Chesapeake Bay Foundation Reviews

60 | Annapolis, MD
See photos, pricing and details

60 Reviews for Chesapeake Bay Foundation

Recommended by 95%

60
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.7

27 User photos

Chesapeake Bay Foundation 1
Chesapeake Bay Foundation 2
Chesapeake Bay Foundation 3
Chesapeake Bay Foundation 4
Chesapeake Bay Foundation 5
Chesapeake Bay Foundation 6
Chesapeake Bay Foundation 7
+ 21
Sort by:
  • housetyrrell2020

    Jacqueline · Getting married on 05/21/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent customer service

    My fiance and I were looking at this as out venue for our wedding. The customer service and responsiveness to our questions was quick and friendly. This venue would have been a great choice if my fiance and I hadn't chosen to go with a destination wedding instead!

    Sent on 02/06/2019

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks for your review Jacqueline! Enjoy every moment of your upcoming wedding- we wish you a lifetime of happiness!
  • A

    Adrianne Chesson · Married on 06/29/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    June wedding

    Could not be happier that we had our wedding here. Great experience with staff. Beautiful location/views and great flexibility having the covered deck. It rained during our ceremony and I LOVED how the ceremony ended up feeling so intimate on the deck plus we still had gorgeous views behind us. Love that our wedding also supported the environmental efforts the foundation works on and guests loved that it had such a special meaning

    Sent on 07/01/2019
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 16

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks for the review, Adrianne- come back and visit anytime! Best wishes to you & Ches! We can't wait to see some more pony pictures on the beach!
  • Lauren

    Lauren · Married on 06/22/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Venue!

    The Chesapeake Bay Foundation was the perfect venue for our wedding. The venue is basically a blank slate and the bride and groom have extreme flexibility in layout, decorations, vendors, etc. The CBF staff was very helpful throughout the process and quick to respond to emails. The venue is absolutely gorgeous and all of our guests were blown away by the setting. The location is also extremely convenient to downtown Annapolis. We couldn't have asked for a better venue to suit our taste and style. Would highly recommend!

    Sent on 07/09/2019
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 17
  • R

    Rachel Ernzen · Married on 04/06/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beach wedding in simple sophistication

    In planning our wedding, we searched for a local venue where we could have both our ceremony and reception. The Phillip Merrill Center appealed for many reasons. It’s breathtaking views, simply elegant design, and wildlife protection/conservation focused principles just to name a few. When our wedding day arrived we were blessed with beautiful weather, a magical time we will never forget!

    Sent on 04/09/2019

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks for the review, Rachel! You were such a beautiful & gracious bride, I am so glad we got to celebrate with you! Come back and visit anytime!
  • S

    Sam Gallagher · Married on 10/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fabulous! All of our guests really enjoyed the venue!

    CBF was the perfect spot for our wedding reception! So close to home and yet such a hidden gem right on the water in Annapolis. You really can’t beat the views! I would highly reccomend to all! It really was the best day of our lives!

    Sent on 11/11/2018

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks for the review, Sam- We are loving the name change! Best wishes to you and Bryce! Come back and visit us anytime.
  • Jaime

    Jaime · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CBF was a dream come true for us. We had a large wedding party but still wanted to be close
    proximity to downtown Annapolis. There aren’t a lot of places that can do both of those things! Couple that with CBF being incredibly beautiful and a rain or shine location, you have a perfect venue spot! Everything about the venue exceeded my expectations and our guests can’t atop buzzing about the views. A+ from us!!

    Sent on 10/02/2018

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks for the review, Jaime! We couldn't have asked for a lovelier couple to work with-best wishes to you and David!
  • Shelby

    Shelby · Married on 06/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so incredibly happy using Chesapeake Bay Foundation as our wedding venue! Emily was absolutely amazing to work with, gave great information, replied quickly, and alleviated all our concerns. She met with us many times just for quick walkthroughs or questions and replied quickly to all emails and calls. The venue is absolutely gorgeous and so serene! There are so many amazing picture and first look locations. We also absolutely loved how environmentally friendly the building was and many of our guests commented on it! The best part of this venue is that you have the freedom and flexibility to make it your own and add in your own unique style! My sister-in-law who just got engage is also considering CBF for her wedding after the absolutely amazing day we had! We will definitely be back to visit CBF and walk the grounds next time we are in town to reminisce on our amazing wedding day, thanks so much CBF!

    Sent on 08/13/2018
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 18
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 19
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 20
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 21
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 22
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 23

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation's reply:

    Thanks for the lovely review Shelby, the pictures turned out gorgeous!
  • M

    Mary · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chesapeake Bay Foundation is a beautiful venue and can accommodate beautiful weather or not so good! They were very helpful. We enjoyed having our daughter's wedding there in October.

    Sent on 11/10/2017
  • B

    Beth · Married on 10/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is an amazing venue! Beautiful views from every vantage and the staff are very helpful. The coordinators Kimrey and Emily, were professional, easy to work with, and excited about supporting our wedding. They also worked seamlessly with the caterer and the rental company. You are the only wedding there so you can take your time and run the wedding as you like. Tent included in the rental fee which helped on costs.

    Sent on 10/10/2017
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 24
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 25
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 26
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 27
  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 09/30/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were so happy we choose to have our wedding at CBF! It was beautiful! We loved the layout of the venue. We had our ceremony at a church in Annapolis so we did cocktail hour on the beach and the reception up on the deck and in the ballroom. We did stations and were so happy with the results. There was lots of room for dancing and hanging out. We had 175 guests and it did not feel too crowded. We had a perfect day for it!

    Sent on 10/30/2017
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 28
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 29
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 30
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 31
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 32
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 33
    Chesapeake Bay Foundation 34
  • M

    Michele · event on 05/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I held my daughter's graduation party -- the venue and setting are absolutely beautiful! My guests were overwhelmed by the views and lovely facility. During planning, Emily kept in frequent communication and offered many wonderful suggestions that made the event so special. I recommend visiting the center because after seeing the location and meeting with the professional staff, you will look no further for your venue. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 08/18/2017
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 05/13/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Emily and the team at CBF were extremely easy to work with. The setting is really unique and beautiful, and we were thrilled to be able to do the ceremony on the beach despite a less-than-ideal weather forecast. Emily was extremely helpful in helping us think through the options for bad weather plans, which luckily we didn't end up needing. The space is private, and arrival/departure for our guests was really a breeze. We couldn't have asked for a better venue experience, and would definitely consider doing other events there if the opportunity came up.

    Sent on 07/02/2017
  • User5178091 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What a BEAUTIFUL venue with such wonderful people to work! They made the entire process so easy for us during the planning process and were very accommodating. So happy with our choice to get married here!

    Sent on 10/07/2016
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 09/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding here two weeks ago and it was INCREDIBLE! I truly don't believe we would have had the wedding of our dreams anywhere else. The beach is just beautiful and together with the indoor dining area (with 360 views of the Bay!), and the deck overlooking the beach (which is already tented!), it is so unique as a venue. Private, roomy, and incredibly flexible, this place is perfect for ocean-loving individuals. Also, the building is Platinum LEED certified, so you can have a green wedding! This was really important to us and our guests really enjoyed the building's features- the composting, waterless toilets, rainwater sinks, green roof, etc. Thanks for the perfect setting for our wedding, CBF!

    Sent on 09/30/2016
  • A

    Abbey · Married on 08/13/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding at CBF and it was AMAZING. So beautiful. I can't say enough about the venue. The cost seems on par for the area since you can bring in your own vendors/alcohol. Amanda was super helpful and the staff there the day-of helped make everything go off without a hitch! It was a hot August day, but the deck was shaded and cool and getting married under the tree worked well. I can definitely recommend this venue to anyone looking for the perfect beach/Annapolis wedding!

    Sent on 08/24/2016
  • S

    Sara · Married on 06/18/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great venue! CBF is a unique venue that allows you to customize your wedding. Gorgeous waterfront with dock and deck. Our guests could not stop raving about the venue. So many different options for ceremony and reception, and the whole place is yours for the day- no sharing with other weddings. If you don't want a cookie-cutter wedding at some hotel, then I highly recommend CBF. Although you get to customize every last detail, the staff at CBF are great to work with and have fantastic recommended vendors that are use to the space.

    Sent on 08/04/2016
  • M

    Monica · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Chesapeake Bay Foundation was the "cherry on top" regarding our daughter's wedding! Why would you go anywhere else when you have a gem like this. People come to Annapolis to see the beauty of the Bay and all that it has to offer. We looked at Hotels, Restaurants etc. for our daughter's wedding reception, none offered a view like the CBF!!! You get a true taste/view of Maryland at the CBF. THANK YOU

    Sent on 06/05/2016
  • K

    Katya · Married on 09/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was everything that we were looking for in a wedding venue! Absolutely gorgeous terrain, with beaches, wild grasses, and gentle paths to explore for guests and wedding party alike. Taken together with the vital mission of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation, I could not be happier to have spent my wedding day in this beautiful space. The team were really flexible and understanding; my husband and I live outside the country, and Amanda worked with us to ensure that all details were completed (even across the ocean). I can't imagine getting married anywhere else.

    Sent on 09/28/2015
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 08/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our reception at the Chesapeake Bay Foundation, and it was absolutely incredible. First, the venue is absolutely stunning - like something from a magazine. The room where dinner is set up has 3 walls of huge windows giving a full view of the whole bay, the deck and the surrounding trees/field. the entrance is a gorgeous atrium with a sailboat suspended above, and basically 3 story windows.

    Here's a bit about the details: First, Amanda, the event coordinator, is a joy to work with - she's so responsive, flexible, and really sweet. She even gave me great recommendations for vendors when I had no idea where to start. We had 148 people - seated 100 people inside, left the double doors open and the rest of the tables extend outside on the deck. We worried that on August 1st it would be too hot, but with the bay breeze it was perfect. The brand new permanent white tents gave us reassurance when it threatened rain - it never did rain, but there was a beautiful rainbow which we could see over the bay bridge during dinner. We brought bocce ball and badminton (they have a net set up down the beach), and the kids played around during cocktail hour. The band setup on the deck was PERFECT - the dancing area was the ideal size/location to be accessible and not awkward. With the soft warm lights under the tent, we didn't have to do anything for lighting. The guests wandered down the dock to look at the stars, and put their feet in the water. (One recommendation - get some chairs to put down on the beach - people would have sat down there).

    All of our guests (we realize the bias) said that this was the most beautiful reception that they've ever been to. I completely agree. We cannot say enough (as you can see by our long review). And bonus...proceeds go to the Bay foundation. What a great cause.

    Sent on 12/22/2015
  • S

    Sophie · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved everything about our wedding at CBF. Amanda was very attentive and flexible with me throughout the planning process. The deck is a great place to dance the night away, even if it rains! They were extremely accommodating after we had a small issue with seating at dinner arrangements and we couldn't be happier with how our day went!

    Sent on 09/30/2014
  • N

    nicole · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a wonderful experience from the first time we visited the venue til the actual wedding day! I can honestly say it was perfect from start to finish! Amanda (CBF contact) made everything sooo nice & easy for us..so much so that my 7 year old daughter said to her 'thanks so much for helping my mom and making her day so special!' CBF is the perfect wedding venue for soo many reasons...wish we could celebrate there every weekend! :)

    Sent on 08/26/2014
  • L

    Lisa · event on 08/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We conducted a training at the CBF and it was very successful. All of our attendees loved the location, the view, and the facility. We were upstairs in the Merganser Conference Room and had a wonderful view of the bay. And there is a great balcony area next to the room where our attendees took their lunch to enjoy the view and the weather, without having to actually leave the meeting room area.

    Amanda Arreola was wonderful to work with and extremely responsive. During the day of the event, she checked in on us several times to be sure we were ok. It was very affordable and met our needs quite well. Any time we can do another training in the Annapolis area, we will definitely use CBF!

    Sent on 08/18/2014
  • Lauri

    Lauri · Married on 10/01/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chris Gorri is an absolute pleasure to work with at the Chesapeake Bay Foundation. Our wedding reception was originally scheduled at another Annapolis Venue and then we caught wind through the rumor mill that CBF had pushed their construction project back and were once again accepting applications for Fall 2011 Weddings. Months away from our big day, we switched to CBF in a heartbeat. I'm not sure how much of a secret CBF is in the Annapolis area anymore, but I do know it is one of the best wedding venues in the area. The waterfront views are breathtaking, their experience in handling weddings speaks for itself, and you have the flexibility to use whatever vendors you choose!

    I would highly recommend you talk to Chris at CBF if you are interested in your guests having a truly unique Annapolis wedding experience. And, like many other posters have stated, your rental fee/donation is going towards a great cause. Beautiful facility to have a wedding reception/and/or ceremony.

    Sent on 11/03/2011
  • nattydread797

    Nat · Married on 05/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our vow renewal ceremony at CBF in May 2010. I had been to a wedding previously at this venue and fell in love with it.

    I had a challenge of planning this event when I live in VA and it was going to be in MD. Thanks to a fabulous caterer, The Main Ingredient, it made the distance hardly an issue.

    I will agree, I was not used to paying a fee for just the use of the location. We actually chose to have our reception on a Friday evening and saved TONS of money all around. The location itself is so beautiful that you do not need much decoration to make it work. You know how every bride has a vision on their head of what they would like to have their day look like? Well, CBF delivered on every front. It is such a natural beautiful, romantic setting. But it also is a very comfortable setting for your guests too. By having your event on a Friday, you actually get the most bang for your buck because you have use of the facility from 3pm til 11pm. And yes, while choosing a site that is just "venue" only, you do have a little extra work to pick out table/chairs/linens, but I can't stress enough, if you have the right caterer, your life is easy! I truly recommend The Main Ingredient because they are used to working with this site and they know all the in's and out's to make your life easy.

    This venue works best for about 100-140 people. We had exactly 100 people and you never felt crowed or too spread out either. Now, while the front of the building when you pull up isn't that eye pleasing, TRUST ME, when you walk out to the deck, you will immediately forget about it. Parking is wonderful and lots of it. You have access to your own "dressing" room or just a room to get away from and we actually ended up letting our band use that. It was great size though and would easily accommodate about 25 people.

    I think the thing I liked best was that it was a private venue that we didn't have to share with anyone. Being able to say your vows on the beach and then come up to the deck and then dining room is so nice. Being able to stay in one location is really nice too and not just for the wedding party but also for your guests as well. It is also about 5 miles from downtown Annapolis and really close (about 6 miles) from all the hotels on Riva Road. Getting to and from is quite easy.

    I highly recommend this location for your wedding or ANY event for that matter. I would be happy to share our pictures with you should you want.

    HAPPY PLANNING!

    Darcy Thompson





    Sent on 05/19/2010

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review