Skip to main content
Weddings

Bullock Texas State History Museum Reviews

Bullock Texas State History Museum

Bullock Texas State History Museum

Austin, TX
4.5 out of 5 rating, 9 Reviews
View more information

Reviews

4.5 out of 5 rating
4.5 out of 5 rating
9 Reviews
91% recommend it
  • Quality of service
    4.5 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.6 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.7 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.4 out of 5 rating

Awards

9
Weddingwire
4.5/5 9 reviews
Google
4.7/5 6162 reviews
  • J
    Joanna S. Sent on 02/25/2024
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Awesome Venue and Staff!

    We had our reception at the Bullock Museum in February 2024, renting out the Grand Lobby. We entered our cocktail hour in the Rotunda by coming down the spiral staircase, and hosted 165 people for a seated dinner in the Grand Lobby.

    The space is truly beautiful. The cocktail hour in the Rotunda has the high ceiling and pillars with the decorative floor. For dinner, the Grand Lobby is large enough to host a big crowd but it never felt overwhelming in size. We comfortably fit 20+ tables, a large dance floor and a 10 piece band (with stage). There is a wall with Texas quotes carved in stone that guests were commenting on for it's uniqueness to the venue. We opted not to open up the museum for guests, but had the chance to look down on the space from the 2nd floor to take in the whole set up.

    More notably, the staff at the Bullock was delightful. Marieunise was communicative throughout the entire process, and so willing to help us in person or via email. She came to our meetings prepared and with a smile - and helped us navigate the details around parking, set-up, coat check, vendor parking, etc with ease. On the day of the wedding, Marieunise assisted our guests with above and beyond service. We are so grateful to her and the Bullock team for ensuring we had a lovely event!

    Bullock Texas State History Museum's reply:

    Joanna, thank you for sharing your special day with us at the Bullock! It was our pleasure to host and hope to see you guys at the museum soon.
  • S
    Sarah B. Sent on 06/29/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    BEST DECISION I MADE (other than marrying my husband)!

    Everyone wants their wedding reception to be gorgeous, fun, relaxed, and memorable, and the Bullock Texas State History Museum made that dream a reality for us! Lily and her team were incredibly communicative, helpful, and friendly. She walked us through every step of the process and mitigated last-minute fixes so that we didn't have to. This venue is beautiful and grand in and of itself, and the excellent service that we received was the cherry on top! I would wholeheartedly recommend this venue, and I'm hoping they have availability in 2068 for our anniversary party!

    Bullock Texas State History Museum's reply:

    Thank you so very much for the wonderful feedback! It was absolutely our pleasure to host your reception and make it memorable- we're so happy that you're happy!

    -Lily & the Bullock Events Team
  • W
    William M. Sent on 12/08/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    American Leak Detection Awards Gala

    The Bullock Texas State History Museum was simply the perfect venue for our event. Lily Alpern is a fantastic host and the most knowledgeable resource for our every need.

    Briana Lacy-King from Rosemary's Catering did a fantastic job planning, preparing and serving our five course sit down meal. Everyone raved about the food.

    I highly recommend this venue and these most capable folks.
    Best regards,

    Bill Markey
    Event Coordinator
    American Leak Detection
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • L
    Lisa Sent on 10/22/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Great venue

    Lily was a delight to work with. Was quick to respond to all my questions/needs. Was on sight for the wedding and helped to make sure everything was perfect.
  • C
    Carson Sent on 06/29/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The museum was the perfect place for our wedding reception. We had 300 guests attend. We had a cocktail hour, seated dinner and dancing. They was ample space for everyone. Jamie Nicholson and her staff are amazing to work with. Very professional group of people. It was a beautiful night thanks to them.
  • A
    Andrea K. Sent on 12/06/2018
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    The best bar mitzvah ever!

    I can't say enough amazing things about the Bob Bullock and Rosemary's catering. Most classsy venue in Austin!
  • L
    Leigh A. Sent on 10/16/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    I loved the Bullock! Not only is it a cool, beautiful, and fun venue for a reception but they also are so easy to work with - extremely professional and ask you about the things you don't even know to think about (like whether you want special box meals for vendors). The preferred caterer (Rosemary's) is awesome and they can create just about anything. All my guests raved about the food. I loved the grand entrance down the stairs, I loved the exit under the Texas star, and I loved the gorgeous facility- and the pictures turned out great too. It was a blast. I can't imagine a better venue.
  • J
    Jessica Sent on 04/12/2012
    4.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      3.5 out of 5 rating
    Great venue and great experience working with the museum. They have a preferred caterer, which makes it very expensive to bring in outside food, but we loved their caterer. It is a pricey venue but they did a wonderful job.
  • User2463466 Sent on 12/11/2015
    1.4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      0.5 out of 5 rating
    • Average response time
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      1.5 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      3.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      1.0 out of 5 rating
    We used the Museum for our wedding in September. Our contact was Courtney, we met with her and did a walk thru and we loved the space. However, after the contract was signed and our payment was received, Courtney was not good about answering questions or getting back to us in a timely manner. There are a lot of rules and restrictions that goes along with using the Bullock and they failed to be upfront about it or even help us navigate through it. In fact, if the caterer wasn't there to help us along the way there would have been so many potential problems. For the money you spend on the space you expect great customer service and I don't think we got that at all but our pictures are amazing.

    Bullock Texas State History Museum's reply:

    Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your comments. We would like to follow up with you to learn more about your experience. Please contact us at events@thestoryoftexas.com or (512) 936-4631.
Responds within 24 hours