in San Diego helping me. Kristie and Jill were fantastic to work with, and let us view the boat several times to get all of pur plans set and for my family to take pictures to send to me since I couldn't be there. The entire experience was wonderful and very organized. They set up the reception exactly how I wanted, and they had a coordinator the day of to make sure everything ran smoothly. The DJ (Laura Jane) was excellent, and the staff was so friendly and helpful. The cake was included and the catering was the best wedding food I have ever had! My guests raved about the venue and how unique it was to sail around on the bay for a wedding!
  • S
    Shanna Sent on 04/29/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I recently had my Rehearsal Dinner on the Renown boat chartered and catered by Hornblower Cruises. Not only was the idea unique and the scenery beautiful, but the staff was very easy, friendly, and served a delicious cuisine. In planning my event Kristie was a joy to work with. She was extremely flexible in showing the options of boats to me (she gave up her Saturday). Kristie was also very flexible in allowing us to be picked up and dropped off at our hotel in Coronado. All of my guests, including myself, truly enjoyed the entire experience.
  • H
    Heather Sent on 03/30/2010
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had the best day! Hornblower took care of everything. Kristie was awesome in the planning, and on the day of, Paul did a fabulous job. (We were on the "High Spirits") The food was great and everyone had a wonderful time. We just wished it would have lasted longer because the time flew by! I highly recommend Hornblower.
  • C
    Carolyn Sent on 12/10/2008
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I would highly recommend Hornblower Cruises & Events. My partner and I got married on the "Renown" in September of 2008. It was a wonderful experience to work with Kristie DeFalco and Jena Beal. These two ladies are terrific, caring professionals. Kristie and Jena were only a phone call away and walked me through every detail and phase of our wedding, reception cruise.

    The Hornblower vendors we used for providing the cake, flowers and the DJ were exceptional. Without a doubt we got a tremendous value for our money spent with Hornblower Cruises. Our family and friends are still talking about the terrific food, and champagne not to mention the wonderful time they had. Hornblower Cruises & Events exceeded my high expectations. Thank you!
  • Jennifer
    Jennifer Sent on 03/12/2011
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our ceremony and reception on a San Diego Hornblower 4-hour cruise. We live in Iowa, so this was a destination wedding. The staff were excellent and very responsive - nearly all our communication was done via email, which I preferred. Jillian answered all my questions with the patience of a saint. The wedding itself was lovely, the food wonderful (I am still hearing compliments about the food), and the service exceptional.
    This is a fantastic way to have your wedding done, and it was all so simple and easy.
  • K
    Kristen Sent on 11/10/2010
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We had our wedding reception on this cruise and it was fantastic! They provided us with a great meal, a lovely cake, and a fun DJ for our first dance. They also provided us with a photo towards the beginning of the cruise to take home as a memory. The staff was very polite and nice, and the wedding cake turned out so gorgeous! We had 10 people in total, and they simply helped us move two tables together so we felt more like a "wedding party."

    The DJ was helpful in deciding when to do our first dance (what times were best), and she had a large collection of songs to choose from.

    The cruise was 3 hours long - not too short and not too long. It was a great night for a great wedding! I highly recommend them.
  • M
    Megan Sent on 01/25/2010
    4.9 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My husbad and I had our reception on Hornblower cruises out of San Diego. We did everything online because we were no longer living in the area. I have to say, Jillian Vandegrift was amazing! She had so much patience with us changing our mind about the cake and date five times. We didn't get a chance for cake tasting, but when we got on the boat for dinner, we were amazed. The DJ even announced us and played our first song. The cake, was the best cake I have ever had. It was so moist and flavorful. We were so nervous about how the cake would taste, and if it would be dry, but it was wonderful! Even the buttercream, which I do not usually care for was tasty. It was a simple design we chose, but it was perfect. We drank champagne, and danced, and dinner was delicious. Every one in our party had a great time, and the dinner cruise was a first time for most of our guests. We would reccommend this to anyone looking for a good time and intimate setting for their wedding reception.
  • Raquel
    Raquel A. Sent on 04/05/2022
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream Wedding

    From start to finish, everything was perfect! Staff was so helpful all the up leading to the wedding and during the wedding. I would do it all over again!!
  • User1272799 Sent on 08/05/2013
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    I am so glad we had our wedding on the Hornblower Emerald! It was a unique venue for our out of town guests to really see San Diego. The food and service was great, we loved our wedding cake, and the captain even slowed down by Seaport Village when fireworks were going off during the Summer Pops concert. It was perfect! My only complaint is that I did not know that we could not open the retractable roof after the yacht departed and I wish someone would have told me about that. Otherwise, I would highly recommend Hornblower to any bride. None of our guests got seasick and they were all raving about how much fun they had.
  • K
    Kathryn Sent on 10/14/2012
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    From the get go Hornblower was amazing. Jill responded to my inquiry right away and worked with our schedule to show us the yacht. Once we booked Kristie Bryant was a dream to work with. Communication was fantastic, I always knew what was going on, and Kristie was always willing to show me the yacht as many times as I wanted. The day of staff were amazing as well. DJ the event manager was always making sure everything was the way I wanted and checking in with me and Aaron the bartender made the best drink suggestions. Finally the FOOD! Best wedding food I've ever had. I'm still hearing back from my guests about the prime rib and the cheesy potatoes. My mom even wanted to take the leftovers home in a Tupperware container! I couldn't have picked a better venue. How many people can say that got married on a yacht?!?! Thank you Hornblower for an amazing day.
  • B
    Rebecca Sent on 06/15/2008
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    The Abbey was amazing. They had a list of vendors that were so great to work with I would recommend them to anyone. I really liked the fact that the bar was per person rather that per drink. It made having an open bar a little easier to deal with.
  • User1646727 Sent on 06/04/2014
    4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I had a Great event. I wish the wedding planner was a little nicer but but over all I had an amazing night and my friends and family said it was the best wedding they had been to by far!!
  • Nardin
    Nardin Sent on 06/08/2015
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    We had our Engagement Party on the ship and it was perfect. Staff were friendly and helpful, though there were some minor hiccups during the night and in the planning process, the actual party went smoothly. Had a great, memorable time! Looking forward to coming back for another fun trip!
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message