Charleston Wedding Officiant Reviews

18 | Charleston, SC
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Charleston Wedding Officiant

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

18
Order by:
  • P

    Pam Devantier · Married on 06/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best Ever Officiant!

    Doug Farmer married our daughter on June 1st 2019 and did an amazing job of creating a beautiful ceremony that was very touching, personable, and very meaningful. We especially liked his easy-going manner and sense of humor that put us all at ease. Additionally, his ceremony was given as if he had known the Bride and groom personably for many years.
    We would highly recommend him as he made our daughter’s wedding day even more special!

    Sent on 06/23/2019
  • Kelly Watson

    Kelly · Married on 03/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A huge thank you to Doug Farmer for officiating our wedding ceremony. We cannot even express our extreme gratitude having him as our wedding officiant. We first spoke with Doug about 8 months prior to our wedding and met with him about 6 months before as we do not live in the Charleston area. He was able to take the information we provided him from that meeting as well as comments we sent him about ourselves and create a ceremony that was intimate as if we had been best friends for many years. He was humorous and charming but didn't overwhelm the ceremony. He was also very professional when some glitches occurred during the ceremony which we are very grateful for. We look forward to meeting up with him again next time we visit Charleston.

    Thank you again Doug for going above and beyond to make our ceremony better than we could have ever imagined!

    Kelly and Asvin

    Sent on 03/30/2016

    Charleston Wedding Officiant's reply:

    The pleasure was mine! Thank you for the kind words and I definitely look forward to coffee on your next trip.
  • Rachael

    Rachael · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug Farmer officiated our wedding last October. He was incredibly professional and responsive throughout the planning process, and tailored our ceremony perfectly. When our venue closed due to the Charleston flood, he made it out to the IOP rental house we were staying at to marry us in front of all 65 of our guests. I can't tell you how many compliments we got on our ceremony. However, Doug's work didn't stop there. A few days later, my MIL was found unresponsive and transported to a local hospital. Doug took it upon himself to come to the ICU and pray with my FIL. We lost my MIL a week later. We are so thankful that Doug was there for our family during one of the most difficult times. My husband and I made it back to Charleston this past March to renew our vows in front of our immediate family. Doug wouldn't have missed it for the world. He once again officiated, but this time, we left the ceremony completely in his hands, and it couldn't have been more beautiful. We highly recommend Doug to any bride/groom. You won't be disappointed!

    Sent on 06/06/2016
  • A

    Alicia · Married on 05/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug Farmer did an excellent job as our wedding officiant. Doug met with U.S. Weeks before the wedding & spent a good deal of time getting to know us. He made our ceremony feel very personal & was always responsive to our requests. He made us feel very comfortable & at ease & made our ceremony extremely memorable. We both absolutely loved Doug!

    Sent on 06/08/2015
  • L

    Lacy · Married on 10/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I found out my childhood pastor was not well enough to officiate our wedding, I was disappointed, and a bit nervous about the idea of someone my husband and I did not know marrying us. But as wedding planning goes, the show must go on.

    Doug Farmer was recommended to us by our wedding planner, and he was so wonderful.
    During the planning process, we had a lengthy phone call about our beliefs, what we wanted our ceremony to feel like, and any special things we wanted to include. After we spoke, Doug sent us a draft of the ceremony, which we made minor changes to.

    At the rehearsal, he did such an awesome job at making everyone feel comfortable and also know what we would be doing the next day.

    On our wedding day, Doug truly made our ceremony special. The words he spoke really resonated with us as a couple, and our guests.

    If you are unsure about who you should be using for your wedding, Doug is the way to go.

    Sent on 01/05/2015
  • C

    Christina · Married on 09/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug was such a pleasure to work with throughout the wedding process. He always responded to me in a timely manner and answered any questions I had. He wrote up a beautiful ceremony and made recommendations for readings. The ceremony was flawless thanks to him! Thank you so much for everything Doug. I can tell you take pride in what you do and because of that you helped make our wedding day perfect.

    Sent on 09/26/2014
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 04/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    we worked with joe bustos, through a charleston wedding officiant. we were very pleased. everything was very simple to set-up, and joe performed all services on our big day exactly as set out in our contract. he personalized our ceremony to our requests, and our ceremony was absolutely beautiful!!

    Sent on 06/22/2014
  • User3372299 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed working with Doug. He made the process personal and enjoyable, and is a very easy person to talk with. We got multiple compliments on how beautiful our ceremony was, and he worked some very personal elements into our ceremony. I highly recommend Charleston Wedding Officiant!

    Sent on 03/14/2014
  • M

    Montana · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We wanted a civil ceremony, as neither of us are religious, which made finding an officiant difficult (and rather impersonal). Our planner recommended that we work with Charleston Wedding Officiants. After a few Skype/phone interviews we went with Kevin Kuhmeier and we are very happy we did. From the beginning of the interview I knew we would pick him, he was very organized and had methodical, thoughtful questions that brought up issues that hadn't even occurred to me. He wrote a beautiful ceremony - focused on the commitment of marriage and the beauty of love. It was short and sweet, but marked the occasion beautifully. He sent us the draft about a month in advanced so that we were able to have input.

    When he showed up to the ceremony, he really put everyone at ease. He did a fabulous job (and even seemed to have fun doing the ceremony which I loved). He whispered cues to us on where to stand and when to move, which was very reassuring. I would highly recommend Kevin, the ceremony was beautiful and he was a pleasure to work with.

    Sent on 09/30/2013
  • M

    Meredith · Married on 07/06/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so thankful for Doug! He took us through every step of the ceremony so we knew exactly what was coming the day of the wedding. He gave us very useful advice and guidance throughout the whole process, and tailored the ceremony to exactly our style. We've been to several other weddings recently and cringed each time we saw the couple take the wrong hand or turn at the wrong time or forgot what they had to say next! Doug knew how to handle us first-timers and it flowed perfectly, highly recommended!

    Sent on 09/11/2013
  • A

    Allison · Married on 05/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug was easy to work with and we loved our ceremony. Also, working with him, we realized that we did not need to worry about our ceremony at all! that meant a lot when there are so many other things to worry about while planning a wedding.

    Sent on 06/08/2013
  • A

    Anand · Married on 02/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug Farmer was flawless, both in planning and execution.

    He took the lead in constructing a ceremony that was, by our request, "short but sacred." After a quick phone call or two (ours was a destination wedding), Doug was able to home in on exactly what we were looking for. Every word he spoke was carefully chosen and the readings he selected were spot on given our personalities...not just the same old, same old. This was apparent to both us and our guests.

    At the rehearsal and on the day of the wedding, Doug's experience and calming influence shone through. We knew we were in good hands and that is very good to know when the nerves kick in during the ceremony!

    Sent on 03/11/2013
  • I

    Ingrid · Married on 11/10/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Doug Farmer right away! He was warm and thoughtful in his approach and understood our need for religious without too much so. He let us review the ceremony and worked until it felt right. I had several guests comment on the beautiful ceremony and they thought he knew us both for years! Amazing - one of the highlights from the wedding!

    Sent on 12/03/2012
  • K

    Kendra · Married on 11/05/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug was such a pleasure to work with! The day of the wedding, he made me feel so calm and relaxed and I was able to enjoy the ceremony. He was funny when he needed to be and serious when he needed to be. Everything was perfect and I will never forget the words he spoke!!

    Sent on 12/01/2011
  • Haleigh

    Haleigh · Married on 06/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug is excellent!! He wrote the most beautiful and traditional vows for our wedding. He was very responsive and friendly. He definitely helped run our rehearsal and made me feel very comfortable that it would all go as planned, and it did! Thank you so much Doug, for making our day wonderful!

    Sent on 07/05/2011
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 07/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved working with Doug. He really took the time to get to know me and my husband. He made the ceremony special by trying to personalize it as much as possible. Doug had my husband and me send him what we loved most about the other person and incorporated this into the ceremony for an added touch of sentiment. Doug definately put our minds at ease during the rehearsal and made it fun which helped loosen everybody up. He was just perfect!

    Sent on 08/09/2010
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 04/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Doug was awesome—exactly what you would want in an officiant—he created a beautiful, personalized ceremony for us, handled the rehearsal extremely well, esp. with 7 kids in the wedding, and was patient and responsive throughout.

    Sent on 05/04/2010
  • G

    Gina · Married on 02/18/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Doug was super friendly and made us feel at ease. His service was beautiful and I have heard a lot of complements on it. I'm not giving him a 5.0 simply because he messed up my hubby's name when he announced us...he called him 'the third', when he is a 'jr'. Not a huge deal overall, but I'll always remember that. :(

    Sent on 02/28/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review