Weddings

Carter Photography Reviews

Carter Photography View more information

28 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 28
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

28 User photos

Sort by:
  • Amy Larque
    Amy L. Married on 07/31/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Incredible

    Joel and Kara do BEAUTIFUL work! We could not be happier with the sneak peek we have seen so far. And not only are they incredibly talented, but so sweet and kind! Joel is very flexible and made our hope to do a first look on campus (a third location) he rolled with it and produced the most gorgeous shots. Absolutely recommend Carter Photography (even if they are Cyclone fans 😉)
  • Morgan
    Morgan B. Married on 05/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing photos

    Joel did a great job capturing our wedding day! He was fun to work with and was open to capturing whatever photo I wanted. His pictures were stunning!! I'm extremely happy with the results. I would absolutely recommend Carter Photography for any photo needs!!
  • H
    Heather P. Married on 04/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Photos- fun times had by all

    Joel and Kara did an amazing job capturing the story of our wedding day! When I first met with Joel, I told him that my fiance wanted as few pictures as possible. By the time we got our sneak peak of the pictures, my now husband couldn't stop commenting about how great the photos looked! Joel and Kara were both super easy to work with and rolled with the verbal punches of our not so quiet wedding party. Lots of laughs throughout the day and Joel and Kara were a big part of it! Couldn't have asked for more. I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND Carter Photography to anyone!
  • Alyssa
    Alyssa A. Married on 06/13/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    A blessing to work with

    I knew my husband and I would be in good hands and receive excellent photos working with Joel and Kara. Little did we know that we would meet such great people and develop such special memories. Joel and Kara - it was OUR honor to work with you. Thank you for creating our dream photos and capturing the essence of our day. I’m not one to review vendors online, but this couple did an EXCELLENT job of providing some timeless photos. The attention to detail is phenomenal. The ability to capture those special moments, the atmosphere, and the joy that comes with your wedding day. If you need good photos, then you need to work with Carter Photography.
  • N
    Nicki Married on 10/13/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Amazing! Joel and Kara are everthing a bride and groom could ask for! They are very talented photographers who really have a creative eye. After my wedding, everyone kept asking me if I has happy it was over...no more stress...etc. I told them, kind of, but I wish I could go back and watch everthing and take it all in. The entire day was go go go and I really didn't have a chance to stand back and absorb everthing. Once Joel sent me the link to view my proofs online, I was given that chance to go back and see everthing unfold. They are not only FABULOUS photographers from a technical perspective, they are also great story tellers.
  • C
    Chelsea S. Married on 10/06/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Married October 6, 2018

    Joel and Kara were phenomenal! From booking them to the end of the wedding day, they were great to work with! Joel worked well with us in providing the best pictures is the allotted time slot that we had! They both were very easy to work with, were funny and made us feel completely comfortable!! We are VERY pleased with our preview pictures and can’t wait to see the rest! I would highly recommend them to any engaged couple!!
  • J
    Jill Married on 09/21/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joel did an amazing job photographing our wedding. He has a great eye and our photos turned out phenomenal. He's very easy to get along with, and was very fun and engaging. We got our photos back within a month of our wedding and we've gotten SO MANY compliments on how they turned out. I will recommend these guys over and over again! I couldn't be happier with my decision to go with Carter Photography to document my special day.
  • C
    Caroline Married on 04/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I have known Joel and Kara since my sister's wedding in 2010. They shot their wedding and other photos for our family over the last 7 years. I emailed Joel right after I got engaged because I wanted to make sure they were available and had to have them for our big day! We get compliments all the time on our beautiful photos and they helped to capture unique moments that make our day ours. We could not be happier with them and highly recommend Joel and Kara!
  • B
    Brittany Married on 11/05/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    As soon as we got engaged, we knew we wanted Carter Photography to shoot our wedding day. Joel and Kara are not only wonderful people, but they treat their clients with the same kindness and warmth you’d except from your best friends. More importantly, they take the task of capturing one of the most exciting days of any couple’s life very seriously. Starting with our first conversation, Joel helped lay out the entire day, making sure we knew we were where we needed to be and on time. Despite a meticulously planned day, because of Joel’s keen eye and desire to capture the best pictures possible, the five minutes we were late to the reception paid off with some of the most stunning pictures I have ever seen (and it's not because they are of me and my husband)! Seriously, ask him about the sunset photos in downtown Des Moines. He and Kara have an impeccable eye for moments and memories. From our engagement photos to the very last photo of the night at our reception, I’m certain I’ve got some of the most stunning pictures that I will hold close forever. Joel and Kara may not know it yet, but we plan to ask for their help capturing the big moments in our lives for a very long time!

    For anyone looking for a wedding photographer, remember that once the day is over all that’s left are the memories. The photos are the key to remembering each special moment. For us, the pictures Joel and Kara captured relay every emotion in the most artistic and honest way possible. Between the candid shots of our bridal party, the intimate photos during our exchange of vows, and the joy and fun our friends and family had at the reception, we can say without a doubt there isn't a better wedding photographer out there.
  • S
    Shelby Married on 07/31/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joel went above and beyond in exceeding my expectations as our wedding photographer. He was extremely helpful beforehand in assisting us with coordinating the schedule of events for our wedding day so he could get the perfect outside pictures. After endless searching from many miles and states away, I finally come across Joel's website on theKnot.com, and after brief communication with him I knew I had found my wedding photographer which was a huge relief! I cannot speak highly enough about Joel's service. Thanks again!
  • H
    Heather Married on 05/20/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Wow! What more can I say, Joel and Kara are quite the team! After meeting with them and looking through album after album (we just couldn't stop, they were so good!!) we were more than impressed and decided to hire Carter Photography for our wedding ceremony and reception. We could just tell that Joel's artistic eye would give us some very unique photos and capture the real us.

    We were beyond excited when our photos came back less than a month later! Joel and Kara work hard to make each wedding unique and personable to the bride and groom. We couldn't have asked for anything more! They truly captured our day just the way we wanted :)
  • E
    Erin Married on 05/08/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    First of all, just look at Carter Photography's photos. Holy smokes! We truly believe that they speak for themselves. We were initially drawn to Carter Photography because of the outstanding quality and natural feel of the photos. After meeting with Joel for the first time, we were pleasantly surprised to find that we would absolutely love working with our photographer. Joel was with us every step of the way - from engagement photos, fun "family" photos with our beloved dogs, candid rehearsal dinner photos, to the big wedding day! Joel exceeded our expectations with his professionalism, experience, creativity, and execution. His energy and humor always made our photo sessions a treat! My husband said that it was honestly the first time he actually had fun getting his photos taken. Joel was always responsive and flexible, and did an outstanding job getting the proofs back to us in a timely manner. We truly feel like Joel tailored the photos to our style and personalities and captured every last detail on the wedding day. We could not be happier with our wedding photos and love seeing all of the personalities shine through them. We will cherish them forever! Thank you, Joel and Kara, from the bottom of our hearts! We can't wait to find another excuse to get back to KC and get in front of your camera again!
  • S
    Sarah Married on 02/16/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I (the bride) chose Carter Photography after my sister had used them for her wedding a few years ago. The biggest thing that stands out for me in her pictures is the quality and emotion captured. Every single photo I saw from her wedding was absolutely incredible! The lighting, the moment captured, the colors...it was everything we were looking for in a photographer. Since the photography was the most important part of the event for us, I knew I had to trust my gut and go with Carter Photography.

    When we ran into some unfortunate family circumstances and had to move our wedding to Texas unexpectedly in a month's time, Joel was able to go with and captured one of the most unforgettable, emotional events of our lives. Joel and Kara did an incredible job on the photos, especially not having previously seen the area where we ended up taking the pictures. Truly, each time we look at those pictures, it takes us back to that moment in time. The pictures capture the sentiment not only of the bride and groom in that time, but of some of our most dear friends and family.

    We can't say enough good things about Joel and Kara. From their professionalism, to their eye for candid and real photography, to their hard work ethic and passion for what they do...if we had to chose again, we'd chose them in a heartbeat. We've received countless compliments on our photos, and it doesn't surprise us a bit, because they did an absolutely incredible job!

  • D
    Diana Married on 06/09/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joel and Kara were fantastic on our wedding day. They were flexible and fun throughout the day. They came to my hotel suite as I was getting ready and quietly did their thing (taking pics of dress, jewelry, shoes, etc) amidst all the chaos of a bridal party getting ready. At the wedding, they were all over the place taking photos but were never in anyone's face or in the way, which we really loved. We also enjoyed our time with them during our first look and bride and groom shot, as they made us feel very comfortable. Joel and Kara produce excellent photos and I would highly suggest you contact them before looking at any other photographers.
  • Kassie
    Kassie Married on 06/01/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We cannot say enough good things about Joel and Kara. We had originally hired another popular Kansas City Wedding Photographer for our wedding, but with a less than stellar engagement session we decided to look elsewhere. I stumbled across Carter Photography’s Facebook one day and couldn’t get over how amazing their pictures were. I knew we wanted to try the Caters out, so we booked an engagement session with them. We had so much fun during our session and our pics were amazing. We decided right away that we had to have them for our wedding! On our wedding day they were so much fun. My favorite part of the entire day was just hanging out with my groom before the ceremony while Joel and Kara took amazing pictures of us. They made it such an enjoyable experience and I feel like it really shows in the images. We couldn’t be happier with the pictures. Carter Photography was the absolute best decision we made for our wedding.
  • C
    Cailan Married on 03/24/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joel and Cara were absolutely amazing! I was an out-of-town bride and they were great at meeting with my mom and MOH before the wedding and setting up a time to meet with me a month before when I was able to get into town. I'm really happy we were able to have a meeting before to discuss what I wanted because Joel helped me realize what was possible and what pictures I wanted to really make sure that we got! Our pictures were AMAZING! We just got our album back and it tells such a beautiful story of the day and is something we will always cherish. One thing that really drew us to Carter Photography was the fact that they had two photographers and unlimited time. We had a Catholic wedding on a Saturday in Kansas, which meant we couldn't have our ceremony after 1pm. Many photographers only give you a certain about of time, which would not have worked for us! They were with us the whole day and captured such great memories. My friends from out of town have even mentioned that they hope that the Carters will travel for their weddings out of state because they were so good. I would highly recommend!
  • A
    Ashley Married on 11/12/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    What can I say about Joel & Kara Carter that hasn't been said before? They were absolutely amazing. I did a lot of research when it came to finding a photographer(s) for our big day since I wanted a team to capture "us" as a couple, have amazing pictures to share with our kids and grandkids, and not to mention someone within our budget! I was so lucky to have stumbled upon their website. Not only do they do beautiful work but they are sweet, accomodating and a pleasure to work with. I can't tell you how many compliments we've gotten from our engagment and wedding pictures. I can't stop looking at them myself! You definitely won't be disappointed if you choose them; seriously snatch them up before it's too late!!!
  • J
    Jami Married on 10/08/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Kara and Joel were so easy to work with. If you want your wedding day to be stress-free and smooth, book these guys! Neither Nathan or I are photo shoot type people, but Joel provides easy instructions for relaxing poses. They've got a great bedside manner.

    Book them right now before they realize they should be charging more!
  • Andy
    Andy Married on 09/17/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    When we were looking at photographers, it seemed like it would be impossible to figure out who to choose. There are so many. We set a meeting with Joel and Kara for a Sunday morning, which they graciously rescheduled last minute when I needed to watch the football game. We showed up, and they had all of their materials ready, information, and so on. They have it together, very well organized and extreme attention to detail. We knew right away they were perfect for us, and their personalities were very easy-going, fun, and genuinely caring. We needed a lot of direction in photo location, photo ideas, and so on - and they took care of all of it for us. The photos were beautiful and really captured the moment, and most importantly - they captured us as we are. During the event, they were like ninjas - taking all the right photos, but I hardly noticed them with their cameras. You should do yourself a favor and meet with Joel and Kara before you select any other photographer - they're that good.
  • A
    Aimee Married on 07/16/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joel and Cara and an amazing job with our wedding photos. We were so happy after our engagement session that it left us with such an ease about our wedding day knowing that our pictures were something we did not need to stress out about! They captured every moment of our wedding from beginning to end. It was so important to us to have photographers who were willing to stay with us all day and not put a "time limit" on the day. Going through our pictures, they truly do tell a story of the day and it was so nice to almost feel like we were there again! I've received so many compliments on my wedding pictures and how unique everyone thought they were. Joel and Cara were so easy to work with and were always very quick to respond to any of my questions during the planning period which is always a dream to every bride. I would HIGHLY recommend Carter Photography to any bride and groom!
  • J
    Jena Married on 07/09/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joel and Kara were fabulous to work with! We were extremely pleased with our engagement and wedding photos. Since they work together as a team, there are two photographers snapping shots at the same time, so we got some really amazing and unique angles. Not to mention that they are extremely professional and fun, as well as affordable. They are truly talented and have a special eye when it comes to creating amazing photographs. I would highly recommend Carter Photography to capture the moments of your big day! Better book them now... I hear they're busy! :)
  • E
    Ester Married on 05/06/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joel and Kara did an AMAZING job capturing our wedding day. They truly are artists and know what they're doing. The day went by so fast it was such a treat to get the photos back from Joel and Kara and relive it all over again. They captured all of the details and emotion of the day beautifully! They are also super fun to work with and very professional. I was really impressed with how they handled our first look. I couldn't imagine where we would do it as we were both getting ready in a hotel. Joel and Kara led us outside to the back of the hotel and we took pictures against this amazing textured wall behind the hotel. That is the mark of a true professional. We were able to get pictures of our first look that focused totally on the emotion by having a really simple yet interesting background; not to mention all of the other beautiful pictures we have from the beginning of the day to the end!!!
  • D
    Michelle Married on 10/08/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    From the 1st meeting we knew Joel and Kara from Carter Photography & Design were the right choice for us. They are truly a unique husband and wife team. When it came time for our engagement pictures, they made it a memorable experience. It also gave us an idea of what we were to expect the day of the wedding and they didn't dissappoint.

    Because we personally experienced their professional and friendly service, we would without hesitation recommend them to our family and friends. Joel and Kara worked really well together and were able to capture posed and natural moments. Our photos tell a story of what was an incredible and special day.
  • J
    Jamie Married on 09/25/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Joel and Cara are absolutely AMAZING! We are so happy with both our engagement and wedding pictures!! We have received so many compliments from our family and friends!

    Joel and Cara were extremely professional, friendly, and genuinely interested in what we wanted during our photo sessions. We have a wonderful record of our day captured in a mixture of excellent black and white and color photos. Our photos are beautiful, artistic, and capture even the smallest details of our special day. We highly recommend Joel and Cara for their superior quality, creativity, and great value! We look forward to working with Joel and Cara in the future!
  • A
    Alyssa Married on 06/26/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Weddings = decisions, decisions, decisions. One of the best ones we made was hiring Joel and Kara as our photographers. From our initial meeting, where they took the time to get to know us and explain our package options...to the engagement session, where they made two camera-shy people actually enjoy a photo shoot… to our wedding day, where they traveled out of town and spent the day shooting in 100º+ temps (and still, somehow, made us look good)...to our final meeting, where they patiently re-explained our ordering options and offered advice on various formats. In addition to making the photography process stress-free and enjoyable, they're ridiculously talented. They let us be "us," yet they were able to use their vision and creativity to guide us and create photos that really captured who we are as a couple. We got much more than we ever expected, and would recommend them to anyone. The hardest part about working with them is trying to figure out which pictures to order because they're all SO GOOD!!!!