Weddings

Carnegie Science Center Reviews

Carnegie Science Center

Carnegie Science Center

Pittsburgh, PA
Rating 4.9 out of 5, 13 Reviews
View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
4.9
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 13
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

13 User photos

Sort by:
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie R. Married on 02/09/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    All Around Great Experience!

    We couldn't have chose a better place to get married. Not only were Lindsey and Brigitte amazing to work with, but the venue was beautiful and the food was delicious.
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 06/29/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great experience

    You can't go wrong in choosing the Science Center as a venue. The service, responsiveness, and all of the coordinating on the wedding day were flawless. The view of PointView Hall is an obvious highlight as well :)
  • Alisha
    Alisha Married on 09/07/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best wedding i've ever attended:)

    From the beginning, we loved the 3D renderings of the venue before they were done with construction. We met the team from the Carnegie museums and they immediately gave us all the information and details we would need and more. They were immediate with responses with any questions that did arise during planning, they were helpful and they were truly so KIND to work with and respectful of our time as the bride and groom. The venue was BEAUTIFUL and we were so happy with the outdoor terrace for our guests to enjoy. Culinaire is the catering service used for the Carnegie museums and let me just say the food was PERFECT. I STRONGLY recommend anyone to consider this venue to host their wedding! Beautiful. Fun. Amazing views. Perfect. Thank you Carnegie Science Center!!
  • K
    Kim Married on 08/04/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lindsey and her team were very easy to work with through the entire process. She accommodated all our needs with a smile on her face and a “no problem” attitude. The servers were professional. The food was served warm and was delicious.
  • J
    Julia Married on 07/14/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Carrie and Lindsay are the best!!
  • C
    Carla Married on 06/10/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Lindsey was absolutely awesome to work with! Very professional and always answered our many questions in a timely manner. I will highly recommend her as well as the Carnegie Science Center to everyone!
  • V
    Vanessa Married on 03/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Choosing the Science Center for my wedding was the best idea we've ever had. Not only were the staff very accommodating, but they were flexible and helpful every step of the way. Our ceremony in the Buhl Planetarium was romantic and beautiful. We had our reception on the fourth floor and Works Theater. It was so cool and the food was amazing! Do not pass up this venue... it is perfect!
  • L
    Lauren Married on 10/07/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We held our wedding ceremony at the Planetarium at Carnegie Science Center and it was awesome! We really wanted a unique wedding and this was the perfect venue for us. We worked primarily with the Special Events Manager Sara as well as Charissa from the Planetarium itself and they were amazing to work with. They were really flexible and open to what we wanted and helped us customize the ceremony to be exactly what we wanted. We even did a "constellation ceremony," where we chose a constellation to remind us of our wedding day instead of a more traditional unity ceremony and they highlighted our constellation on the dome for us during that portion of the ceremony. Plus, the laser show at the end was super awesome! We had a completely perfect, awesome, unique, and memorable wedding ceremony which is exactly what we wanted. A HUGE thank you to the team at the Science Center for being the best and helping us pull it off!
  • C
    Connie Married on 09/17/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We had a rehearsal dinner for my son and his bride in September on the 4th floor which included the Works Theater. We had 60+ people which included children so this space was perfect! We began at 7:00 with drinks and hors d’oeuvres on the floor area. Most of the people were from out of town so it was wonderful to look down on the Ohio River from the Overlook Room and also look back to see downtown Pittsburgh. We worked with Sara to coordinate the event space and Lindsey for the catering. They work well together and there were no surprises. For dinner we went into the Works Theater. Dinner was buffet; they offer a variety of menus but we were able to “mix and match” from several menus to get what we wanted which included vegan. They have a baker that I was able to work with to create a groom's cake. I didn’t have to worry about having anything delivered! The Works Theater is kind of a domed room and the greatest thing is that it has EIGHT tv monitors around the ceiling! While guests were eating we had a slide show looping of the bridal couple growing up and then dating. Lots of fun and you could see it from any angle. They even provide a tech person to work with audio and video. I simply took a flash drive with the slide show. They can also play whatever music you want. You can take something like an iPod or you can sign into your Pandora or Amazon music account on their computer. Easy! They provided a microphone for toasts. All staff members were professional to work with and very accommodating. I came from out of town and didn’t have to do a thing except decide what we wanted. Wonderful place for a party!
  • L
    Laura Married on 05/03/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    There aren't too many people that would think of a planetarium to get married. In fact, we were told we were the first! It was a wonderful experience because the Science Center was just as excited as we were to host our ceremony. Sara, the special events manager, went above and beyond making our dream come true. The flexibility of her team really put our minds at ease and really let us know that our unusual nuptials would be treated with the utmost respect. They made our day no less than perfect.
  • Taisia
    Taisia P. Married on 07/13/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful & Fun

    Point View Hall at the Carnegie Science Center has amazing views that all of our guests loved, plus the flexibility of spending time both inside and outside but not leaving the wedding. We also opted to have our cocktail hour on the 2nd and 3rd floors of the museum which everyone loved. The wedding planning team changed a few times during our year of preparation, and communication got much better as time went on. The planning team was really flexible--if they asked for us to meet at a time that wasn't convenient, we were always able to work something else out. Again once the team changed, everyone was really responsive to every last minute question and detail we wanted to clarify (even though some were on vacation). We were told several times throughout the night and in the days and weeks following that our wedding was the best one our guests had been to. We hope to be guests at a wedding at Point View Hall one day!
  • Shannon
    Shannon Married on 06/22/2019
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful, unique wedding

    We had our wedding at the CSC in June 2019. I didn't realize I hadn't written a review yet! They were wonderful and we LOVED having our wedding there. Such an incredible, unforgettable, unique venue. The compliments from our guests were endless!
    There was an initial small hiccup with pricing regarding using them for both ceremony and reception, but after this was worked out, everything went smoothly. They worked with us and our wedding planner to create our unique vision, helping divide the room into two separate spaces, so we could have both the ceremony and reception in the great hall. We had our cocktail hour in the exhibition space and it was just wonderful, we had a great time and our guests loved it as well.
    Our food was delicious and we were able to have a unique food stations option, to showcase our love of different kinds of ethnic foods. We were treated like royalty all day long! Also nice was the space to store our bags in and get ready in for the bridal party. Highly recommend!
  • R
    Robin P. Married on 05/04/2019
    Rating 3.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5

    Great venue but no food flexibility

    We had our reception in the Works Theater. It was perfect for our purposes - we wanted the screens to show the photos and videos of the wedding that took place in Thailand. The coordinator was great to work with and the liquid nitrogen cocktails were a hit. The only downside was the caterer. You must use their caterer and they are RIGID. The food was good, but way too expensive. My biggest complaint was that they would not let us take any food home. I nearly cried when I saw a whole tray of gourmet mac and cheese being carted away. This is not necessary. I am a microbiologist and know about food safety. What a waste. For this reason, I cannot recommend CSC as a venue.