Skip to main content
Weddings

The Charleston Event Center Reviews

The Charleston Event Center

The Charleston Event Center

White Bear Lake, MN
4.8 out of 5 rating, 8 Reviews
View more information

8 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 96% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    5 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

8

2 User photos

  • A
    Ashley S. Married on 11/19/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Amazing Venue and Staff

    Our wedding day at the CEC was the most amazing day of our entire lives. From the first walkthrough to the big day, communication was excellent. Our guests complimented how unique the venue was - noting how perfect it was for a wedding. They especially enjoyed the parlor for social hour. For a winter wedding where everything was indoors, ~100 people fit well in the parlor.

    We had to postpone our wedding and Julia and her team were nothing but understanding throughout the whole process. While we had originally planned for a summer wedding, the snowy veranda and festive parlor decorations made it a magical winter wedding. The CEC has a large list of decor that you can use for your wedding, which was super helpful as we didn’t have to try to find as many things on our own.

    The bridal suite that they have onsite was absolutely amazing. There was ample space and huge mirrors for getting ready. It was wonderful to be able to have hair come onsite for us as it saved a lot of time. It was also great to be able to add on an additional 2 hours in the morning to decorate and get ready. Highly recommend doing this as we never felt rushed or stressed out due to time.

    Overall, Julia and everyone on her team that we worked with throughout both of our planning processes were wonderful. They communicated well with the other vendors and made the day seem flawless from my point of view. We will definitely be keeping the CEC on our radar for any future events that we might have and highly recommend them for anyone looking for a cozy, unique venue!
  • A
    Audrey P. Married on 11/12/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Absolutely perfect!

    We had the most perfect wedding at the Charleston Event Center 11/12/22. Julia was very helpful during the planning process and was always available for questions. The venue, inside and outside, was beautiful, and we got many compliments from your friends and family. The venue has many locations for great photos. We loved the option to be and to have the ceremony indoors or outdoors. The bridal suite to get ready was beautiful and spacious, and provided great lighting for hair and makeup, and getting ready photos. We could not have chosen a more perfect venue for our wedding.
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • K
    Kayla K. Married on 08/27/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Classic and timeless

    My husband and I got married here in 2022, the venue was beautiful and I can’t thank the staff enough for there constant communication and endless help throughout the process, the day of the wedding was stress free due to the friendly staff!! Everyone raves about how beautiful our wedding was and how amazing the space was!
  • K
    Katie Married on 08/24/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We just had our wedding reception here on Friday and it was the best decision we made. We had originally been looking in Minneapolis but wanted something a little more affordable and with better parking, etc. Working with Shannon was so great! From the very first walk through I knew this is where I wanted to have our reception. Over the planning months she would check in and was great about suggestions/ideas. Since we had ours on a Friday I was able to do the majority of the decorating on Thursday which was so wonderful! The entire venue is so beautiful and i had so many of our guests comment on how much they loved it. The ballroom is gorgeous - make sure to pay a little extra for the bistro lighting! There is a pond in the back with a veranda and we were able to do our first dances out there which was so great! This is such a great venue!
  • Lippenrieder
    Severine Married on 11/03/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The Charleston Event Center is such a gorgeous venue! I had to find a new ceremony site 2 months before my wedding and Pam, the wedding coordinator, was fantastic. She was very responsive from the beginning and so accommodating. She will work hard to exceed your expectations! One of the many great features of this venue is the stunning Bridal Suite. It is elegant and functional. My hair and makeup artist were impressed. It was also a great place to relax and enjoy my friends and family.
    Not only is the building beautiful, the landscaping is gorgeous, no matter the season! My guests were impressed.
  • B
    Bonnie Married on 04/05/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We absolutely loved our daughters wedding at the new Charleston Event Center in White Bear Lake. The venue is so beautiful. Our daughters walk down the grand stairway unto the veranda was breathtaking. The gardens, pond, and stone kept our wedding so elegant, warm, and memorable. Lorah and Pam, the coordinators, helped us during the planning stages and Pam helped make our day flawless. Our guests had a wonderful time and commented on how beautiful the wedding was. It was perfect.
  • A
    Andy A. Married on 08/08/2020
    3.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful Venue but Lack of Communication

    We got married at the Charleston Event Center in August. It is a stunning venue, with unique charm which is why we chose it. Another reason we picked it was because of the former manager, Shannon. She was amazing to work with and made us feel like we were the only couple she was working with. Unfortunately, Shannon & her entire event coordinator team was let go a couple of months before our wedding with zero communication. It was difficult enough planning a wedding during covid with the constant guideline changes but for the management team to be let go without any notice to the current couples is unacceptable. A wedding is a huge investment and is one of the most special moments in a couples life. Julia from Great Day Events was hired as the new management company and it took several weeks of corresponding to the Charleston before we heard anything from Julia informing us of the management change. The remaining couple of months of planning our wedding was extremely stressful due to the lack of communication from the Charleston or Julia. We would go days/weeks without hearing anything from Julia. Luckily, I can say our wedding turned out amazing thanks to our vendors, family and friends. Julia did do a nice job keeping us on schedule day of however there just wasn’t the personal touch we grew to love from Shannon. If you decide to move forward with using this venue I would encourage you to pay close attention to your damage deposit. We did not receive our damage deposit until 4 months after our wedding after I had to reach out asking for it. We loved this venue for our wedding but we can not recommend this location unless some serious management improvements have been made.