Skip to main content
Weddings

Celebrations Party & Wedding Store Reviews

Celebrations Party & Wedding Store

Celebrations Party & Wedding Store

Ames, IA
3.9 out of 5 rating, 11 Reviews
View more information

11 Reviews

Rated
3.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 78% of couples
  • Quality of service
    3.9 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    3.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    3.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    3.8 out of 5 rating

Awards

  • 11
  • S
    Sumner Event on: 06/20/2015
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Stephanie and her staff were very responsive, flexible and concerned with our needs.

    Celebrations Party & Wedding Store's reply:

    Thank you for your review!
  • C
    Christopher Married on 09/20/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    They did a great job meeting our needs. We needed chairs for our ceremony, and also chair covers for our reception. They set up the chairs for us, got all the chair covers ready for us to pick up, and we're very reasonable.

    Celebrations Party & Wedding Store's reply:

    Thank you for your business!!
  • A
    Ariann Married on 06/22/2013
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Celebrations has two locations, one in Ames IA and one in West Des Moines IA. They have almost anything you could think of in terms of buying or renting for your wedding. The prices are very reasonable, and they are great to work with. The only issue we had was one little miscommunication between stores, but it was fixed with plenty of time for our wedding. The owner goes between each location daily, so it's understandable. They were very flexible when we took back our items the Monday after the wedding. We were short two dinner napkins, and they didn't charge us for losing them. They were very accommodating throughout our whole renting process, and I'd recommend them to anyone looking for items to rent!

    Celebrations Party & Wedding Store's reply:

    Thanks for your review Ariann!
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • G
    Groat Event on: 02/21/2015
    4.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    I so appreciate all of the help in determining a theme and decorations for this event. They are all very professional at Celebrations.

    Celebrations Party & Wedding Store's reply:

    Thank you for reviewing our business!
  • Rebecca
    Rebecca Married on 06/07/2008
    4.3 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    We used Celebrations for chair covers and bows, and the backdrop for the head table and cake table. We had our reception in a really open and tall hall. The chair covers and hot pink bows for the chairs helped more than you could imagine to really make the hall look beautiful! Also the backdrops were white tole with white light and they really made the tables stand out. Our reception was amazing! The only thing is you have to return all the covers and back drops the next day to avoid a fee for them to come pick it up. So we just had our parents do so.

    Celebrations Party & Wedding Store's reply:

    We're so happy you had a wonderful day Rebecca! Thank you for your business!
  • fallinthegarden
    Amanda Married on 10/06/2017
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    They have great prices, but a fairly limited selection. We only used them for ceremony chairs and the dance floor. We were happy with what we received, but we did have to use other places to supplement what they provided in order to get the kinds of chairs we wanted for the reception.
  • T
    Tess Married on 06/28/2008
    4.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    I was planning on making my own invitations but found very simple ones from Celebrations. They were very friendly and helpful. It is a smaller shop so there are usually one or two employees working at a given time so sometimes, if there is a fair amount of customers, it is hard to get someone to talk with. And, since they are smaller, they may not have as fancy of a selection as some may desire. However, for what I wanted it worked out well - very simple and a reasonable price. The only thing I wish they could have done was be able to change the color of the border to match the font - I went with black since the border was black and could not be changed (my colors did not include black).

    I also got seat covers and sashes, thank you cards, my garter and toasting glasses from here. They did an amazing job at ordering my glasses and getting them in before my wedding. We ordered the toasting glasses late and had them engraved. They promised to have them in by the wedding and they did. They were perfect!

    Celebrations Party & Wedding Store's reply:

    Thank you for reviewing our business Tess!
  • User2221640 2+ years ago
    3.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    I spoke to a few different employees with Celebrations while booking our rentals for our wedding. I was initially told that I would only be charged about half of what I ended up being charged. I was also told that we would not be charged a fee for a Sunday pick up, which we ended up having to pay. When an employee called to confirm our order, they ended up having the wrong number of tables. This was corrected before we received our order. I asked that our rentals be delivered at 11:45 AM and when we arrived around 11 AM, the tables and chairs were just piled up outside of the venue. We also scheduled for a 12 PM pick up and were left waiting an extra 15-20 minutes. The company did call to let us know that they were running late. All of the employees were very courteous and polite, but I do not think I would use this company again.

    Celebrations Party & Wedding Store's reply:

    In response to the wrong number of tables on the order this may well have been the customers fault as they are allowed to make as many changes they like until we call to confirm everything two weeks out from the event. Regardless everything was confirmed correctly on this order at the two week out point so not sure why that even matters. We did deliver about 1115 as we had many orders to fill that day. However the customer had family already there when we arrived and started carrying stuff in. We do that venue all the time and there is no issue with setting the chairs and tables at the front door which is what we do for deliveries there.
  • K
    Keesha Married on 08/19/2016
    3.1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      2.5 out of 5 rating
    At one point they could not figure out where they had written my chair rentals. We later found out that a sister company that does the chair deliveries had it in their books and not at Celebrations.
  • Ania
    Ania Married on 08/11/2018
    2.6 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating

    Old/Worn Out Rentals

    There's not much to say, besides that the rentals were old and worn out. Customer service ok. Not worth the money.
  • P
    Pearlyllama Married on 10/09/2021
    1.2 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      2.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating

    Unprofessional, disorganized and dirty

    Got an email quote for chair rental for a Saturday, which included drop off and pick up by the company, and it was reasonable so I called and rented the chairs. At this time, the lady who answered the phone told me we would have to pick up because they did not have any available time to drop off on the Friday before the event, but that they would pick up on Monday. I agreed and paid. The chairs were white, dingy and dirty, but at this time I was in a pinch and we took them despite the filth. Fast forward to Monday, no one showed up to pick up the chairs. I called Tuesday to ask about it, and I was told at this time I would have to pay more if I wanted to have the chairs picked up or I could bring them in. On Monday I could have done this because I had access to a truck to haul them, but by Tuesday I was without options. The woman I spoke to this time said a new hire had misinformed me about the costs, and I guess the new woman was the one sending email quotes too because I was told the wrong price twice and misled about company policy. I agreed to pay for pickup after I conveyed my disappointment. This review is to let you know about my experience with this company, which I will not do business with again, due to hidden charges, miscommunication, failure to stand by agreed upon prices and finally the condition of the product.