Skip to main content
Weddings

CandleLight Studio - Wedding Photographers Reviews

CandleLight Studio - Wedding Photographers

CandleLight Studio - Wedding Photographers

New York, NY
2.3 out of 5 rating, 13 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

2.3 out of 5 rating
13 Reviews
  • Quality of service
    2.3 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    2.4 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    2.3 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    2.1 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    2.5 out of 5 rating
47% Recommended by couples
  • J
    Jenny Sent on 02/25/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    My Wedding Album is one of my most cherished possessions and my family and all my friends love it. Surinder Singh captured the emotion and grandeur of our wedding that we will adore for the rest of our lives. He went out of his way to make us feel relaxed and comfortable on our special day. We absolutely love CandleLight Studio and will hire them again for our anniversary!
    Jenny and James
  • V
    Victoria Sent on 02/26/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Surinder Singh and his team at CandleLight Studio are incredible easy to work with. They really captured every significant moment, the love and fun that everyone had on our wedding day. They are very prompt in answering questions (by phone, emails and text messages). Our photos are better than we could imagine. We highly recommend CandleLight Studio. Victoria and Tom
  • N
    Nadia Sent on 02/24/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Surinder Ji and his team of photographers and cinematographers at Candlelight Studio recorded every significant moment of our Wedding Day. We truly appreciate how well they put together all the details of our wedding. They did an amazing job and the photos are so beautiful! The cinematic style wedding video highlights is a lasting memory of our very special day. Thank you again Surinder Ji for giving us beautiful memories to share with our family and friends for a lifetime. Nadia and Ameen
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Jennifer Sent on 10/07/2016
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    David & I would really like to thank Surinder Singh for taking such beautiful pictures on our wedding day! We love them. He took such wonderful shots and left nothing unturned. Thank you so much for doing such an amazing job and making my wedding album look absolutely perfect!
    Jennifer Summers
  • K
    Kristen Sent on 08/06/2016
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    We have only fabulous things to say about CandleLight Studio. We hired Surinder Singh to photograph our wedding and are thrilled how the pictures came out. He managed to capture all the special moments we hoped to remember. Surinder Singh was also extremely helpful during the planning stages. He is very responsive communicating regularly through email, text messages and phone calls.
    Surinder, thank you so much for the fabulous pictures!
    --Kristen M
  • K
    Kuldip Sent on 08/13/2016
    4.7 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    CandleLight Studio is fantastic. Surinder Singh is incredible easy to work with. We cannot say enough great things about the whole experience.
    Surinder Ji, We have been watching the gorgeous pictures and videos. They are all beautiful. Your experience, professionalism and care ... are all very evident in the high quality of these pictures and videos. We know we will call on you again for another wedding in our family!
    Thank you again ...KS Makin
  • User2586409 Sent on 04/24/2016
    1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    Terrible photographer definitely I would not recommend Surinder Singh to anyone I know. The main reason we hired him because he was in NY and did Indian weddings. So we figured he would know how to take some beautiful detail shots. For example, close up shots of the beautiful expensive jewelry and all the detail henna work on the bride. He did not take any close up shots of either the bride, groom or the decorations.

    Surinder Singh is always defensive when we said the photos were bad, he said you should have told me how you wanted to take the pictures. We are not photographers and we couldn't just leave the stage and show him how to take pictures. He is Indian and we figured he would know how to take better shots of a traditional Indian wedding.

    We didn't realize the photos were bad until our friends and relatives showed us their wedding pictures. We were sadly disappointed it looked like just some average photos.
    The amount he charged us was adequate since there was traveling needed to made to upstate NY. We did not appreciate when he wanted to charge us shipping fee for sending the Album just because he moved to Texas. We live in NJ and was willing to pick up the item in NYC.

    CandleLight Studio - Wedding Photographers's reply:

    Dear Readers,

    Mr. Jimmy Anwar's post was made as an attempt to avoid paying $20 for FedEx shipping charges. I provide each of my clients with a comprehensive contract spelling out all the details of the event, as well as a payment schedule. We had to stay extra time at their Wedding and also at their Reception in Upstate NY to finish our job satisfactorily. We didn't ask for any extra charges for the extra time we spent to cover their events. Mr. Jimmy Anwar of Upstate NY did acknowledge how happy he was with our services.

    When I asked Mr. Jimmy Anwar to pay $20 for shipping his Album to Upstate NY, Mr. Jimmy Anwar sent a message asking "can do us a small favor and ship it free, as a gift to us". I explained him that the shipping cost is going to FedEx and I have to charge $20 as shipping fee. It was at this point that Mr. Jimmy Anwar of Upstate NY decided to post a negative and untrue review of my work. He is under the mistaken impression that posting such a review would make me ship his Album for Free to Upstate NY, but that is not the case.

    So, as you can see, this is a case of a client who wants more than he contracted for without paying for it, and in lieu of agreeing to pay the fee, posted a negative and libelous review of my work in order to obtain something for nothing.

    Anyone who is interested in viewing the original contract with Mr. Jimmy Anwar of Upstate NY, may contact me at surinder360@gmail.com
  • User1049897 Sent on 12/20/2012
    0.1 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    The service is very unprofessional. Check out complaint against this photographer at BBB.org
    Not reliable. Very bad experience
    http://www.bbb.org/new-york-city/Business-Reviews/photographers-portrait/candlelight-studios-in-south-richmond-hill-ny-114682

    CandleLight Studio - Wedding Photographers's reply:

    Dear Readers,

    We have WON this case. BBB has settled this case in our favor.

    Some clients decide to post a negative and untrue review of my work in order to obtain something for nothing.
    I provide each of my clients with a comprehensive contract spelling out all the details of the event, as well as a payment schedule.

    This is a review by anonymous client who wants more than the scope of contracted for without paying for it, and in lieu of agreeing to pay, posted a negative and libelous review of my work in order to obtain something for nothing.

    Anyone who is interested in viewing the original contract with my clients, may contact me at surinder360@gmail.com
  • User1090042 Sent on 02/12/2013
    • Quality of service
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.0 out of 5 rating


    what a disastrous service does candlelight studio provides. I had terrible experience. I wish I did a better search for the review of candlelight studio. They are UN-educated folks who do not know how to talk to a customer. No professionalism at all. You will be sorry you hired candlelight studio. Do not ruin your precious day. See for yourself at the links below.

    1) http://www.bbb.org/new-york-city/Business-Reviews/photographers-portrait/candlelight-studios-in-south-richmond-hill-ny-114682
    2) http://www.momentville.com/vendor/candlelight_studio
    3) https://www.weddingwire.com/reviews/candlelight-studio-wedding-photographers-new-york/ee5a225822ba4a11.html
    4) http://www.thinklocal.com/IndianPhotographersCandleLightStudio-18026077.html


    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    CandleLight Studio - Wedding Photographers's reply:

    Dear Readers,

    Some clients decide to post a negative and untrue review of my work in order to obtain something for nothing.
    I provide each of my clients with a comprehensive contract spelling out all the details of the event, as well as a payment schedule.

    This is a review by anonymous client who wants more than the scope of contracted for without paying for it, and in lieu of agreeing to pay, posted a negative and libelous review of my work in order to obtain something for nothing.

    We have WON this case. BBB has settled this case in our favor.

    Anyone who is interested in viewing the original contract with my clients, may contact me at surinder360@gmail.com
  • User1072130 Sent on 01/18/2013
    • Quality of service
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    Wish I knew about this website and read reviews before giving business to this person.
    If you want to ruin your precious moment then give business to candlelight studio.

    CandleLight Studio - Wedding Photographers's reply:

    Dear Readers,

    Some clients decide to post a negative and untrue review of my work in order to obtain something for nothing.
    I provide each of my clients with a comprehensive contract spelling out all the details of the event, as well as a payment schedule.

    This is a review by anonymous client who wants more than the scope of contracted for without paying for it, and in lieu of agreeing to pay, posted a negative and libelous review of my work in order to obtain something for nothing.

    Anyone who is interested in viewing the original contract with my clients, may contact me at surinder360@gmail.com
  • User1095711 Sent on 02/21/2013
    • Quality of service
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    These guys are not professionals ,These guys a more like plumbers look at the way they come dress to your party as if they are beggars.The Camera they use my nephew has better then that .Idiots dont even know how to take positions for the couples .DON"T EVEN THINK OF HIRING THEM

    CandleLight Studio - Wedding Photographers's reply:

    Dear Readers,

    Some clients decide to post a negative and untrue review of my work in order to obtain something for nothing.
    I provide each of my clients with a comprehensive contract spelling out all the details of the event, as well as a payment schedule.

    This is a review by anonymous client who wants more than the scope of contracted for without paying for it, and in lieu of agreeing to pay, posted a negative and libelous review of my work in order to obtain something for nothing.

    Anyone who is interested in viewing the original contract with my clients, may contact me at surinder360@gmail.com
  • User1030459 Sent on 11/29/2012
    • Quality of service
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    Would not recommend Candlelightstudio.com for any photography. The guy left before the event was over. We had hired in hope of the professional service it portrays on the website. No professionalism at all, not providing good service

    CandleLight Studio - Wedding Photographers's reply:

    Dear Readers,

    We have WON this case. BBB has settled this case in our favor.
    Ms. Vibha Sood of Middletown, NY was trying to savage my reputation all because she was unwilling to comply with the terms of a contract that she signed of her own free will.

    As it happens, Ms. Vibha Sood of Middletown, NY was in breach of contract. What she was doing was contacting every possible agency in order to avoid paying the fifty (50%) percent balance due on that contract. There is no actual problem with the service I provided to her.

    I run a respectable business and when a client signs a contract, I fulfill my part by attending the function, taking the photographs and/or video, and providing the results on CDs, DVDs and/or albums (depending on the scope of the contract). In return, I expect to be paid for my services. When a client is trying to cheat me out of money, s/he will, apparently, go to great lengths, including complaining about my business. That is what is happening here.

    Anyone who is interested in viewing the original contract with my clients, may contact me at surinder360@gmail.com
  • H
    Hashim Sent on 12/22/2014
    • Quality of service
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      0.0 out of 5 rating
    Surinder Singh is the absolute worst photographer/videographer in the world. A blind man with a broken camera can shoot a better video. the wedding video he sent me was not even in order. It was random clips with red screens in between the video. He asked me for songs and names of relatives but when I tried talking to him, he claims I paid for an unedited video. Even if it was an unedited video, it should at least be in order. He stops replying back when you try to pint out the right thing. If you want to see the video he sent me, email me at hmir27@gmail.com

    CandleLight Studio - Wedding Photographers's reply:

    Dear Readers,
    Mr. Hashim's post was made as an attempt to avoid paying an additional fee for edited video, even though his contract specified UNEDITED video (contract available upon request). I provide each of my clients with a comprehensive contract spelling out all the details of the event, as well as a payment schedule. Mr. Hashim was in breach of contract in that he failed to make the twenty-five (25%) percent payment due at the time of the event.

    Secondly, Mr. Hashim's contract - specifically calls for UNEDITED video on Blu-Ray Disc. I did comply with the terms of the contract. The video, as shot (chronologically), was burned to a Blu-Ray disc and shipped to Mr. Hashim after he had made his final payment of the balance due. He contacted me subsequent to his receipt of the Blu-Ray disc complaining that it is unedited. I reminded him at that time that that is what the contract specified and what he had paid for, and that was what I had supplied to him. He said that he wanted EDITED video, and I told him there would be an extra charge for that as it was not included in the original contract (obviously edited video costs more than unedited video as it is more labor-intensive). It was at this point that Mr. Hashim decided to post a negative and untrue review of my work. He is under the mistaken impression that posting such a review would make me edit his video without an additional charge, but that is not the case.

    So, as you can see, this is a case of a client who wants more than he contracted for without paying for it, and in lieu of agreeing to pay the fee, posted a negative and libelous review of my work in order to obtain something for nothing.

    Anyone who is interested in viewing the original contract with Mr. Hashim, may contact me at surinder360@gmail.com

    Surinder Singh