60 Reviews for Charleston Catering and Events

4.8
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Cocktail Reception (2)
Hors d'oeuvres (2)
Server(s) (2)
Stations (2)
Tastings (2)
American (2)
Southern (2)
Set Up (1)
Buffet (1)
BBQ (1)
Seafood (1)
Vegan (1)
Vegetarian (1)
Sort by:

5.0

Jayme and her team at Cafe Catering did a wonderful job with food and service at our reception! We received a ton of compliments about the food from our guests afterwards. The whole planning process was super easy and the event was executed perfectly! Would highly recommend!

Profile Picture Chelsea , 3/17/18, 4 Reviews
Category: Catering
Services Used: Vegan, Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'oeuvres, Server(s), Stations, Tastings, Set Up, American, BBQ, Seafood, Southern
5.0

We worked with cafe catering for our wedding stations and also worked with Jayme for the coordination. The food was absolutely incredible and our guests are STILL talking about it, but the best part of working with cafe catering was Jayme. She is an incredible coordinator and is worth every penny. She was so fun to work with and went above and beyond what I was expecting. The wedding day was absolutely perfect and stress free and I know this is because Jayme was all over it. I didn't have to worry about a single thing the day of the wedding - which is how it should be!

Profile Picture Allie, 10/8/17, 7 Reviews
Category: Catering, Wedding Planning
5.0

Cafe Catering was absolutely amazing! They stepped in after our already booked caterer closed their doors two months from the wedding date and did an incredible job! All our wedding guests are still talking about the food and how delicious it was! Thank you Cafe Catering for a Wonderful Wedding for my daughter and now son-in-law.

Profile Picture Terry, 4/22/17, 1 Review
Category: Catering
5.0

Our food was one of the most talked about and complemented elements of our wedding day. We are from Cincinnati and wanted to showcase lowcountry and southern cuisine for our guests: shrimp and grits, pulled pork, mac n cheese, crab cakes, chicken and waffles, fried green tomato stacks, she-crab soup ... Cafe knocked it out of the park. Even an uncle of mine who never comments on things, said how great the food was. Our guests really enjoyed the change of pace and the dishes were amazing. I'm not a fan of the look of traditional silver chafers and so they served everything on wooden risers, cast iron pots, and cast iron flat tops and the menu was written at each station in a framed chalkboard, it's these little details that tied everything together. Tasting and menu creation was a breeze.

Profile Picture Courtney, 10/23/15, 15 Reviews
Category: Catering
Services Used: Cocktail Reception, Hors d'oeuvres, Server(s), Stations, Tastings, American, Southern, Vegetarian
5.0

Katie and the team were outstanding! Cafe Catering was our food vendor of choice from the beginning. Katie worked with us to get our menu down to the "T", we did a tasting a few months out (p.s. ensure to be hungry - haha), and then the day of was executed flawlessly. I ensured to eat a little bit of everything...and I believe most of my guests felt the same way. So many guests came up to us and said the food was the best they'd ever had, let alone the best at any wedding. The display of the food was even gorgeous. Thanks again Cafe Catering for an unforgettable night, we are forever grateful.

Profile Picture User5245473, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Lauren and the Cafe team did an amazing job catering for our wedding. I had multiple guests tell me that it was the best food they ever had at a wedding! Being in Charleston, there is a higher standard for exceptional food, and Cafe exceeding our expectations. The quality of the food was very important to us, as more often than not, wedding food is boring (we all have had that "dry wedding chicken"). We had many out of town guests and wanted them to experience "Lowcountry" cuisine. Lauren did such an amazing job helping us pick stations that fit our vision and stay within our budget. The shrimp & grits and mac & cheese stations are a must! They were huge hits! We were also pleased with their flexibility. They also helped us create a local bar package with our choice of Charleston brews and let us bring a few bottles of Firefly lemonade vodka to serve our guests. From our tastings to the big day, we were 100% satisfied with Cafe Catering. Highly recommend!

Profile Picture Rachel, 4/25/15, 6 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Oh my goodness THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU to Cafe Catering for making our wedding day absolutely perfect!! Not only is their food to die for (the crowd favorite was the smoked gouda shrimp and grits & crab cakes) but the presentation was flawless and the service, amazing. Katie at Cafe could not have been more helpful, kind, pleasant and professional when working with us in the planning and execution of the wedding. I will forever recommend them to anyone looking for a caterer in Charleston. Thank you again Cafe team for everything you did to make our wedding day a dream!

Profile Picture Kaitlyn, 3/20/15, 1 Review
Category: Catering
5.0

Cafe Catering did an amazing job for our wedding! The food was amazingly good, which everyone raved about. We initially met Lauren Miller while viewing the Carriage House at Magnolia Plantation as a prospective venue. She was so sweet to take 10 min from setting up another wedding to chat with us and gave us advice about wedding planning in Charleston as we were planning from out-of-town. She gave us her card for Cafe Catering and we decided to try out their Cafe in Mt Pleasant that day for lunch. Of course, the food was delicious! After doing some price comparisons with a few other caterers in town, Cafe Catering had the best pricing with the best options and were so flexible to meet all of our specific requests. We also couldn't forget how nice Lauren was during that 10 min conversation and we knew we would be able to work with her and the Cafe Catering team. We would definitely hire them again!

Profile Picture Tracy, 10/19/14, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

I cannot even begin to say enough thank yous to Lauren Miller and Katie N. at Cafe Catering. Katie handled our food and beverage and did an outstanding job. She kept checking with me all night long to make sure things were going well. Her wait staff was also superb!
Lauren Miller is amazing at what she does! She helped us coordinate our rentals for tables, lighting, linens, etc and made our original ideas come to life! She steered us in the right direction when we needed it but let us make our daughter 's wedding our own as well. I had every confidence that things would be done correctly and on time. She was responsive and efficient, yet warm and likeable. Lauren, we could not have done all of this without you!
Cafe Catering offers a wide range of menu choices. Our guests are still raving about the taste and display of the food! Fabulous job, Cafe Catering!

Profile Picture User4497959, 2+ years ago, 10 Reviews
Category: Catering, Wedding Planning
5.0

If you want people to talk about how good your food is after the wedding, choose Cafe Catering. I heard about Cafe Catering because they catered a friend's wedding. Their fried green tomato and pimento cheese sandwiches, crab cakes, and demi-tasse she crab soups convinced me that they were the caterer to choose. We had sauteed scallops and sushi-grade seared tuna on top of seaweed salad that was so delicious that my guests had eaten all of it by the time I had a chance to eat. The same happened with the crab cakes. I did get some of the fried green tomato and pimento cheese stacks, and they were so so delicious. Also, I chose the standard bar plus one premium beer selection. I was so busy with other things that I didn't ever say what beer I wanted. They provided a selection of 4 or 5 local craft beers that my friends were crazy about. Many of our guests told us that this food was the best wedding food they had ever had. It looked like a 5 star restaurant had catered our event. The food was Southern, but modern. It was all perfectly cooked. All of the fried food is fried onsite so it doesn't get soggy. In addition, they packed us a huge bag of leftovers since we didn't get to eat much at the wedding. I do have to say though, you have to think about the event too. My friends had a delicious mac and cheese bar, but I decided not to go with that because, if mac and cheese doesn't get eaten immediately, the noodles soak up all of the moisture, and it gets dry. So, we planned the menu with the event in mind. I want to have another event just so they can cater it. I've given great reviews for all of my vendors, but it's because my wedding was perfect. I would not change one thing about it.

Profile Picture Lena, 7/12/14, 8 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Everything from the first meeting to the end of the reception was amazing with Lauren and Cafe' Catering. The food was incredible and many guests from the wedding are still raving about it! I have many family members that have worked for different catering companies across the states, and they all agreed that this was the best food and service that they have ever encountered. Lauren was more than helpful with everything, responded quickly to e-mails or questions, set up meetings to fit my schedule, allowed multiple food tastings, and made the entire process easy. I highly recommend them to everyone. I am already trying to get my friends to use them so that I can taste the delicious food again! I have only great things to say about them!

Profile Picture Kelsey, 5/30/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

We booked Cafe Catering for our wedding this May and would give them more than a 5 star rating if it was possible.
We were originally attracted to Cafe Catering because of their outstanding reviews, and they completely exceeded our expectations!
We had seafood, asian, and slider stations, and the food was out of this world! Our guests are still raving about how delicious everything was. Guests were literally stuffed and wished they had room to go back for more.
We also used Cafe Catering's coordination services which was the best thing we did for the whole wedding. My husband and I are very dedicated to our jobs which left little time for planning. Not only did Lauren Miller make planning seamless, she listened carefully to what we wanted and made our vision come to life. She nailed it, right down to every food and design detail! I will be forever grateful to her for her patience with me. When I felt overwhelmed, she knew exactly how to put me at ease. Lauren worked her magic to make sure that our vision would come to life AND stay within our budget. It would have been impossible to satisfy all of our 140 guests and provide such a magical experience without the support and guidance of Lauren Miller and the Cafe Catering team.
Our wedding was the most fun we have ever had and we have Lauren and Cafe Catering to thank. If we could go back and do it all again, we wouldn't change a thing!

Profile Picture Melissa, 5/25/14, 7 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Cafe Catering made planning our wedding day absolutely effortless. They helped me create the perfect menu for us and even personalized menu items so that it could reflect us as a couple. Everyone at Cafe Catering responded quickly to emails and phone calls, as well as, handled any mishaps along the way. The day of the wedding, their amazing staff handled all aspects of the wedding. It was so nice to know that everything was taken care of so we could enjoy our big day. I have received more compliments on our food then any other aspect of the wedding. Cafe Catering made our big day perfect and one that we will always treasure and remember.

Profile Picture Leander, 4/5/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

I can't say enough good things about Cafe Catering and Lauren Miller of Cafe Catering (was our wedding coordinator)!! I actually chose Cafe Catering solely based on wedding wire reviews and value. I had already booked them when my then-fiance and I took our only pre-wedding trip to Charelston. While the food was good at the tasting, it was amazing at the wedding! Presentation, taste, everything was perfect! We had guests commenting on how the appetizers were the best they'd ever had at a wedding (and they live in Charleston and were married here using a different caterer) and how delicious the entrees were. "Foodie" family members commented on how great the food was... and we ate at all the top restaurants in Charleston while were here... not easily pleased. My cousin who is a high-end corporate event planner commented on how beautifully everything had turned out and how smoothly everything went - all thanks to Lauren! The day-of my fiancé (now husband) did some DIY lights and a few things at the venue and one of his first comments to me after our first look was, "Lauren is so great! She has taken care of everything! I didn't have to worry about a thing!" Lauren went above and beyond with helping take care of florals, helping me cut my rentals in half to be closer to budget, was patient with my many emails and changes. I would have driven myself crazy for sure, and she handled it with absolute patience and professionalism. When 20+ mph winds decided to show up on our wedding day, she made adjustments with draping, decor, etc. Overall, food was wonderful (and we are picky), service was excellent and Lauren as our coordinator was amazing. Our wedding turned out way better than we even imagined and much of it is thanks to Lauren and her team at Cafe Catering. We would recommend them again and again! Thanks so much for making our day PERFECT!!!

Profile Picture Lauren, 3/30/14, 9 Reviews
Category: Catering, Wedding Planning
5.0

All the wedding guests raved about the food. Along with being delicious the presentation was wonderful.

Lauren Miller and her staff were great to work with.......we had so much guidance regarding pairings and selections while staying within our budget.

Hats off to Cafe Catering- it was great. Many thanks.

Profile Picture Anne, 3/16/14, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Used Cafe Catering for food and event planning for my daughter's wedding. From the first food tasting till after the last guest left, Lauren Miller was on top of everything. The food was fantastic and the guests raved. Lauren helped us picking out what foods would work for our venue and to our tastes.

We also used Lauren for event planning. She answered all of our. Any questions promptly and cheerfully. She came up with ideas we never would have thought of. On the morning of the wedding, she called us early in the morning worried that it. Ignite rain and suggested we rent a tent. She pulled this off thankfully as it did rain for over an hour that evening and everything was held outside. She saved the reception!

Lauren was efficient, professional and so easy to work with. At the end of the event, everything was boxed up for us and ready to load into our car. She coordinated with the other vendors to make sure everything went off without a hitch. My daughter and son-in-law said it was the wedding of their dreams.

Profile Picture Pat, 5/20/17, 7 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Lauren is a gem! She seamlessly arranged a tasting for me, my parents, my now husband and his parents at a moments notice, and it was all delicious! Seriously, the drunken mac and cheese is to die for. We had great choices for the cocktail hour (the pimento cheese/fried green tomato was my favorite) and people are still raving about how wonderful the food stations were at the reception.

We also contracted Lauren as our event planner. She was worth every penny (and more!) She took my ideas for my perfect wedding and just expanded on them. Everything was even better than I could have ever pictured it. Early on the morning of the wedding, it unexpectedly called for rain, and Lauren took care of making sure we got a tent, that day. She arranged all of our rentals and made it all perfect. I would give Lauren 10 Stars, she and her team are amazing.

Profile Picture Jenn, 11/23/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering, Wedding Planning
5.0

Lauren Miller and Cafe Catering made my day complete. From the very beginning, she/they were invaluable. Lauren was able to take my scattered vision and turn into something real with color and simplicity that fit my rustic venue to a tee. No matter how many questions, cost saving suggestions or requests for a change I made, Lauren's patience and personality never wavered. She was flexible, professional, responsive, willing to juggle both my mom and me, creative and the list just goes on and on. When it came to the day of, Lauren was worth her weight in gold. I felt I could relax because I knew she was taking care of everything that needed to be taken care of. She handled mix ups with ease and solved problems like a pro. The food was not only beautiful but delicious, and even as the bride, I was never in want when it came to food or drink. And they sent me home with a bag of goodies, enough to snack on for days! Anyone who uses Cafe for Catering and/or full service coordination will be over the moon.

Profile Picture Mallory, 11/16/13, 2 Reviews
Category: Catering, Wedding Planning
5.0

Lauren and her staff were so amazing during the whole process of picking a caterer for our Big Day. From day 1 she was in constant contact us. She guided us and helped us get our menu right where we needed to be based on our budget. I am still get so many raving reviews and compliments from our guests that day about how wonderful they made everything look and how good the food was.
Cafe Catering is an amazing Professional, Kind and Sweet group of people. They were referred to me by an old high school friend, and I would no doubt recommend them to anyone that would ever question who they should use as a caterer at their wedding or other events. :)

Profile Picture Ashley, 9/21/13, 3 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

I can't say enough about Cafe Catering- From the fabulous food to the incredible service, and the staff expertise in bringing to reality a perfect event, they made my wedding more perfect than I could have ever dreamed. Lauren and Katie handled everything, and literally made our day stress free. Incredible food!!! Lori McGovern

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Lori, 8/10/13, 1 Review
Category: Catering, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0

Café was the absolute best pick for our wedding. If I had to plan a wedding all over again, I would absolutely buy the coordination package (again) with the catering!

While they can do any type of food you would want, we went with traditional southern food stations, with some modern, personal favorite passed apps.
The food was very good and the presentation is so pretty, it is like additional decoration to the reception space.

Working with Lauren to plan my menu and as my wedding planner was the best money I spent on my wedding. And my mother agrees! She happily took me through different scenarios around cost, reception flow, rental options, and sat through fabric changes throughout the entire prep time. Her patience is awesome, but even more so, I liked working with a professional who can explain the pros and cons of adding something to a ceremony, or taking it out, why you might need an extra bartender, when something is "nice to have" but not necessary, etc.

Lauren also coordinates the event rentals (which includes a discount!) for you, and acts as the point of contact for your vendors month/week of. It really helps to have one point of contact that knows everything that is going on.

Lastly, weddings in Charleston are not cheap and I felt (especially AFTER the wedding which is the best test) I got the most bang for my buck using café catering. And I would have easily spent more just to use Lauren as my coordinator!

Profile Picture Jacqueline, 3/23/13, 6 Reviews
Category: Catering, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Planning
5.0

Lauren Miller and her staff are the REAL DEAL! Our food was expertly made and set up beautifully and the venue decor that Lauren designed was MAGAZINE WORTHY. Incredible. It was the perfect setup for our perfect night. I highly recommend using Cafe Catering and hiring Lauren as your coordinator. You will not be disappointed!

Profile Picture User3331961, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

In my polling of folks in the wedding industry and recent newlyweds, Cafe Catering kept coming up, and always with rave reviews. I went with my gut and chose them based on these reviews as well as their prices. At our tasting, my mom and now-husband could not stop raving about how delicious everything was - I was just glad I got to taste everything there, since I was too busy at the wedding to eat! I've since heard how fabulous everything tasted from my guests, so I'd say Cafe Catering was a hit! We did have a big bag of goodies go home with us that evening, so that made for a delicious late-night buffet in our honeymoon suite :)

Profile Picture Kayce, 12/8/12, 6 Reviews
Category: Catering
5.0

Melissa and her staff were awesome! From the menu planning, coordination, to the decor everything was perfect. They went above and beyond. The food was amazing! They even packed an amazing to go bag of everything for us because she knew we hadn't gotten a chance to sit down and eat. We could not have been happier. If you're planning an event anywhere in the Charleston area I would highly recommend them

Profile Picture Katherine, 11/24/12, 5 Reviews
Category: Catering, Wedding Planning