Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation Reviews

39 | Waltham, MA
See photos, pricing and details

39 Reviews for Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation

Recommended by 95%

39
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.6

34 User photos

Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 1
Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 2
Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 3
Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 4
Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 5
Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 6
Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 7
+ 28
Sort by:
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 12/01/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The BEST venue!

    The Charles River Museum is truly one of the most unique locations you can choose for your wedding. Every single one of our guests raved about it! It's very different from your typical venue - you have to get your own catering, rentals, alcohol, etc but you really get to utilize the entire museum. Your guests can walk through the museum during cocktail hour, the Jackson room is absolutely stunning when it's decorated. Every single staff member at the museum is so helpful. Jillian was extremely responsive to my questions and concerns, and with her help, our wedding at the museum was the most magical day we could have ever imagined.

    Sent on 12/07/2018
  • Emma

    Emma · Married on 10/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We absolutely loved this venue!

    We could not be happier that we chose Charles River Museum as our wedding venue. It is such a beautiful, unique, and engaging venue. Our guests were absolutely in love with it—we were getting constant compliments throughout the night and we still are to this day! Jill at CMRII was so wonderful to work with. Her calm and supportive demeanor made us feel so comfortable with how the day was going to go. It is not an all-inclusive venue, in that you have to bring everything in, but it was so worth it to have this amazing and memorable space. We highly recommend picking CMRII as a wedding venue and working with Jill to make your day possible.

    Sent on 11/27/2018
  • Molly

    Molly · Married on 10/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue with wonderful staff

    My husband and I got married at the CRMII on October 5th and I can’t say enough wonderful things. From the prompt communication from Jill, the museum coordinator to the wonderful support we received throughout the panning process and day of, our experience was truly excellent. One thing to note: this is a bare bones venue, meaning that you must bring everything in yourself (linens, tables, glassware etc.) I actually found this to be totally fine, as it allowed me to customize everything exactly how I wanted it. We got SO many compliments from our guests talking about how it was the most unique venue they had ever been in. If you are looking for a beautiful, unique venue that is a bit of a blank canvas, the CRMII is absolutely for you!

    Sent on 10/28/2018
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 8
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 9
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 10
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 11
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 12
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 13
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 14
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 15
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 16
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 17
  • napawedding2018

    Chris · Married on 09/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Unique & Industrial!

    Luckily, we came across the Charles River Museum through a suggestion on a Facebook group. On our first visit to the museum, we met with Anna, who was in the middle of prepping the space for a wedding later that night. It gave us a chance to see the potential the space had, it’s stunning. We loved that the space would offer exhibits for our guests to explore and offer tons of room to mingle, all while keeping the ceremony and reception in the same place.

    We had our ceremony the Jackson room, which is a large gorgeous brick ballroom. It really doesn’t need much to make the room pop, we opted for edison bulb string lights on the ceiling and for a ceremony backdrop. Post ceremony, our guests were funnelled into the museum for hors d'oeuvres and cocktails while our catering team flipped the ballroom for the reception.

    If you’re looking for a unique venue, it’s definitely worth while to check out the Charles River Museum. There are a ton of unique photo spots in and around the venue as well! Both Anna and Jill were lovely to work with too!

    Sent on 03/10/2019
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 18
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 19
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 20
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 21
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 22
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 23
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 24
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 25
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 26
  • B

    Bekah · Married on 07/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Jill at CRMII was a total dream. To be quite honest, this was the first venue we looked at. after seeing it and meeting Jill, we booked it immediately. The museum's location on the Charles is gorgeous in all seasons, and it allows for the outside ceremony/quick transition to inside reception that we wanted. The museum itself is so unique and fun, with old fashioned cars and time stamp machines and clocks--our guests LOVED looking around. Plus, the old textile mill high brick ceilings are to die for. Most importantly, I cannot overstate how wonderful it was to work with Jill. She was extremely organized, responsive, and accommodating. We ended up hiring her as our day-of coordinator, and it was the best money we spent. She instills total confidence that everything will go smoothly and exactly as you hope.

    Sent on 07/17/2018
  • T

    Teresa · Married on 05/19/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Charles River Museum is such a unique venue and I am so happy we found it! Our guests could not stop raving about it! Jill was a pleasure to work with throughout the whole process.

    Sent on 06/08/2018
  • J

    Joseph · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our Spring 2018 wedding at the museum and it was a truly wonderful experience. The museum space, exterior areas along the river, and Jackson room provided unique and special spaces that our guests loved. The mix of industrial museum pieces, metal and brick made for beautiful views (and pictures). It was the perfect sized space for our 125 person celebration. Jill, the museum's event coordinator, was phenomenal in helping us with planning with our vendors, and helping us with truly maximizing the space and providing insight on what other couples had done. We had a day we will never forget and highly recommend the museum for your special day.

    Sent on 05/14/2018
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 27
  • K

    Kira · Married on 10/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an exceptional experience with CRMII. Jillian was our initial contact but we primarily worked with Anna. I cannot describe how amazing our experience was, the space is amazing, interesting, our guests loved it. Anna was insanely helpful, far beyond expectation. She helped us make a difficult decision about a vendor and compensated with advice and support for the deficit. Anna is so calm, patient, kind- exactly the vibe you want around your wedding. We must have visited 7 times throughout the year before the big day and they were so accommodating, helpful. We couldn't decide whether to have our ceremony inside or outside (we decided inside) did a quick flip and had our reception inside as well. Photos were outside, we got lucky with a beautiful late October day. We used Blue Ribbon BBQ/Premier Bar Service & Catering- Fiona was the catering manager- she is a GEM/Peak Rentals/Holly Redmond-Photos/DJ JD. We HIGHLY recommend CRMII! Also loved all our other vendors.

    Sent on 12/06/2017
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 28
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 29
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 30
    Charles River Museum of Industry & Innovation 31
  • N

    Naychelle · Married on 10/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our October 6, 2017 wedding here and I cannot recommend the Charles River Museum of Industry and Innovation enough! The space is beautiful and unique and the staff is professional and friendly! Anyone looking for a non-traditional space with staff that will work with your vision, this is the place for you!

    We fell in love with the space right away! From the beginning of the planning process Jill and everyone at the museum was amazing. They provided us with vendor lists and advice for working with the space. Because the Jackson room is so large and the museum only provides tables and chairs, there are a lot of logistics and vendors to work with. Throughout the whole planning process Jill made herself available to answer any questions we had and accommodate any changes. Jill and Ana worked closely with our coordinator, bar, caterer and other vendors to help our vision come true!

    The day of, everything ran so smooth! The staff were available and willing to help, but were not in the way of guests and allowed everyone to have fun. Everyone who attended the wedding was amazed by the space! They wanted to take pictures everywhere and explore all night.

    We couldn’t have been happier!

    Sent on 10/25/2017
  • C

    Chelsea · Married on 08/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Charles River Museum of Industry and Innovation was literally the perfect setting for my wedding on August 5th, 2017. The industrial backdrop went so well with the rest of my very natural and light décor. Literally every location of the venue provides the perfect backdrop for a photo, so I’ve just been so in awe of each picture I’ve seen! All of my guests were traveling from Pennsylvania, and many people said that the venue itself was worth the trip. The museum displays provided entertainment for guests the entire night, whether they were just learning about the displays or taking photos in the phone booth. The space itself fit everyone perfectly and allowed for a great flow of events from the ceremony to cocktail hour to the reception. Not to mention, the museum staff was an absolute pleasure to work with!! Jill, Anna, and Cora were all super responsive and accommodating to all our requests and needs. Thank you or making the day so smooth, enjoyable, and beautiful!

    Sent on 08/16/2017
  • L

    Laura · Married on 07/15/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Charles River Museum was absolutely perfect for our wedding, and working with Jill (the venue coordinator) was so stress-free and easy. She was very quick to respond, and super flexible. The space itself is incredibly cool, and kept all of our guests entertained. We did our ceremony outside in Landry Park, which was the perfect little space before moving all the guests inside for cocktail hour and the reception. We added bistro lights to the Jackson Room for our reception, and I would highly recommend it - I think it really helps warm up the space (pro-tip: ask the lighting company to put them on a dimmer). We followed previous reviewers' advice and had signs pointing the way for guests along with instructions for parking and it went off without a hitch. Overall, it was perfect for us and we would highly recommend it.

    Sent on 08/13/2017
  • E

    Erika · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I did a ton of research on venues before I found the CRMII. As soon as I saw it online, I knew we had to get married there. My husband and I are both engineers so the industrial museum vibe fit perfectly with our personalities and we knew it would be a hit with our friends and family. We went for a tour with Jill, who was super sweet and accommodating and fell in love with the museum. She told us there was one date left for summer 2017 and as we were walking out, I ran back to put a hold on the date. Throughout the entire planning process, Jill was incredibly helpful - giving us vendor tips and confirming that we could in fact use open flame candles (one of the few places that does!). Our wedding day was incredible and everyone is still telling us how much they loved the venue - it's just so unique and fun, exactly what we wanted for our wedding day!

    Sent on 07/13/2017
  • K

    Kristyn · Married on 06/10/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CRMII was absolutely amazing!! If you are looking for a unique, industrial venue this is perfect. We got married in the park outside the museum, had cocktail hour on the first floor, and had the reception in the Jackson room upstairs. Guests were so entertained during cocktail hour with the metal stamping, looking at the exhibits, punching in time cards, you name it. The reception space was the perfect size for eating and dancing, and had a great lounge area for guests who wanted to step away from the noise and relax. Jill (the event manager) was always so responsive to any questions/ideas we had. I can't think of a single thing I would change!!

    Sent on 07/12/2017
  • L

    Liz · Married on 05/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our MDW wedding at CRMII was perfect in every way. The space is fantastic - it gives guests a chance to wander or enjoy the party - and Jill is a dream to work with. Since it's a museum, not a banquet hall, you'll need to coordinate rental equipment, but if you're the type that wants something truly unique, CRMII gives you the opportunity to create the event of your dreams.

    Sent on 06/17/2017
  • Z

    zahra · Married on 03/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Charles River Museum (3/29/2016) and it was wonderful! We had the ceremony upstairs in the Jackson room, cocktail hour in the main museum and dinner/dancing back in the Jackson room. There was enough space for our ~150 guests and a 6-piece band. If you're looking for 160+ guests, the space will be tight with a band--but workable with a DJ. The museum was beautiful and doesn't need additional decorations; many guests told us they loved the space. Also, since we first booked the museum last year, the museum has undergone several upgrades--including bigger bathrooms & a new walkway outside the museum that was great for pictures--that we got to take advantage of. Finally, Jill, the museum coordinator, was incredibly responsive, easy to work with, professional and very accommodating. We would definitely recommend it!

    Sent on 03/27/2016
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 01/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CRMII was the perfect place to host our wedding. It was difficult to find a venue that was large enough to hold ~140 people, under $3,000 (for the winter), and have our choice of caterers - but this museum was perfect! My husband is in the start-up world, so the "innovation" piece was on-trend and our wedding was 1920s vintage themed so the exposed brick, factory feel fit right in. We held a cocktail hour downstairs in the museum and our reception and dance floor upstairs with a photobooth on the mezzanine. It didn't feel cramped at all. Jill was really responsive on her e-mails and let us tour twice so our parents could come back and see it. If you're going to get married there, definitely get announced looking over the balcony. It's a celebrity feeling moment. The only thing is that it's a little hard to find. Some our guests got temporarily lost. Have good signage and driving directions.

    Sent on 01/31/2016
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is one of the most unique museums around, and it was more than perfect to host our wedding. The last place I wanted to get married in was a banquet hall or a hotel ballroom, and this place was the complete opposite. We had our ceremony outside in Landry Park (it was late October and the foliage was unreal), and the cocktail hour and reception inside. Our guests could not stop commenting on how amazing the museum was and how they'd never seen anything like it. The ballroom is HUGE and the fact that it's an old textile mill meant huge windows and lots of brick, so beautiful! Jill always responded quickly to each and every email and the event staff was great the night of our wedding. I can't say enough amazing things about this place.

    Sent on 11/29/2015
  • User4682140 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    CRMII is a unique space for any couple looking for something different. The park was a beautiful setting for our ceremony, especially with the leaves changing color in October. The cocktail reception was held in the main gallery, and our guests loved the photo ops with all of the old cars and other machinery. The Jackson Room accommodated our 125 guests, 7-piece band, and photobooth AND still had room for a great dance floor. There are even fun spaces to rest and relax away from the party, like a little lounge, the watch gallery, and a brand new deck winding along the river. Jill was great to work with and made sure all of our guests' needs were met (handicap access, and other logistics). Very cool, memorable spot!

    Sent on 10/12/2015
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Charles River Museum of Industry and Innovation was the perfect venue for our ceremony and reception! We got compliments and questions about the unique and beautiful space all night! Jill O'Shaughnessy was our event manager and she was incredibly helpful and a pleasure to work with. Our 180 guest reception fit perfectly with a ridiculously fun live jazz cocktail hour in the first floor exhibit hall and overlooking balcony, then dinner and dancing in the Jackson Room, with room for two bars, a lounge, and a killer dance floor. I can't get over how great our pictures look! We couldn't have asked for more!

    Sent on 07/28/2015
  • K

    Karla · Married on 07/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jen was incredibly helpful throughout the process, she replies to emails immediately and is really flexible about event planning. Our guests raved about our special and interesting location that was highly interactive.

    Sent on 11/19/2014
  • J

    Joy · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a fantastic venue! The space consists of the downstairs exhibit hall (full of cool old machinery!), which the guests could roam throughout during the reception, the upstairs watch gallery (very cool), and the spacious upstairs function room (we comfortably accommodated ten 72-inch rounds as well as food station tables and a clear area for the ceremony). The building is an old factory building, so the function room has high ceilings, gorgeous big windows with views of the river, and lots of beautiful exposed brick. There's also a small sitting area off the function room that we used as a sort of bar and lounge area. To reach the museum, you come across the river on a cute footbridge that's great for pictures. The museum also has a handicapped-accessible back entrance that goes straight into the function room.

    My contact at the museum, Christine, was a pleasure to work with throughout the process. We were able to visit the space multiple times while planning the event and were also able to close the museum a couple of hours early on the day of for a very reasonable fee. The venue has so much character--we didn't even need decorations other than centerpieces because it looked so cool already--and it's really a great value. I also think it's a great option for kids' parties--my young cousins had a blast! Highly recommended!

    Sent on 09/15/2013
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 06/02/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Charles River Museum of Industry and Innovation is a great place to hold your wedding! It is spacious and comfortable. Guests are allowed to mill about and look at exhibits through out the evening. There is a huge room that can be set up like a traditional reception.

    We loved working with them!

    Sent on 08/26/2012
  • S

    sarah · Married on 09/21/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The museum was an amazing venue for our wedding. Jillian and the museum staff were really helpful along the way answering questions and on the day of making sure everything went off without a hitch. The Jackson Room is such a great space for ceremonies and receptions, and our guests had a lot of fun exploring the museums exhibits during our cocktail hour.

    Sent on 10/09/2018
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 07/29/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so glad we had our ceremony and reception at the museum. The staff was incredibly accommodating, and our guests loved the location. Plus, my husband and I didn't need to spend a lot of money on decorations, because the whole venue is a decoration in and of itself.

    Sent on 08/18/2018
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 07/29/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue was absolutely beautiful and we are still getting compliments on it! All the staff was very nice and helpful from the initial inquiry through to the end of the night. We were thrilled to be able to use the beautiful park as well. We will highly recommend this venue to anyone who asks!

    Sent on 11/16/2017

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review