Weddings

City Cruises - New York Reviews

City Cruises - New York

City Cruises - New York

New York, NY
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 51 Reviews
View more information

51 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 51
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

7 User photos

Sort by:
  • H
    Homer Married on 08/03/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible and amazing

    Hornblower cruises really provided the greatest experience my wife and I had. I recommend them without a doubt, the food was delicious, the ambience was incredible and the hospitality was top notch.

    It was inexpensive and just totally lovely
  • R
    Ronnie F. Married on 05/11/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Venue!

    Our daughter’s wedding was absolutely perfect, thanks in large part to Tyler, Sales Manager. He was a pleasure to deal with, highly professional & very responsive. He took care of explaining and implementing every detail. Captain Aaron & the crew made sure all our guests were happy & safe. I highly recommend this venue!
  • Jared
    Jared Married on 04/28/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Experience That Won't Break the Bank

    My husband and I had our ceremony and reception on the Hornblower Hybrid and it was everything we could have wanted!

    First of all, Tyler in the sales office was a dream to work with. Super friendly and attentive without being pushy, he genuinely cared that we had an event we would love. He was super responsive to email inquiries and was great about giving us advice/guidance without forcing us in a direction we didn't like. He made us feel like we could have anything we wanted but also wasn't afraid to point out potential pitfalls for ideas we hadn't quite thought through. The ship itself was gorgeous, with floor to ceiling windows that let in a ton of natural light and priceless views of the NYC skyline.

    You won't need much in the way of decorations to have a beautiful looking wedding (we just had some small floor centerpieces and photos of us). We had the ceremony outside on a sheltered deck so light rain - which we had on our wedding day - won't derail your plans or soak your guests. The main deck is entirely enclosed so once the reception started it could have started pouring and it wouldn't have mattered.

    A big positive for us is that catering and the cake are included in the price so that took a couple of big decisions off the plate. We did the brunch buffet and it was absolutely delicious, with lots of different options for many palettes (the chicken and waffles are legit). The cake is from Magnolia Bakery with a good selection of options to choose from and the ability to upgrade to fancier decorative options. There was plenty of food and all of our guests commented on how delicious everything was. Also, the open bar that comes standard with all of their packages has a huge selection so no need to upgrade unless Top Shelf liquor is a major priority for you.

    You don't really get a rehearsal on the ship because it is used for nightly cruises, but Hornblower provides you with a day of coordinator to keep everything on schedule. Ours was Gabriel and he was a blast, really adding to the festive atmosphere (multiple guests commented on how fun he was); we agreed on a timeline beforehand and he was great at keeping us on track without being intrusive or pushy so we could focus on enjoying our wedding and socializing with our guests.

    Not only were we thrilled with everything, but our guests all raved about the food and the atmosphere. A lot of them said they never would have thought to get married on a boat and absolutely loved the vibe and the views (you will get a great view of the skyline and landmarks like the Brooklyn Bridge and Statue of Liberty). Several of our married friends joked that they wanted to do a vow renewal ceremony just so they could do the same brunch cruise setup we did.

    Overall we cannot recommend Hornblower enough. We weren't sure we'd be able to afford the kind of wedding we wanted in notoriously pricy NYC, but we were able to get a private charter for our 70-ish person wedding with everything we wanted for well under the $33k national average, to say nothing of the much higher NYC average. Going with Hornblower gave us a fun and different reception that we will remember for the rest of our lives. Highly recommended!
  • E
    Ernest C. Married on 04/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfection!

    Thank you for giving exceptional service!! Making sure that we and our guests were very comfortable! The evironment, the food, the music, and the drinks were perfect! Thank you for your amazing attention to detail and organization, as well! Made the best day of my life truly amazing!!
  • M
    Marc Married on 09/05/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We booked a wedding dinner cruise (private) with hornblower and we are so happy that we did this because it's awesome. Just awesome...perfect to be honest. they are so nice and they offer such a great service that we miss the cruise every single day.
    It's not cheap but on your special day it's totally worth it. they take care of everything. you and your company can have the time of your lives and party all night long while the hornblower crew takes care of everything else. Really great, very nice and funny staff, cool dj, and the food on board is seriously among the best you can get in new york. Try it! You won't regret it.
  • Marilyn
    Marilyn Married on 08/03/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    December Wedding to Remember

    My wedding reception was with 25 guests on the Spirit of NYC. The waitresses were so kind and attentive. The holiday decor was so beautiful. I hired a vendor that they work with , both the boat and floral vendors worked well. Their wedding package was economical, with all (appetizers, food, drinks, cake, signature drink, etc) The team worked well with me!
    Everything was perfect
  • N
    Nicole Married on 01/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    These are stunning photos and an amazing venue. My favorite place to buy wedding gifts and decor I always go to www.5thavestore.com. Check them out they are amazing!
  • C
    Clair Married on 09/12/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a fantastic wedding reception, we had 20 guests joining us in NYC to celebrate our wedding and Tyler had been an absolute god send to deal with from another country. Not only was he responsive but offered information and suggestions that I hadn't considered. I never knew an overseas wedding could go so smoothly. Upon arriving at the cruise, Tyler met to greet me and left me in the capable hands of Gabriel. WHAT a superstar, Gabriel went above and beyond to ensure everything was perfect for me, a hit with the children and went above and beyond to ensure the best evening was had, and it was. Breathtaking views, sensational food which were the talk amongst the guests for days.
    I cannot thank Hornblower cruises enough, a truly magical wedding reception. Thank you. X
  • T
    Taisha Married on 09/09/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I absolutely loved everything! Tyler was absolutely wonderful with the whole booking/planning and answered all my many questions even after our ceremony. Gabriel was the best on our ceremony day. He knew exactly what do, how to keep us calm and kept it moving perfectly! For the reception our server Donette went above and beyond for all our guests. If you want a beautiful wedding that doesn't break the bank, this is your one stop shop. I would absolutely recommend Hornblower Cruises.
  • A
    Andrea Married on 09/01/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Arranging our wedding couldn't have been any simpler! Everyone was so helpful and lovely and we had the most amazing day. It was totally value for money.
  • L
    Lauren Married on 08/04/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I got married on the Atlantica this past Friday, 8/4/17 and all I have to say it was absolutely amazing! From the day we booked the event to the day of, all the staff and crew did EVERYTHING they could to make the day unforgettable. We worked with Emilie and Bryan throughout the year and half process and they made everything extremely easy going and flawless. There were a few times my anxiety got the best of me and Bryan was able to reassure me the day was going to be spectacular... and he was right! My guests have been talking about it being the best wedding they have ever been to which is a major compliment to all the staff and crew running the Atlantica. The views were amazing, staff was courteous and on timely, the food was outstanding and the entertainment was awesome! I had a bigger wedding of 230 people which I was nervous about initially since most of the guests would be split up throughout the night, but it worked out perfectly. Everyone jumped between the floors of the boat no problem and it flowed perfectly. Thank you for making our wedding truly the best day of our lives!
  • M
    Mike Married on 11/05/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Magical Wedding, Katie Vinson was fantastic to deal with. The food and service were top notch. The views were amazing
  • L
    Laurent Married on 10/08/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Shop around and compare. Make sure you have a good communication with the person you booked the dinner cruise with.
    In that regard, Emilie Hagon, our wedding account manager, was really so helpful and professional!
    Thank you to the team of party planners and staff that made our special celebration a success!
  • S
    Sheryl Married on 09/25/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Everything was perfect...Bryan was our wedding coordinator and was great to work with. He literally took care of everything. The venue was perfect as a Sunday brunch wedding. The piano music by Kyle Ann had all of our guests telling us how wonderful the music was.
  • A
    Anne Married on 06/18/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chose this company for our wedding June 2016. All staff members replied to our requests/e-mails promptly and were always accommodating, which was really helpful and alleviated a lot of stress. I loved that their prices were all inclusive so there were no surprise. I also liked that the wedding cake was part of the package, one less thing to think about. And finally, the guests loved the venue! Great views, great memories. We had our ceremony elsewhere, and we had to purchase an extra hour of sail for a total of 4hours on the boat or it would have been way to short for a reception.
  • E
    Elizabeth Married on 06/11/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were married on the Atlantica in June, 2016 and everything was perfect! The weather was iffy day of, threatening to rain, so our wedding coordinator Bryan helped us to figure out a backup plan and it all went so smoothly. We ended up getting married on the roof 30 minutes sooner than we originally planned, but none of our guests knew the difference. The weather ended up holding out and we had a beautiful sunset and gorgeous night. Our wedding was a dream come true and all of the staff was incredible!
  • S
    Sharine Married on 05/28/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding reception on the Manhattan Elite, it was perfect size for our small party, about 60 people. All the team was so helpful and professional. We are very happy we chose this venue for such a special occasion.
    The food was delicious and everything was very well organized since the beginning.
    Thank you Erin, Saige, Bryan and everyone else who helped to make this a wonderful day.
  • Nancy
    Nancy Married on 10/21/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the first call to Erin Trinidad to the last goodbyes when coming off the ship to Saige and Nadia, the service was excellent. Nothing was left to chance. Their attention to detail was impressive. And the prices were well within our budget thank God :))
    Our Wedding went off within a hitch. Saige, our coordinator, was excellent. What we did not remember or know she took care of, flawlessly. I'm so happy and our families were very impressed. We will recommend Weddings on the Water and specifically the people who helped make our wedding dreams come true. Thank God for them.
  • User2434002 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We went to Entertainment Cruises as a one-stop shop--we wanted the celebrant, reception, etc. all in one package. We had no time for planning, so we needed them to do it all.

    Getting married in a yacht in NY Harbor is an unforgettable experience. The guests were still talking about how magical it was a month later--and thanking US for making it happen. It couldn't have been more perfect--food, music, everything. Highly recommend if you're doing a once-in-a-lifetime splurge.
  • R
    Rosanna Married on 10/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What an amazing experience!!!

    We recently got married. We both wanted a small, but festive wedding. We looked at several venues, but most wanted at least 100 people, and anything smaller just wasn't appealing. We then got the idea to check out Spirit Cruise, hoping to possibly get a small private area on one of their dinner cruise boats. We met with Emilie Hagon, and after telling her what we had in mind she suggested the Manhattan Elite Yacht. After seeing the ship, and hearing what they could do for us we fell in love with the idea, and booked our date. We met with wedding planner Bryan Miranda who helped us with all the arrangements, and made the whole process very easy and enjoyable.

    Then the day came! Let me tell you, we thought it would be fun and a unique experience, but we were totally blown away at just how amazing it was. Our expectations were totally exceeded . The staff was amazing, helpful, and very courteous. Bryan personally oversaw the whole celebration. Our DJ, provided by Bonnie Cameryn Entertainment, DJ Mike was amazing. He played everything we asked for, and the mix was absolutely perfect. The party was non-stop, and the dance floor always full. Add to that, delicious food, a great bartender, the beautiful scenery of the NY Skyline, and Statue of Liberty at night for an amazing experience. Everyone there said it was one of the best weddings they ever attended, and we totally agree.

    Thank You Emile, Bryan, Bonnie, DJ Mike, and all the staff of the Manhattan Elite for the best wedding celebration we could have hoped for. We will always be grateful to you all, and we'd recommend you to anyone.



    Joe & Rosanna McGonigle

    Married 10/10/2015
  • A
    Amandine Married on 10/01/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Perfect! Thanks for all. Professional excellent, nice. A great sense of service. Everything was great!
  • A
    Antoinette Married on 09/12/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Two words: ALL INCLUSIVE!
    Honestly, since the moment I began my business with Entertainment it was an absolute pleasure. Not only did they provide several options, but when my guest list grew unexpectedly they were more than accommodating. When we had to postpone the start of the festivities for some very important people, they understood and made sure that everything still went as smooth as possible under the circumstances and time constraints. If I could do it all again, I would definitely pay for a lot more time. Its true what they say the bride and groom never get a moment to breath. Bryan was my coordinator and he was magnificent. We were on the Atlantica and got to sail around New York on a beautiful day. It was 100% worth every penny.
  • R
    Robin Married on 09/06/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My husband and I got married on the Atlantica in September 2015 (Labor Day Weekend). It was amazing! We had around 70 guests and it was an afternoon wedding. We were on the yacht from 11:30 AM - 4:00 PM and it was the perfect amount of time. We had our ceremony on the observation deck prior to sailing. From there we moved to the lounge for cocktail hour. Finally, we moved to the lower deck for the reception. The yacht was rocking a decent amount at the beginning while in the lounge, but once we got moving, you rarely noticed it. My husband and I are not originally from this area, though we live in NJ now. About 90% of our guests traveled from out of state and most had never been to NYC before so we wanted them to have a unique and fun experience. Everybody loved it! We had so many compliments from our guests saying it was the best wedding they had ever been to. We also received so many compliments on the food and cake. I can honestly say the food and cake were both amazing! Also, the food tasting we did in June on the Bateaux was so great and such a fun date night for us during the planning process. The Atlantica is beautiful so we didn't have to spend much at all decorating. The only decorations we had were centerpieces, guest book/name card table decorations, and some flowers on a memorial table. Very little needs to be added to the Atlantica. Bryan and Emilie were both wonderful to work with. They were helpful and responsive! Bryan did a great job during the wedding handling everything and letting me enjoy the day as the bride. I would highly recommend the Atlantica and Entertainment Cruises to anybody looking to have a nontraditional wedding in NY. It was also very reasonably priced, especially since it included an open bar. Such a great day and experience overall!
  • S
    Sonia Married on 07/06/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My review is a couple of months over due, but still deserves the feedback!!!

    Our wedding reception was held here on June 6th and It was absolutely perfect! We selected the ultimate dinner reception package which includes open premium bar. Everything went smoothly and every guest had nothing but nice things to say. From the moment we arrived and walked in, we were greeted by a song my girlfriends had requested from the d.j. It was an awesome moment! Food was delicious, Views were breathtaking, weather cooperated. The bartenders were great, Gabriel was a pleasure to work with that evening. We had such an amazing time! If there were any complaints, it might have been from your staff trying to kick some of the wedding party of the vessel. They had such a good time they didn't want to leave! But the staff did such a great job and politely got them off the vessel. I would highly recommend this experience to anyone!

    Two months later, my guest are still talking about how much fun they had!! We all would love to do it all over again!!

    I had the pleasure of working with John Barrall, Sales Manager. He was polite, patient and had great suggestions. Couldn't have asked for anyone better!
  • J
    Joseph Married on 06/15/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Jorge Suarez from DJ Clooney tunes (908-627-3630) and his assistant made for great music for our wedding. He really worked with us in getting the best music that met our tastes. He has access to such a wide variety of music that I cannot imagine he would not be able to customize music to anyone's preferences. His equipment was compatible with the ships systems which was a plus. He was worth every cent we spent. Would recommend him highly.