Skip to main content
Weddings

Chicago History Museum Reviews

Chicago History Museum

Chicago History Museum

Chicago, IL
4.9 out of 5 rating, 41 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.9 out of 5 rating
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
41 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating
97% Recommended by couples

Awards

41
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2024 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2023 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner

31 User photos

  • Ally W
    Ally W. Sent on 01/03/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect wedding venue experience!!

    My husband and I had our absolute dream wedding at the Chicago History Museum! We could not have been happier with our choice to work with the wonderful people at CHM for our wedding day! Erika, Anna and Lynette are an absolute dream team. From our first tour to our big day, they were there every step of the way to help answer questions and put our minds at ease, ensuring that our day would go as smoothly as possible, and it absolutely did. They were all an absolute pleasure to work with, and on top of that, CHM is an absolutely gorgeous venue for a wedding. From the chandelier in the lobby, to the exhibit you can choose to have open during cocktail hour, to the beautiful floors and walls and stained glass in the Morse Genius Chicago Room, the Chicago History Museum offers such a beautiful backdrop for such an important and celebratory day. The bridal suite was a great space to regroup in, in between events, and the grand set of stairs off the back of the museum offered the perfect space for our first look and portraits. Thank you to the team at Chicago History Museum for everything!!
  • Roxanna
    Roxanna P. Sent on 07/18/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    CHM is an amazing venue for a wedding

    Our wedding was so magical at CHM. The outdoor plaza, robinson gallery, and Chicago room were perfect and absolutely gorgeous. CHM also handles the bar and some equipment which made it really easy, and in general, they are a very easy vendor to work with. Specifically, Erika is who we were working with and was so helpful! We knew we were in great hands when we started working with her but especially at the final walkthrough when it was clear she had everything dialed in. As expected, everything went swimmingly the day of. We recommend doing your wedding at CHM!
  • R
    Ranana D. Sent on 07/11/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Jewish Wedding at Chicago History Museum

    The Chicago History Museum, and particularly Erika, facilitated our beautiful and extremely joyful wedding. Our guests are still telling us how much they loved the venue, including how beautiful it was and how much fun they had exploring the galleries. Our wedding happened to be on an extremely rainy day, and we are extremely appreciative of the Museum's excellent rain plan. We appreciate how professional, communicative, and supportive Erika was during the wedding planning process. We had a traditional Jewish wedding and the museum had great space for a tisch, bedeken, chuppah, and reception - and great dance floor space for simcha dancing! The Museum was an integral part in making our wedding day a beautiful one (even in a deluge) - thank you.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kristen M. Sent on 07/04/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Loved our wedding at the Chicago History Museum!!

    We had the most beautiful wedding day at the Chicago History Museum. Erika was absolutely wonderful to work with during our planning -- so attentive to detail and very responsive! We loved the entire setup and the room and outdoor space is beautiful!
  • E
    Emily M. Sent on 06/17/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Iconic Wedding Venue with an Excellent Team

    My husband and I knew we wanted our wedding to be in the city of Chicago and after one visit to the Chicago History Museum we knew it was the spot! The space is gorgeous so you can go as elaborate or minimal with it looking wonderful. We had a November wedding so we did not get to use the outdoor area as much but it was perfect space for our snowy first look photos which the museum staff accommodated earlier in the day. The team at the museum Lorelei, Lynette, and Brad were fantastic to work with and offered recommendations and were ready to assist with our specific ideas. They have a ton of vendors who are used to their venue and was so happy our band knew the space and team well. Overall it was the wedding of our dreams and all of our friends and family loved the museum and space and felt so taken care of during the festivities. You cannot go wrong with this venue for a iconic Chicago wedding any time of year 💜
  • James
    James B. Sent on 11/30/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    best.day.ever.

    I cannot express how happy my wife, damn that is cool to day, and I are that we had our elopement at the Chicago History Museum. From the first contact with Erika to Anna helping us out on the actual day, it was nothing but a pleasure. Everything feel into place better than we thought it would, and the experience as a whole made our wedding day that much more enjoyable. I would highly recommend the Chicago History Museum!
  • H
    Heather J. Sent on 06/07/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fabulous Venue & Team!

    The Chicago History Museum team was instrumental in coordinating my wedding day. They thought of every single detail and I was able to enjoy my wedding day without having to worry about anything. The venue is absolutely gorgeous (classic Chicago vibes) and has the best location. I can't say enough good things about it! I am so thankful for their team for helping plan my dream day.
  • E
    Ellie Sent on 07/30/2023
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Best wedding at CHM!

    The team at CHM was wonderful! Having done a bunch of weddings, they were really helpful with all aspects of our decision making and provided us with a lot of options. Of note, they were flexible on having the cocktail hour inside or outside, with the ability to make the call day of (our wedding was in October so we were hoping for nice weather - which we got)! I can't recommend CHM enough!
  • Chelsea
    Chelsea F. Sent on 09/09/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Incredible Historical Reception Venue!

    I knew going into looking for a venue that I wanted to do something meaningful and potentially historical. My husband and I love history and museums, and we met in Chicago, so this seemed like a perfect fit! (I will say we looked at almost all other museums in the city as well) Talking to Lorelei from Day 1, she was so friendly and helpful, I felt that throughout the entire process I had a trusted partner. She advised on everything from bar placement to cocktail hour planning. She also has relationships with most of my other vendors, which made everything a breeze on the day of. In addition, I have to say that the actual space itself is breathtaking. It's difficult to tell when you're seeing it with nothing in it, but on the day-of, it truly is incredible. The steps in front were our favorite part, and we were able to get a picture with all of our guests on the steps! We also noticed that our guests tended to use the steps as their photo backdrop, which was perfect because we chose not to do a photo booth. We had one built in!

    I highly recommend using the Chicago History Museum - not only is it a gorgeous location (with a newly renovated patio) but it means your event is a small piece of their history!
  • C
    Christina F. Sent on 11/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Wedding to go down in History

    The Chicago History Museum provided such a unique wedding experience which was everything we could have dreamed of and more. The grand background of the building was the perfect backdrop, and we loved the natural beauty and historical touches indoors. All in all, it was even more stunning than we could have envisioned. The staff understood from day one what we wanted to achieve for our wedding, and were so helpful along the way. We could not have been happier to have had the opportunity to have our guests explore the museum during our cocktail hour. We loved having a private space for our wedding party to leave their items off the main rooms, and wonderful spots to take photographs both indoors and outside. CHM was a special place to us before we got married, and now will be forevermore.
  • C
    Carrie B. Sent on 08/16/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    A Venue Must!

    A night to remember! Erika and the Chicago History Museum team were a joy to work with. They were responsive and went above and beyond to make sure we had the perfect evening. The bartending staff provided by the museum were friendly, attentive, and mixed a great drink! Guests enjoyed the versatility of the space from the outdoor patio to the Chicago Room & Robinson Gallery to the Crossroads exhibit. Thank you for making it a perfect evening!

    Chicago History Museum's reply:

    Thank you so much for the kind words, Carrie! Your black and gold soiree was so beautiful. We loved those bars and tables!
  • T
    Taylar M. Sent on 07/04/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Timeless beauty steeped in history

    The Chicago History Museum brought our dream wedding to life! The team at the venue was incredible to work with, responsive and thoughtful in every regard. Being able to open an exhibit to our guests during cocktail hour made our evening perfect and unique. We couldn't have imagined our reception anywhere else; the space is beautiful and one of a kind.
  • E
    Erin Sent on 02/02/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Can't say enough good things!

    Could not recommend CHM more! Their team was extremely helpful and overall wonderful to work with, especially Erika. Super knowledgeable and connected to many other wonderful vendors in the industry in Chicago. The space is absolutely stunning and they went above and beyond to help make our vision a reality. Plus the newly renovated outdoor area is gorgeous. 10/10 would recommend this venue for any size wedding!

    Chicago History Museum's reply:

    You're the best, Erin! Thank you so much for the kind words and the beautiful photos! Erika loved working with you two, as well.
  • Mandy
    Mandy L. Sent on 10/27/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Our guests can't stop talking!

    Erika and the CMH team were such a pleasure to work with! We rescheduled our wedding in 2020 due to the pandemic and the team was so accommodating. They put all of our worries at ease and made the planning process seamless during a crazy time. The venue is absolutely iconic. We were able to put our own twist on a truly classic institution. The staff and bartenders were amazing during the reception. Our family and friends can't stop raving about how amazing the venue! COULD NOT RECOMMEND MORE!
  • S
    Stefanie C. Sent on 09/16/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream wedding at the Chicago History Museum

    Having my wedding at the Chicago History Museum was the best decision I made. The venue is timeless and classic and their gorgeous newly renovated outdoor pavilion was the perfect setting for our cocktail hour - our guests complimented the beautiful indoor and outdoor spaces all night. Having covid-postponed wedding wasn't ideal, but the coordinator, Erika helped alleviate so much stress. She was understanding, kind, organized and beyond helpful in navigating us through the ever changing restrictions to ensure we had a perfect day. Truly the most amazing venue to get married!
  • Chelsea
    Chelsea P. Sent on 08/17/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    So good we got married here twice!

    The Chicago History Museum is an amazing and unique venue that worked tirelessly to make our day special! We had to change plans many times due to COVID, and ended up having a small ceremony here last year in 2020, with the much larger reception taking place this past weekend in 2021. Erika was always quick to answer questions and make accommodations at every turn. She was so kind, considerate, organized, and responsive. Even though she was managing MANY other weddings we never felt like she was working with anyone but us. We had the most amazing wedding thanks to the beauty of this location as well as the tireless efforts of our coordinator Erika. We are so grateful! I would recommend this location to anyone and everyone who wants a unique, beautiful, and organized wedding!
  • J
    Jack M. Sent on 09/03/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Last minute venue change...turned out amazing!

    We had to change our wedding plans three weeks before our date due to Covid, and the Chicago History Museum was fantastic. Erika was incredibly helpful in getting things planned last minute, and was so accommodating in answering all our questions and working out the last minute details. We used minimal decor for our ceremony, and our photos turned out beautifully as the interior detail and natural light in the space are fantastic!
  • L
    Lilia H. Sent on 09/18/2021
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Everything we dreamed of (for more than 2 years!)

    Everything about this space and experience was perfect. We wanted a church-like vibe for a ceremony (without an actual church) and an elegant (but still fun and not stuffy) reception and it was everything we wanted. The space is so beautiful you truly need minimal decorations and the location and museum gave our wedding a true Chicago feel. I also cannot speak highly enough of how CHM helped us navigate the pandemic. They helped us reschedule our wedding more than once and when it finally happened (July 2021) I was very reassured by the fact that they held us to even higher standards of safety than were required by the city. A huge thank you to Erika and everyone else at CHM who played a role in making our day happen!
  • Laura
    Laura H. Sent on 03/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    One-of-a-Kind Venue

    When it came to finding the perfect wedding venue, we knew the Chicago History Museum was it from the moment we walked in. Even my husband was blown away by the uniqueness of the space and how elegant it felt. But it was Lorelei, the event coordinator that sold us most of all. From our first meeting, we knew she was someone special and would go to the ends of the Earth to make sure we had our perfect wedding. And that she did. Our wedding was originally scheduled for October 2020, but was postponed to June 2021 due to COVID. Even after we moved the date, Lorelei continued to communicate with us throughout the planning process so we felt like we were always top of mind. As the day got closer, she went above and beyond to help us navigate the ever changing COVID regulations, while also making sure we weren't sacrificing the elements of the day that were most important to us. She was always transparent and honest when dealing with pandemic related challenges, so we knew we could trust her to have our best interests in mind. The food and the bar options were key factors for us when picking a venue and CHM did not disappoint! All of the caterers that they work with are top-notch and picking just one was one of the hardest planning decisions we had to make. We ended up going with Food For Thought and couldn't be happier with how the food turned out. The bar packages are handled by CHM, so Lorelei worked with us to ensure we got everything we wanted and was able to accommodate all of our special requests. People still talk about the fact we had Casamigos at our wedding :) We will forever be grateful to Lorelei and her team at CHM for making our wedding day everything we hoped for and more!
  • Meg
    Meg G. Sent on 01/27/2020
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Dream venue

    Brittany and the whole team we’re so wonderful to work with, made me feel like a queen. Our wedding was so beautiful!
  • Jordan
    Jordan Sent on 04/25/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful venue

    Amazingly beautiful but long wait list
  • B
    Brittany Sent on 07/10/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    It was truly a dream to get married at the Chicago History Museum! The venue and outdoor space are absolutely stunning! The staff is incredible and helped our dream day come true!
  • K
    Katie Sent on 05/24/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    When we started looking at wedding venues, we wanted something that had an outdoor and indoor space. When we came across the Chicago History Museum, we fell absolutely in love with the Chicago Room and the outdoor plaza. I cannot get over how perfect this venue was for our wedding! Not only is the space amazing, the staff is wonderful!! Jessica was amazing to work with! She was professional and attendant. Any questions I had for her, were answered quickly and thoroughly! I would recommend this venue to anyone looking to get married in Chicago!
  • J
    Jean Sent on 10/10/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Chicago History Museum was a dream venue for our wedding. It's a unique and beautiful setting that allowed us to have our cocktail hour outside (with an inside option, in case of inclement weather, which fortunately, we didn't have to utilize) and our reception inside in stunning ballroom space. Melanie was extremely helpful and informative throughout the planning process. On the day of the wedding, she worked her tail off to make sure everything was running smoothly at the venue. I couldn't be happier with our choice of venue. Such a stunning space!
  • C
    Cara Sent on 12/16/2016
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Chicago History Museum was the location of our dream wedding reception. The staff was available throughout the entire process and provided excellent insights on how to create the perfect night. The room itself is absolutely stunning and gave a unique twist on a typical venue. It easily fit our 190 person guest list without feeling crowded.
illustration stars

Are you interested?

Send a message