Chris Chen Studios Reviews

27 | New York, NY
See photos, pricing and details

27 Reviews for Chris Chen Studios

Recommended by 99%

27
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • C

    Carlos · Married on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I hired Chris Chen and his team for our wedding in June 2015. All throughout the process, from the first initial meeting, until last photograph taken during our reception, Chris was nothing short of professional, courteous, thoughtful, and above all, made us feel at ease.

    Not only did Chris take amazing photographs for our engagement session and all through the wedding day (7am - 11pm), he helped us plan our itinerary down to the minor details. Chris and his assistant photographer made the entire wedding party feel comfortable and let everyone be themselves which gave him the opportunity to create beautiful photographs.

    I highly recommend Chris Chen and his team to be a part of your special day to create everlasting memories you will cherish for a lifetime. Thanks, Chris!

    Sent on 10/23/2015
  • J

    jenny · Married on 11/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As most brides would, I scoured a ton of online reviews and portfolios in search of the 'right' photographer for our wedding. It is only the most important day in your life, so it only makes sense to want an experienced photographer who can and will work with you to deliver everything to your expectations; and Chris did exactly just that and more in accommodating everything I requested from contract execution to our wedding day.

    He has an amazing portfolio, with various unique shots, which drew my attention further after reading all the praising online reviews; and on top to that he was very easy to work with and communicate with, whether in person or via email. Both my husband and I felt at ease in front of his camera, and this is an important factor considering how nervous one can be on their wedding day. To add, he and his team even arrived early at our venue to scoop out the surrounding areas to identify good spots to take us for outdoor photos after we finish our ceremony (they really deserve extra credit for doing their homework!)

    All our guests and family commented on how impressed they were with Chris and his team's hard work on our wedding (they must have taken over 1000 shots and we cannot wait to see them!) It also really helped that he is bi-lingual and able to communicate with my family members in Chinese during the photo sessions (if you come from a traditional Chinese family, you would know how important it is to have a billion family portraits taken during the reception, and this may drive a photographer crazy unless they understood what it was all about--thank goodness Chris was there).

    Sent on 12/03/2014
  • M

    May · Married on 11/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Chris on knot.com. I showed up to the consultation and it turns out he knew my sisters. Already off to a good start....

    Walked into his studio and was even more impressed. This guys takes his craft very seriously. It's no wonder he invests so much time (and I'm sure $$$) into all of his equipment-everything was top of the line.
    But, aside from all that, you can tell Chris is super passionate about his craft. He's super creative and really commits to his projects.

    It's doubly nice to find a vendor with whom you are comfortable with and trust their vision. From start to finish (which I can hardly wait for), each step was more impressive than the last.

    I'm so glad I have 3 unmarried sisters so I can look fwd to working with Chris and his team again!

    Sent on 12/05/2014
  • User4588121 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I've seen Chris in action before at a close friend's wedding so when I got engaged, the first person I thought about for photography was Chris as he was awesome for my friend's wedding. Chris was great to work with from our first meeting to our engagement pics to the day of the wedding as he was easy-going and just took charge of everything. Our engagement pics were taken in the middle of a muggy summer day and Chris worked tirelessly to get us to relax and get the perfect shots in -- some required him to lay out on the floor to get just the right angle. By the end of the session, we were tired and ready to go home but Chris was still very energetic and ready to keep going. Our photos came out great and we were excited to show them off at our wedding.

    On the day of the wedding, Chris and Andrew (the 2nd photographer helping Chris) showed up bright and early to get shots of the girls getting ready and continued to capture moments of the wedding until the last guest was leaving. He was absolutely awesome in keeping us on track with our pictures and in helping us get through the tea ceremony traditions with the family. We've already gotten our photos back from our wedding and my husband and I were excited to look through all the photos and see so many different pics from the day that we had no clue what was going on as we were getting ready or in a different part of the room. The photos definitely brought us back to the day of our wedding. Chris' photos of our wedding were creative, fun, and captured who we were as a couple and we highly recommend Chris to anyone looking for an easy-going energetic talented photographer who will go beyond what is expected to capture your special moment.

    Sent on 12/07/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris Chen is an amazing photographer! We had both our engagement photo session and our wedding day photos with him, and they both turned out great! Chris really took the time to learn about our background story and understand our personalities. During our engagement photo session, he made us feel at ease with taking photos in public. Chris was very efficient that day and was able to take our pictures both with a city skyscraper feel and in a more casual setting in a park. The end results were so beautiful and really exemplified who we were. We loved the photos so much that we ended up getting one of them printed on a canvas to use on our wedding day.
    On the actual wedding day, Chris was very accommodating with our requests. We have a big family which meant a lot of family photos, both before and during the ceremony and reception. Chris and his assistant came over to our house to taking pictures of us getting ready and of the traditional Chinese tea ceremony. Chris also suggested that we go offsite to a garden to take more photos before the ceremony. We're so glad we did because the photos all came out absolutely beautiful! The photos from the ceremony were even more amazing because Chris was able to capture everyone's joy and tears of happiness, and still make it all look good. The photos during our first dance make us look like we're in a movie. Chris was also able to capture so many special candid moments during the reception. While looking through the photos, we knew that our guests really had a great time.
    All in all, we were very satisfied with both the engagement and wedding photos.

    Sent on 12/08/2014
  • D

    Danny & Victoria · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We rented the photo booth from Dynasty Wedding and the quality of the picture came out great. People were very happy they were actually able to take the strips home vs only online viewing. They provided props and we got to choose a backdrop. Everyone loved it!

    Sent on 09/08/2014
  • S

    Sharon · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were looking for a wedding photographer who was talented, creative and professional, all for a competitive price. Chris Chen exceeded our expectations. He was responsive to our questions, flexible with our schedules and accommodated our needs There are just not enough words. They say "[a] picture is worth a thousand words" and I certainly find that to be true because my wedding photos accurately reflects Chris's talent and creativity. Thank You Chris!

    Sent on 01/17/2014
  • User3071998 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Chris for our rehearsal dinner and wedding. He was amazing in all aspects. We was responsive, on time and always professional. On the day of the wedding, he brought an extra shooter (free of charge) to help cover our large wedding. We were running late but Chris made sure we got all the shots and kept us on track. The photos arrived on time and they all look amazing. I recommend Chris Chen studios without reservation.

    Sent on 10/28/2013
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 08/17/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris was AWESOME!! My wife absolutely dislikes having her picture taken so I was incredibly nervous about the experience for her. Chris immediately put her at ease and we actually had fun! He is an amazing photographer and I'm so grateful that we found him. He helped make our day special and gave us beautiful pictures that we will have for a lifetime.

    Sent on 08/21/2013
  • User3202583 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was referred to Chris Chen Studios by a friend who had Chris + team capture her wedding. I was very impressed by the pictures and contacted Chris. (We also compared quite a few photographers in NYC but none came close.)

    Although we didn't take wedding photos - we wished we knew him when we had our wedding many years ago.

    Quick 2-liner summary: We had Chris take our maternity pictures and asked him to come back for pics of our newborn. Style: Unique, modern, cool, candid, black + white. Highly recommend.

    We wanted to take some maternity shots in the concrete jungle of New York City. Our criteria was simple, we wanted (1) to be in the picture and (2) we wanted cool/modern pictures that weaves in the essence of NYC. We exchanged emails/phone of locations, styles, preferences, etc and decided on time & location (Meat Packing District & High Line Park). Chris' approach is highly professional yet very personable so we were at ease and had fun. Prior to our meeting, he surveyed the area for specific spots that had the perfect lighting and setting. It was pretty free flowing and he also made some pose suggestions when we didn't know what to do.

    The pictures were processed very quickly and they were amazing and magazine quality type. He has a good eye and definitely talented. The pictures exceeded our expectation and the variety of the pictures were also a pleasant surprise. The dramatic effects of some pictures were balanced with some natural simple shots.

    We were very happy with the experience and pictures that we asked him to come back take pictures of our newborn. Similar experience and the pictures are amazing.

    My only regret in writing this review is that I hope he does not get too many clients that he will not have time for us!

    Highly recommend.

    Sent on 04/17/2013
  • A

    Ava · Married on 03/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris is awesome! He is a talented photographer and does an outstanding job capturing beautiful moments in his work. He is also professional, reliable, personable, and easy to work with. Working with Chris always made us feel taken care of and at ease, which was key during our wedding. Thank you so much, Chris!!!

    Sent on 04/11/2013
  • E

    evelyn · Married on 03/29/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I bought a Living Social deal for Chris Chen's photobooth services about two months before my wedding. I knew it was a gamble because I wasn't planning on meeting with this vendor and was doing everything through email. The reviews all have it right about Chris - he's very professional, detailed and great to deal with! He responded to my bazillion questions right away and followed up with me to confirm the date and location the week of the wedding. I'd completely forgotten to follow up with him and he got to me first!

    Both Chris and Thomas were present on the day of my wedding - both were so sweet and accommodating. It was the easiest choice I made for my wedding because it was so hassle-free and everyone loved it. It gave everyone a chance to loosen up a bit at the wedding and the great thing is, they didn't have to cramp into a tiny box to take pictures. Pictures were up on Facebook within a week and I'm expecting the DVD within the next few days. I can't say enough great things about Chris and his staff! I almost wish we had some sort of wedding sequel or after-party so that we can hire them again!

    Note to future brides: make sure you set enough time aside for you and your future husband to enjoy the photobooth. I was constantly being pulled in different directions all night and only got to take two pictures.

    Sent on 04/05/2012
  • B

    Barbara · Married on 11/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly recommend Chris Chen Studios for your wedding. When we met with Chris we were immediately put at ease by his professionalism and the quality of the work. We couldn't be happier with how everything worked out on the day of the engagement shoot and on the day of the wedding. His style was exactly what we were looking for and his photos were absolutely stunning. I really loved his laid-back personality which made me feel very comfortable as someone who does not like to have their picture taken. We could not have been more pleased with the photos we received. I have received so many compliments from family and friends as well. All in all, a fantastic experience; we definitely hope to have an occasion to use his services again.

    Sent on 12/29/2011
  • K

    Kai · Married on 11/12/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris Chen was an extremely creative and professional photographer. He worked on both the wedding and engagement shoots. My wife and I were happy to choose Chris Chen Studios.

    While searching for wedding photographers, we were looking for one that had a continuous flow of different shots. Many photographers have a set style and don't like to get out of that comfort zone.

    Take a look at his website and you'll find that in every shoot the personalities and temperaments of each couple are conveyed clearly. Chris and his assistant, Mike worked really hard that day to capture each moment, even if it required them to continuously work.

    Chris understands that wedding photography is focused on the couple. Because of that, the pictures can be charming or humorous, delicate or flashy, or all of the above.

    Sent on 12/29/2011
  • N

    Noelle & Philip · Married on 07/16/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris is an amazing photographer! I had my pre-wedding and wedding day pictures done with him. He is creative and likes to capture unique pictures that reflect the personalities of the couple. AWESOME service and AWESOME job! Thank you for everything :)

    Sent on 07/16/2012
  • AT

    Anna · Married on 03/19/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris Chen is sooo awesome! We met him to take our engagement photos around New York City. It was a very casual day where we walked, talked and smiled for the camera. I wanted to make sure it's relaxing for all 3 of us and that is exactly what I got. The result of the photos on the other hand were everything but relaxed, they were sooo beautiful & creative!!! If you haven't seen his work, make sure to visit his website and check it out. I surely don't have that kind of creative eye for photography! I would totally recommend Chris Chen to everyone!

    Sent on 05/03/2012
  • K

    F · Married on 09/12/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris is a superb photographer! We could not be happier with the engagement and wedding day pics that he took of us. He has a great eye for getting those extra special shots (his attention to detail is uncanny), and his post-production skills are just as deft and clever! Was very accomodating of all of our suggestions and worked out every of the few concerns we had until we were 100% satisfied! On top of that, he's just an amiable and sweet guy! Thank you Chris, Nellys and team for capturing our memories perfectly, we salute YOU!!! For those of you that read this review, please put your trust in Chris and we promise you'll not be disappointed!

    Sent on 09/12/2011
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 02/02/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding video and photos came out awesome.

    Sent on 03/12/2010
  • A

    Anne · Married on 10/17/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris Chen is simply an amazing photographer. When I met Chris, I was able to immediately put my trust in him and his work. During our first meeting, Chris showed me his work and what the finished product will look like. He answered all my questions to my satisfaction and he was easily accessible via any types of method modern technology has given us. He responds to his emails in a timely fashion and that is very important to me.

    Although his prices were the most expensive out of my search for photographers, I felt that I was able to trust him to do the best work for the most important day of my life. Now after the wedding has happened, I can honestly say that I do not regret spending the money. His teasers for the event comes out the same night and they are always so wonderful and it makes you want to see the rest of the photos immediately.

    As a bride, I know how hard it is to look for a photographer who will satisfy your needs and also a photographer who is able to capture all the special moments in your special day and let me tell you, you will not regret choosing Chris Chen. I recommend him to everyone that I know without any hesitation.

    Sent on 12/27/2009
  • M

    linh · Married on 09/20/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris is an awesome photographer! His work is really creative. He has the "eye" for great photography! He will meet with you and answer any questions you have even though he is a very busy guy. However, after a while of talking, you will find that you not only hired an awesome photographer but you just made an awesome friend :) I loved my E session photos and my wedding photos came out beautiful! He caught all the special moments i wanted. You wont be disappointed. I totally recommend him for any life events that come your way :) In five years ill probably be hiring him to take pics of my kid lol

    Sent on 11/24/2009
  • C

    Christine · Married on 07/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My fiance and I did our engagement photo shoot with Chris Chen. He is an amazing photographer. He is inventive and professional. He will put you at ease. Working with him is a joy and his photographs are exquisite. I HIGHLY recommend him!!

    Sent on 01/16/2010
  • N

    Nellys · Married on 10/05/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most important part of the wedding is capturing all the most precious moments (no pun intended!), and that is what Chris does. I think people often overlook the role of the photographer, and the amount of work a photographer has. As the bride, I was completely flushed, nervous, and had zero time to worry about where I and other should stand, who should be in the photos, etc. But Chris has a knack for finding the subject's best angles, understanding the roles of each relative and friend. While toting his multiple photography equipment, he makes the job look so easy! But I know it is anything, but easy! He just has a way of making the subject feel comfortable...another extremely important part of the wedding day. His charisma and sociability really put me at ease. He's like a photographer, friend, adviser, planner, and wedding consultant all rolled into one! And, when I thought I couldn't be happier with his service, I got my wedding album. That was when I realized I made the right choice. Its difficult (very difficult!) to find the right photographer. One that you could trust to take great photos and one that you could trust to NOT scam you (the vulnerable and nervous bride). Chris Chen Studios just wanted to make my day special, and I could not have asked for anything more. Thank you, Chris! --Nellys (now) Liang, (Oct 5, 2008 wedding in New York City)

    Sent on 11/24/2009
  • B

    Mary · Married on 08/06/2004

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris Chen is a wonderful photographer with an absolutely amazing eye for photography. You will definitely be speechless with the results. On top of that Chris is a very easy going and flexible gentleman. He will do everything he can to make sure you get what you want. He is very professional but at the same time very easy to get along with. You will leave your session knowing his work will be 200% as well as make a friend along the way. I highly recommend his work. Just check out his website for the most breath-taking images you will ever see!

    Sent on 01/04/2010
  • L

    Ling & Johnnie · Married on 07/05/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I actually found out about Chris Chen Studios when were looking for a DJ for our wedding. We were looking a DJ/MC that spoke Chinese and we found Dynasty Weddings, which is associated with Chris Chen Studios. We ended up hiring Dynasty Weddings and Chris Chen studios to provide both the DJ/MC and the photography/videography. We worked directly with Chris, of Chris Chen Studios, and we loved his work when we saw some samples. Chris Chen Studios provided the engagement photos and the wedding day photography and videography. They got some amazing shots! It was a pleasure working with Chris and company.

    Sent on 12/06/2014
  • S

    George · Married on 10/25/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris Chen is a creative photographer with an eye for the great shot.
    He's very professional and works with you always to address
    your needs. He always gets back to you if you have any questions.
    I really enjoyed my wedding photos he took for me.
    He's a great person as well and thoughtful.

    Sent on 12/28/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review