Weddings

China Jorrin Photography Reviews

China Jorrin Photography

China Jorrin Photography

Staatsburg, NY
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 24 Reviews
View more information

24 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 99% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 24
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

1 User photo

Sort by:
  • M
    Mollie M. Married on 11/23/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Photographer!

    China was the absolute BEST. Where do I start? Before the big day, we had a few calls to go over the details of what we wanted. China fit her schedule to mine and was especially gracious in the days leading up to the wedding when I was overwhelmed and running late for everything. She was quick to respond to my emails, texts, and calls.

    On the actual day, China met me at the salon and spent the next 7 hours with me. She was unobtrusive and for the majority of the time I forgot she was there (in the best way possible). She caught so many wonderful candid photos at the salon, while I was getting ready, while my friends were setting up the venue, while folks were waiting for the ceremony to begin, and then the ceremony itself: WHOA! My now husband did not want to be the center of any attention, he didn't want any cameras on him, or in his face, and still, China found a way to take fabulous photos of him in the lead up to the ceremony and the ceremony itself.

    China caught EVERYTHING about the ceremony without us ever knowing she was there, and it was absolutely perfect. After the ceremony she worked quickly to set up the group (family and friend) photos, which were over in a flash (and there were a lot of them). We got married in late November and China made excellent use of the fading afternoon light for a number of photos outside.

    At our dinner, in a narrow restaurant in Brooklyn, China worked the room like no other.

    Our wedding day was the best day and I'm so glad that we had China there to capture it all. HIGHLY HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend her for all your photography needs. Thank you China!
  • C
    Corina R. Married on 09/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    China Photography

    China Jorrin was unbelievably amazing. Last minute my fiancé and I decided we did in fact need our rehearsal dinner photographed. She came highly recommended and when I called her five days before my event she immediately agreed to help.
    We hired her and are beyond thankful that we did. She made all our guests feel so comfortable and every photo was organic and natural. The lighting on each and every photo was superb and I truly can’t say enough great things about her. We highly recommend China for all events.
    We know we will work with her again and look forward to it!
  • K
    Krista F. Married on 08/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    We love China!

    China was so lovely to work with for our wedding! Leading up to our big day, she was very reassuring, calm and confident. She kept in contact with us as we went through all the details and exchanged thoughts. China guided us through the entire process and we trusted her perspective and advice. On the day of our wedding, China was super attentive, on point and creative - truly capturing the entire essence of our special day. Her work is organic, genuine, unique and beautiful. We would love to work with China again!
  • C
    Celine Married on 09/18/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    China is truly the best ! We were drawn to her beautiful and refined aesthetic and we absolutely love our pictures.
    China really captured the magic of this day. There is so much elegance and grace in her work. She did not miss one moment and yet remained warm and discreet. China helped make this day so special and we will cherish our photographs forever. We highly, highly recommend her services.
  • K
    Kim Married on 08/06/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We decided to have China photograph our wedding after witnessing her brilliance during my sister's wedding last year. Her photos completely speak for themselves, her talent is beyond amazing, and she is the sweetest and most easy going person to be around. In terms of her involvement on the day of, China has an incredible way of completely blending into the space and capturing the most incredible moments, while not being the least bit "invasive". She has gotten it down to a science, and it's really incredible how she moved throughout the day grabbing the most special moments naturally and with such grace. We couldn't be happier with how our photos turned out, but also with how wonderful she was to work with throughout the entire planning process. She was an absolute pleasure to work with.
  • L
    Lindsay Married on 06/25/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    China was a pleasure to work with. She took time to understand our vision for the wedding and came early to get to know the important family members that we wanted photographed. She exuded calm in the moments leading up to the ceremony and definitely captured the feel of the day. Definitely recommend!
  • J
    Joseph Married on 12/11/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I feel so fortunate to have discovered China Jorrin. My now husband and I were worried about finding an affordable, talented photographer who had the aesthetic we were looking for--documentary-style, candid, natural and NOT touched up to hell--and when we found China, we were elated because she fit all of our criteria. Prior to the wedding, we had a fun engagement shoot that allowed us to get a feel for how China would be shooting us and for us to give preferences (eg, my husband I determined we didn't care for pictures of us where one was holding the other from behind, but rather when we were holding hands, and China took note of it for the wedding day). On the day of the wedding, China showed up over 2 hours early so she could scout the venue, and she basically stayed with us from that point on, not nickel and diming or scrambling to stick to the hours we paid for. That easiness carried over the entire event. Several guests noted that she "seemed to be everywhere" but she never was intrusive or interrupted anything to get a shot except when we specifically asked her to. Portraits were done in an orderly way--she's VERY quick compared to what I remember from other weddings I've attended--and at our request she took care of them well before the reception so we could party! When we received our photographs--a preview 2 weeks later, the full set exactly 1 month after the wedding; insanely quick--we were overjoyed by how perfect they were. We immediately shared them with family and friends who all shared our sentiment that she'd totally captured the vibe and the spirit of the day. My husband and I can't stop looking at them, and we're currently in thick of creating physical albums which is proving impossible since China gave us literally 1,000 usable images. Each is unique, not a single one is a bad or unflattering shot (I assume she got rid of those in advance), and it truly feels like we are reliving the wedding because it's SO well documented. BOOK HER!
  • D
    Dustin Married on 10/17/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    There isn't much that I can say more than China is awesome!
  • Sarah
    Sarah Married on 10/10/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    China was an absolute pleasure to work with. From our first meeting, we immediately felt at ease with her. We loved our engagement shoot and were so happy with the photos. On the day of the wedding, she was not obtrusive at all (this was very important to us-we didn't want a photographer "parked" with us under the chuppah, spoiling the view for all of the guests! She was also super fast and efficient at getting all of our family portraits done so we didn't have to stand around for too long and so we could get off to our cocktail hour. Her second shooter, Giovanni, was also fabulous. I am so happy we chose China to photograph our wedding and would recommend her to anybody.
  • User2406261 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    China was extremely professional and we love the final product. When looking for a photographer, my husband and I knew wanted to capture the day through candid photos and didn't want to spend too much time posing for the camera. We so appreciated China's efficiency with the portraits so that we could get ourselves over to the main event. Even with limited formal shots, China still managed to photograph every single guest with a focus on our family. She caught every important moment and captured the joy, exuberance and warmth that we felt. Her experience as a documentary photographer shows as she was able to use the natural light, elements of our ceremony and venue, and organic groupings of guests to create authentic and meaningful memories of the day. China sent us a "sneak peek" slideshow within two weeks and all of the final photos within 3.5 weeks. We cannot recommend her enough!
  • E
    Emily Married on 07/11/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    China was amazing!! We chose China to photograph our wedding and so happy we did!!!!!!! China is extremely flexible, responsive, creative, and most of all fun! She really listened to what we wanted for our wedding and was able to do it flawlessly. Throughout the year, we met with China and corresponded through email, skype, and phone. She was always there to answer any questions we had. She made the process so easy for us! Our pictures came out amazing! She really captured what we were looking for. We would highly recommend using China for your photographer! Best part is...she is my sister's wedding photographer as well!!
  • E
    Edward Married on 06/06/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    FANTASTIC wedding photographer. Captured all of the moments with ease and professionalism. Extremely quick photo turnaround time -- an unheard of three weeks. Lovely photographer, lovely person, lovely pick for your wedding!
  • J
    Jennifer Married on 08/11/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    After seeing countless wedding photos of our friends my husband was super worried we would have the same cliche images.....until I showed him China's work. He was actually excited to have our photos taken after seeing the moments that China captures. We had a very small and intimate ceremony and China knew exactly what we wanted. Our images are beyond our expectations.......awesome!
  • K
    Kristen Married on 09/16/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    China was absolutely unbelievable!! The pictures she took of our day were above and way beyond what I ever expected for wedding photos! She captured detail and emotion for our entire day, from getting ready and the anxiety to the hilarity of drunken late night dancing. She was laid back, fun to work with and kept us relaxed like she wasn't there. The candid shots were done with perfect timing. Some of the photos make me laugh just thinking about them now. I also hate all photos of myself and I love everyone of the pictures China took! So much so it will be hard to choose which ones to print! China thank you so much for making so many amazing memories of our day! we will have these forever and I am so thankful we choose you to do this for us! YOU ARE THE BEST, SO AMAZING!!!!!! You will be forever taking photos of the next steps of our lives, I will now never trust anyone else with taking our photos! XOXO
  • C
    Chae Married on 09/02/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    There are many kinds of talented artist and photographers, but rarely do you meet someone who not only creates exceptional work, but also has such profound respect for their Clients. We had interviewed 3 other top of line photographers who had received consistently good ratings, but China definitely gave the most personal attention, and had the most genuine interest in getting to know us. Looking back at our photos, it definitely shows. We feel so fortunate to have had China as our photographer to capture the spirit and joy of our special day, in a way that’s as beautiful as we remember.
  • J
    Jacqueline Married on 07/26/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    China was really easy to work with. She didn't make us feel awkward at all, and we are both a little camera shy. Her work is amazing as well, and we were very happy with the package she tailored for our casual, Monday evening wedding.
  • Y
    Kate Married on 10/10/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    China took so many incredible shots capturing truly special moments of our wedding. We highly recommend her services. She arrived way ahead of time so we didn't have to worry about starting on time. She also contacted us ahead of the wedding so we could plan for the day of.
  • H
    Kit Married on 09/05/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    China is a kind and caring person and this is clearly reflected in the beauty of her photography. She felt as much a part of our wedding celebration while also being incredibly respectful and inobtrusive. We felt she truly came to know us and our love for each other and did an amazing job of showing this in her portraiture and wedding photos that she did for us.
  • S
    Sandra Married on 08/15/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    China was truly a talented professional yet so easy to work with. She captured every memorable moment. My husband and I were able to enjoy our wedding all over again with our photographs.
  • M
    Mimi Married on 12/10/2008
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were SO incredibly happy with China's work. She made everyone feel so comfortable and she has such an eye! She has this incredible knack of standing back and not being too overinvolved when needed and knowing when to take more control. Her style is so original and it reflects in her outstanding photography.

  • User2054370 2+ years ago
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    China was so great to work with. As a professional event producer, I had very high expectations and have worked with many photographers on all types of events. I was in a tough place because I was planning my wedding in about 4 months and the venue and photographer were the hardest vendors to find. A lot of the best vendors are booked at over a year in advance. I was getting desperate because most of the photographers who were free on my day (a very popular Saturday in Sept) were not that great and I had very specific ideas of what I wanted (modern, journalistic, not corny or typical). I finally found China through a recommendation and was so glad I did. She was a total professional with many years of experience, thorough, communicative. Photography can be one of the most expensive items in a wedding budget if you're working with an experienced person and since the pictures are all you have after the day is over, it's extremely important that you get what you expect. I was very pleased with the results and know that I will treasure these pictures forever. As with any photographer, I recommend giving lots of examples of what you want/like and most importantly, images that you do not want and don't like. Also, have your shot list ready and review it with your photographer way ahead of time to work on timing, etc. Overall, China is highly recommended.
  • A
    Andrew Married on 09/06/2009
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    China is amazing. First class in every way. She's a fantastic photographer who will capture your wedding in a unique artistic way. I'm sure if you want straight up traditional shots that she could deliver that too, but we wanted something more creative and she delivered.
  • S
    Rudy Married on 10/27/2007
    Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    We met with a few photographers, but immediately fell in love with China�s warmth and pleasant disposition. She interacted very well with us, our guests and all of our other vendors and it really helped her photos capture the spirit, energy and emotion of our Wedding day (October 2007). I definitely feel like China was a guest at our wedding (as opposed to an anonymous photographer). We were/are extremely happy with our final prints � China composed some great albums for us and we will always remember our amazing day because of her. Thanks China!
  • susanne
    Susanne Married on 10/26/2009
    Rating 4.3 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I think China is a very talented and artistic photographer. OUr photos are beautiful and she took alot of them. My one criticism is that there are very few candid photos of my mother (mother of the bride). That really upset me and I feel that is one detail that I should not have to actually ask for. There are several posed family photos but not too many at the party.