Carina Photographics Reviews

19 | Saint Paul, MN
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Carina Photographics

Recommended by 100%

19
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • Anna

    Anna Christenson · Married on 12/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So amazing!

    Joanna was amazing! If you are looking for someone who communicates clearly, works efficiently, and gets gorgeous shots, she's a great choice.

    From our very first interactions with Joanna, we were very impressed with her. When we began contacting photographers, Joanna was the only one who requested a phone call with us in the very first stages of communication, which was incredibly helpful in getting a feel for who she was and if she would be a good fit for us. When we scheduled our engagement pictures, we really wanted to take photos in Stillwater. Even though she had never shot there, Joanna did a ton of research to find incredible places that we would never have known about. She even ran with us through the streets of Stillwater as we attempted to make it into a bookstore before it closed! We were coming in from out of town, and she was able to have shots for us to view before we left the Cities, which was so considerate and helpful.

    As we continued wedding planning, Joanna was very organized and had great systems to help us communicate what we wanted from our wedding photos. On our wedding day, she knew exactly what we wanted and kept us *ahead* of schedule before the ceremony. After she took a photo of my gigantic extended family, one of my cousins remarked "Those were the least painful family photos ever." She was also pleasant and gracious - she ran to get me tissues when I started crying even before our first look, she convinced our venue coordinator that our send-off streamers were actually within venue regulations (and we didn't find out about the near-crisis until months after), and she was incredibly generous with her time.

    When we got the final photos back, we were so, so pleased. Joanna captured the most important parts of our day and nailed the feeling that we wanted from our photos. We will treasure these images! Overall, we can recommend Joanna with no reservations.

    Sent on 02/10/2019

    Carina Photographics's reply:

    Thank you so much Anna! It was such a joy working with you and Adam and seeing your love for one another. I am so thrilled for the two of you and wish you every happiness in life!
  • A

    Audrey Longfellow · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Photographer Ninja!

    Working with Joanna was a breeze! As two somewhat unorganized customers, she was so patient and helpful. Discussions with her helped us figure out details of our wedding the had gone by unnoticed. During the ceremony and reception Joanna was like a photographer-ninja! She was so subtle and captured beautiful candid photos of our guests, which we love! I highly recommend her as she works with you seamlessly before, during, and after your wedding. Excellent customer service!

    Sent on 11/08/2018
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 09/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommend

    We had an amazing experience working with Joanna! Her communication was great; she was always responsive and happy to answer our questions during the months leading up to the wedding. She helped us put together the timeline for our wedding, and on the day of she made sure everything ran on schedule without anything ever feeling rushed. Our wedding was at the Marjorie McNeely Conservatory at the Como Zoo and she was very familiar with the location. She planned a short loop for us to walk through the outdoor gardens, and would pop behind bushes and trees for just the right shot. Joanna is truly dedicated to capturing beautiful and authentic photos. She is professional, talented, and friendly - we couldn't have asked for a nicer person to work with. We would highly recommend Joanna; she was a pleasure to work with and we couldn't be happier with our pictures.

    Sent on 10/23/2018
  • B

    Ben Haselman · Married on 08/23/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing Experience!

    My wife and I had such a fantastic experience with Joanna! We hired her as our wedding photographer after visiting with several local photographers. Joanna was very professional and made the process so easy for us. We had several meetings and communications leading up to our wedding which helped prepare us for the big day, ensuring everything went smoothly. The pictures turned out so amazing!!! We couldn't have been happier - we would highly recommend Joanna to anyone looking for an amazing photography experience!

    Sent on 11/06/2018
  • T

    taylor · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Joanna is so professional and amazing at what she does. Super responsive and professional. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 03/02/2017
  • Chantel

    Chantel Abraham · Married on 06/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Incredible!

    Joanna was incredible! She photographed our engagement photos and wedding day. We loved working with her and met with her numerous times before the big day which helped us ensure we had everything mapped out. Her photo planning sheet helped us think about the photos we wouldn’t want to miss! Our photos turned out amazing and Joanna captured everything we were looking for! She was very professional and easy to work with. Not to mention, Joanna has many unique photo printing options like wedding albums and wall art. I’d highly recommend working with a Joanna for your wedding day!

    Sent on 10/30/2018
  • Travis

    Travis Bezella · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommended

    Joanna was a joy to work with from engagement photos through our special wedding day. She even helped us get our wall art installed and I would recommend her to anyone looking for a great experience and beautiful photos!

    Sent on 11/01/2018
  • Chris

    Chris Ekdahl · Married on 08/06/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic!

    We used Carina Photographics for our engagement and wedding photos and I wish I could give her more stars as she was just fantastic to work with and her work is simply the best I have seen. From the moment we booked her to the final pictures she has been so easy and professional to work with. But what really sold us on her was her abilities to capture the moments on camera, as these pictures were all just stunning and over the top, the kind of pictures you see in high end magazines. Anybody can take pictures, but Joanna has a way of capturing the moment perfectly as every picture was simply breathtaking. We couldn't be happier with our choice In Carina Photographics and I highly recommend her. Thanks so much Joanna, we will have a lifetime of memories to always look back on.

    Sent on 10/27/2018
  • Victoria

    Victoria Shuba · Married on 06/17/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very happy

    We chose Joanna not only because we loved the look of her photos, but because she also was helping us plan out the day. Working with her really took a lot of the stress away from me. During our wedding day things went very smoothly and I truly believe it was because of the schedule she helped us set. She listened to what we liked and didn’t like. You could tell both her and her assistant actually cared about how the wedding turned out and were not just there to take the pictures. And when we got our pictures, we could not have been more happy with them!

    Sent on 11/02/2018
  • Toni

    Toni Abts · Married on 06/04/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Amazing!!!

    Joanna was absolutely amazing through our whole wedding process. Our wedding albums are a work of art that we will treasure forever. I would encourage anyone and everyone to consider booking with her for special occasions.

    Sent on 10/29/2018
  • A

    Annie Brewer · Married on 07/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great experience

    My husband and I chose Carina Photographics for our wedding photographers and we could not be happier with not only our wedding photos but with whole experience. Joanna is an amazing photographer and was great with navigating us through the whole process, not only during the wedding but pre and post wedding as well. She was professional, well prepared and really took the time to get to know us and get the specific photographs that we wanted. She had great suggestions about locations and backdrops that I never would have thought of that made our photos unique and outstanding. I really feel like I have a beautiful wedding album that I will treasure forever.

    Sent on 10/28/2018
  • M

    Molly Dahlen · Married on 07/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great photographer!

    Joanna from Carina Photographics was great! My fiance (now husband) and I really enjoyed working with Joanna and her assistant. We felt comfortable around them which was important for me. She was very creative and got some beautiful shots. Thank you so much Joanna!

    Sent on 11/05/2018
  • K

    Kristen Tongen · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly Recommended!

    We had an amazing experience with Joanna from the first time we contacted her until we got our final pictures.

    Joanna was extremely knowledgeable and helped us line up our timeline for our wedding day which was great...because I did not know where to start.

    Joanna made us feel comfortable while we were taking our pictures, she took charge of our group and really directed everyone, which was great.

    We did not have to wait long for our pictures and are so very pleased with the way they turned out.

    I would highly recommend Joanna to anyone and everyone!

    Sent on 10/25/2018
  • Safiyyah

    Safiyyah Ford · Married on 04/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome!

    Joanna is the best wedding photographer out there. She captured our wedding with such an artistic flare and intimate feeling. I still stare at all our pictures and find a new favorite every week. We loved working with Joanna so much that we had her take our maternity photos as well as our baby’s newborn photos. Again, she captured the moments beautifully and we will continue to use her as our family photographer to capture all our life moments. THANKS FOR BEING AWESOME!!

    Sent on 10/24/2018
  • Alice

    Alice Francis · Married on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic Experience

    Joanna was so great to work with! She did both our engagement and wedding photos and did a fantastic job! She had great ideas and really has an knack for capturing lighting and details. She was always quick to respond when I had any questions and it is obvious that she really loves what she does. We ordered an heirloom album, parent albums, and 3 wall canvases and the quality is fantastic! Joanna did such a great job working with us on the album layout and she made sure we got our order in time for Christmas so that we could give our parents their albums as gifts. I can't say enough about how great our experience was with Joanna. Photography was one of the most important things to me for our wedding and she truly put my mind at ease and delivered beautiful results! Thanks again!

    Sent on 10/21/2018
  • K

    Katie Kurz · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful!

    Such a wonderful experience! Joanna is great and so kind. She made both of us feel comfortable in front of the camera for our engagement and wedding photos. We have so many wonderful memories captured in our photos. She creates a great relationship by meeting with you several times before the big day. Awesome experience from start to finish!!! The wall canvas and Heirloom albums are beautiful!

    Sent on 10/20/2018
  • User4884843 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I'm a wedding planner and I worked with Carina Photographics at a wedding in September of 2014. I've worked with MANY photographers in the past, but Carina Photographics is easily one of the best. Joanna and her team were extremely attentive to the couple and caught those little details and moments on film that would have otherwise been missed and forgotten. Mixing professionalism with humor & fun, Carina Photographics made it so the bride & groom can relive their amazing wedding day whenever they glance at their beautiful photos. Thank you Carina Photographics for making the day great!

    Sent on 03/17/2015
  • S

    Shane Huston · Married on 08/23/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent!

    We used Carina Photographics to shoot our wedding. Planning for the day was easy with Joanna. It actually made the rest of our wedding planning easier! We used her checklist to make sure we had everything in order, and when we got together to plan the shots for the day, she had lots of helpful advice about when to do what and when to shoot what. It helped us make a few decisions we were on the fence about. It was nice to use the photo shoot schedule as a framework for planning the rest of the day. Piece of cake. The big day finally came and Joanna and her assistant were on top of everything. It's clear they've done this many times before because they didn't miss a beat and they certainly didn't miss any photo opportunities. Even the big family group photos went quickly and easily. After that, we just enjoyed ourselves at the ceremony and they just blended in and captured the rest of the evening. Everything went really well. We didn't have to wait very long at all before we could start looking at our photos online. We were blown away at how stunning the photos were. She is a rare talent and if you can get her for your wedding, you should! We visited her studio and picked out some materials for our photo album. She has tons of examples to look at and a great lounge area in her studio. She offered us refreshments (again, lots to choose from!) so I drank a craft beer and my wife had a glass of wine. That was a nice touch. :) Our album looked even better than we had expected and the canvas looks great hanging in our living room. We will use Carina Photographics for all of our photography needs. I don't write many reviews, but Carina is worth it. Everyone should know how great they are!

    Sent on 11/03/2018
  • Katie

    Katie Troldahl · Married on 01/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Above and beyond

    We hired Joanna for our wedding, and could not have been more happy with her and the amazing pictures. Not only were the pictures stunning (thanks to Joanna -- I can't believe how great she made us look!), but the portraits we ordered on wrapped canvas are stunning and the layout she put together for our album is perfect. Joanna caught every key moment of our wedding and reception beautifully -- we love flipping through the album and remembering the most wonderful day! She went above and beyond our expectations and we cannot thank her enough for her artistry and hard work. She made us feel very comfortable, she was always smiling and made us laugh throughout the process. She is the best and we cannot recommend her more!

    Sent on 10/22/2018

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review