Skip to main content
Weddings

Cakes by Ron Reviews

Cakes by Ron View more information

276 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 276
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2021 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

66 User photos

  • Heather
    Heather Getting married on 09/24/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding cake was so gorgeous and it tasted delicious. The price was excellent and the consultation and tasting was so fun! I had a castle cake and everyone was wowed by it. I would highly recommend them as they have the best looking cakes and the best tasting.
  • Megan
    Megan P. Married on 05/14/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    So Talented!!

    We gave them our aesthetic but let them come up with the rest. They put together a rendering and the final product came out better than I could ever expect. Their cake flavors are delicious! So moist! Our guests were blown away!
  • Chelsea
    Chelsea Married on 03/29/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious and Gorgeous Cake

    Cakes by Ron did an AMAZING job with my wedding cake. They recreated the intricate cake with painted oranges on it I was dreaming of, and the fondant even tasted great! We went with their red velvet and confetti flavors, and could not be happier with the taste, the look, and the professionalism. Photo Credit: Cat Pennenga Photography
  • Shenee
    Shenee Married on 02/22/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazinggggg

    They are perfect , I came from out of town not being able to taste our wedding cake prior to our wedding and I couldn’t have be more happier with the taste or look of our cake. Chocolate was my favorite with the sugar sand on top. Thank you very much!
  • Janelle
    Janelle O. Married on 02/10/2022
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best ever!

    Cakes by Ron was amazing to work with. Everyone commented on how amazing the cake was. we did a partial naked cake with lemon and raspberry with key lime cups and raspberry cheescake cups and everyone loved it! I HIGHLY recommend using Cakes by Ron if you're in or near the Sarasota area!
  • Kailyn
    Kailyn Married on 12/11/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our cake was perfect!

    We can’t thank Cakes By Ron enough for bringing our vision to life. We were completely thrilled to see and taste our wedding cake for the first time! It was exactly what we asked for and they were very prompt with delivery! We will definitely be returning to this store. Thank you Cakes By Ron!!
  • Marci
    Marci W. Married on 11/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Cake and Awesome design

    We booked our wedding with Lido Beach Resort, which offered a cake with Cakes by Ron included in the package. We met in person at Cakes by Ron and they had us try several types of cakes and frostings that we were looking at. Holy cow, all of them were amazing and it was extremely hard to choose! We settled on fresh, tropical flavors and every layer was different. Each layer was so delicious and so many people were blown away by how delicious it was! We also asked for certain things on our cake, and they absolutely delivered. Our cake was a huge hit at the wedding! Thanks Cakes by Ron!
  • Nichole
    Nichole B. Married on 11/07/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful and delicious cake

    We are very pleased with cakes by Ron’s cake he made for us for our beach wedding! They are absolutely flexible because we changed our date and the size of our cake a few times! They matched the flowers from a picture perfectly on the cake! We got red velvet and amaretto flavored with cream cheese! Both were equally amazing! Definitely recommend them!
  • Kimberly
    Kimberly J. Married on 11/06/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful Wedding Cake

    Cakes by Ron exceeded our expectations from beginning to end. Their beautiful cake design and warming professionalism made our experience top notch. They had so many delicious flavors to choose from and a wonderful staff to help us design our cake. I even made it a priority to bring our cake top all the way back to New Jersey with us to freeze for our one year anniversary! Thank you for a wonderful and delicious wedding cake!
  • Laura
    Laura Married on 10/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing place!

    Omg! Cakes by Ron amazing! We went there for tasting and I could not believe how good they are. I'm not a fan of cupcakes, but we tried different flavors and one after another were better! I would not only recommend it for your wedding, but any occasion. Great place, delicious deserts!
  • Forress
    Forress Married on 06/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Excellent Baker

    Cake was yummy and they did a perfect job creating exactly what I wanted.
  • G
    Gina Married on 06/10/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious and beautiful wedding cake!

    We are so glad we got our wedding cake from Cakes by Ron! The cake was not only beautiful and exactly the design we asked for, but it was delicious!! We got a different flavor for each tier, and they were all perfect. Our guests ate the whole cake - and it was a big cake, so they must have loved it! The planning process was so easy. On the wedding day, they delivered the cake to the venue and placed fresh flowers from our florist on the cake. We are so happy with the entire experience!
  • Ophelie
    Dakota F. Married on 05/21/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dangerously Good Dessert

    We loved having Cakes by Ron catering our wedding!

    Everything from the display, to the cupcake filling was incredible!

    My only complaint is that they didn't take into consideration my inability to have portion control. Just kidding lol. Daniela was the one who came and designed our display, we could tell that her and her team back at the shop put their all into their work!

    Our designing process was so much fun, and the tastings left us wanting more! They brought our vision to life through their impeccable talent and wisdom!

    We HIGHLY recommend Cakes by Ron to anyone having a sweet tooth. Watch those portion controls!!
  • Megan
    Megan H. Married on 05/01/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely delicious!

    Our cake exceeded expectations!! The flavors we picked were just the right amount of flavoring and filling! We had them decorate the cake with sugar shells and they were beautiful! The cake wasn't dry and the fillings/icing had the perfect consistency. Even though it sat on our cake table for a couple of hours, the icing didn't melt and it looked perfect. Also, our leftovers tasted just like it was served fresh! I was so happy with our cake and I highly recommend Cakes by Ron!
  • Amber
    Amber Married on 03/27/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Cakes by Ron

    Easy to work with, didn’t have to stress about anything! Highly recommend, my guest loved everything
  • Marc
    Marc S. Married on 03/27/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best wedding cake company

    From the moment we went there to do the cake testing we were treated great, Ron’s son sat down with us and asked questions, sketched a drawing of a perfect cake for us. I highly recommend cakes by Ron, we were treated with a lot of class and respect from the moment we walked into their store
  • Kelly
    Kelly M. Married on 03/20/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The BEST Wedding Cake Shop in SRQ

    Cakes by Ron's reputation procedes him - and for good reason! My husband and I had a fantastic experience working with his team to design our cake. It looked beautiful and tasted delicious. Thank you Ron and team for making our special day that much sweeter!
  • Abigail
    Abigail C. Married on 02/12/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best cakes in town!!

    WOW!!! Cakes by Ron completely blew me out of the water!! We wanted a very specific cake and I honestly didn't think we could find someone who could make our cake dreams come true but at the same time be super flavorful and delicious. We have SO many people still talking about how great our cake was and I couldn't agree more!! I promise this is the cake vendor for you!!!
  • L
    Leeroy A. Married on 01/30/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious and sweet

    Cakes by Ron did an excellent job of dealing with the change of our guest count numerous times. The cake was delicious and looked beautiful.
  • Angel
    Angel J. Married on 01/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Cakes by Ron is THE BEST!

    We knew when we started planning our wedding there was no other option for us but to get our cake from Cakes by Ron! Once you try it, you’ll understand too! The cake is bards down, THE BEST! Ron’s work is amazing! His staff are all the sweetest! When we met for our consultation the kindest man sat with us and hand drew everything I could have possibly wanted for my cake! I was absolutely dumbfounded! His art work was identical to the cake they created! Look no further! You’ve found your baker!
  • Julie
    Julie F. Married on 11/06/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Our Cake Turned Out Amazing

    Thank you so much to the Cakes by Ron Team for making such an incredible cake for our special day! We were blown away when we went for the cake tasting, and even more excited when we saw the final product of our vision - they nailed it! I will definitely be coming back for more cakes!Thank you again!!
  • Shelby
    Shelby G. Married on 10/30/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Great Cake (And GF Options!)

    Cakes by Ron surpassed all of our expectations. Our initial meeting and tasting was extremely enjoyable and the team made us feel at ease. Not only do they offer gluten free options, but the cake is delicious! The team was flexible to work with when we needed to move our wedding date from our original date. Their team even called to recommend an alternative cupcake display two days before the wedding. It was perfect!
    Overall, the family business offers high-quality cake and they make their customers feel like family. We highly recommend Cakes By Ron for any event.
  • Meghan
    Meghan C. Married on 10/03/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious Cake

    Cakes by Ron was included in our wedding package, but you don't need a wedding package to have your cake made here. We were able to set up an appointment for taste testing and for what we wanted our cake to look like. The displays at the bakery are gorgeous. We ended up with a three tiered cake made of red velvet and funfetti. We were able to get it beached theme to match the rest of our wedding. The cake turned out amazing and tasted even better. Will definitely be coming back for the cupcake's as well!
  • Lindsay
    Lindsay R. Married on 03/08/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Beautiful cake

    Cakes by Ron made us a beautiful cake for our wedding, their work is very detailed and I had 0 issues with them everything was on time!
  • Christina
    Christina Married on 02/16/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Delicious!

    Cakes By Ron is a MUST for your wedding desserts. We had a wedding cake and cupcakes and every single one of our guests couldn’t stop raving about how delicious everything was. From the first meeting with the team at Cakes By Ron up until our wedding date, Cakes By Ron was quick to respond and easy to work with. Cakes By Ron is MUST for all of your dessert needs.