Chautauqua Dining Hall Reviews

23 | Boulder, CO
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Chautauqua Dining Hall

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

23
Order by:
  • L

    Laurie · Married on 06/02/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We held our wedding at Chautauqua Dining Hall in Boulder at the beginning of June. We started our day in the morning with brunch, held the ceremony on the green, and then moved back inside to dance to a small live band. It was a completely wonderful day.
    Any event requires planning. Nia Williams, the Event Coordinator, worked with us throughout the process. She is competent, fun, and reassuring. She helped us develop our menu, suggesting items that fit our theme and stayed in our budget. She helped us decide on seating for dining, took care of renting and organizing the seating for the outdoor ceremony, and made sure our band had space and time to set up. At the last minute (the day of), she even arranged to drive one elderly guest the short distance to the ceremony and back. Nia also always responded supportively at moments of panic (when we thought we had missed a detail or needed to add something very quickly).
    The dining hall crew was efficient and unobtrusive, they prepared a wonderful buffet, and the bartender served delicious drinks so quickly that we had no line. Along with waffles and a southwest egg scramble, we were able to provide really good vegan and gluten-free options for those that wanted them. The crew reset the dining room for dancing while we held the ceremony outside, shifting centerpieces and setting up the dessert and cake table.
    The Dining Hall is beautiful inside and out. This combined with the excellence of Nia, the staff, and the food gave us a wedding we will always remember with joy. We were so happy and our guests had a blast.

    Sent on 07/04/2018
  • K

    Kurtanna · Married on 10/02/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I had a wonderful experience at Chautauqua Dining Hall. Even before we had committed to the venue, their wedding coordinator was extremely helpful, informative, and prompt in her responses. After officially deciding to go forward with Chautauqua, the level of service didn't drop in the slightest; their event coordinator and staff seemed genuinely interested in making sure that our wedding day was everything we had ever dreamed of. As our wedding drew closer, we had some minor panics with event planning mistakes that we had made, but with a quick call over to the Chautauqua event staff, we were able to painlessly sort everything out. We really appreciated their responsiveness and flexibility! On the big day, everything went so smoothly and we were extremely impressed by the efforts of not only the event coordinator, but the rest of the dining hall staff. We would absolutely recommend this venue to anyone interested in a small-to-medium sized wedding in the Boulder, CO area.

    Sent on 11/16/2016
  • H

    Heather · Married on 10/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Can't say enough good things about our wedding reception at the Dining Hall. We were looking for a space that was beautiful on it's own without adding decorating work for us and this was absolutely it. From the day we started working with Lauren to the day of our wedding, everything was great. She was responsive, fun and amazing to work with. Not to mention - the food was SO good! We had multiple guest comment on how great the food was and no doubt our local friends will make it back there for dinner in the future. Last but not least, the staff - so friendly and amazing. They would check in with me to make sure I got my food they put away for me in the back and that I had enough to eat. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 10/16/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chautauqua Dining Hall is one of the most gorgeous venues in the state. In addition to the setting, their kitchen produces absolutely delicious food. We received multiple compliments after the event from guests saying it was the best wedding food they’ve ever had. Wedding planning can be overwhelming at times, and it was so great to work with Lauren, the in-house coordinator at Chautauqua. She was professional, helpful, and organized. She also stayed in constant communication during the whole process. The event was everything we hoped it would be and much more. Thank you!

    Sent on 10/02/2016
  • D

    Dory · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved the location. Couldn't be happier with the outdoor ceremony location. The dining hall has a lot of rustic charm. It was a great spot for the reception.
    The venue has catering and cake connection, although you can bring a cake from somewhere else. The food was delish and the cake (lemoncello, chocolate grand marnier) was amazing. We planned the wedding from Texas and were able to get everything done with the help of Lauren. She did a great job!

    Sent on 06/18/2016
  • C

    Carly · Married on 08/21/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Getting married at Chautauqua was my dream, I never thought it would be so affordable! I love Chautauqua and the aesthetic of the dining hall and the food is great. I had looked at plenty of other places because I figured Chautauqua would be out of my budget and was totally unimpressed. When I found out it was well within our means I was over the moon. Not only that, but Lauren Seymour was an amazing coordinator whose patience rivals a saints. She is incredibly talented at what she does and went above and beyond to help me multiple times with stuff I am pretty sure isn't in her job description. She took a lot of time to make sure everything was done the way we wanted and double checked everything which gave me incredible peace of mind. Everything we wanted was easy to accomplish and wedding planning was incredibly fun because they made it so easy on us.

    I'm so grateful for her and all of the staff at the Dining Hall for working so hard to make out wedding so fantastic! We had so much fun and our food was insanely good.

    Sent on 12/28/2015
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff at Chautauqua Dining Hall, particularly Lauren Seymour, did a wonderful job of making our wedding day special and memorable. The set up and service were outstanding. The food and drink were beyond compare. Our guests raved about the reception and the delicious buffet - all entrees were delicious. The wedding cake by Rochelle was beautiful and abundant-but most of all moist and delicious. The staff turned the room around quickly for our dance party and were gracious with our guests. Thank you for a spectacular day and series of events. We love our Chautauqua.

    Sent on 08/02/2015

    Chautauqua Dining Hall's reply:

    Thank you Kimberly, it was a pleasure working with you!
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/04/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was small (just under 50 people), so we opted to have our reception at the Community House in the Grand Assembly. For those who don't know, the Community House is one of the buildings located at Chautauqua. The Chautauqua Dining Hall's on-site catering services provided everything for our reception.

    I want to first say that the Catering Manager, Lauren Kaufman was FABULOUS!!! She guided us through everything relating to the Rehearsal Dinner at the Dinning Hall as well as our options for appetizers, entrees, beverages for the reception. She was also was a great resource for seating options, linens as well as scheduling when our first dance should occur, etc. She also did a fabulous job coordinating with our outside vendors (florist, DJ, etc).

    Now on to the food - The rehearsal dinner was wonderful @ the Dining Hall-We had about 25 people & we chose to offer a limited menu from the main menu which included wonderful dishes like mussels, strip steaks and smoked quail - just a few examples of the food we had. For the reception, we offered prime rib, salmon with a wonderful cream sauce and a baked polenta dish that all our guests RAVED about! The appetizers we had for the reception were amazing! We offered a sweet onion tart with Gorgonzola & a sweet onion jam, Spanish shrimp tapas & a steak canape. Several of our guests made a point to tell me during the reception how wonderful the food was & how it exceeded their expectations as it was "wedding food." We all know what that means, things are dry/over cooked. I myself had the prime rib & it was perfection!!! Our wedding cake was amazing also...NO LEFTOVERS except for the top! We chose a gluten free cake which was lemon and a raspberry filling & white frosting.

    I could go on & on about the friendly & professional staff, the quality of the food & that our vision for the reception was completely exceeded by the Chautauqua Dining Hall! They are amazing!!!!!

    Sent on 10/10/2014
  • S

    Sara · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our experience at Chautauqua Dining Hall was nothing short of amazing. We worked with Lauren leading up to (and through) the event, and her intelligence, organizational skills, diligence, and easy-going (but simultaneously no nonsense!) demeanor gave us so much peace of mind that we hardly had to worry about any of the details. We knew Lauren had them covered. She was also creative and worked with us to share certain costs with the couple who held their wedding in the same location earlier in the day. As with most events at Chautauqua, our event was catered by Three Leaf Catering, and not only did we love the food, but we received amazing feedback from our guests who said it was -- by far -- the best 'wedding food' they had ever had. Three Leaf also accommodated a number of special requests on our part; we even gave them a rough recipe for a butternut squash/kale dish that they recreated for us to perfection. I would recommend Chautauqua Dining Hall (Lauren in particular) and Three Leaf to anyone.

    Sent on 09/18/2014
  • K

    Kendra · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had such a wonderful experience working with Chautauqua Dining Hall for our August wedding. From the time we decided on the venue last December, Lauren Kaufman and her team made sure that every last one of our dreams/details/requests was addressed and catered to in the best way possible. We had our dream wedding there, and every one of our guests reported having a great time - perfect venue, great food and wine, attentive staff and a fun, flexible atmosphere.

    I wouldn't get married anywhere else, and will be surely recommending DCH to anyone looking for a rustic-chic wedding at the foot of the Colorado mountains.

    Sent on 09/09/2014
  • User4166701 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with Lauren Kaufman at the Dining Hall and have nothing but positive things to say about our experience! She was a joy to work with, was organized and thoughtful, responded promptly whenever I emailed or called and gave us lots of tips in the wedding planning process. We had both our rehearsal dinner and wedding reception at the Dining Hall, and really enjoyed the food and service! They were flexible with making accommodations for dietary needs and preferences, used local ingredients, and never did I feel like I was eating boring "wedding food!" Lauren went out of her way to make sure we were always on the same page for all components of entire event. Our guests loved the Dining Hall and the ambiance made for such a special evening.

    Sent on 09/08/2014
  • R

    Rich · Married on 06/22/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lauren was absolutely amazing. She was on the ball with every aspect of our reception. Her level of customer service was above and beyond expectations, and better than all of the other vendors we worked with for our wedding. During the event, Davon did a great job executing, he took care of all of our needs, and treated us personally like VIPs. We have already recommended Chautauqua to friends, and will continue to do so.

    Lastly, the space is absolutely wonderful. We liked the tent for dining, and the dining hall for dancing. Plus, the use of the stone patio was awesome for cocktail hour!

    Sent on 09/11/2014
  • J

    Julie · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the most perfect wedding day we could have ever dreamt of. The entire Chautauqua Dining Hall crew did an incredible job especially Lauren Kauffman who was our event coordinator. She was diligent, courteous, responsive, flexible, kind, patient and the perfect person for the stressful job of wedding planning! We also live in CA so most if our planning was done from afar. We felt so great every step of the way knowing we were in great hands with Lauren and her team. Everything was seriously perfect! All of our guests had a great time, loved the location and raved about all of the food too. So delicious. We will always remember our special day with great appreciation for the Chatauqua Dining Hall team - we truly couldn't have asked for anything better. Everything wish was met beyond our best expectations. Wish we could do it all over again!

    Sent on 09/11/2014
  • Andrea

    Andrea · Married on 05/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chautauqua Dining Hall provided us the perfect venue for our dream wedding. Everything was done perfectly and professionally and the staff was superb. Special thanks to Lauren Kaufman who pretty much acted as our wedding coordinator. Laurent was the most on-top-of-things person we dealt with during our entire wedding process. She was never pushy and made great suggestions to us. Most importantly, she listened to what we wanted and what we had to say and made her recommendations based on our needs. We simply couldn't have pulled off the wedding we did without Lauren. She is the best!

    Chautauqua Dining Hall was a beautiful venue and all of our guests not only had a great time, but told us how amazing Chautauqua was. Everything about it was perfect and we actually came in under our budget because of the value of Chautauqua and Lauren's recommendations.

    Have your event here! Trust us, it'll be the best decision you make!

    Sent on 09/17/2014
  • C

    Catherine · Married on 07/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The perfect venue for our summer wedding! Melissa was so sweet and so helpful. We couldn't have orchestrated it without her! Loved every minute.

    Sent on 09/24/2013
  • D

    Don · Married on 07/31/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How can you beat being at the foot of the rockies? Allison helped us out and was always very prompt in her replies. The venue gave us christmas lights to hang and some instructions to get it done.

    The venue's price is very affordable and we were able to get some stunning photos at the foot of the Flatirons.


    Sent on 09/24/2009
  • User4437439 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chautauqua was the perfect spot for our wedding. We rented a bunch of the cottages and all of our family stayed there for the weekend. Everything was easy to arrange and beautiful. Nearly everyone commented on how good the food was.

    Sent on 09/30/2014
  • J

    Joann · Married on 08/06/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lauren was a pleasure to work with, was responsive, and offered helpful insight and advice when asked. The venue was reasonably priced for the area and you can't beat the views! Our food was beyond delicious and we received plenty of compliments on our menu. Lauren and Ashley were tactful during the reception and helped ensure we stayed to our timeline perfectly. One thing: the seams of the tent, where the tent wall meets the tend ceiling, were noticbly puckered unevenly, but that is one small detail in a big day that was amazing. I'd 100% recommend working with them.

    Sent on 08/20/2017
  • S

    sarah · Married on 05/03/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had an incredible experience working with Lauren Kaufman to plan my May wedding in the Community House. She was organized, fast to respond and provided valuable guidance when needed. Boulder, and Chautauqua in particular provides a beautiful setting for a wedding. My whole family was able to stay in the cabins and we loved being so close to the action with a beautiful backdrop to wake up to each day. My wedding day was perfect, I would highly recommend this venue to anyone who wants a beautiful and stress free wedding.

    Sent on 05/21/2014
  • User5235058 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    Chautauqua Park Dining Hall was amazing, and we could not have had a better wedding there! We were so happy with the service, the event planning/coordination, the food, the aesthetics, and the convenience of being located so close to Boulder and to cabins on-site. We got married on the lawn and had our party inside the restaurant. Guests raved about everything and we looked back on everything with such bliss!

    I didn't go with the full 5 stars because we had a miscommunication with the vendor about allowing the bartender to set up a tip jar. We said not to do that because we wanted to give a generous gratuity to the whole staff, not just the bartender, only to find that there was a tip jar put out for the bartender. And, parking was a challenge -- we recommended to our guests to stay on-site so they could just walk over, or take a cab from wherever they were staying but it was still a challenge especially in the summer with concert season and hiking season. But that's not the restaurant's fault, and if you warn your guests in full, they should be able to work around it (and it worked that we told them to come 30 minutes before the start of the ceremony!).

    Other than that, things could not have gone more smoothly and I highly, highly recommend people to pick Chautauqua and do everything for their wedding weekend there! (have guests stay in the cabins, get ready there, use the lawn, use the facilities... everything!)

    Sent on 07/06/2015
  • M

    Megan · Married on 12/29/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chautauqua Grand Assembly Room was absolutely BEAUTIFUL for our wedding ceremony and reception. We couldn't have asked for a better location, ambiance or day. Chautauqua was very responsive with questions/issues/concerns and working with Spencer was great. I did feel the price was a bit on the higher side since we had limited assistance for the day of and we needed to clean up after ourselves. It would have been cheaper to use a facility that did those things for you, however, I must say we wouldn't have had the experience we did. All in all, I wouldn't change a thing. It was perfect.

    Sent on 01/06/2013
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 10/12/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We were one of thousands of people whose wedding venue was displaced by the flood and Chautauqua added us in to the dining hall and community house almost at the last minute. At times a little slow in responding to email communications but overall everything went great.

    Sent on 11/05/2013
  • User4871157 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    I love the venue over looking the Flatirons. It sets the tone for a beautiful Boulder Colorado mountain wedding. Lauren Seymour has been wonderful in helping organize the event. The space is a bit disjointed for the amount of guests that we have but I love the inside feel of the dining hall. Chautauqua Park is a true staple of this town and is lovely to be outside and enjoy in the summer months.
    I have yet to have my event at the venue but so far everything has been smooth sailing.

    Sent on 03/18/2015