Weddings

Chesapeake Bay Foundation Reviews

Chesapeake Bay Foundation

Chesapeake Bay Foundation

Annapolis, MD
Rating 4.8 out of 5, 71 Reviews
View more information

71 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.7 out of 5

Awards

  • 71
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

70 User photos

Sort by:
  • Housetyrrell2020
    Jacqueline Married on 06/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent customer service

    My fiance and I were looking at this as out venue for our wedding. The customer service and responsiveness to our questions was quick and friendly. This venue would have been a great choice if my fiance and I hadn't chosen to go with a destination wedding instead!

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks for your review Jacqueline! Enjoy every moment of your upcoming wedding- we wish you a lifetime of happiness!
  • L
    Laura W. Married on 06/05/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A dream come true!

    CBF was the venue of our dreams. We wanted to get married on a beach and have the freedom to design an event that would really fit “us”. No place that we toured even held a candle to CBF/Philip Merrill Environmental Center. They let you provide your own bar, and choose from a list of caterers, which meant that we were able to serve caipirinhas and pick a caterer who could design a Brazilian menu. We loved that the venue is environmentally friendly, and that our venue fee would help support the Chesapeake Bay.

    Emily Blackman knew every contingency plan for rain, social distancing, etc, and helped us design a layout that would work in any circumstance. There is a big tree on the beach, which provides some shade during the ceremony, and the deck is spacious enough for tables, a bar, and a dance floor. They also provided some decor and a cornhole set, which was just an added bonus for an already perfect night.
  • A
    Alex G. Married on 09/20/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Stunning and Sustainable!

    I started searching for wedding venues after my Fiance and first got engaged. I didn't know much about Maryland and stumbled onto CBF as a wedding Venue. As someone who considers themselves eco conscious I had to learn more about what this venue was all about. Then. I fell in LOVE! What isn't to love? A private Beach, an outdoor patio, and an organization with a mission to #SAVETHEBAY ?! There was no question after touring this venue that it was going to be the place we said "I Do" with a full commitment to not only each other, but the environment too. On top of that Emily was a pleasure to work with and everyone we have encountered at CBF has had so much energy and we have learned so much about Maryland and the Chesapeake Bay. We even incorporated many Bay Saving Items into our wedding details - like the ties, the masks, and of course the Oyster reef balls!!
  • Katie
    Katie B. Married on 09/06/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dream like venue!

    We are SO SO happy with our decision to get married at the CBF! It was the first place we saw when we started venue shopping and we fell in love instantly. The beach, the tree, the deck... it was all magical! We were originally planning to have a wedding with 125 people but cut it down to 30 because of COVID. Since the venue is pretty much all outdoors, we still felt really great about holding the ceremony and reception there and I would choose this place 100 times over if I could! We had the ceremony under the tree and cocktail hour on the beach. The reception was all outside on the deck and we didn't end up using the inside room for anything other than a staging area. Emily and the entire staff were amazing to work it and we loved that the fee goes towards the foundation! Another really great thing is that would can bring your own alcohol which ended up saving us a lot of money! We got married over labor day weekend and it was truly a dream come true (even with less people)! Thank you CBF!!!

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thank you Katie for the review! You and Travis were lovely to work with, and we are so glad that everything turned out so lovely in these crazy circumstances! Cheers to many, many happy years!
  • Austin
    Austin B. Married on 03/06/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Your Wedding Venue Search Ends Here!

    My wife and I had our wedding ceremony/reception at CBF in June and were incredibly pleased with the entire experience. Emily Blackman was a superb events coordinator who helped us visualize each detail and answered all our questions. The venue is undoubtedly the best value in the area with a private beach and incredible bay views, guests were commenting on it throughout the entire evening. Fortunately we had a nice sunny day but having a back up rain plan that would be covered and still have water views lowered our anxiety. There are a number of delicious caterers to choose from (shout out to Be My Guest) that are very familiar with the venue and keep everything running smoothly. We were completely satisfied, might have to go ahead and get married again! Thanks CBF!

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks Austin for the review! Everything turned out lovely, and you were so easy to work with. Come back and visit anytime!
  • Sarah
    Sarah Married on 11/02/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful & Natural

    If you are looking for a venue with architectural interest, natural landscape, and water views all while contributing to helping the bay!? Look no further. I loved everything about CBF. Emily was amazing to work with and so helpful in every step of the planning process.
  • C
    Caitlin Married on 09/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely breathtaking

    We were looking for a place where we could bring in our own vendors (including an outside caterer) while also being on the water. CBF was everything we wanted and more. While admittedly we had a perfect weather day, it would have been beautiful regardless. Breathtaking views of the Bay along with open air decks allowing for the breeze to pass through and keep people comfy. The facility offered everything we might need (or at least space to house what we needed!) and they were environmentally friendly, allowing us to feel like we were able to give back just a bit on our happiest day. Highly recommend to anyone who wants to plan their own wedding from beginning to end! (we'll update with a professional pic once they come in!)

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thank you for the lovely review Caitlin! What a beautiful day it was, and best wishes to you and Paul! Come back and visit us anytime!
  • Kelcey
    Kelcey C. Married on 09/15/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    An Amazing Experience!!

    I cannot express how amazing this venue was for our wedding!! It has a very unique feel to it, and after get married right on the water on the private beach we were able drink and dance the night away on a large covered desk overlooking the water at night. During the planning leading up to it we dealt with Emily who was fantastic in answering all our questions and making sure we had everything we needed for the big day. Another huge perk was that they allowed us to supply our own alcohol which was a big advantage in customize our options for the guests. I can without a day say that my wife and I have no regrets going with here as our venue and would absolutely do it again!

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks Kelcey & Keith for the review- congrats again on the wedding! We were so glad to have such a beautiful day for such a lovely couple! Come back and visit us anytime!
  • A
    Ashley M. Married on 08/30/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Beach Venue and A Great Cause!

    We absolutely loved getting married at the Chesapeake Bay Foundation (CBF) for our summer wedding! We got married on the beach and had our reception under the twinkle lights on the deck overlooking the water. Not only is it gorgeous, but the venue cost also goes towards helping save the Chesapeake Bay. The Venue Coordinator at CBF, Emily, was wonderful to work with and very responsive. Highly recommended!

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thank for for the kind words Ashley! It was wonderful working with you and your family and everything turned out gorgeous! Best wishes to you and Dan!
  • C
    Caroline Married on 07/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful Experience!

    From the moment we toured CBF, we knew this was the spot where we wanted to get married. It is an incredibly beautiful location and there is a lot of flexibility in how you can set things up. We got married on one of the hottest days of the year and were able to be flexible even on the day of in terms of where we set up cocktail hour and the ceremony. When choosing CBF, it’s important to keep in mind that it is not a traditional wedding venue and much of the organizational elements will be left up to you. The staff are really helpful and friendly, but ultimately you are renting the space, not a “venue.” This all worked out well for us, but just something to keep in mind! Our guests loved the location and we would definitely choose CBF again!
  • A
    Adrianne C. Married on 06/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    June wedding

    Could not be happier that we had our wedding here. Great experience with staff. Beautiful location/views and great flexibility having the covered deck. It rained during our ceremony and I LOVED how the ceremony ended up feeling so intimate on the deck plus we still had gorgeous views behind us. Love that our wedding also supported the environmental efforts the foundation works on and guests loved that it had such a special meaning

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks for the review, Adrianne- come back and visit anytime! Best wishes to you & Ches! We can't wait to see some more pony pictures on the beach!
  • Lauren
    Lauren Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Venue!

    The Chesapeake Bay Foundation was the perfect venue for our wedding. The venue is basically a blank slate and the bride and groom have extreme flexibility in layout, decorations, vendors, etc. The CBF staff was very helpful throughout the process and quick to respond to emails. The venue is absolutely gorgeous and all of our guests were blown away by the setting. The location is also extremely convenient to downtown Annapolis. We couldn't have asked for a better venue to suit our taste and style. Would highly recommend!
  • R
    Rachel E. Married on 04/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beach wedding in simple sophistication

    In planning our wedding, we searched for a local venue where we could have both our ceremony and reception. The Phillip Merrill Center appealed for many reasons. It’s breathtaking views, simply elegant design, and wildlife protection/conservation focused principles just to name a few. When our wedding day arrived we were blessed with beautiful weather, a magical time we will never forget!

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks for the review, Rachel! You were such a beautiful & gracious bride, I am so glad we got to celebrate with you! Come back and visit anytime!
  • S
    Sam G. Married on 10/19/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Fabulous! All of our guests really enjoyed the venue!

    CBF was the perfect spot for our wedding reception! So close to home and yet such a hidden gem right on the water in Annapolis. You really can’t beat the views! I would highly reccomend to all! It really was the best day of our lives!

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks for the review, Sam- We are loving the name change! Best wishes to you and Bryce! Come back and visit us anytime.
  • Jaime
    Jaime Married on 09/29/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    CBF was a dream come true for us. We had a large wedding party but still wanted to be close
    proximity to downtown Annapolis. There aren’t a lot of places that can do both of those things! Couple that with CBF being incredibly beautiful and a rain or shine location, you have a perfect venue spot! Everything about the venue exceeded my expectations and our guests can’t atop buzzing about the views. A+ from us!!

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks for the review, Jaime! We couldn't have asked for a lovelier couple to work with-best wishes to you and David!
  • Nicole
    Nicole M. Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Perfect Waterfront Venue

    On what could have been the worst wedding weather day of 2018 (the day of hurricane Florence), we ended up with the most perfect day and venue. Not only was this due to the sudden change in the hurricanes trajectory but also because of the amazing staff at CBF that stayed calm, cool, and collected while we worked through some tough alternative weather plans. This venue is not only one of the most beautiful locations on the eastern shore of MD but it has the greatest facility for an outdoor wedding. The covered deck is excellent for keeping people dry and shaded, and plenty large enough to house dining tables and a dance area. The beach front is perfect for a water side ceremony and you will get gorgeous photos no matter the weather. We loved every second of our wedding and that is a huge thanks to Emily and the rest of the CBF team.

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks for the kind words, Nicole! It was great working with you and Max & we loved seeing all of your details come to life! We are obsessed with the pictures- we need to see more!
  • Shelby
    Shelby Married on 06/23/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were so incredibly happy using Chesapeake Bay Foundation as our wedding venue! Emily was absolutely amazing to work with, gave great information, replied quickly, and alleviated all our concerns. She met with us many times just for quick walkthroughs or questions and replied quickly to all emails and calls. The venue is absolutely gorgeous and so serene! There are so many amazing picture and first look locations. We also absolutely loved how environmentally friendly the building was and many of our guests commented on it! The best part of this venue is that you have the freedom and flexibility to make it your own and add in your own unique style! My sister-in-law who just got engage is also considering CBF for her wedding after the absolutely amazing day we had! We will definitely be back to visit CBF and walk the grounds next time we are in town to reminisce on our amazing wedding day, thanks so much CBF!

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks for the lovely review Shelby, the pictures turned out gorgeous!
  • M
    Mary Married on 10/28/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation is a beautiful venue and can accommodate beautiful weather or not so good! They were very helpful. We enjoyed having our daughter's wedding there in October.
  • B
    Beth Married on 10/08/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    This is an amazing venue! Beautiful views from every vantage and the staff are very helpful. The coordinators Kimrey and Emily, were professional, easy to work with, and excited about supporting our wedding. They also worked seamlessly with the caterer and the rental company. You are the only wedding there so you can take your time and run the wedding as you like. Tent included in the rental fee which helped on costs.
  • K
    Kathleen Married on 09/30/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We were so happy we choose to have our wedding at CBF! It was beautiful! We loved the layout of the venue. We had our ceremony at a church in Annapolis so we did cocktail hour on the beach and the reception up on the deck and in the ballroom. We did stations and were so happy with the results. There was lots of room for dancing and hanging out. We had 175 guests and it did not feel too crowded. We had a perfect day for it!
  • M
    Michele Event on: 05/25/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I held my daughter's graduation party -- the venue and setting are absolutely beautiful! My guests were overwhelmed by the views and lovely facility. During planning, Emily kept in frequent communication and offered many wonderful suggestions that made the event so special. I recommend visiting the center because after seeing the location and meeting with the professional staff, you will look no further for your venue. Highly recommend!
  • M
    Melanie Married on 05/13/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Emily and the team at CBF were extremely easy to work with. The setting is really unique and beautiful, and we were thrilled to be able to do the ceremony on the beach despite a less-than-ideal weather forecast. Emily was extremely helpful in helping us think through the options for bad weather plans, which luckily we didn't end up needing. The space is private, and arrival/departure for our guests was really a breeze. We couldn't have asked for a better venue experience, and would definitely consider doing other events there if the opportunity came up.
  • User2803689 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What a BEAUTIFUL venue with such wonderful people to work! They made the entire process so easy for us during the planning process and were very accommodating. So happy with our choice to get married here!
  • B
    Brittany Married on 09/17/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had our wedding here two weeks ago and it was INCREDIBLE! I truly don't believe we would have had the wedding of our dreams anywhere else. The beach is just beautiful and together with the indoor dining area (with 360 views of the Bay!), and the deck overlooking the beach (which is already tented!), it is so unique as a venue. Private, roomy, and incredibly flexible, this place is perfect for ocean-loving individuals. Also, the building is Platinum LEED certified, so you can have a green wedding! This was really important to us and our guests really enjoyed the building's features- the composting, waterless toilets, rainwater sinks, green roof, etc. Thanks for the perfect setting for our wedding, CBF!
  • A
    Abbey Married on 08/13/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We just had our wedding at CBF and it was AMAZING. So beautiful. I can't say enough about the venue. The cost seems on par for the area since you can bring in your own vendors/alcohol. Amanda was super helpful and the staff there the day-of helped make everything go off without a hitch! It was a hot August day, but the deck was shaded and cool and getting married under the tree worked well. I can definitely recommend this venue to anyone looking for the perfect beach/Annapolis wedding!