Chateau Morrisette Reviews

14 | Floyd, VA
See photos, pricing and details

14 Reviews for Chateau Morrisette

Recommended by 91% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.5

Awards

14

21 User photos

Order by:
  • Robert

    Robert Morse · Getting married on 01/04/2021

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Perfect venue for a small, intimate wedding!!

    Chateau Morrisette was the perfect venue for an intimate second wedding. Sally Truslow and the staff were outstanding. We arrived to find everything taken care of and were able to enjoy our special day. Sally took such great care of us from our first meeting to our goodbyes.

    Sent on 04/25/2019
  • Brittany

    Brittany Thompson · Getting married on 10/10/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They know what they are doing!

    I met with Sally - she is going to be our coordinator - and she was AMAZING! She literally walked us through our whole wedding day while showing us the venue and we were blown away. To have someone already have a plan for us the moment we met, made me feel so comfortable. The location is gorgeous and there is a spot for everything. My main goal was to make sure I had an alternate indoor location for the wedding in case it rained and she assured me and showed me additional locations. I can't wait for our wedding!

    Sent on 05/06/2019

    Chateau Morrisette's reply:

    Brittany, I am honored to be working with you and Scott. The winery is stunning in October and your vision will be perfect. There are so many ideas you can use at Chateau Morrisette to accessorize, or allow mother nature to do the work for you and go naturally elegant. We will have a blast. Sally
  • Jessica

    Jessica · Married on 04/13/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing bang for your buck

    I cannot say enough positive things about Chateau Morrisette! This has always been my dream venue but I never thought it would fit in my budget. I couldn't have been more wrong. First off they have several options depending on the size of your wedding. We went with their indoor ceremony and reception because we had under 100 guests. Their package includes: linens, tables, chairs, cutlery, and last but not least the best wedding coordinator ever, Sally. They also only have one wedding per weekend so we had access to the property starting on Thursday. This was a great help to us as we could get in early to decorate and didn't have to worry about getting things out until Sunday! Sally herself was worth the money we paid for everything! She has done over 500 weddings (ours was her 529th) and she is only concerned about making your wedding dreams a reality. She always responded promptly to emails and questions and was fun and upbeat during the entire process. Sally dealt directly with our vendors the day of the wedding so that we didn't need to worry about any last minute details. She also acted on our behalf whenever we had any little hiccups so that we wouldn't be stressed out. I can't say enough good things about her and Chateau Morrisette. A couple of little things that were not a big deal for us but might be for other people. They do not have a liquor license on site so only beer and wine are available to serve. Honestly, I was thankful for this because most of the weddings I've been to that have served liquor have always had at least one person who got sloppy. Secondly you have to purchase their food package so you don't get the option of picking your own caterer. This wasn't an issue for us as we LOVE the food at Chateau Morrisette and had visited their restaurant frequently before our wedding day. Sally had a feast prepared for us on our tasting day and we weren't disappointed in our choices on our wedding day. You really do get your money's worth for the quality of the food. Everything about our day was PERFECT and I'm not exaggerating. We literally had no major issues and a huge part of that was due to the fact that we picked awesome vendors and an amazing venue. Sally worked so hard to make our day everything we wanted it to be and more. You will not be disappointed if you choose them as your venue!!

    Sent on 04/25/2019
  • M

    Madelin · Married on 03/09/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best venue ever!

    This venue had special meaning to my now husband and I so when we decided to get married here we were extra excited. Sally who plans the wedding with you and makes sure everything goes according to plan is AMAZING! she goes above and beyond for you. I am not sure how I would have done it without her. We had to make last min changes and she was on it, I wasn't stressed one second because of her. We got married in the ballroom and it was perfect for us. I wanted a intimate feeling and it was everything I wanted and so much more. The whole night was perfect. Sally packed us goody bags, made sure we ate before hand and even made sure we had water during the whole night. I have no words. The whole night was perfect.

    Sent on 04/23/2019
  • L

    Langley · Married on 02/09/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married at the Chateau on Feb 9th. In two months Sally made our dream wedding a reality, and within our small budget. Sally and her staff are incredible. We literally just had to show up. She has everything under control which means no stress for the bride and groom. Our compliments to the chef!! Not one wedding guest disliked the food. Most even said it was the best steak they had ever eaten. Absolutely the best wine in VA. You won’t regret the decision to have your special day at the Chateau. We have already made plans to go back every anniversary!

    Sent on 02/14/2018
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 04/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sally is an awesome wedding planner, she has over a decade of experience which really shows. She is professional and responds very quickly to any questions or concerns you may have while planning your wedding. There are several options for reception and ceremony areas depending on your preference and expected guest attendance. Sally was very accommodating with setting up appointments to plan in person as well as our tasting. The venue is absolutely beautiful, our guests ranted and raved about the venue AND the food!!! ( and we had some picky eaters believe me) She provided a timeline for everything which really took the stress out of trying to plan everything and get everything together. The chef was also great, he made our family's recipe for an entree and even accommodated us with an addition to our cocktail hour anti pasto. Sally was very flexible with giving us time to decorate beforehand and she was accessible on site during that time as well to help us with whatever we needed. Overall we had a great experience and Sally and her team really cater to the bride and grooms needs ( with all the chaos I only had m&ms and coffee prior to arriving for the ceremony..... Sally took care of that and fed me ). Also, price wise you are getting a great value for what is offered compared to other venues in the area .

    Sent on 05/15/2017
  • S

    Sherry · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sally Truslow was our wedding coordinator and she was worth her weight in gold. My wedding wouldn't have happened without her. She was organized, very experienced, made the whole process easy for us. She waited on us hand and foot. Her responsiveness was impeccable. She even went above and beyond to share her wardrobe with a guest who had forgotten her dress. She was there every second of the wedding day and was involved, not leaving anything to chance. She spent time with our photographers the day before showing them some of the best places to shoot and giving them a tour. She was there with us through every picture during the wedding day and helped coordinate a carriage ride through the vineyards. I cannot say enough about her. Then venue is just beautiful, the food was top notch, the service was professional. It was a fairy tale setting for a fairy tale day.

    Sent on 09/30/2015
  • M

    Madeline · Married on 07/30/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sally and the team at Chateau made my wedding a true fairy tale! They took care of everything for me and made sure everything was perfect for my special day! They went above and beyond to make it easy and everything ran smoothly! Would highly recommend this venue!

    Sent on 08/10/2016
  • I

    India · Married on 04/22/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oh my god I LOVE LOVE LOVE Sally and Wendy!!! There were soooo many things I was worried about with my wedding from raining to the decorators being late and main decorator not coming, to family stuff, etc. I was shocked that Sally and Wendy kept everything so smooth and professional and handled everything! Even after I had went down the aisle and accidentally knocked over a jar of flowers with water . They worked quickly to help me out and get me out for pictures. They helped my now husband and I know what what needed through the entire planning process and I cannot count the number of times I had to ask them what they thought would be best to go with for the wedding. They were one of the best influences that made the wedding so amazing as said by many of my family and friends!!! Even my Matron and Maid of honor agree these two were the best and Chateau is amazing, beautiful, and the food was DELICIOUS!!! SO MUCH LOVE FOR CHATEAU!!!

    Sent on 04/29/2017
  • User4190319 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful staff to work with!! Have been very flexible with communication and helpful with recommendations for other vendors!! Love the scenery and location! Makes for a beautiful wedding!

    Sent on 12/19/2014

    Chateau Morrisette's reply:

    Thank you for your kind words. We strive to make every wedding unique and wonderful at Chateau Morrisette. We appreciate you taking the time to review us. If there is anything you could recommend for us to do to improve the value of your experience, please let us know. Be sure to join our restaurant loyalty program on www.thedogs.com, so we can treat you to your first anniversary dessert!
  • A

    Alanna · Married on 07/01/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful venue and amazing services! I worked with Sally Truslow and Wendy Nester - both supported the crazy ideas I came up with and were very positive and helpful in the planning process!!! I really appreciated the communication and for all coordination efforts!! I had a wonderful wedding full of incredible memories!!
    As for the 'crazy' ideas - they let me change my mind on the ceremony location a few times - and I ended up with an "different than most" location, we were able to come a few days early and help decide on a table/band locations (LOVED this), I had a different than most timeline that they helped write up with me (AMAZING AND THANK YOU), they also accommodated and supported a "kids corner" with a tent full of toys and sitters on their yard (GIGGLES AND LAUGHTER EVERYWHERE)!! Food and wine were heavily complimented - and thank goodness for AC!!

    Sent on 07/06/2017
  • A

    alicia · Married on 06/09/2018

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CM is a stunning venue and had special meaning to us. Quickly after meeting with the wedding coordinator, Sally, to explore our options, we were sold on CM being the one. Sally was enthusiastic, experienced, and put us at ease from our very first meeting. Outside of email communication, we met three times before the big day, which was key to staying on track. I did not hire a wedding planner, but I would've needed one if a wedding coordinator wasn't provided or if the wedding coordinator provided wasn't this competent. Sally was someone that could answer all questions or she'd find an answer if it was something CM had not done before. Even though she could be strong about her suggestions at times, Sally was flexible enough to allow our vision to come to life. She truly wants the couple to be happy.
    Sally led our rehearsal seamlessly and was a true superstar on the wedding day. She quickly came up with a plan C when the sunny skies turned into rain and then a flash flood warning shortly before the ceremony was to start. Sally made sure everyone was in line with the change in plans; she's a total boss! I appreciated that she continuously checked in with the B&G the whole day and evening. She took the initiative to guide our photographer on the best shots, offered to hold up my gown when I had to pee, and even drove the B&G to our cabin down the road after the send off. Our only complaint was the buffet turned out average at best, though it was delicious at our private tasting. The salmon was tasty, rice and pasta were fine, but the chicken was way overcooked and steamed vegetables were supposed to be roasted. Another important note/downside is there is no uber/taxi in the area. So, we had a couple shuttles take everyone up and down the mountain between the venue and Hotel Floyd/Pine Tavern where they were staying. Overall, we had the best day at CM and received many compliments on how beautiful a wedding it was. Sally stands out as someone we have to thank for it.

    Sent on 09/03/2018

    Chateau Morrisette's reply:

    Thank you both for the blessing of stepping into your vision and helping you make your dream come true. I truly consider it an honor to walk side by side throughout the planning process and complete the dream day with passion and energy. You two are an incredible couple and I pray a wonderful, amazing long married life for you. Hugs, Sally
  • User3449821 · 2+ years ago

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    My wedding turned out wonderful at Chateau Morrisette. It is an absolutely gorgeous location for a wedding and reception. The wedding coordinator isn't very pleasant to work with and she took forever to respond when I contacted her. Just make sure if you get married here that you are ready to stand your ground on what you want and don't let the planner pick for you.

    Sent on 08/07/2013
  • Claudia

    Claudia Siles · Married on 08/03/2019

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Beautiful venue, Frustrating experience

    If a loud lawn mower going right through your outdoor ceremony and being asked to pay $6,000 that you already paid RIGHT before your reception introduction is your cup of tea, go for it.

    Frustrating is an under-statement.

    We signed on a year before our wedding date and worked with Sally up until 2 weeks before our wedding. We had red flags go up and in hindsight, we should have documented absolutely everything with them. Luckily we had asked for receipts to show them as we're downstairs getting ready to walk into our reception. Their restaurant manager and chef was probably the best experience we had with them. Their saving grace was hiring an outside coordinator. As beautiful as the location is, if we had known what we know now, we would have saved ourselves the anxiety and frustration before and during the wedding by going with a different venue.

    Sent on 09/07/2019